DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-5, in the reply filed on 5/13/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 reads, “the imaging device” in line 3. The only previously mentioned imaging device is the “mobile imaging device.” However, in every previous instance (three times in claims 1-2), the mobile imaging device is referred to as the mobile imaging device, so it’s unclear whether “the imaging device” is intended to refer to the mobile imaging device or to any imaging device. This lack of clarity causes the scope of the claims to be indefinite. For the sake of examination, it will be interpreted as referring to the mobile imaging device.
Claim 3 also mentions a “slide body.” It’s unclear whether this refers to the body of the previously mentioned slide or a component not previously mentioned that is related to the slide. This lack of clarity causes the scope of the claims to be indefinite. For the sake of examination, it will be interpreted as encompassing both interpretations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over De Waal (US 20200197926 A1) in view of Xu (Automatic smartphone-based microfluidic biosensor system at the point of care; cited by Applicant).
Regarding claim 1, De Waal teaches a mobile kit for imaging microscopic organisms in a liquid sample, comprising:
a slide (300) having a liquid sample chamber (6) with a liquid sample inlet (20; paragraph 11; figure 4); and
a slide reader (figure 5) containing a lens (102) and configured to receive the slide and image the liquid sample chamber through the lens using a mobile imaging device (122; paragraph 78) that is coupled to the slide reader,
characterised in that:
the liquid sample chamber of the slide is a linear elongated liquid sample chamber (figure 4);
the slide reader comprises a track (track is suggested by the pictures and the movement axis along which the slide is moved; as a track is the route along which a thing moves [Oxford English Dictionary, “track (n.1),” June 2026, https://doi.org/10.1093/OED/2890790006.] configured to receive the slide and guide movement of the slide along the track allowing the length of the linear elongated liquid sample chamber to be imaged through the lens (paragraphs 70, 124, and 88-89); and
a drive module (101) configured to move the slide along the track (paragraph 70).
As explained above, De Waal suggests but doesn’t explicitly teach the track.
Like De Waal (and like the instant application), Xu is directed to imaging of a liquid sample using a mobile phone and teaches using a track to receive and guide movement of the slide (figure 1C).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the slide reader comprise a track to receive and guide the slide in order to ensure precise positioning of the slide and thus minimize errors due to misalignment (also see additional prior art).
Claims 2-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over De Waal and Xu as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Muramatsu (US 20150054935 A1; cited by Applicant).
Regarding claim 2, De Waal doesn’t explicitly teach a substantially planar attachment module having an upper surface, a lower surface, and an aperture extending between the surfaces, wherein the upper surface is configured for detachably attaching to a mobile imaging device and the lower surface is configured to detachably attach to the slide reader such that a lens of the mobile imaging device is aligned with the lens of the slide reader through the aperture.
Like De Waal (and like the instant application), Muramatsu is directed to microscopic imaging using a mobile phone and teaches a substantially planar attachment module (3) having an upper surface, a lower surface (figure 1), and an aperture (16) extending between the surfaces, wherein the upper surface is configured for detachably attaching to a mobile imaging device (10) and the lower surface is configured to detachably attach to the sample reader (figure 2) such that a lens of the mobile imaging device is aligned with the lens of the sample reader through the aperture (figure 1).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the above combination such that it includes a substantially planar attachment module having an upper surface, a lower surface, and an aperture extending between the surfaces, wherein the upper surface is configured for detachably attaching to a mobile imaging device and the lower surface is configured to detachably attach to the slide reader such that a lens of the mobile imaging device is aligned with the lens of the slide reader through the aperture – in order to precisely align the mobile phone and therefore reduce errors due to misalignment.
Regarding claim 3, in the above combination the lower surface of the attachment module and upper surface of the slide reader are configured to correctly align the attachment module and slide body such that the imaging device is aligned with the lens of the slide reader through the aperture (Muramatsu, figure 1 and De Waal figure 5).
Regarding claim 4, in the above combination an upper surface of the slide body and lower surface of the attachment module are shaped or comprise corresponding magnets to guide the alignment of the attachment module and slide body (shaped to guide alignment as illustrated in Muramatsu, figures 1-4).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over De Waal, Xu, and Muramatsu as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Chang (KR 101926059 B1; cited by Applicant) and Frumkin (US 20170042298 A1).
Regarding claim 5, the above combination doesn’t explicitly teach the upper surface of the attachment module comprises a layer of synthetic setae.
Like the above combination (and like the instant application), Chang is directed to an attachment module for attaching a mobile phone to a microscopic imaging device comprising a slide and teaches the upper surface of the attachment module comprises a layer of adhesive (63).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the above combination such that the upper surface of the attachment module comprises a layer of adhesive in order to ensure that alignment is maintained during the operation of the imaging and therefore reduce errors due to misalignment.
The above combination doesn’t explicitly teach the adhesive is synthetic setae.
However, the above combination teaches that it is desirable to have the adhesive be able to stick and unstick multiple times (page 3 of attached translation of Chang). Frumkin is also concerned with the problem of an adhesive that allows a mobile phone to stick and unstick multiple times and teaches that having the adhesive be synthetic setae (gecko adhesive) allows the mobile phone to stick and unstick multiple times, easily, while leaving no marks (paragraphs 11-12 and 46).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the above combination such that the adhesive is synthetic setae in order to allow the mobile phone to stick and unstick multiple times, easily, while leaving no marks (also see additional prior art).
Additional Prior Art
WO 2020120640; cited by Applicant reads, “the module 70 includes a servo motor 72 and rotary actuator 73 positioned to abut a side of the slide 3 in the slotted seat that upon actuation moves the slide laterally along the slotted seat.” And “a slotted seat 23 for receiving a McMaster slide 3 “
CH 713814 A1 Reads ‘In the example in Fig. 2, a mobile phone 12 is placed on the mounting surfaces 13 with gecko adhesion effect. By the contact between the back surface of the mobile phone 12 and the attachment surfaces 13 with gecko adhesion effect, the mobile phone is secured against falling out of the notebook envelope 2.”
RD 628008 A teaches using synthetic setae to adhere a phone to a vehicle.
Conclusion
/RUFUS L PHILLIPS/ Examiner, Art Unit 2877