DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 16-31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Rekaya et al. (US 2019/0269855 A1).
With regard to claims 16-18, 20-24, Rekaya et al. teach a housing of a drug delivery device, the housing comprising: - a first housing component (Fig. 1 member 20) configured to accommodate a cartridge filled with a medicament, the first housing component comprising a first connecting end (Fig. 4 end 23), - a second housing component (Fig. 3 member 30) configured to accommodate a drive mechanism of the drug delivery device, the second housing component comprising a second connecting end (Fig. 3 end 33), - an insert (Fig. 4 member 21) provided on one of the first connecting end or the second connecting end, - a receptacle (Fig. 3 member 31) provided on the other one of the first connecting end or the second connecting end, wherein the insert is insertable into the receptacle along a longitudinal direction for mutually fastening the first housing component and the second housing component, - a fastening element provided on the insert (Fig. 4 member 24), - a counter fastening element having a complementary shape to the fastening element, the counter fastening element provided in the receptacle (Fig. 3 member 34), - a mechanical coding provided on the insert and comprising a coding feature, wherein the mechanical coding comprises one of a lateral extent of the coding feature or a cross-sectional geometry or shape of the coding feature in a plane transverse to the longitudinal direction (Fig. 4 one of projections 120 defined by an outer diameter, cross-section, or shape of the insert), - a mechanical counter coding provided in the receptacle and comprising a counter coding feature, wherein the mechanical counter coding comprises one of a lateral extent of the counter coding feature or a cross-sectional geometry or shape of the counter coding feature in the plane transverse to the longitudinal direction (Fig. 3 one of grooves 130 defined by an inner diameter, cross-section, or shape of the receptacle), - wherein the mechanical coding and the mechanical counter coding are operable to prevent an engagement of the fastening element with the counter fastening element when the mechanical coding does not match the mechanical counter coding (if the groove and projection do not match the components are not able to mate and fasten the fastening elements, this would occur if the outer diameter, cross-section, or shape of the insert was too larger).
With regard to claim 19, insert portion 21 has a different extent, geometry, and shape than the sidewall of portion 122 (Fig. 4).
With regard to claims 25-27, see Fig. 6 snap engagement of 24 and 34, if the insert is too small the components would not attach.
With regard to claim 28, a second of members 120 and 130 (Figs. 3-5).
With regard to claims 29 and 30, insert portion 21 has a different extent, geometry, and shape than the sidewall of portion 122 (Fig. 4), the diameter of the insert includes the flange between 21 and 122 making a diameter of the insert larger than a diameter of 122.
With regard to claim 31, Rekaya et al. teach an injection device for injecting a dose of a medicament and comprising the housing of claim 16, the injection device comprising: - the housing (see the rejection of claim 16 above),- the cartridge (Fig. 1 member 50) arranged inside the housing, the cartridge comprising a barrel filled with the medicament and sealed in a proximal longitudinal direction by a movable bung (Fig. 2 bung 52), and - the drive mechanism (Fig. 1 member 5) arranged inside the housing, the drive mechanism comprising a piston rod (Fig. 1 member 110) operable to exert a distally directed dispensing force onto the bung of the cartridge.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 32-34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rekaya et al. (US 2019/0269855 A1) in view of Sanofi (EP 3 597 236 A1).
With regard to claim 32, Rekaya et al. teach a kit of parts comprising: a first housing o comprising: - a first housing component (Fig. 1 member 20) configured to accommodate a cartridge filled with a medicament, the first housing component comprising a first connecting end (Fig. 4 end 23), - a second housing component (Fig. 3 member 30) configured to accommodate a drive mechanism of the drug delivery device, the second housing component comprising a second connecting end (Fig. 3 end 33), - an insert (Fig. 4 member 21) provided on one of the first connecting end or the second connecting end, - a receptacle (Fig. 3 member 31) provided on the other one of the first connecting end or the second connecting end, wherein the insert is insertable into the receptacle along a longitudinal direction for mutually fastening the first housing component and the second housing component, - a fastening element provided on the insert (Fig. 4 member 24), - a counter fastening element having a complementary shape to the fastening element, the counter fastening element provided in the receptacle (Fig. 3 member 34), - a mechanical coding provided on the insert and comprising a coding feature, wherein the mechanical coding comprises one of a lateral extent of the coding feature or a cross-sectional geometry or shape of the coding feature in a plane transverse to the longitudinal direction (Fig. 4 one of projections 120 defined by an outer diameter, cross-section, or shape of the insert), - a mechanical counter coding provided in the receptacle and comprising a counter coding feature, wherein the mechanical counter coding comprises one of a lateral extent of the counter coding feature or a cross-sectional geometry or shape of the counter coding feature in the plane transverse to the longitudinal direction (Fig. 3 one of grooves 130 defined by an inner diameter, cross-section, or shape of the receptacle), - wherein the mechanical coding and the mechanical counter coding are operable to prevent an engagement of the fastening element with the counter fastening element when the mechanical coding does not match the mechanical counter coding (if the groove and projection do not match the components are not able to mate and fasten the fastening elements, this would occur if the outer diameter, cross-section, or shape of the insert was too larger). Rekaya et al. do not explicitly disclose a second housing as recited. However, Sanofi teaches a coded cartridge assembly and that a plurality of assemblies may be provided which differ in configuration of the interface features such that if the features match assembly is allowed and if not, the connection is denied. Cartridge assemblies may be different and the fixing may be different to distinguish the members ([0069]). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention
To use a kit with a second housing as recited having components as in the first housing except for coding features which are distinguished from each other in Rekaya et al. as Sanofi teaches this is beneficial to provide a plurality of assemblies for delivery and ensures only assemblies with matching features are connected for delivery. This may allow a patient to have additional does and medications depending on treatment.
With regard to claim 33, insert portion 21 has a diameter which includes the flange between 21 and 122 making a diameter of the insert larger than an inner geometry of the receptacle, additionally a lateral extent of the insert can be considered which is larger than an inner lateral extent of the receptacle.
With regard to claim 34, as the insert fits into the receptacle it has an outer feature which is smaller than an inner feature less a radial extent of a protrusion of 24 (Fig. 6).
Double Patenting
Claims 16, 25, and 26 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 16 of copending Application No. 18/289,008 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the copending application are more specific and teach the limitations of the instant claims.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 16 and 28 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 16 and 24 of copending Application No. 18/288,450 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the copending application are more specific and teach the limitations of the instant claims.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed May 22, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues Rekaya’s projection and groove is disclosed as an orientation, anti-rotation, and sliding guide arrangement and not mechanical coding as recited. As noted by Applicant the projection and groove provide for orientation via a sliding and guide arrangement. If the two features are not oriented correctly, or “not matched” as claimed, fastening is prevented. Further, if a component is attempted to mate which is not of the correct size or does not have the corresponding mating features the components cannot orient and matching does not occur. Therefore, the components are functionally capable of being operable to prevent engagement if the coding does not match. Correct orientation and the slide and groove arrangement only works when the components with matching coding are connected properly. This is inherently functional with the components as provided by Rekaya. Regarding Applicant’s arguments to the combination with Sanofi, Applicant argues Sanofi is drawn to a connection between a cartridge holder and a cartridge. The teachings of Sanofi are applied to what is present in Rekaya, Rekaya’s members 20 and 30 are analogous to a cartridge and cartridge holder. Further motivation is provided as to having multiple components, this allows a patient to be treated with various medications or dosages without confusion.
The amendments are sufficient to overcome the previous objections.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Avery et al. (US 9,180,254 B2) discloses coded fasteners.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/EMILY L SCHMIDT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783