Detailed Action
The present office action is in response to the reply filed on 06 May 2026.
Status
Claims 1-2, 4-6, 8, 10-14, 21, and 23 of the pending application have been examined on the merits. Claims 3, 7, 9, 17, 19-20, and 22 of the instant application are withdrawn (see “Response to Applicant Elections” below). Acknowledgement is made of the cancellation of claims 15-16 and 18.
Priority
Applicants identify the instant application, Serial #: 18/289,475, filed 03 Nov 2023, as a National Stage Entry of International Patent Application #: PCT/CN2022/090984, filed 05 May 2022, which claims foreign priority from Foreign Application #: CN202110494141.3, filed 07 May 2021.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 27 Dec 2024 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Applicant Elections
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-14 and 21-23, in the reply filed on 06 May 2026 is acknowledged. Applicant further elected the following species of formula I in the reply filed 06 May 2026:
A search for the elected species returned prior art.
Claims 3, 7, 9, and 22 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Claims 17 and 19-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 06 May 2026.
Examiner notes that the relevant anticipation rejection below is based upon art which was found incidental to the search for the elected species. The additional art found is relevant to the claims addressing species which have the same tricyclic moiety as formula I in the claims. This is not indicative that the entire scope of the claims has been examined; however, the following art is being applied in an effort to promote compact prosecution of the case.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-2, 4-6, 8, 10-14, 21, and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 1-2 and 5 include the limitation of a “cis-trans isomer.” The instant specification does not provide a definition for “cis-trans isomer” that would allow a person of ordinary skill in the art to understand what the claim limitation means by this phrase. Cis-trans isomers are geometric isomers and have different connectivity of the atoms in the molecule. The artisan would question what these isomers look like and how to make these isomers. It is further not clear that applicant has possession of these specific isomers. Claims 4, 6, 8, 10-14, 21, and 23 fail to remedy the deficiencies of claims 1-2 and 5. Applicant may overcome this rejection by cancelling “cis-trans isomer” from the claims or pointing to a reference in the specification that would explain to the artisan what is meant by “cis-trans isomer.”
Claims 1-2, 4-6, 8, 10-14, 21, and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Factors to be considered in making the determination as to whether one skilled in the art would recognize the applicant was in possession of the claimed invention as a whole at the time of filing include:
Actual reduction to practice;
Disclosure of drawings or structural chemical formulas;
Sufficient relevant identifying characteristics such as:
Complete structure,
Partial structure,
Physical and/or chemical properties, or
Functional characteristics when coupled with a known or disclosed correlation between function and structure;
Method of making the claimed invention;
Level of skill and knowledge in the art;
Predictability in the art.
While all these factors are considered, a sufficient number for a prima facie case are discussed below.
Regarding claims 1-2, 5, 6, 8, 10-14, 21, and 23, here, the claims are drawn to "prodrug." Applicant provides no guidance as to prodrugs. The artisan understands that prodrug forms are generally determined a posteriori, and it is only through trial and error that prodrugs are identified. The artisan understands the concept of prodrugs, however the artisan does not per se understand what specifically describes a prodrug form. Han (AAPS Pharmsci, 2000, vol. 2, article 6), cited here for evidence, teaches there is no strict universal definition for a prodrug itself but that, in general, the prodrug is an inactivated form of the drug that activates in vivo to the active form (pg. 1, column 2). While some prodrugs are simply esters or salts, other prodrug forms are not chemically or structurally related to their active form, one example being glucose as the prodrug form of hydrogen peroxide (Table 1, pg. 5), as is hypoxanthine, thus posing a problem as to understanding what is the exact prodrug form of a compound, as hydrogen peroxide has two prodrug forms in the limited set of compounds exemplified in Han.
According to Ettamayer et al. (J Med Chem, 2004, 47:2393-2404), cited here for evidence, prodrugs are often accidental discoveries (pg. 2393, column 2). Furthermore, Testa et al. (Biochem Pharm, 2004, 68:2097-2106), cited here for evidence, teaches:
[A] number of challenges await medicinal chemists and biochemists carrying out prodrug research, such as the additional work involved in synthesis, physiochemical profiling, pharmacokinetic profiling and toxicological assessment. Two of these challenges are introduced here, namely biological variability and toxicity potential. The challenge of biological variety results principally but not only from the huge number and evolutionary diversity of enzymes involved in xenobiotic metabolism. Inter- and intra-species differences in the nature of these enzymes, as well as many other differences such as the nature and level of transporters, may render prodrug optimization difficult to predict and achieve. (pg. 2098, column 2)
Methods of making compounds, in general, are known to the artisan. However, the methods of making any specific prodrug are complex and poorly understood, requiring an undue amount of experimentation to determine if a compound is actually a prodrug, and the instant specification fails to provide guidance to overcome the complexity and difficulties known to the artisan, as discussed above.
Thus, the artisan would have increased difficulty in determining how to convert the claimed compounds into prodrugs.
Regarding claim 4, these claims are similarly rejected as these claims refer back to 2, but do not remedy the rationale underpinning the basis for rejecting claim 2.
The description requirement of the patent statute requires a description of an invention, not an indication of a result that one might achieve if one made that invention. See In re Wilder, 736, F2d 1516, 1521, 222 USPQ 369, 372-73 (Fed. Cir. 1984) (affirming rejection because the specification does "little more than outlin[e] goals appellants hope the claimed invention achieves and the problems the invention will hopefully ameliorate.") Accordingly, it is deemed that the specification fails to provide adequate written description for the genus of the claims and does not reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the entire scope of the claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 2, 4, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "X is -O-, CH2- or absent…” There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claims 4 and 21 are rejected for failing to remedy the deficiencies of claim 2. Applicant may overcome this rejection by amending the claims to give proper antecedent basis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 5-6, 8, 10-14, and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US 2023/0357268 (provided in IDS 12/27/24), hereinafter ‘268. ‘268 was published 09 Nov 2023 and has an effective filing date of 10 Jul 2020. The following anticipation rejection below is based upon art which was found incidental to the search for the elected species. The additional art found is relevant to the claims addressing species which have the same tricyclic moiety as formula I in the claims. This is not indicative that the entire scope of the claims has been examined; however, the following art is being applied in an effort to promote compact prosecution of the case.
The instant claims are drawn to a compound of formula I:
The claims are further drawn towards compositions of a compound of formula I and a pharmaceutically-acceptable excipient (claim 14).
‘268 teaches Compound 15 (below) which is a species of formula I when n is 0; Rx- is H; R2 is H; X is O; U is -CH2-; Ry is H; Rz is H; Q is O; m is 1; A is
; R5 is H; R6 is H; Z is CR3; R3 is halogen; Z’ is CR4; R4 is halogen; V is -O-W; and W is 6-membered heteroaryl substituted by C1 haloalkyl (paragraph [0145]).
The reference further teaches a pharmaceutical composition of the reference compounds and a pharmaceutically acceptable excipient (paragraph [0055]). The instant claims are anticipated by the reference compound 15 and the pharmaceutical composition of the reference.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-6, 8, 10-14, 21, and 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 112778331 (provided in IDS 12/27/24), hereinafter ‘331.
The instant claims are drawn to a compound of formula I:
Applicant has elected the following compound as a species of formula I:
The claims are further drawn towards compositions of a compound of formula I and a pharmaceutically-acceptable excipient (claim 14).
‘331 teaches compounds which have use as Lp-PLA2 inhibitors, including Compound 13 (Abstract; and pg. 7):
‘331 also teaches pharmaceutical compositions comprising the reference compounds and a pharmaceutically acceptable excipient. Compound 13 differs from the instant claims in having a 5-membered ring in the central ring of the tricyclic moiety instead of a 6-membered ring as in the instantly elected compound.
MPEP § 2144.09 states:
“compounds which are position isomers (compounds having the same radicals in physically different positions on the same nucleus) or homologs (compounds differing regularly by the successive addition of the same chemical group, e.g., by -CH2- groups) are generally of sufficiently close structural similarity that there is a presumed expectation that such compounds possess similar properties. In re Wilder, 563, F.2d 457, 195 USPQ 426 (CCPA 1977).”
The compounds above are considered homologs. The person having ordinary skill in the art would thus find it obvious that these compounds are equivalent, having similar activity and structure.
Applicant cannot rely upon the certified copy of the foreign priority application to overcome this rejection because a translation of said application has not been made of record in accordance with 37 CFR 1.55. When an English language translation of a non-English language foreign application is required, the translation must be that of the certified copy (of the foreign application as filed) submitted together with a statement that the translation of the certified copy is accurate. See MPEP §§ 215 and 216.
A reference is good not only for what it teaches by direct anticipation but also for what one of ordinary skill in the art might reasonably infer from the teachings (In re Opprecht 12 USPQ 2d 1235, 1236 (Fed Cir. 1989); In re Bode 193 USPQ 12 (CCPA) 1976). In light of the foregoing discussion, the examiner concludes that the subject matter defined by the instant claims would have been obvious within the meaning of 35 USC 103. From the teachings of the references, it is apparent that one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in producing the claimed invention. Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, as evidenced by the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Double Patenting
Claim 1-2, 4-6, 8, 10-14, 21, and 23 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2 and 8-26 of copending Application No. 17/775,108 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
The reference teaches compounds of reference Formula I (claim 1):
Further, the reference application claims species of formula I which includes Example 13:
The reference formula I differs from the instant claims in having a 5-membered ring in the central ring of the tricyclic moiety instead of a 6-membered ring as in the instantly elected compound.
MPEP § 2144.09 states:
“compounds which are position isomers (compounds having the same radicals in physically different positions on the same nucleus) or homologs (compounds differing regularly by the successive addition of the same chemical group, e.g., by -CH2- groups) are generally of sufficiently close structural similarity that there is a presumed expectation that such compounds possess similar properties. In re Wilder, 563, F.2d 457, 195 USPQ 426 (CCPA 1977).”
The compounds above are considered homologs. The person having ordinary skill in the art would thus find it obvious that these compounds are equivalent, having similar activity and structure.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
Correspondence
/J.D.M./Examiner, Art Unit 1625 /Andrew D Kosar/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1625