Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 and 7-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ogata (JP H10156741, herein referenced by the EPO English machine translation), in view of Miyamoto (JP 2011-183489, herein referenced by the EPO English machine translation).
Regarding the intended use limitation “a part changing apparatus for changing a part to be changed that is fastened by a screw” in the preamble of the claim, it is noted that the prior art used in the rejection is capable of being used for this function. During examination, statements in the preamble reciting the purpose or intended use of the claimed invention must be evaluated to determine whether the recited purpose or intended use results in a structural difference (or, in the case of process claims, manipulative difference) between the claimed invention and the prior art. If so, the recitation serves to limit the claim. See, e.g., In re Otto, 312 F.2d 937, 938, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963); In re Sinex, 309 F.2d 488, 492, 135 USPQ 302, 305 (CCPA 1962). If a prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use as recited in the preamble, then it meets the claim. See, e.g., In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d 1473, 1477, 44 USPQ2d 1429, 1431 (Fed. Cir. 1997). See also MPEP § 2112 - § 2112.02.
Re Claim 1, Ogata discloses a part changing apparatus 1 for changing a part to be changed that is fastened by a screw 31, the part changing apparatus comprising: a cylindrical member 13, 18; a cylindrical member holder 11 configured to support the cylindrical member 13, 18 movably along a central axis direction; and a driver bit 5 configured to be inserted into the cylindrical member 13 so as to be axially rotatable independently of the cylindrical member 13, 18, the cylindrical opening of the cylindrical member 13, 18 has an inner diameter greater than an outer diameter of the driver bit 5 (See figure 2), so that a gap (not labeled, there is an upward arrow in the gap as shown near numeral 11 of figure 2) is provided as an air passage between an inner peripheral surface of the cylindrical member 13, 18 and an outer peripheral surface of the driver bit 5 and the driver bit 5 is provided with an axial center hole (not labeled, see figure 2; Note: airflow arrows are depicted moving in and out of the center hole and communicating with the air passage) communicating with the air passage for sucking the screw (Pars. 0010-0019, Figs. 1-3).
Ogata does not explicitly disclose a front end of the driver bit protrudes from a cylindrical opening of the cylindrical member.
Miyamoto discloses a part changing apparatus for changing a part to be changed that is fastened by a screw 50, the part changing apparatus comprising: a cylindrical member 36; a cylindrical member holder 34 configured to support the cylindrical member 36 movably along a central axis direction of the cylindrical member 36; and a driver bit 32 configured to be inserted into the cylindrical member 36 so as to be axially rotatable independently of the cylindrical member 36, a front end of the driver bit 32 protrudes from a cylindrical opening of the cylindrical member 36 (Par. 0028, figures 2-4), so that a gap 36c is provided as an air passage between an inner peripheral surface of the cylindrical member 36 and an outer peripheral surface of the driver bit 32, for sucking the part (Pars. 0025-0029, Figs. 1-4). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Ogata by providing a driver bit having a front end that protrudes from a cylindrical opening of the cylindrical member, as disclosed by Miyamoto, as a known alternative configuration of parts changing apparatus.
Re Claim 2, the combination as applied to claim 1 remains as previously applied. Ogata discloses an urging member 14 configured to urge the cylindrical member 13 in a direction toward the front end of the driver bit 5 (Par.0014, Figs. 1 and 3).
Re Claim 3, the combination as applied to claim 1 remains as previously applied. Ogata discloses the air passage is provided in a range from a cylindrical opening (not labeled, the portion of the cylindrical member 13, 18 near numeral 13a) of the cylindrical member 13, 18 to a position at a predetermined distance behind the cylindrical opening (See figure 2).
Re Claim 4, the combination as applied to claim 1 remains as previously applied. Ogata does not explicitly disclose an O-ring interposed between the cylindrical member and the driver bit at a position behind the air passage.
Miyamoto discloses an O-ring 42 is interposed between the cylindrical member 36 and the driver bit 32 at a position behind the air passage, for the benefit of providing a sealing material (Par. 0032, Figs. 1-4). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Ogata by providing an O-ring interposed between the cylindrical member and the driver bit at a position behind the air passage, as disclosed by Miyamoto for the benefit of providing a sealing material.
Re Claim 5, the combination as applied to claim 1 remains as previously applied. Ogata discloses a nut runner holder 2' coupled to the cylindrical member holder 11; and a nut runner 1 detachably held by the nut runner holder 2' for axially rotating the driver bit 5 (Par. 0010 and 0011, Fig. 1).
Re Claim 7, the combination as applied to claim 1 remains as previously applied. Ogata discloses an opening 21 communicating with the air passage is provided in a side wall of the cylindrical member holder 11, and an air pump device (not shown) is connected to the opening via an air hose 23 (Par. 0011, Figs. 1 and 3). Ogata does not explicitly disclose the opening is provided in a side wall of the cylindrical member.
Miyamoto discloses an opening (not labeled) communicating with the air passage 36c is provided in a side wall of the cylindrical member 36, and an air pump device 19 is connected to the opening via an air hose 14 to supply air and suction to the parts changing apparatus (Pars. 0021-0023, 0033 and 0034, Figs. 1 and 2). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Ogata by providing an opening in a side wall of the cylindrical member, as disclosed by Miyamoto, as a known configuration of connecting an air pump device.
Re Claim 8, the combination as applied to claim 1 remains as previously applied. The combination does not explicitly disclose a switch interposed between the opening and the air pump device for switching between air suction and supply.
Miyamoto does however a control unit 18 is provided for controlling the air pump 19 that supplies air suction to parts changing apparatus (Par. 0023, Figs. 1 and 2). Based on this disclosure the Examiner construes it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide a switch interposed between the opening and the air pump device as desired, said switch being controlled by the controller to provide air suction or supply as desired while performing parts changing operations.
Re Claim 9, the combination as applied to claim 1 remains as previously applied. Ogata discloses the cylindrical member 13, 18 is detachably attachable to the cylindrical member holder 11 (Par. 0011, Figs. 1 and 2).
Re Claim 10, the combination as applied to claim 1 remains as previously applied. Ogata discloses the cylindrical member 13, 18 includes a cylindrical member main body 13 and a nozzle portion 18 detachably attachable to the cylindrical member main body 13 (Pars. 0011 and 0013; Fig. 2).
Re Claim 11, Ogata discloses a parts changing system, comprising: a part changing apparatus 1 for changing a part to be changed that is fastened by a screw 31, the part changing apparatus comprising: a cylindrical member 13, 18; a cylindrical member holder 11 configured to support the cylindrical member 13, 18 movably along a central axis direction; and a driver bit 5 configured to be inserted into the cylindrical member 13 so as to be axially rotatable independently of the cylindrical member 13, 18, the cylindrical opening of the cylindrical member 13, 18 has an inner diameter greater than an outer diameter of the driver bit 5 (See figure 2), so that a gap (not labeled, there is an upward arrow in the gap as shown near numeral 11 of figure 2) is provided as an air passage between an inner peripheral surface of the cylindrical member 13, 18 and an outer peripheral surface of the driver bit 5 and the driver bit 5 is provided with an axial center hole (not labeled, see figure 2; Note: airflow arrows are depicted moving in and out of the center hole and communicating with the air passage) communicating with the air passage for sucking the screw (Pars. 0010-0019, Figs. 1-3). Ogata does not explicitly disclose a robot equipped with the part changing apparatus at a tip of an arm of the robot; or a front end of the driver bit protrudes from a cylindrical opening of the cylindrical member.
Miyamoto discloses a part changing system, comprising: a robot 6 equipped with the part changing apparatus 2 at a tip of an arm of the robot 6 (Pars. 0020, 0024 and 0027, Fig. 1), the part changing apparatus 2 comprising: a cylindrical member 36; a cylindrical member holder 34 configured to support the cylindrical member 36 movably along a central axis direction of the cylindrical member 36; and a driver bit 32 configured to be inserted into the cylindrical member 36 so as to be axially rotatable independently of the cylindrical member 36, a front end of the driver bit 32 protrudes from a cylindrical opening of the cylindrical member 36 (Par. 0028, figures 2-4), so that a gap 36c is provided as an air passage between an inner peripheral surface of the cylindrical member 36 and an outer peripheral surface of the driver bit 32, for sucking the part (Pars. 0025-0029, Figs. 1-4). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Ogata by providing a robot having a parts changing apparatus at a tip arm of the robot, the robot capable of manipulating the parts changing apparatus as desired and a driver bit of said parts changing apparatus having a front end that protrudes from a cylindrical opening of the cylindrical member, as disclosed by Miyamoto, as a known alternative configuration of parts changing apparatus.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ogata (JP H10156741, herein referenced by the EPO English machine translation), in view of Miyamoto (JP 2011-183489, herein referenced by the EPO English machine translation), as applied to claim 1, in view of Park (KR 20190067350, herein referenced by the EPO English machine translation).
Park discloses a part changing apparatus, comprising: a cylindrical member 2000, 3000; and a driver bit 1000 configured to be inserted into the cylindrical member 2000, 3000 so as to be axially rotatable independently of the cylindrical member 2000, 3000, a front end of the driver bit 1000 protrudes from a cylindrical opening of the cylindrical member 2000, 3000; the cylindrical opening of the cylindrical member 2000, 3000 has an inner diameter greater than an outer diameter of the driver bit 1000 (See figure 6), so that a gap is provided and the driver bit 1000 is provided with a plurality of axial holes 301a-301d communicating with an air passage 300 for sucking a screw (not shown) (Pars. 0033-0041, Figs. 1-6); an opening is provided in a sidewall of the cylindrical member 2000, 3000 and communicating with an air passage and an air pump device is connected to the opening via an air hose, for the benefit of providing an external vacuum source (Pars. 0065-0070, Figs. 6 and 7). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Ogata by providing an opening in a side wall of the cylindrical member, as disclosed by Park, as a known alternative means of providing an external vacuum source to the parts changing apparatus.
Response to Arguments
Some of Applicant's arguments filed April 22, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues the driver bit is provided with an axial center hole communicating with the air passage for sucking the screw,.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. As may be noted from the figures of Ogata, particularly Figure 2, the driver bit 5 is shown to have an axial center hole that communicates with an air passage formed between the cylindrical member 13, 18 and the driver bit 5 (Par. 0007, Fig. 2).
Applicant’s arguments, see the reply, filed April 22, 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-11 under Ogata and Miyamoto have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Ogata, in view of Miyamoto.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BAYAN SALONE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3726