CTNF 18/289,336 CTNF 94606 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Election/Restrictions 08-25-01 AIA Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-13 in the reply filed on 04/09/2026 is acknowledged. 08-06 AIA Claim s 14-15 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention , there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 04/09/2026 . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA PNG media_image1.png 800 1287 media_image1.png Greyscale Claim (s) 1- 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by Kim et al. (machine translation of KR 10-2018-0124736 A) . Regarding claim 1 , Kim teaches a vaporizer (130) (¶ [0031]): a storage unit (1300) configured to store an aerosol-generating material (¶ [0033] liquid composition that generates aerosol), a wick (135, liquid delivery means) configured to absorb the aerosol-generating material (¶ [0105] liquid composition), a heating element (136) configured to heat the aerosol-generating material absorbed in the wick (¶ [0046] heating element 136 heats liquid delivery means 135), an accommodating unit (accommodating structure including 138 and 134 shown in annotated Figs. 3 and 4) configured to accommodate the wick (see annotated Fig. 3 where wick 135 is received within the accommodating structure formed by 138 and 134 ), including a support groove (1381, coupling groove) for supporting the wick (see Fig. 4, wick 135 supported by 1381), and a storage groove (1382 and connected storage space within 138) for temporarily storing the aerosol-generating material to deliver the aerosol-generating material to the wick (¶ [0077] 1382 stores liquid composition before absorption by liquid delivery means 135; ¶ [0079]), PNG media_image2.png 335 763 media_image2.png Greyscale wherein a maximum width of the storage groove (1382) is greater than a maximum width of the support groove (1381) (see Figs. 5a and 5b, width of 1382 > width of 1381). Regarding claim 2 , Kim teaches that the storage groove 1382 includes: a first region (see annotated Fig. 5b) extending in a longitudinal direction (y-direction) of the wick (135) from an end portion of the wick (135); and a second region (see annotated Fig. 5b) extending in a width direction (x-direction) along a width axis crossing the longitudinal direction of the wick from the end portion of the wick (135). Regarding claim 3 , Kim teaches the vaporizer of claim 2, wherein the second region (see annotated Fig. 5b) extends from the end portion of the wick (135) to both directions along the width axis (x-direction) . Regarding claim 4 , Kim teaches the vaporizer of claim 2, wherein the second region (see annotated Fig. 5b) extends from the end portion of the wick (135) to one direction along the width axis (x-direction) . Regarding claim 5 , Kim teaches the vaporizer of claim 1, wherein the storage groove (see annotated Fig. 3) has a width that becomes smaller toward a direction away from the storage unit (1300). Regarding claim 6 , Kim teaches the vaporizer of claim 1, further comprising a sealing unit (132+139) coupled to the storage unit (1300), and having an opening (1321) through which the aerosol-generating material moves from the storage unit (1300) to the storage groove (1382) , wherein the opening (1321) is positioned to correspond to the storage groove (1382) when the sealing unit (132) and the accommodating unit (138+134) are coupled ( see annotated Fig. 3 ). (¶¶ [0032]-[0034]; ¶¶ [0076]-[0078]). Regarding claim 7 , Kim teaches the vaporizer of claim 1, further comprising a sealing unit (132) coupled to the storage unit (1300), and having an opening (1321) through which the aerosol-generating material moves from the storage unit (1300) to the storage groove (1382) , wherein the maximum width of the storage groove (1382) is equal to or greater than a maximum width of the opening (1321) ( see annotated Fig. 3 ). (¶¶ [0076]-[0078]; Fig. 3). Regarding claim 8 , Kim teaches the vaporizer of claim 1, further comprising a sealing unit (132+139) coupled to the storage unit (1300) , and having an opening (1321) through which the aerosol-generating material moves from the storage unit (1300) to the storage groove (1382) , wherein the accommodating unit (138+134) and the sealing unit (132) form a cavity (see annotated Fig. 3) . (¶¶ [0032]-[0034]; ¶¶ [0076]-[0078]). Regarding claim 9, Kim teaches the vaporizer of claim 8, wherein the sealing unit 132 +139 (see annotated Fig. 3) is in contact with the wick 135 (see annotated Fig. 3) such that the sealing unit 132 (see annotated Fig. 3) and the support groove 1381 (see annotated Fig. 3) surround at least a portion of the wick 135 (see annotated Fig. 3) . This aligns with Applicant’s instant specification that treats “contact” as including a state where the sealing unit and accommodating unit are coupled together (¶¶ ([104]–[105]). Applicant’s spec further states that a portion of the wick may be surrounded by the sealing unit and the accommodating unit, and specifically by the support groove and sealing unit (¶ 115). In Kim, once sealing unit 132/139 is assembled with accommodating unit 138/134, wick 135 is held in support groove 1381 between those structures, satisfying the claimed relationship. Regarding claim 10 , Kim teaches the vaporizer of claim 8, wherein the sealing unit (upper cap portion 132 and film member 139) further has an extension surface (133) connected to the opening (1321) and inclined toward the wick (liquid delivery means 135) . (¶ [0048]). (¶ [0051]). (Annotated Figs. 3, 4). Regarding claim 11 , Kim teaches the vaporizer of claim 8, wherein the wick (135) includes a first end portion , a second end portion , and a central portion between the first end portion and the second end portion , wherein the central portion of the wick (135) and the heating element (136) are disposed in the cavity formed when the sealing unit (132, 139) and accommodating unit (138, 134) are coupled , (¶ [0046]). (¶ [0073]) (annotated Fig. 3. Fig. 4). PNG media_image3.png 575 944 media_image3.png Greyscale Regarding claim 12 , Kim teaches the vaporizer of claim 8, wherein the accommodating unit (sealing portion 138 and lower cap 134) includes an inlet (see annotated Fig. 4) through which outside air is introduced . (¶ [0094]). (¶ [0095]) and an outlet (see annotated Fig. 4) through which an aerosol generated in the cavity is discharged . (¶ [0080]). (¶ [0081]). (¶ [0101]). Regarding claim 13 , Kim teaches the vaporizer of claim 1, wherein the wick is in contact with an inner surface of the storage groove . (annotated FIG. 3-4) Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to JENNIFER KESSIE whose telephone number is (571)272-7739. The examiner can normally be reached Monday - Thursday 7:00am - 5:00pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Michael H Wilson can be reached at (571) 270-3882. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /JENNIFER A KESSIE/Examiner, Art Unit 1747 /Michael H. Wilson/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1747 Application/Control Number: 18/289,336 Page 2 Art Unit: 1747 Application/Control Number: 18/289,336 Page 3 Art Unit: 1747 Application/Control Number: 18/289,336 Page 4 Art Unit: 1747 Application/Control Number: 18/289,336 Page 5 Art Unit: 1747 Application/Control Number: 18/289,336 Page 6 Art Unit: 1747 Application/Control Number: 18/289,336 Page 7 Art Unit: 1747