DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed on 6/23/2026 has been entered. Claims 17-32 remain pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 6/23/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In Applicant’s remarks filed on 6/23/2026, Applicant asserts that applying Zheng’s teaching – which relates only to convex outer surface areas – to the concave inner surface areas of bores of Raucher (U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2011/0223833) is not trivial and the geometry and measurement challenges differ significantly between convex and concave surfaces and therefore the combination of Rasucher and Zheng would not be obvious.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. The proposed modification in the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection in the Non-Final Rejection dated 3/23/2026 was not to import measuring techniques between convex and concave structures. Instead, the proposed modification was to incorporate Zheng’s teaching of filtering measured values and curve fitting to ascertain a particular geometry. Zheng deals with evaluation techniques for cylindricity errors (see title and abstract), i.e., applicable for both bores and shafts as they are both cylindrical surfaces. Therefore, the measurement challenge between a concave surface and a convex surface is irrelevant. There is no evidence why the teachings of Zheng to use filtering and curve fitting would be inappropriate for Rauscher’s measured values for bores. Zheng teaches these evaluation methods (filtering and curve fitting) allow to assess the cylindricity more accurately which is relevant to Rauscher’s intention of accurately measuring cylindricity (Rauscher, paragraph [0027]).
Applicant also argues that Raucher fails to teach “wherein the workpiece is clamped in a workpiece holding device of the finishing machine for the shape measurement and remains clamped in the workpiece holding device during machining and measurement”. The Examiner also respectfully disagrees. Raucher, clearly teaches in claim 14 that “the measurement of the workpiece surface is performed on the workpiece clamped in a machining clamping device, the measurement being performed during and/or after a fine machining step” which sufficiently anticipates the claimed limitation. It should also be noted that Applicant’s claim 32 recites “wherein the finishing machine has at least one of a machining station or a honing station, and a measuring station separate therefrom, wherein a transport device is provided for the automated transport of the workpiece between the machining station and the measuring station” which is contradictory to claim 29 reciting the workpiece clamped during machining and measurement.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 32 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 32 recites “wherein the finishing machine has at least one of a machining station or a honing station, and a measuring station separate therefrom, wherein a transport device is provided for the automated transport of the workpiece between the machining station and the measuring station” which is contradictory to claim 29 reciting the workpiece clamped during machining and measurement. It is unclear whether the workpiece is moved between the machining station and the measuring station or stayed in the workpiece holding device for both machining and measurement.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 17-31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rauscher (U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2011/0223833) in view of “Research of the On-Line Evaluating the Cylindricity Error Technology Based on the New Generation of GPS” by Zheng et al., hereinafter “Zheng”.
As per claim 17, Rauscher (U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2011/0223833) discloses a finishing method for material-removing finishing of a bore (161; figure 1) in a workpiece (160) on a finishing machine (100), wherein a finishing tool removes material from the inner surface of the bore in a finishing operation (via sensors 153) and a shape measurement of the inner surface of the bore is performed on the finishing machine before, during and/or after the finishing operation (measurement for determining the macro-shape; paragraph [0003]), the method comprising introducing a measuring tool into the bore (as shown; figure 1) and generating a relative movement between the measuring tool and the workpiece (the workpiece and radar sensor are moved relative to one another; paragraph [0030]), detecting geometry-relevant measurement values by the measuring tool (measuring the workpiece surface; paragraph [0015]), wherein the workpiece is clamped in a workpiece holding device of the finishing machine for the shape measurement and remains clamped in the workpiece holding device during machining and measurement (workpiece clamped in a machining clamping device, the measurement being performed during machining step; claim 14), and evaluating the measurement values in an evaluation operation to ascertain at least one shape measurement value describes the macro shape of the bore inner surface (paragraphs [0029], [0030]), wherein the evaluation operation comprises: ascertaining the shape measurement value using at least one geometric property of the fitting element (surface actual value that represent the macro shape of the workpiece surface is determined; paragraph [0039]); and further processing the shape measurement value to operate the finishing machine (controlling the fine machining tool; paragraph [0039]).
Rauscher does not explicitly teach filtering the measurement values generated by the measuring tool using a filter criterion and at least one filter parameter to ascertain filtered measurement values; performing a curve fitting on the filtered measurement values to ascertain at least one fitting element adapted to the filtered measurement values in a reference element selected from the group consisting of reference circle, reference line, reference cylinder, reference cone, reference sphere and a combination of rotationally symmetrical portions of at least two of the reference elements.
Zheng is a related prior art in that it deals with a method of evaluating cylindricity error. Zheng teaches filtering the measurement values generated by the measuring tool using a filter criterion and at least one filter parameter to ascertain filtered measurement values (filter to preprocess the sampling data to eliminate the noise; page 405); performing a curve fitting on the filtered measurement values to ascertain at least one fitting element adapted to the filtered measurement values (after filtering operation, then the data fitting and the evaluation of the cylindricity error are carried out; page 404, second paragraph) in a reference element selected from the group consisting of reference circle, reference line, reference cylinder, reference cone, reference sphere and a combination of rotationally symmetrical portions of at least two of the reference elements (the fitting process of the cylindricity error is to compare the actual profile of the measured workpiece with the ideal cylinder using four fitting methods; page 406, first and second paragraphs).
Rauscher teaches eliminating the measurement errors would increase the quality and reliability of the measurement results (paragraph [0032]) and Zheng teaches that filtering and fittings are the keys of the error evaluation (page 403, 4th paragraph) and cylindricity error due to grinding process and vibration can be reduced by filtering the data (page 405, bottom paragraph) and the curve fitting process allows to compare the actual profile of the measured workpiece with the ideal cylinder (page 406, first paragraph). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify Rauscher’s evaluation operation to incorporate Zheng’s filtering the curve fitting as it allows to assess the geometry characteristics accurately (page 405, bottom paragraph) and allows to compare the actual profile of the measured workpiece with the ideal cylinder (page 406, first paragraph).
As per claim 18, Rauscher discloses the finishing method as claimed in claim 17. While Rauscher does not explicitly teach the features of claim 18, Zheng teaches wherein a cutoff wavelength or the curvature of an interpolation curve is used as filter criterion (Gaussian filter using the appropriate cut-off frequency; page 405, bottom paragraph). Therefore, by the combination of claim 17 above, the modified method would have all claimed features of claim 18.
As per claim 19, Rauscher discloses the finishing method as claimed in claim 17. Rauscher also discloses wherein at least one of the workpiece is clamped in a workpiece holding device of the finishing machine for the measurement, and the workpiece is still during the measurement and the measuring tool is moved (workpiece 160 is clamped into a clamping device 126; paragraph [0052]).
As per claim 20, Rauscher discloses the finishing method as claimed in claim 17. Rauscher also discloses wherein a transport between a machining station and a measuring station of the finishing machine separate therefrom takes place between the finishing and the measuring (the measuring system is separate from a machining center; paragraph [0077]), and the workpiece remains clamped in the workpiece holding device (workpiece 160 is clamped into clamping device 126; paragraph [0052]).
As per claim 21, Rauscher discloses the finishing method as claimed in claim 17. Rauscher also discloses wherein the further processing comprises at least one of: displaying an ascertained shape measurement value visibly to an operator; digitally storing the ascertained shape measurement value together with other workpiece-specific data in a memory unit; modifying parameters of the control of the finishing operation on the basis of the shape measurement value (measurement results are used for process feedback control; paragraph [0039]); and classifying the measured workpiece, wherein, in classification as a bad part, the workpiece is automatically ejected from a production process (distinguishing acceptable parts and non-acceptable parts; paragraph [0007]).
As per claim 22, Rauscher discloses the finishing method as claimed in claim 17. Rauscher also discloses wherein a roundness measurement (measuring roundness; paragraph [0027]) to ascertain measurement values along a circumferential direction in at least one measurement plane and ascertaining a roundness value from the measurement values, and/or the roundness measurement comprises a rotation of the measuring tool about a measuring tool rotation axis during the measuring operation (scanning while the spindle is revolving; paragraph [0062]).
As per claim 23, Rauscher, in view of Zheng, discloses the finishing method as claimed in claim 22. While Rauscher does not explicitly teach the features of claim 23, Zheng teaches wherein the ascertaining of the roundness value a fitting circle is calculated by the filtered measurement values (FMW) and a smallest radius and a largest radius relative to the center (ZAK) of the fitting circle are determined, and/or the roundness value (RUND) is a difference between the largest and the smallest radius (the mathematical model of MIC uses radius of the measure workpiece (filtered measurement value), minimum cylinder radius and the maximum cylinder radius; page 406, bottom paragraph). Therefore, by the combination of claim 17 above, the modified method would have all claimed features of claim 23.
As per claim 24, Rauscher in view of Zheng, discloses the finishing method as claimed in claim 17. Rauscher further discloses wherein a straightness measurement comprises an axial movement of the measuring tool parallel to a measuring axis during the measuring operation to ascertain measurement values along an axis-parallel generatrix and an ascertaining of a straightness value from the measurement values (surface measurement value contain information about the cylindricity, i.e., inherently a roundness and straightness of a cylinder; profiling in an axial direction; paragraph [0027]).
As per claim 25, Rauscher in view of Zheng, discloses the finishing method as claimed in claim 17. Rauscher further discloses wherein at least one of: cylindricity measurement ascertains a cylindricity value; parallelism measurement ascertains a parallelism value from straightness measurements at two diametrically opposed generatrices of the bore; and cone measurement ascertains a cone value or a cone angle of the bore or in a conical portion of the bore (surface measurement containing information about cylindricity and conicity; paragraph [0027]).
As per claim 26, Rauscher in view of Zheng, discloses the finishing method as claimed in claim 17. Rauscher further discloses wherein a diameter measuring tool with at least one pair of diametrically opposed measuring probes is used as the measuring tool, or as a pneumatic measuring tool (two diametrically opposite radar sensors 152, 153; paragraph [0066]).
As per claim 27, Rauscher in view of Zheng, discloses the finishing method as claimed in claim 17. Rauscher further discloses wherein the ascertaining of a temporal development of at least one shape measurement value by offsetting at least two similar measuring operations is performed at different times (acquiring the temporal development of the shape of the machined bore; paragraph [0063]).
As per claim 28, Rauscher, in view of Zheng, discloses the finishing method as claimed in claim 17. While Rauscher does not explicitly teach the features of claim 23, Zheng teaches wherein, in an operating mode associated with the shape measurement, an operator query for entering at least one item of information suitable to set up the shape measurement is generated at an operator control device of the finishing machine (see figure 6; page 408), and wherein one or more queries are generated: a desired measuring mode is selected from the following group: cylindricity measurement (test item: cylindricity; see figure 6), roundness measurement, parallelism measurement, straightness measurement, conicity measurement, bellmouth or constriction measurement; and a filter criterion including Gaussian filter or spline filter, and a matching filter parameter (filter type: gaussian filter; figure 6). Therefore, by the combination of claim 17 above, the modified method would have all claimed features of claim 28.
As per claim 29, Rauscher discloses a finishing machine that finishes a bore in a workpiece comprising: at least one work station (100; figure 1) having a tool carrier (110) that carries a tool (140) and a workpiece holding device (126) that holds the workpiece in a working position of the work station (as shown; figure 1); a control device that controls working movements of the tool carrier and/or the workpiece holding device (control unit 125 controlling spindle drive 122; paragraph [0051]); a measuring system (150) that performs a shape measurement of the bore inner surface (surface measurement of bore inner surface; paragraph [0053]), wherein the measuring system has a measuring tool that can be inserted into the bore (as shown; figure 1) for detecting geometry-relevant measurement values (paragraph [0053]), and the measuring tool is coupled or can be coupled to the tool carrier and can be moved relative to the workpiece by generating a relative movement between the measuring tool and the workpiece carrier (as shown; figure 1); and an evaluation device that evaluates the measurement values detected by the measuring tool in an evaluation operation (control unit 125 comprises an evaluation device; paragraph [0055]) to ascertain at least one shape measurement value describing the macro shape of the bore inner surface (surface actual value that represent the macro shape of the workpiece surface is determined; paragraph [0039]); wherein the workpiece is clamped in a workpiece holding device of the finishing machine for the shape measurement and remains clamped in the workpiece holding device during machining and measurement (workpiece clamped in a machining clamping device, the measurement being performed during machining step; claim 14); wherein the evaluation device is configured in at least one evaluation mode to perform steps in an evaluation operation: ascertaining the shape measurement value using at least one geometric property of the fitting element (surface actual value that represent the macro shape of the workpiece surface is determined; paragraph [0039]); and processing the shape measurement value to operate the finishing machine (controlling the fine machining tool; paragraph [0039]).
Rauscher does not explicitly teach filtering the measurement values generated by the measuring tool using a filter criterion and at least one filter parameter to ascertain filtered measurement values; performing a curve fitting on the filtered measurement values to ascertain at least one fitting element adapted to the filtered measurement values in a reference element selected from the group consisting of reference circle, reference line, reference cylinder, reference cone, reference sphere and a combination of rotationally symmetrical portions of at least two of the reference elements.
Zheng is a related prior art in that it deals with a method of evaluating cylindricity error. Zheng teaches filtering the measurement values generated by the measuring tool using a filter criterion and at least one filter parameter to ascertain filtered measurement values (filter to preprocess the sampling data to eliminate the noise; page 405); performing a curve fitting on the filtered measurement values to ascertain at least one fitting element adapted to the filtered measurement values (after filtering operation, then the data fitting and the evaluation of the cylindricity error are carried out; page 404, second paragraph) in a reference element selected from the group consisting of reference circle, reference line, reference cylinder, reference cone, reference sphere and a combination of rotationally symmetrical portions of at least two of the reference elements (the fitting process of the cylindricity error is to compare the actual profile of the measured workpiece with the ideal cylinder using four fitting methods; page 406, first and second paragraphs).
Rauscher teaches eliminating the measurement errors would increase the quality and reliability of the measurement results (paragraph [0032]) and Zheng teaches that filtering and fittings are the keys of the error evaluation (page 403, 4th paragraph) and cylindricity error due to grinding process and vibration can be reduced by filtering the data (page 405, bottom paragraph) and the curve fitting process allows to compare the actual profile of the measured workpiece with the ideal cylinder (page 406, first paragraph). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify Rauscher’s evaluation operation to incorporate Zheng’s filtering the curve fitting as it allows to assess the geometry characteristics accurately (page 405, bottom paragraph) and allows to compare the actual profile of the measured workpiece with the ideal cylinder (page 406, first paragraph).
As per claim 30, Rauscher, in view of Zheng, discloses the finishing machine as claimed in claim 29. Rauscher further discloses wherein the work station has as tool carrier a movably mounted work spindle that can be rotated about a spindle axis by a rotary drive and moved parallel to the spindle axis by a linear drive (by means of spindle drive, it can be rotated with an axially oscillating motion; paragraph [0051]).
As per claim 31, Rauscher, in view of Zheng, discloses the finishing machine as claimed in claim 29. While Rauscher does not explicitly teach the features of claim 31, Zheng teaches wherein an operator control device that operates the finishing machine, in in an operating mode belonging to the shape measurement an operator query that enters at least one item of information suitable for setting up the shape measurement can be generated, and one or more queries can be generated (see parameter settings of cylindricity evaluation; figure 6); a desired measurement mode selected from the group consisting of: roundness measurement, straightness measurement, cylindricity measurement, parallelism measurement, conicity measurement, eccentricity measurement, and bellmouth/constriction measurement or linear combinations thereof (cylindricity measurement; figure 6); at least one filter criterion including a Gaussian filter or spline filter, and a matching filter parameter, and/or at least one cutoff wavelength (filter type can be chosen to be Gaussian filter; figure 6). Therefore, by the combination of claim 29 above, the modified method would have all claimed features of claim 31.
Claim(s) 32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Raucher in view of Zheng and Rompp (U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2017/0182630).
As per claim 32, Rauscher in view of Zheng, discloses the finishing machine as claimed in claim 29. Rauscher further discloses wherein the finishing machine has at least one of a machining station or a honing station, and a measuring station separate therefrom (measuring station that is separate from a machining center; paragraph [0077]). Rauscher does not explicitly teach wherein a transport device is provided for the automated transport of the workpiece between the machining station and the measuring station.
Rompp (U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2017/0182630) is a related prior art in that it deals with a system for precision finishing and measuring of a bore. Rompp teaches a transport device provided for the automated transport of the workpiece between the machining station and the measuring station (transport between individual stations is fully automated via appropriate handling systems or robot arms; paragraph [0034]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify Rauscher’s device to incorporate Rompp’s automated transport system for transporting between Rauscher’s measuring and machining station as it allows for fully automated transportation (Rompp, paragraph [0037]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SANG K KIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3745