Claims 10, 11, 14-16, and 18-24 are pending and are currently under consideration.
Claims 12, 13, and 17 are newly cancelled.
Claims 10, 16, and 18 are currently amended.
Claims 21-24 are newly added.
Withdrawn Rejections
The rejection of claim 10 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Murray-Smith (GB 2526591) is withdrawn in view of Applicant’s amendment to claim 10 to incorporate the limitations of claim 13.
The rejection of claim(s) 10, 11, 14-16, 19, and 20 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rizzi et al (WO 2019/202028) and Murray-Smith (GB 2526591) is withdrawn in view of Applicant’s amendment to claim 10 to incorporate the limitations of claim 13.
The rejection of claim(s) 10-20 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rizzi et al (WO 2019/202028) and Murray-Smith (GB 2526591) in view of Chen et al (CA 3097636) is withdrawn in view of Applicant’s amendment to the claims.
Rejections Maintained and Made Again in view of Applicant’s Amendments
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10, 11, 14-16, 18-24 (all claims currently under consideration) is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rizzi et al (WO 2019/202028)(IDS Reference), Murray-Smith (GB 2526591)(IDS Reference), and Biersack et al (DE 102019002106)(Machine Translation) as evidenced by Sigma Aldrich (Alginic acid sodium salt).
Rizzi teaches an aqueous composition comprising 2-15% graphene wherein at least 90% has a lateral size (x,y) from 100 to 10,000 nm and a thickness (z) from 0.34 to 10 nm, and wherein the C/O ratio is ≥ 100:1 and 2-5% thickener (see entire document for instance, page 11). The thickener is taught as being a polysaccharide, and specifically, alginates (see entire document for instance, page 12). Rizzi further teaches a textile with said composition applied in an amount of 40 g/m2, and specifically that the graphene is deposited in an amount of 1.44 g/m2 (see entire document, for instance, page 17). It is noted that based on 2-5% thickener, with an amount of 40 g/m2 for the composition, the amount of thickener would be 0.8-2 g/m2. The material of the textile article is taught as being selected from the group including cellulose acetate (see entire document, for instance, page 6, fourth and fifth paragraphs).
Rizzi, while teaching the instantly claimed composition and their instantly claimed amounts and that the thickener is an alginate, does not expressly teach that it is a salt of said alginate. Further, Rizzi does not expressly teach the presence of a phytotherapeutic substance.
Murray-Smith teaches ink composition comprising polysaccharides, and specifically sodium alginate (see entire document, for instance, page 2, third paragraph). Murray-Smith further exemplifies an embodiments with 1% sodium alginate as well as 5% graphene (see entire document, for instance, page 5, Example 3). It is noted that sodium alginate is also known as alginic acid sodium salt (see as evidence Sigma Aldrich, Alginic acid sodium salt).
Biersack teaches cellulose acetate materials can be used in combination with the germicidal actives thymoquinone and curcumin (see entire document, page 2, first full paragraph).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention, to utilize sodium alginate as taught by Murray-Smith as the alginate of Rizzi. One would have been motivated to do so since Rizzi teaches the presence of alginates, wherein Murray-Smith teaches similar compositions and teach that sodium alginate is particularly useful. There would be a reasonable expectation of success since both Rizzi and Murray-Smith are directed to compositions comprising graphene and alginates.
It further would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention, to utilize curcumin or thymoquinone as taught in Biersack in the composition of Rizzi. One would have been motivated to do so to add germicidal activity to the cellulose acetate material of Rizzi. There would be a reasonable expectation of success since Rizzi and Biersack are directed to compositions wherein the base material is cellulose acetate.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments in the Remarks filed 12/17/2025 have been fully considered but are not found persuasive against the grounds of rejection set forth above. It is note that the grounds of rejection set forth above are different from the grounds in the previous Office Action, and as such, Applicant’s arguments are considered moot.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TREVOR LOVE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1611