DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 3-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakano et al. (JP 2015-123491 – machine translation) in view of Yamashita et al. (US 6,156,132 – cited by applicant).
Considering claim 1, Nakano teaches a solder composition (abstract) for use with electronic devices (Paragraph 2). The composition comprises a flux and solder powder (Paragraph 11) in a paste (Paragraph 36). The solder may be a lead-free solder powder comprised of Sn, Bi, etc. (Paragraph 27). The flux comprises a rosin, a solvent, and activator, and an antioxidant (Paragraph 12) as well as a thixotropic agent (Paragraph 25). The activator may be one or more of an organic acid, etc. (Paragraph 17) and the antioxidation includes imidazole compounds (Paragraph 22). The organic acid comprises individually or in combination mono- and di-carboxylic acids of succinic, glutaric, adipic, etc. (Paragraph 17). The imidazole compound includes 2-ethylimidazole, 2-methylimidazole, 2-ethyl-4-methylimidazole, etc. (e.g. compounds having 3-6 carbon atoms) (Paragraph 22). However, Nakano does not teach the claimed solder alloy.
In a related field of endeavor, Yamashita teaches lead-free solder alloys (abstract) used to form solder joints for electronic equipment (Column 1 lines 13-16). The solder has a low melting point and good ductility (Column 2 lines 10-13) and comprises by weight Bi: 30-58%, Ge: 0.1% or less, balance Sn (Column 2 lines 14-20; Claim 1). The alloy may optionally contain Ag: 5% or less, Sb: 5% or less, Ni: 0.2% or less, Cu: 1% or less (Column 3 lines 19-29). The alloys are demonstrated to have solid phase temperatures (e.g. solidus temperatures) of 136-140 °C (Column 5 table). The alloy is taught to be low-fusing and having good ductility, heat resistance, and wettability (Column 3 lines 29-33).
As both Nakano and Yamashita teach lead-free solders for joining electronics they are considered analogous. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the teachings of Nakano with the solder composition taught by Yamashita as the alloy is known to be low-fusing and have good ductility, heat resistance, and wettability and one would have had a reasonable expectation of success. Further, the composition taught by modified Nakano overlaps that which is claimed and the courts have held that where claimed ranges overlap or lie inside of those disclosed in the prior art a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05.
Considering claims 3 and 6, Nakano teaches where the organic acid comprises individually or in combination succinic, glutaric, adipic, etc. (Paragraph 17) in a total amount of 1-10% by mass of the flux (Paragraph 19). See MPEP 2144.05
Considering claims 4-5 and 7, Nakano teaches where the solder composition forms a joint of an electronic component of a device (Paragraph 30).
Considering claim 8, Nakano teaches where the imidazole compound includes 2-ethylimidazole, 2-methylimidazole, 2-ethyl-4-methylimidazole, etc. (Paragraph 22).
Considering claim 9, Nakano taches where the imidazole compound is present in an amount of 0.1-5% by mass of the flux (Paragraph 23). See MPEP 2144.05.
Considering claim 10, Nakano teaches where the rosin is one or more of gum rosin, wood rosin, etc. (Paragraph 14).
Considering claim 11, Nakano teaches where the rosin is present in 30-70% by mass of the flux (Paragraph 16). See MPEP 2144.05.
Considering claim 12, Nakano teaches where the solvent is present in 10-50% by mass of the flux (Paragraph 21).
Considering claim 13, Nakano teaches where the thixotropic agent is present in 2-6% by mass of the flux (Paragraph 26). See MPEP 2144.05.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks, p.6, 1st section, filed 19 May 2026, with respect to double patenting rejections have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of claims 1, 4-5, and 7 has been withdrawn. Applicant has amended the claims such that they are distinct of US 11,839,937.
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks p.6, 2nd section, filed 19 May 2026, with respect to 35 USC 112(b) have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of claim 3 has been withdrawn. Applicant has amended the claim to remove indefiniteness.
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks pp.6-7, 3rd section, filed 19 May 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 and 3-7 under 35 USC 103 in view of Arzadon have been fully considered and are persuasive. Applicant has amended the claims to preclude the required material of methylsuccinate disclosed by Arzadon. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Nakano and Yamashita as outlined above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
SETH DUMBRIS
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1784
/SETH DUMBRIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1784