DETAILED ACTION
Comments
The Amendment – After Non-Final Rejection filed on December 31, 2025 has been entered and made of record.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7, 9, and 11 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 7 recites the limitation “the second map being a weight map indicating a difference between the first image and the second image” in lines 13-14. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is unclear as to which the second image the limitation refers to (e.g., training data which includes at least one first image, at least one second image, claim 7 lines 4-5; calculating a second map from a second image, claim 7 line 13). Claim 11 depends upon claim 7.
Claim 9 recites the limitation “the second map being a weight map indicating a difference between the first image and the second image” in lines 11-12. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Similar to claim 7 above, it is unclear as to which the second image the limitation refers to (e.g., training data which includes at least one first image, at least one second image, claim 9 line 3; calculating a second map from a second image, claim 9 line 11).
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5-7, and 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ogino et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2021/0272277) in view of Iyer et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2022/0207306) and Sawada et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2023/0410532).
As to claims 1 and 10, Ogino et al. teaches an object detection apparatus (i.e., “medical imaging apparatus”, Abstract)/non-transitory tangible computer-readable storage medium storing therein an object detection program causing a computer to function as (See for example, “Data and programs required for processing of the image processing unit 200 are stored in the storage device 130”, Paragraph [0048]) an apparatus comprising
at least one processor (i.e., “image processing unit 200”, Paragraph [0043]), the at least one processor carrying out/the object detection program causing the computer to carry out the:
an image acquisition process comprising acquiring a first image (i.e., “image processing unit 200 includes an image reconstructing unit 210 that reconstructs an image (first image) from the image signal received from the imaging unit 100”, Paragraph [0043]);
a calculation process comprising using a first model to calculate a first map from the first image (See for example, “a feature quantity extraction unit 232 that extracts a first feature quantity A from first image data”, Paragraph [0044]; and Paragraph [0071]); and
a detection process comprising carrying out object detection with reference to at least the first map (i.e., “an identification unit 235 that calculates a predetermined parameter value using the third feature quantity C using an identification model and performs prediction”, Paragraph [0044]; and “This model calculates a predetermined parameter value from a feature quantity after conversion, and predicts the presence or absence of a lesion site, malignancy, etc. represented by the parameter value”, Paragraph [0072]).
However, Ogino et al. does not explicitly disclose in a case where the at least one processor acquires not only the first image but also a second image in the image acquisition process, in the calculation process, the at least one processor using a second model to calculate a second map from the first image and the second image, the second map being a weight map indicating a difference between the first image and the second image, and in the detection process, the at least one processor carrying out object detection with reference to a third map obtained by multiplying the first map by the second map.
Iyer et al. teaches in a case where at least one processor (i.e., “disease diagnosis system 102 may include a processor 202”, Paragraph [0034]) acquires not only the first image but also a second image in the image acquisition process (i.e., “data acquisition module 404 may transmit the first image of the plurality of diagnostic images and the second image of the plurality of diagnostic images to the first pipeline 418a and the second pipeline 418b”, Paragraph [0057]), and
in the calculation process, the at least one processor using a second model to calculate a second map from the first image and the second image (i.e., “After receiving the first image and the second image of the plurality of diagnostic images, the stacked convolutional layers 418 of the temporal CNN model 416 in the temporal CNN module 406 may be configured to extract feature maps from the first image and the second image of the plurality of diagnostic images”, Paragraph [0059]; and “the temporal CNN module 406 may be configured to sort the highly relevant activation feature maps and concatenate the highly relevant feature maps to form a union of the highly relevant activation feature maps. The union of the highly relevant activation feature maps may correspond to concatenated feature map”, Paragraph [0063]), the second map being a weight map indicating a difference between the first image and the second image (i.e., “The temporal CNN layer 420 of the temporal CNN model 416 in the temporal CNN module 406 may be configured to identify relevant feature maps extracted from the feature maps of the first image and the second image. The relevant feature maps may indicate a temporal difference among image classes from the first image and the second image”, Paragraph [0059]).
The combination of Ogino et al. and Iyer et al. does not explicitly disclose in the detection process, the at least one processor carrying out object detection with reference to a third map obtained by multiplying the first map by the second map.
Sawada et al. teaches in the detection process, at least one processor (i.e., “object detection device 200 includes a processor 41”, Paragraph [0116]) carrying out object detection with reference to a third map obtained by multiplying the first map by the second map (i.e., “generates the third feature map FM3 by performing addition or multiplication of the second feature map FM2 using the first feature map FM1 and weighting the second feature map FM2, and the object detection unit 24 that detects an object in the captured image using the third feature map FM3”, Paragraph [0206]).
Ogino et al., Iyer et al. and Sawada et al. are analogous art because they are from the field of digital image processing.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Ogino et al. by incorporating in a case where the at least one processor acquires not only the first image but also a second image in the image acquisition process, in the calculation process, the at least one processor using a second model to calculate a second map from the first image and the second image, the second map being a weight map indicating a difference between the first image and the second image, as taught by Iyer et al., and in the detection process, the at least one processor carrying out object detection with reference to a third map obtained by multiplying the first map by the second map, as taught by Sawada et al.
The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to make use of temporal differences between images to reduce memory usage for processing the images, and to cope with variations in size of individual objects to be detected in the images.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Iyer et al. and Sawada et al. with Ogino et al. to obtain the invention as specified in claims 1 and 10.
As to claim 5, Ogino et al. teaches wherein the at least one processor further carries out:
a training data acquisition process comprising acquiring training data which includes at least one first image (i.e., “input image”, Paragraph [0053]), at least one second image (i.e., “a different image from the input image”, Paragraph [0053]), and label information indicative of an object included in the at least one first image (i.e., “a label such as the presence or absence (benign or malignant) of a lesion or a grade of lesion malignancy as learning data”, Paragraph [0054]); and
a first learning process comprising training the first model by machine learning with reference to the at least one first image and the label information which are included in the training data (i.e., “The CNN of this predictive model is learned to extract a feature quantity A 410 for accurately identifying the presence or absence of the lesion of an input image 400 by the CNN repeating the convolution calculation and pooling on input data of the input image 400 for learning divided into a plurality of patches by the patch processing unit 231”, Paragraph [0055]; and “Learning is performed until an error between an output and teacher data falls within a predetermined range”, Paragraph [0056]).
However, Ogino et al. does not explicitly disclose a second learning process comprising training the first model and the second model by machine learning with reference to the at least one first image, the at least one second image, and the label information which are included in the training data.
Iyer et al. teaches a second learning process comprising training the first model and the second model by machine learning (i.e., “The extracted feature map for each of the training images (such as the training image 504a and the training image 504b) are generated simultaneously from the first pipeline 502a and the second pipeline 502b of stacked convolutional layers”, Paragraph [0076]) with reference to the at least one first image, the at least one second image (i.e., “the sequence of diagnostic images in the training dataset includes a first image 504a and a second image 504b”, Paragraph [0072]), and the label information which are included in the training data (i.e., “the temporal convolutional layer 502c may be configured to map the concatenated feature maps to a corresponding predefined diagnostic class 516 stored in the data repository 412”, Paragraph [0083]).
Therefore, in view of Iyer et al. and Sawada et al., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ogino et al. by incorporating the second learning process comprising training the first model and the second model by machine learning with reference to the at least one first image, the at least one second image, and the label information which are included in the training data, as taught by Iyer et al., in order to perform inferencing of the input images in a better way.
As to claim 6, Ogino et al. teaches wherein the at least one processor further carries out a presentation process comprising outputting a result of detection by the detection process (i.e., “output unit 120 may display the parameter value output from the diagnosis support processing unit 230”, Paragraph [0105]),
in the detection process, the at least one processor detects an object that is a lesion which is capable of being detected from an image captured by carrying out an examination with respect to a subject (i.e., “a description will be given of the case where an image input to the diagnosis support processing unit is an image acquired the MRI apparatus. However, the invention is not limited thereto. For example, other modality images of the CT, X-rays, ultrasonic waves, etc. may be input”, Paragraph [0119]), and
in the presentation process, the at least one processor outputs a result of detection of the lesion for supporting decision making by a medical worker (i.e., “processing result of the diagnosis support processing unit 230 may be output to the output unit 120 provided in the image processing apparatus 20, or may be sent to the medical imaging apparatus to which the image data is sent, a facility in which the medical imaging apparatus is placed, a database in another medical institution, etc.”, Paragraph [0128]; and Paragraph [0138]).
However, Ogino et al. does not explicitly disclose the examination is an endoscopic examination.
Iyer et al. teaches an examination that is an endoscopic examination (See for example, “the image sensor 104 may have suitable optical instruments, such as lenses and actuators for the lenses, to capture the diagnostic images. Examples of implementation of the image sensor 104 may include, but not limited to, high-definition scanners and cameras (such as, endoscope cameras)”, Paragraph [0023]).
Therefore, in view of Iyer et al. and Sawada et al., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ogino et al. by incorporating the examination as an endoscopic examination, as taught by Iyer et al., in order to perform effective object detection and diagnosis utilizing conventional medical image acquisition.
As to claims 7, 9 and 11, as best understood, Ogino et al. teaches a learning apparatus/method (i.e., “medical imaging apparatus”, Abstract)/non-transitory tangible computer-readable storage medium (See for example, “Data and programs required for processing of the image processing unit 200 are stored in the storage device 130”, Paragraph [0048]) storing therein a learning program causing a computer to function as a learning apparatus comprising at least one processor (i.e., “image processing unit 200”, Paragraph [0043]), the at least one processor carrying out/the learning program causing the computer to carry out:
a training data acquisition process comprising acquiring training data which includes at least one first image (i.e., “input image”, Paragraph [0053]), at least one second image (i.e., “a different image from the input image”, Paragraph [0053]), and label information indicative of an object included in the at least one first image (i.e., “a label such as the presence or absence (benign or malignant) of a lesion or a grade of lesion malignancy as learning data”, Paragraph [0054]);
a first learning process comprising training a first model with reference to the at least one first image and the label information which are included in the training data, the first model calculating a first map from a first image (i.e., “The CNN of this predictive model is learned to extract a feature quantity A 410 for accurately identifying the presence or absence of the lesion of an input image 400 by the CNN repeating the convolution calculation and pooling on input data of the input image 400 for learning divided into a plurality of patches by the patch processing unit 231”, Paragraph [0055]; and “Learning is performed until an error between an output and teacher data falls within a predetermined range”, Paragraph [0056]).
However, Ogino et al. does not explicitly disclose a second learning process comprising training the first model and a second model with reference to the at least one first image, the at least one second image, and the label information which are included in the training data, the second model; calculating a second map from a second image and the first image, the second map being a weight map indicating a difference between the first image and the second image; and performing object detection with reference to a third map obtained by multiplying the first map by the second map.
Iyer et al. teaches a second learning process comprising training the first model and a second model (i.e., “The extracted feature map for each of the training images (such as the training image 504a and the training image 504b) are generated simultaneously from the first pipeline 502a and the second pipeline 502b of stacked convolutional layers”, Paragraph [0076]) with reference to the at least one first image, the at least one second image (i.e., “the sequence of diagnostic images in the training dataset includes a first image 504a and a second image 504b”, Paragraph [0072]), and the label information which are included in the training data (i.e., “the temporal convolutional layer 502c may be configured to map the concatenated feature maps to a corresponding predefined diagnostic class 516 stored in the data repository 412”, Paragraph [0083]), the second model; and
calculating a second map from a second image and the first image, the second map being a weight map indicating a difference between the first image and the second image (i.e., “concatenate the relevant feature map from the temporal convolutional layer 502c of the temporal CNN model 502, based on sorting of the relevant feature maps. In accordance with an embodiment, the concatenated feature map may aid in processing or reading the feature maps accurately. The concatenated feature map may also facilitate in performing inferencing of input images as to which image class the input images belong (normal, inconclusive or infected) in a better way. Further, the concatenated feature map determined in the decision image that may bring in a temporal difference to the two diagnostic classes are isolated and used for inferencing”, Paragraph [0083]).
The combination of Ogino et al. and Iyer et al. do not explicitly disclose performing object detection with reference to a third map obtained by multiplying the first map by the second map.
Sawada et al. teaches performing object detection with reference to a third map obtained by multiplying the first map by the second map (i.e., “generates the third feature map FM3 by performing addition or multiplication of the second feature map FM2 using the first feature map FM1 and weighting the second feature map FM2, and the object detection unit 24 that detects an object in the captured image using the third feature map FM3”, Paragraph [0206]).
Therefore, in view of Iyer et al. and Sawada et al., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ogino et al. by incorporating the second learning process comprising training the first model and a second model with reference to the at least one first image, the at least one second image, and the label information which are included in the training data, the second model, calculating a second map from a second image and the first image, the second map being a weight map indicating a difference between the first image and the second image, as taught by Iyer et al., and performing object detection with reference to a third map obtained by multiplying the first map by the second map, as taught by Sawada et al., in order to make use of temporal differences between images to reduce memory usage for processing the images, and to cope with variations in size of individual objects to be detected in the images.
Claims 3 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ogino et al. in view of Iyer et al. and Sawada et al. as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Hosoya et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2019/0313883). The teachings of Ogino et al., Iyer et al. and Sawada et al. have been discussed above.
As to claim 3, Ogino et al., Iyer et al. and Sawada et al. do not explicitly disclose wherein the at least one processor further carries out determination process comprising determining whether the at least one processor acquires the first image or acquires the first image and the second image in the image acquisition process.
Hosoya et al. teaches at least one processor (i.e., “management server 10”, Paragraph [0016]) that carries out determination process comprising determining whether the at least one processor acquires the first image or acquires the first image and the second image in the image acquisition process (i.e., “determining whether or not an endoscopic RAW image is similar to an endoscopic image for which an abnormal finding has been confirmed in the past when performing a compression process on the endoscopic RAW image and adding predetermined information to the image that has been compressed when the endoscopic RAW image is determined to be similar”, Paragraph [0021]).
Ogino et al., Iyer et al., Sawada et al. and Hosoya et al. are analogous art because they are from the field of digital image processing.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to further modify Ogino et al., Iyer et al. and Sawada et al. by incorporating the at least one processor further carries out determination process comprising determining whether the at least one processor acquires the first image or acquires the first image and the second image in the image acquisition process, as taught by Hosoya et al.
The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to allow for an image observation to be efficiently performed.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Hosoya et al. with Ogino et al., Iyer et al. and Sawada et al. to obtain the invention as specified in claim 3.
As to claim 4, Hosoya et al. teaches wherein the at least one processor carries out the determination process with reference to a flag indicating whether the first image is acquired or whether the first image and the second image are acquired (i.e., “compression processing unit 40 adds information indicating analysis results provided from the bleeding state determination unit 34, the group identification unit 36, and the similarity determination unit 38 to the compressed image. More specifically, to the compressed image having an image ID provided from the bleeding state determination unit 34, the compression processing unit 40 adds information indicating that the image is a bleeding image. This information may be added as flag information”, Paragraph [0040]).
Response to Arguments
Drawings
With respect to the drawings, Applicant filed a Replacement Sheet for FIG. 4 on November 2, 2023 addressing the informalities. Therefore, the objections have been withdrawn. The drawings filed on November 2, 2023 are accepted by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC §§ 102 and 103
With respect to claims 1-7 and 9-11, Applicant’s arguments (Remarks dated December 31, 2025, pages 7-10) have been fully considered. However, they are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection (Refer to Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 Section above). With respect to Sawada et al., Applicant respectfully submits that Sawada and Ogino cannot be relied upon to allegedly teach at least the claimed … “in the detection process, the at least one processor carrying out object detection with reference to a third map obtained my multiplying the first map by the second map” (Remarks dated December 31, 2025, pages 9-10). Examiner respectfully disagrees.
With respect to Sawada, the multiplication of a first map by a second map in order to carry out object detection is disclosed in at least Paragraph [0206]. Sawada et al. teaches the generation of a feature map by performing multiplication of a second feature map using a first feature map. This generated feature map is then used to perform object detection, similar to the claimed invention. The weight map indicating a difference between a first image and a second image is a limitation taught by Iyer et al., and explained above (Refer to Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 Section above). Thus, as evidenced by Sawada et al., performing object detection utilizing multiplied feature maps improves the accuracy of the detection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOSE M TORRES/Examiner, Art Unit 2664 04/13/2026
/JENNIFER MEHMOOD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2664