DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claim 1 is amended in view of applicant’s response filed 5/27/2026. Claims 7-8 are canceled. Therefore, claims 1-6 are currently under examination.
Status of Previous Rejections
The rejection of claims 1 and 5-6 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, has been withdrawn in view of applicant’s claim amendments and persuasive arguments in the response filed 5/27/2026.
The rejection of claim 7-8 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, has been withdrawn in view of cancellation of the claims in applicant’s response filed 5/27/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites “a content ratio of iron”, “a content ratio of chromium”, “a content ratio of zinc”, “a content ratio of titanium”, and “a content ratio of zirconium”. The term “ratio” implies comparison of two components and should be unitless. However, instant claim 2 uses “mass%” to quantify the claimed content ratios, which contradicts with the meaning of “ratio”. The instant specification also does not provide a clear definition for the claimed “ratio”. Therefore, claim 2 is vague and indefinite.
Claims 3-4 are also rejected because they depend on vague and indefinite claim 2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over JP 2015-124409(JP409).
JP409 teaches an aluminum alloy wire that applies to the claimed aluminum alloy wire in mass% as follows:
Al Alloy
Claims 1-2
Claim 3
Claims 4
JP409 (Sample No 1, Table 1)
Si
0.6-1.5
1.0-1.3
0.6-1.5
1.0
Mg
0.5-1.3
0.5-1.2
0.7-1.3
0.9
Cu
0.1-1.2
0.1-0.4
0.5-1.2
0.7
Mn
0.2-1.15
0.2-0.5
0.5-1.1
0.6
Fe
>0 & ≤ 0.8
0.3-0.8
0.02-0.4
0.2
Cr
>0 & ≤ 0.35
>0 & ≤ 0.3
>0 & ≤ 0.3
0.02
Zn
>0 & ≤ 0.5
-
0.005-0.5
0.17
Ti
>0 & ≤ 0.2
0.001-0.01
0.01-0.2
0.03
Zr
>0 & ≤ 0.2
-
0.05-0.2
0.12
Balance
Al & inevitable impurities
Al & inevitable impurities
Al & inevitable impurities
Al & inevitable impurities
Regarding claim 1-2, 4 and 6, Sample No. 1 of JP409 represent an Al alloy wire with the same chemical composition as claimed. JP409 further teaches that the Al alloy wire was solution treated and aged[0090], and the degree of orientation of 111 plane is 0.5 or more(i.e. 50% or more)[0065-0066, 0072].
Additionally, since JP409 discloses an Al alloy wire that is compositionally the same as claimed Al alloy and has also undergone plastic work(i.e. rolling [0081-0082]), solution treatment and aging as claimed and resulting in an Al alloy wiring having the same average of degree of orientation, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found that the Al alloy to have the same variance of the degrees of orientation of the 111 plane as claimed. Alternatively, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have expected significantly similar variance of the degrees of orientation of the 111 plane of the Al alloy of JP409, absent persuasive evidence to the contrary.
Claim(s) 3, 5 and 7-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP409.
The teachings of JP409 are discussed in section 8 above.
Regarding claim 3, broader scope of JP409 includes a Cu amount of more than 0.65 and less than 1.1 mass%[0056], a Mn amount of more than 0.55 and less than 1.15 mass%[0057], and an Fe amount of more than 0 and less than 0.4 mass%[0055]. The amount of Cu and Fe in the Al alloy wire of JP409 overlap the claimed amounts of Cu and Fe. The lower limit of Mn at 0.55 mass% in the Al alloy wire of JP409 is very close to the claimed upper limit of Mn. Therefore, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05(I). The selection of claimed amounts of Cu, Mn and Fe from the disclosed Cu, Mn Fe amounts in the Al alloy of JP409 would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art since JP409 teaches the same utilities in its disclosed Cu, Mn and Fe amounts.
Regarding claim 5, JP409 further teaches that the tensile strength of the Al alloy wire is preferably 390MPa or more[0065], which encompasses the claimed tensile strength of more than 425MPa. Therefore, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05(I). The selection of claimed tensile strength from the disclosed tensile strength of the Al alloy of JP409 would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art since JP409 teaches the same utilities in its disclosed tensile strength.
Regarding claim 7, JP409 further teaches a method of manufacturing an aluminum alloy wire comprising the steps of rolling a cast product of an aluminum alloy having the claimed alloy composition[0081-0082](i.e. plastic working), performing a first drawing on the Al alloy under cold conditions[0083-0084], performing an intermediate softening treatment[0087-0088] and performing a second drawing step under cold conditions[0083-0084,0095]. Additionally, JP409 further teaches wire drawing is performed until a predetermined wire diameter is obtained[0083] and the degree of processing(i.e. degree of work) in the second drawing step is determined based on the wire diameter after intermediate softening[0088]. Therefore, the degree of work is a result effective variable that affects the size of the final Al alloy wire product. It would have been well within the skills of an ordinary artisan to have arrived at the claimed degree of working in the second drawing step of JP409 via routine optimization depending on the wire diameter after intermediate softening in order to achieve designed final Al alloy wire diameter. Additionally, the degree of work in the second drawing would also depend on the wire diameter produced by the first drawing and the final desired wire diameter. It would have been well within the skills of an ordinary artisan to have applied a greater degree of working in the second drawing than the first drawing via routine optimization, if bigger diameter reduction is needed to reach the desired final wire diameter.
Regarding claim 8, Sample No. 1 in Table 1 of JP409 discloses an Al alloy wire composition that reads on the claimed Al alloy wire, as set forth in the rejection of claim 2 above.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 5/27/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In the remarks, applicant argues that JP409 cannot achieve the claimed variance of the degrees of orientation of the 111 plane in its Al alloy because JP409 does not teach that the degree of working in the second drawing is 20% or higher than the degree of working in the first drawing as disclosed by the instant specification, which is supported by the data presented in Tables 2-4 of the instant specification.
The examiner does not find applicant’s argument convincing because Tables 2-4 also includes a plurality of embodiments, such as Sample No 5 on Table 2, Sample No.12 & 15 on Table 3, Sample No. 21-22 and 25 on Table 4, showing degrees of working in the second drawing being lower than the degrees of working in the first drawing, yet still producing average degree of orientation of 111 plane higher than 50% and variance of degree of orientation of 111 plane at or lower than 40%. Therefore, the examiner concludes that degree of working in the second drawing does not necessarily has to be at least 20% higher than the degree of working in the first drawing as alleged by the applicant.
In addition, the degree of working in either the first or the second drawing steps are not recited in the scope of instant claims, therefore, does not limit the scope of the instant claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
LOIS ZHENG
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1733
/LOIS L ZHENG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1733