DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 04/02/2025 was received and reviewed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Status of Claims
This office action is in response to application number 18/289,276 filed on 11/02/2023, in which claims 1-16 are presented for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mor et al. US 20200281122 A1 (hereinafter Mor) in view of Opoku et al. US 20230390941 A1 (hereinafter Opoku).
Claim 11: Mor discloses a fruit conveyor, wherein each robotic arm is configured to pick at least one fruit at a time and place the at least one picked fruit on the fruit conveyor [[0176]; Robotic arms 7 comprising at least one robotic motor & joint 31 (FIGS. 16&17) to enable vertical movement, one joint 7a (FIG. 16) to enable horizontal or up to 360° movement so that the arm will be able to access a single or multiply crop in one position or to bring the crop to the conveyor belts on the boom in the other position 34,34a (FIGS. 11-14) in case of gripper, (...)], and wherein the first movable platform comprises: a platform; at least four wheels; and a steering and driving unit [Fig. 1b; Wheels (2b), Chassis (2), and the central computer (3a)], comprising: a chassis; two wheels pivotally connected to the chassis; at least one driving motor coupled to at least one wheel [[0170]; motored and/or motored electric generator 4, mounted on all high chassis modules, provides electricity to all SPFCH's components. Power supply for all components can be obtained by any mobile electrical mean, such as re-chargeable high capacity batteries 2a mounted within the chassis 2 and propelled by the wheels 2b in both sides of the SPFCH/-G or elsewhere on the SPFCH/-G]; a rotating joint pivotally connecting the chassis to the platform; a rotating motor coupled to the rotating joint and configured to rotate the steering and driving unit with respect to the platform; and a securing element for securing the steering and driving unit to the platform at any rotation position [[0132] & [0134]; the system of the invention compromises: (a) a main high and self-propelled wheel/rubber chain drive harvester, powered by motored or electric generator, aimed mainly, but not limited to, for charging a set of chargeable batteries, mounted within the chassis of the harvester, which operates all systems, the SPFCH is driven on roads by human operator or during harvesting by automatic system, which navigates itself by rows guiding sensors, assisted by GPS, the movement of the SPFCH is controlled by a programmable controller and or by its central computer, which synchronize the speed of the movement, during harvesting, according to signals obtained by each of the robotic picking arms, at the end of each individual picking cycle of process. (...) he system further comprises: (a) at least one solar panel adequate to the size of the upper part of the SPFCH, as big as possible, and might also be foldable for driving on roads and unfold and extendable to its maximum collecting area in order to increase electric power during harvesting].
Mor Fig. 1b
Mor does not explicitly disclose A system for picking fruits comprising: a first movable platform; one or more robotic arms connected to the movable platform.
Opoku teaches A system for picking fruits comprising: a first movable platform; one or more robotic arms connected to the movable platform [[0044]; The height of the first robotic arm 110 above ground may be varied by the movable platform 112 (e.g. the height of the movable platform 112 may be adjustable, or different height movable platforms may be used)].
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Mor in view of Opoku with a reasonable expectation of success, as both inventions are directed to the same field of endeavor – agricultural processing. The combination would improve image detection and classification [Opoku; [0038]; Embodiments may utilise machine learning to provide improved image detection and classification of items of fruit and/or vegetables].
Claim(s) 15 & 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mor in view of Opoku, further in view of Schuesslburner US 20220009723 A1 (hereinafter Schuesslburner) and Cmich US 20200369080 A1 (hereinafter Cmich).
Claim 15: The combination of Mor and Opoku teach the system of claim 11, accordingly, the rejection of claim 11 above is incorporated.
Mor discloses the system of claim 11, further comprising a controller configured to a) drive the system to travel along a trail [[0073]; the SPFCH device of the invention further comprises a navigation system comprising GPS and/or guiding sensors, for controlling/navigating the SPFCH on roads and/or within a field to be harvested and while harvesting].
Mor does not explicitly disclose b) drive the system to travel along a railway;
c) change a driving direction of the system at a zero turning radius.
Schuesslburner teaches b) drive the system to travel along a railway [[0014]; The long-stator linear motor may be configured to comprise one or a plurality of guide rails that are oriented parallel to the incoming container flow, so that the conveying elements, and with them the pushing elements or the gripper elements, can accurately be synchronized to the incoming container flow].
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Mor in view of Schuesslburner with a reasonable expectation of success, as both inventions are directed to the same field of endeavor – agricultural production. The combination would improve production and sorting [Schuesslburner; [0007]; It is therefore the object of the present invention to accomplish improved grouping of containers on their conveying path in a container treatment plant. Moreover, a compact buffer for the containers is to be provided. The device for grouping and buffering the containers should be flexibly adaptable to a change of container format. In addition, the conveyed containers are to be grouped gently and without toppling].
Mor in view of Schuesslburner do not explicitly teach c) change a driving direction of the system at a zero turning radius.
Cmich teaches c) change a driving direction of the system at a zero turning radius [[0066]; Examples of a wheeled apparatus in accordance with the present disclosure, include, but are not limited to, mowers, riding mowers, zero-radius-turning lawn mowers, autonomous mowers, agriculture equipment, and/or the like].
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Mor in view of Schuesslburner and Cmich with a reasonable expectation of success, as all inventions are directed to the same field of endeavor – mobile devices. The combination would reduce adverse effects on turf [Cmich; [0001]; The disclosed technology is generally directed to a low impact turf wheel and wheel cleaning system. The disclosed technology relates to a low impact turf wheel that significantly reduces the adverse effects of frequent travel over an area of turf by a turf wheel and provides resistance to build-up].
Claim 16: The combination of Mor in view of Schuesslburner and Cmich teach the system of claim 15, accordingly, the rejection of claim 15 above is incorporated.
Mor discloses the system of claim 15, wherein the controller is configured to control at least one of: control the steering and driving unit to at least one of: the at least one driving motor, the rotating motor and the securing element [[0167]; Wheels might be propelled by mechanical, electrical, hydraulic or any other high precision mechanism connected to the main power unit 4. Movement of the SPFCH/-G/-F is controlled by a programmable controller and or the central computer 3a embedded in the cabin 3 which will synchronize the speed of the movement, during harvesting, according to signals obtained by the robotic picking arms at the end of each individual picking process].
Claim(s) 1-2, 4, & 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mor in view of Opoku and Sandei et al. US 5901539 A (hereinafter Sandei).
Claim 1: Mor discloses an autonomous system for automatic picking and boxing of fruits, comprising: a movable picking unit [[0068]; the present invention provides a modular, driven or autonomous self-propelled field crops harvester (SPFCH) device, for selective picking of crops, (...); (b) one or more modular, robotic harvesting arms, each harvesting arm comprising a crop picking mechanism and crop-identification optics, gentle transporting means, fruit catcher, and also finger type cutting device, wherein each harvesting arm is adapted for vertical, horizontal and/or back and forth movements for accessing crop as well as for delivering harvested crop to, e.g., conveyor belts (on the arm or boom); (...); (e) a main container or bin for collecting harvested crop; (...); (g) optionally, a packing unit for packing the harvested crop; (...)], a fruit conveyor, wherein each robotic arm is configured to pick at least one fruit at a time and place the at least one picked fruit on the fruit conveyor [[0176]; Robotic arms 7 comprising at least one robotic motor & joint 31 (FIGS. 16&17) to enable vertical movement, one joint 7a (FIG. 16) to enable horizontal or up to 360° movement so that the arm will be able to access a single or multiply crop in one position or to bring the crop to the conveyor belts on the boom in the other position 34,34a (FIGS. 11-14) in case of gripper, (...).]; and a movable boxing unit [[0068]; a first conveying system, mounted-on each robotic arm for collecting and transporting harvested crop and then transporting it to a common transporting unit serves all harvesting units and/or booms into the main container or bin].
Mor does not explicitly disclose comprising: a first movable platform; one or more robotic arms connected to the movable platform; and comprising: a second movable platform; a containers' gripper; a containers' lift; and a container's conveyor, wherein the container's conveyor is configured to receive a container from the containers gripper and convey the container to a fruit receiving position, at which the container receives fruits from the fruit conveyor.
Sandei teaches a containers' gripper [Colm. 3, Ln. 30-32; The filling and discharge unit comprises, (see FIGS. 7 to 9) pincers 24, actuated by the pincer pistons 25, that come and insert themselves under the harvest container 4]; a containers' lift; and a container's conveyor, wherein the container's conveyor is configured to receive a container from the containers gripper and convey the container to a fruit receiving position, at which the container receives fruits from the fruit conveyor [Colm. 1, Ln. 9-18; the harvester according to the invention is provided with a conveyor, on which the containers are deposited in stacks of 4 or more each, and which carries the stacks to a position in correspondence with equipment located on the rear part of the machine, where there are present means that take up the containers, lift them so that they come in correspondence with the devices that discharge the harvested product and that, when these containers are filled, and put them down onto the ground in stacks of two containers].
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Mor in view of Sandei with a reasonable expectation of success, as both inventions are directed to the same field of endeavor – agricultural processing. The combination would fully automate container management [Sandei; Colm. 1, Ln. 48-52; It is an object of the invention to provide a means for automatically executing the movement of these containers, taking them up from a storage point, carrying them to the filling zone and then depositing them to the ground in a completely automated manner].
Mor in view of Sandei do not explicitly teach comprising: a first movable platform; one or more robotic arms connected to the movable platform; and comprising: a second movable platform.
Opoku teaches comprising: a first movable platform; one or more robotic arms connected to the movable platform [[0044]; The height of the first robotic arm 110 above ground may be varied by the movable platform 112 (e.g. the height of the movable platform 112 may be adjustable, or different height movable platforms may be used)]; and comprising: a second movable platform [[0077]; The system 100 also comprises a second robotic arm 150 including a second movable platform 152, and a second end effector 154].
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Mor in view of Opoku and Sandei with a reasonable expectation of success, as all inventions are directed to the same field of endeavor – agricultural processing. The combination would improve image detection and classification [Opoku; [0038]; Embodiments may utilise machine learning to provide improved image detection and classification of items of fruit and/or vegetables].
Claim 2: The combination of Mor, Opoku, and Sandei teach the system of claim 1, accordingly, the rejection of claim 1 above is incorporated.
Mor discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the movable picking unit and the movable boxing unit are connected via a connector such that a fruit placed on the fruit conveyor will fall into a container positioned at the fruit receiving position [[0068]; a main container or bin for collecting harvested crop; (f) a first conveying system, mounted-on each robotic arm for collecting and transporting harvested crop and then transporting it to a common transporting unit serves all harvesting units and/or booms into the main container or bin].
Claim 4: The combination of Mor, Opoku, and Sandei teach the system of claim 1, accordingly, the rejection of claim 1 above is incorporated. Mor does not explicitly disclose the limitations of claim 4.
Sandei teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the containers' gripper and the container's lift are held inside an open frame [Fig. 7; pincers (24), filling and discharge unit (8), and harvest contianer (4)].
Sandei Fig. 7
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Mor in view of Sandei with a reasonable expectation of success, as both inventions are directed to the same field of endeavor – agricultural processing. The combination would fully automate container management [Sandei; Colm. 1, Ln. 48-52; It is an object of the invention to provide a means for automatically executing the movement of these containers, taking them up from a storage point, carrying them to the filling zone and then depositing them to the ground in a completely automated manner].
Claim 6: The combination of Mor, Opoku, and Sandei teach the system of claim 1, accordingly, the rejection of claim 1 above is incorporated.
Mor discloses the system of claim 1, further comprising a controller configured to control at least one of the first movable platform, the second movable platform, the one or more robotic arms, the fruit conveyor, the container's conveyor and the containers lift [[0132]; the system of the invention compromises: (...) the movement of the SPFCH is controlled by a programmable controller and or by its central computer, which synchronize the speed of the movement, during harvesting, according to signals obtained by each of the robotic picking arms, at the end of each individual picking cycle of process].
Claim(s) 3, 5, 7, & 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mor in view of Opoku and Sandei, further in view of Schuesslburner US 20220009723 A1 (hereinafter Schuesslburner).
Claim 3: The combination of Mor, Opoku, and Sandei teach the system of claim 1, accordingly, the rejection of claim 1 above is incorporated. Mor does not explicitly disclose the limitations of claim 3.
Schuesslburner teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the first movable platform and the second movable platform is the same movable platform, and the container's conveyor, and the fruit conveyor are assembled on the platform such that a fruit placed on the fruit conveyor will fall into a container positioned at the fruit receiving position [[0086] - [0088]; the transfer pallets 110 have a front roller pair and a rear roller pair supported on a respective one of the pairs of rails 150 and 160, so that the offset arrangement of the pairs of rails provides a substantially horizontal orientation of the pallet surface during the inclined travel of the transfer pallets 110. (...) the feed conveyor 105 can be seen, which feeds the containers, here already pre-grouped, in the form of an infeed stream. By means of the infeed manipulator 125 of the first transfer device, the containers 101 are transferred to the comb-shaped outlet area 135 of the first transfer platform 130, where they are provided for take-over by the transfer pallets 110. The comb-shaped outlet area 135 of the first transfer platform 130 as well as the comb-shaped inlet area 185 of the second transfer platform 180 have a plurality of parallel tines, into the intermediate spaces of which suitably configured ridge-like elevations of the transfer pallets 110 can enter. (...) In FIG. 3a, the height level of the first and second transfer platforms is exemplarily shown by a dashed line L-L].
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Mor in view of Schuesslburner with a reasonable expectation of success, as both inventions are directed to the same field of endeavor – agricultural production. The combination would improve production and sorting [Schuesslburner; [0007]; It is therefore the object of the present invention to accomplish improved grouping of containers on their conveying path in a container treatment plant. Moreover, a compact buffer for the containers is to be provided. The device for grouping and buffering the containers should be flexibly adaptable to a change of container format. In addition, the conveyed containers are to be grouped gently and without toppling].
Claim 5: The combination of Mor and Schuesslburner teach the system of claim 3, accordingly, the rejection of claim 3 above is incorporated. Mor does not explicitly disclose the limitations of claim 5.
Sandei teaches the system of claim 3, wherein the movable boxing unit further comprises an empty container entrance shelf located at the upper portion of the open frame [Fig. 1, Colm. 2, Ln. 50-52; The stack conveyor 6 conveys the stacks towards the harvester container separation unit 7 and the filling and discharge unit 8].
Sandei Fig. 1
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Mor in view of Sandei with a reasonable expectation of success, as both inventions are directed to the same field of endeavor – agricultural processing. The combination would fully automate container management [Sandei; Colm. 1, Ln. 48-52; It is an object of the invention to provide a means for automatically executing the movement of these containers, taking them up from a storage point, carrying them to the filling zone and then depositing them to the ground in a completely automated manner].
Claim 7: The combination of Mor, Schuesslburner, and Sandei teach the system of claim 5, accordingly, the rejection of claim 5 above is incorporated.
Mor discloses the system of claim 5, further comprising one or more cameras for capturing one or more images of fruits on plant and wherein the controller is configured to: receive images of fruits; determine one or more fruits to be picked [[0032] & [0040]; The sensors are configured to acquire images of the area, whereas the computers are configured to identify the crop items in the images, and to direct the robots to harvest the identified crop items. (…) The mentioned robotics technologies require optical detection means to distinguish if the crop that is ready to be harvested (such as open white cotton ball, okra size of 2-3 inch, artichoke at right size, apple in the right color according to its variety, etc.), within its green canopy and the brown leaves and stems]; and control the one or more robotic arms to pick the one or more fruits [[0041]; Evaluation of the technologies disclosed for fruit picking reveals that robotic arms equipped with camera or stereo optics for scouting are public domain].
Claim 9: The combination of Mor, Opoku, and Sandei teach the system of claim 1, accordingly, the rejection of claim 1 above is incorporated.
Mor discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the first movable platform and the second movable platform are configured to travel on at least one of: trails [[0073]; the SPFCH device of the invention further comprises a navigation system comprising GPS and/or guiding sensors, for controlling/navigating the SPFCH on roads and/or within a field to be harvested and while harvesting].
Mor does not explicitly disclose the system of claim 1, wherein the first movable platform and the second movable platform are configured to travel on at least one of: rails.
Schuesslburner teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the first movable platform and the second movable platform are configured to travel on at least one of: rails [[0014]; The long-stator linear motor may be configured to comprise one or a plurality of guide rails that are oriented parallel to the incoming container flow, so that the conveying elements, and with them the pushing elements or the gripper elements, can accurately be synchronized to the incoming container flow.].
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Mor in view of Schuesslburner with a reasonable expectation of success, as both inventions are directed to the same field of endeavor – agricultural production. The combination would improve production and sorting [Schuesslburner; [0007]; It is therefore the object of the present invention to accomplish improved grouping of containers on their conveying path in a container treatment plant. Moreover, a compact buffer for the containers is to be provided. The device for grouping and buffering the containers should be flexibly adaptable to a change of container format. In addition, the conveyed containers are to be grouped gently and without toppling].
Claim 10: The combination of Mor, Opoku, Sandei, and Schuesslburner teach the system of claim 9, accordingly, the rejection of claim 9 above is incorporated.
Mor discloses the system of claim 9, wherein the first movable platform and the second movable platform comprises, at least one of: wheels [[0090]; transporting a SPFCH device of the invention to a field for multiple harvesting or other tasks iterations, within a crop season, and during its seasonal period (i.e. by driving on its own wheels/chains, while its booms or robotic hands are folded/dismantled and its solar panels are folded), and mounting/assembling the booms (with the harvesting arms) in the field before harvesting].
Mor does not explicitly disclose the system of claim 9, wherein the first movable platform and the second movable platform comprises, at least one of: railway wheels
Schuesslburner teaches the system of claim 9, wherein the first movable platform and the second movable platform comprises, at least one of: railway wheels [[0022]; The conveying elements are here movably supported on the guide rail or guide rails, with rollers in particular being adapted to be used as low-friction bearing elements].
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Mor in view of Schuesslburner with a reasonable expectation of success, as both inventions are directed to the same field of endeavor – agricultural production. The combination would improve production and sorting [Schuesslburner; [0007]; It is therefore the object of the present invention to accomplish improved grouping of containers on their conveying path in a container treatment plant. Moreover, a compact buffer for the containers is to be provided. The device for grouping and buffering the containers should be flexibly adaptable to a change of container format. In addition, the conveyed containers are to be grouped gently and without toppling].
Claim(s) 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mor in view of Opoku and Sandei, further in view of Henderson US 20130118866 A1 (hereinafter Henderson).
Claim 8: The combination of Mor, Opoku, and Sandei teach the system of claim 1, accordingly, the rejection of claim 1 above is incorporated. Mor does not explicitly disclose the limitations of claim 8.
Henderson teaches the system of claim 1, having maximum length of 200 cm and maximum height of 200 cm [[0044]; For smaller delivery vehicles such as the van 50 illustrated in FIG. 8, the floor of the goods compartment is usually much lower, for example typically at a height of about 58 cm. A delivery height of 200 cm would be too great in such a situation. However, by pivoting the pivotable conveyor section 12 downwards the delivery height can be reduced. For example, in this example, the pivotable outer conveyor section 12 has a length of 180 cm and can be pivoted downwards by a pivot angle of 25.degree., which reduces the delivery height by 76 cm to about 124 cm above ground level].
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Mor in view of Henderson with a reasonable expectation of success, as both inventions are directed to the same field of endeavor – product distribution. The combination would improve safety and ease of loading [Henderson; [0044]; the pivotable outer conveyor section 12 has a length of 180 cm and can be pivoted downwards by a pivot angle of 25.degree., which reduces the delivery height by 76 cm to about 124 cm above ground level. This makes the task of loading and unloading the vehicle easier and safer].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 12-14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892.
Requena et al. (US 20220174877 A1) discloses in general terms, the present invention provides a storage system for a fruit or vegetable picking system, in which picked fruit or vegetables are delivered to a fixed filling location of the storage system, and then moved, by a robotic handling mechanism of the storage system, to one of many container locations where filled containers (punnets) are temporarily stored.
Haldewang et al. (US 12137634 B2) discloses an apparatus for managing agricultural crops includes a vehicle and a user interface. The vehicle includes a navigation system, one or more vision systems, one or more removal tools, and a control system. The control system can include a data processing system, a data storage system, and a targeting system. The apparatus can be used to carry out one or more methods for managing agricultural crops, such as, for example, utilizing the vision system to capture images of an item to be targeted for removal by the removal tool, and utilizing the control system to process the images and position the removal tool to remove the item.
Dondeyne et al. (US 12376523 B2) discloses an improved method and apparatus for automatically picking a fruit is described. During the clamping stage, the movement of the fingers is controlled such that a specific maximum clamping force is not exceeded. In addition, during at least a part of the removal stage, the mutual position of the fingers is controlled by the drive such that their mutual distance does not increase.
Lapalme (US 12219899 B2) discloses there is provided a system, installed on a vehicle or trailer, for performing an agricultural task. The system comprises a platform connecting to the vehicle or trailer and comprising a socket for an accessory. A plurality of accessories is provided, wherein one accessory is selected among them for installation in the accessory socket. A vision system is operatively connected to a computer and collects data of the environment about the accessory, the computer using the collected data to determine an instruction for performing the agricultural task and to send the instruction to the accessory installed in the accessory socket to perform the agricultural task. The accessory is interchangeable in the accessory socket depending on the agricultural task. The box handling stage and pallet mounting stage can be robotized for efficient automation.
/ANTHONY GABRIEL MORA/Examiner, Art Unit 3664
/KITO R ROBINSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3664