DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 21-39 in the reply filed on 12/9/2025 is acknowledged.
Claim 40 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Group, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 12/9/2025.
Claim Objections
Claims 21-38 are objected to because of the following informalities: “A” must be added to the beginning of claim 21, and “The” at the start of every dependent claim. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 39 is objected to because of the following informalities: “A” must be added to the beginning of claim 39.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. The phrase “one or more” must be added before “the alkyl cyanoacrylate monomer” to be consistent with claim 21.
Claims 26-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Formula (I-1) is not present in claim 21.
Claim 28 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 28 claims monomer(s), but claim 21 only recites one poly(2-cyanoacrylate) monomer.
Claim 32 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 32 recites the limitation "the difunctional and polyfunctional (meth)acrylate component(s)" in claim 21. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 21-33, 35, 36, 38 and 39 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Barnes et al. (2014/0329959) in view of Tully et al. (2020/0102480).
Regarding claims 21-28 and 38: Barnes et al. teach a two-part curable composition comprising a Part B comprising 72 wt% of ethyl-2-cyanoacrylate (hereinafter ECA) [Examples; Table 24]; and a Part A comprising a (meth)acrylate component having at least two (meth)acrylate functions [Examples; Tables 15, 17, and 24].
Barnes et al. fail to teach a poly(2-cyanoacrylate).
However, Tully et al. teach that adding 5 wt% of a bis-cyanoacrylate of the claimed formulas [0048-0050] improves the heat resistance properties of a cured cyanoacrylate composition [0046].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add 5 wt% of the bis-cyanoacrylate of Tully et al. to part B of Barnes et al. to improve the heat resistance properties of the composition.
Regarding claim 29: Barnes et al. teach a thickener [Tables 15, 17 and 24].
Regarding claim 30: Barnes et al. teach greater than 80 wt% of (meth)acrylate components [Tables 15 and 24].
Regarding claims 31-33: Barnes et al. teach the claimed amount of difunctional Triethylene glycol dimethacrylate (hereinafter TRIEGMA) and the claimed amount of polyfunctional (meth)acrylate [Tables, 15 and 24].
Regarding claim 35: Barnes et al. teach a claimed additive [Examples; Tables].
Regarding claim 36: Barnes et al. teach the claimed ratio [0017; Examples; Tables].
Regarding claim 39: Barnes et al. teach a syringe comprising the two-part composition [Claim 10].
Claim(s) 34 and 37 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Barnes et al. (2014/0329959) and Tully et al. (2020/0102480) as applied to claim 1 above further in view of Pejoan Jimenez et al. (2017/0260422).
Regarding claim 34: Barnes et al. fail to each a nucleophilic initiator.
However, such initiators for cyanoacrylates are known in the art. For example, Pejoan Jimenez teaches that caffeine (a nucleophilic initiator and weak base) is a known cyanoacrylate polymerization initiator [0127].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted one known cyanoacrylate initiator (caffeine) as taught by Pejoan Jimenez in place of the initiator of Barnes with the predictable result of forming a useful adhesive composition because both are known as useful cyanoacrylate initiators. (See MPEP 2143(I)(B)).
Regarding claim 37: Barnes et al. teach a two-part curable composition comprising a Part B comprising 72 wt% of ethyl-2-cyanoacrylate (hereinafter ECA) [Examples; Table 24]; and a Part A comprising a (meth)acrylate component having at least two (meth)acrylate functions [Examples; Tables 15, 17, and 24]. Barnes et al. teach the claimed amount of difunctional Triethylene glycol dimethacrylate (hereinafter TRIEGMA) and the claimed amount of polyfunctional (meth)acrylate [Tables, 15 and 24]. Barnes et al. teach 9.40 wt% of thickener [Examples; Table 17]. Barnes et al. teach adding 5 wt% of fumed silica (thixotropic agent) [0027, 0109,0110] to their cyanoacrylate component. Barnes et al. teach 0.01 to 1 wt% of a peroxide initiator [Examples; Tables].
Barnes et al. fail to teach a poly(2-cyanoacrylate).
However, Tully et al. teach that adding 5 wt% of a bis-cyanoacrylate of the claimed formulas [0048-0050] improves the heat resistance properties of a cured cyanoacrylate composition [0046].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add 5 wt% of the bis-cyanoacrylate of Tully et al. to part B of Barnes et al. to improve the heat resistance properties of the composition.
Barnes et al. fail to each a nucleophilic initiator.
However, such initiators for cyanoacrylates are known in the art. For example, Pejoan Jimenez teaches that caffeine (a nucleophilic initiator and weak base) is a known cyanoacrylate polymerization initiator [0127].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted one known cyanoacrylate initiator (caffeine) as taught by Pejoan Jimenez in place of the initiator of Barnes with the predictable result of forming a useful adhesive composition because both are known as useful cyanoacrylate initiators. (See MPEP 2143(I)(B)).
Contact Information
/JOHN E USELDING/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1763