DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, Claims 1-8 and 19 in the reply filed on 07/06/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 9-18 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 07/06/2026.
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper content of an abstract of the disclosure.
A patent abstract is a concise statement of the technical disclosure of the patent and should include that which is new in the art to which the invention pertains. The abstract should not refer to purported merits or speculative applications of the invention and should not compare the invention with the prior art.
If the patent is of a basic nature, the entire technical disclosure may be new in the art, and the abstract should be directed to the entire disclosure. If the patent is in the nature of an improvement in an old apparatus, process, product, or composition, the abstract should include the technical disclosure of the improvement. The abstract should also mention by way of example any preferred modifications or alternatives.
Where applicable, the abstract should include the following: (1) if a machine or apparatus, its organization and operation; (2) if an article, its method of making; (3) if a chemical compound, its identity and use; (4) if a mixture, its ingredients; (5) if a process, the steps.
Extensive mechanical and design details of an apparatus should not be included in the abstract. The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph within the range of 50 to 150 words in length.
See MPEP § 608.01(b) for guidelines for the preparation of patent abstracts.
Claim Objections
Claims 4 and 5 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 4 recites the limitation “the first binder polymer comprises an acrylic polymer, polyacrylic acid, styrene butadiene rubber, polyvinyl alcohol, or two or more of them”. For enhanced clarity, the examiner suggests amending the limitation to read “the first binder polymer comprises an acrylic polymer, polyacrylic acid, styrene butadiene rubber, polyvinyl alcohol, or a combination thereof
Claim 5 recites “the second binder” in line 2. For consistency throughout the claims, the examiner suggests amending the limitation to read “the second binder polymer”.
Claim 5 recites the limitation “the second binder comprises poly(vinylidene fluoride), poly(vinylidene fluoride-co-hexafluoropropylene), poly(vinylidene fluoride-co- trichloroethylene), poly(vinylidene fluoride-co-tetrafluoroethylene), poly(vinylidene fluoride-co- trifluoroethylene), poly(methyl methacrylate), poly(ethylhexyl acrylate), poly(butyl acrylate), poly(acrylonitrile), poly(vinyl pyrrolidone), poly(vinyl acetate), poly(ethylhexyl acrylate-co-methyl methacrylate), poly(ethylene-co-vinyl acetate), polyethylene oxide, poly(arylate), or two or more of them”. For enhanced clarity, the examiner suggests amending the limitation to read “the second binder comprises poly(vinylidene fluoride), poly(vinylidene fluoride-co-hexafluoropropylene), poly(vinylidene fluoride-co- trichloroethylene), poly(vinylidene fluoride-co-tetrafluoroethylene), poly(vinylidene fluoride-co- trifluoroethylene), poly(methyl methacrylate), poly(ethylhexyl acrylate), poly(butyl acrylate), poly(acrylonitrile), poly(vinyl pyrrolidone), poly(vinyl acetate), poly(ethylhexyl acrylate-co-methyl methacrylate), poly(ethylene-co-vinyl acetate), polyethylene oxide, poly(arylate), or a combination thereof .
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moon et al. (US 2015/0140403 A1) further in view of Noumi et al. (US 2010/0227223 A1) (disclosed by Applicant on IDS dated 06/18/2026).
Regarding Claim 1:
Moon discloses a separator (10) for a lithium secondary battery (100), comprising a polyolefin porous support (porous base, 1), an inorganic composite porous layer (porous coating layer, 2) disposed on at least one surface of the polyolefin porous support (porous base, 1), and a porous adhesive layer (first adhesive layer, 3) disposed on the inorganic composite porous layer (porous coating layer, 2) (Figures 1 and 2, [0032, 0052, 0065]). Moon further discloses that the polyolefin porous support (porous base, 1) may be a membrane or fibrous base formed from polyethylene (Figure 1, [0051]). Moon further discloses that the inorganic composite porous layer (porous coating layer, 2) comprises an inorganic filler (inorganic particles) and a first binder polymer (polymer particles) (Figure 1, [0052]). Moon further discloses that the porous adhesive layer (first adhesive layer, 3) comprising a second binder polymer (Figure 1, [0061-0062]).
Moon is deficient in disclosing that the separator is a crosslinked structure-containing separator and that the polyolefin porous support is a crosslinked structure-containing polyolefin porous support having a crosslinked structure comprising polymer chains interconnected directly with one another.
Noumi discloses a separator (4) for a lithium secondary battery (cylindrical non-aqueous electrolyte battery, 1), the separator (4) comprising a crosslinked structure-containing polyolefin layer (resin sheet) (Figure 1, [0019, 0021, 0052-0053]). Noumi further discloses that the crosslinked structure-containing polyolefin layer (resin sheet) has a crosslinked structure comprising polymer chains interconnected directly with one another [0021-0024]. Noumi further discloses that the crosslinked structure-containing polyolefin layer (resin sheet) comprises polyethylene [0023].
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to select for the polyolefin porous support of Moon, the crosslinked structure-containing polyolefin layer of Noumi, as it is known in the art as a suitable polyethylene-containing polyolefin layer for use in a separator of a lithium secondary battery, as taught by Noumi. Furthermore, the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supports a prima facie obviousness determination (MPEP 2144.07). Upon the above modification, all of the limitations of Claim 1 are met.
Regarding Claim 2 (Dependent Upon Claim 1):
Moon as modified by Noumi discloses the crosslinked structure-containing separator of Claim 1 as set forth above.
Modified Moon does not explicitly disclose that the crosslinked structure-containing separator (10) has a heat shrinkage of 20% or less in each of machine direction and transverse direction, as determined after allowing the crosslinked structure-containing separator (10) to stand at 150°C for 30 minutes.
However, the instant specification teaches that the inorganic composite porous layer includes an inorganic filler and a first binder polymer which attaches the inorganic filler particles to one another so that they may retain their binding states, and the inorganic filler may be bound to the crosslinked structure-containing polyolefin porous support by the first binder polymer (p.14, lines 19-23). The instant specification further teaches that the inorganic composite porous layer prevents the crosslinked structure-containing polyolefin porous support from undergoing severe heat shrinking behavior at high temperatures, specifically such that the heat shrinkage may be 20% or less in each of the machine and transverse directions after allowing the separator to stand at 150°C for 30 minutes (p.15, lines 1-6).
As detailed above in the rejection of Claim 1, Moon discloses that the inorganic composite porous layer (porous coating layer, 2) comprises an inorganic filler (inorganic particles) and a first binder polymer (polymer particles) (Figure 1, [0052]). As such, the skilled artisan would expect that the inorganic composite porous layer (porous coating layer, 2) would prevent the separator (10) from heat shrinkage over 20% under the claimed conditions. Thus, all of the limitations of Claim 2 are met.
Regarding Claim 3 (Dependent Upon Claim 1):
Moon as modified by Noumi discloses the crosslinked structure-containing separator of Claim 1 as set forth above. Moon further discloses that a weight ratio of the inorganic filler (inorganic particles) to the first binder polymer (polymer particles) may be 97:3 [0097]. Thus, all of the limitations of Claim 3 are met.
Regarding Claim 4 (Dependent Upon Claim 1):
Moon as modified by Noumi discloses the crosslinked structure-containing separator of Claim 1 as set forth above. Moon further discloses that the first binder polymer (polymer particles) may be an acrylic polymer (acrylic acid ester-based polymer) [0097]. Thus, all of the limitations of Claim 4 are met.
Regarding Claim 5 (Dependent Upon Claim 1):
Moon as modified by Noumi discloses the crosslinked structure-containing separator of Claim 1 as set forth above. Moon further discloses that the second binder polymer may be polyvinylidene fluoride [0036]. Thus, all of the limitations of Claim 5 are met.
Regarding Claim 6 (Dependent Upon Claim 1):
Moon as modified by Noumi discloses the crosslinked structure-containing separator of Claim 1 as set forth above. Moon further discloses that the porous adhesive layer (first adhesive layer, 3) has a pattern (dots) having at least one adhesive portion (region where dots are placed) containing the second binder polymer and at least one non-coated portion (region where dots are not placed) having no adhesive portion (Figure 1, [0061-0062]). Thus, all of the limitations of Claim 6 are met.
Regarding Claim 7 (Dependent Upon Claim 1):
Moon as modified by Noumi discloses the crosslinked structure-containing separator of Claim 1 as set forth above. Upon the modification detailed above in the rejection of Claim 1, the polyolefin porous support (porous base, 1) of modified Moon is the crosslinked structure-containing polyolefin layer of Noumi. Noumi further discloses that the crosslinked structure-containing polyolefin layer has a meltdown temperature of above 170°C [0079]. Thus, all of the limitations of Claim 7 are met.
Regarding Claim 8 (Dependent Upon Claim 1):
Moon as modified by Noumi discloses the crosslinked structure-containing separator of Claim 1 as set forth above. Upon the modification detailed above in the rejection of Claim 1, the polyolefin porous support (porous base, 1) of modified Moon is the crosslinked structure-containing polyolefin layer of Noumi. Noumi further discloses that the crosslinked structure-containing polyolefin layer has a shutdown temperature of 150°C or less [0049]. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” or are “merely close” a prima facie case obviousness exists (MPEP §2144.05). Thus, all of the limitations of Claim 8 are met.
Regarding Claim 19 (Dependent Upon Claim 1):
Moon as modified by Noumi discloses the crosslinked structure-containing separator of Claim 1 as set forth above. Moon further discloses a lithium secondary battery (100) comprising a positive electrode (cathode, 114), a negative electrode (anode, 112) and a separator (113) interposed between the positive electrode (cathode, 114) and the negative electrode (anode, 112), wherein the separator (113) is the crosslinked structure-containing separator (10) of Claim 1 (Figures 1 and 2, [0063, 0067]). Thus, all of the limitations of Claim 19 are met.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 7-8, and 19 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over Claims 1 and 8-13 of copending Application No. 18/289,387 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the reference application addresses all of the limitations of the instant claims above.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1, 7-8, and 19 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over Claims 1, 4-5, 7-8, and 17 of copending Application No. 18/289,632 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the reference application addresses all of the limitations of the instant claims above.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1, 4-5, 7-8, and 19 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over Claims 1, 3-4, 7, 9, 11-12 and 26 of copending Application No. 18/289,203 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the reference application addresses all of the limitations of the instant claims above.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1, 7-8, and 19 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over Claims 1, 12-13, and 17-21 of copending Application No. 18/289,206 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the reference application addresses all of the limitations of the instant claims above.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1, 3-5, 7-8, and 19 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over Claims 1, 5-11, and 19 of copending Application No. 18/289,182 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the reference application addresses all of the limitations of the instant claims above.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1 and 7 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over Claims 1 and 15-18 of copending Application No. 18/266,045 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the reference application addresses all of the limitations of the instant claims above.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
/E.E.F./ Examiner, Art Unit 1724
/STEWART A FRASER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1724