DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 4-5, and 7 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims of U.S. Patent No. 11,839,937. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because instant claim 1 recites a paste of a solder powder of an alloy and flux where the alloy consists by mass(i) Bi: 32-40%, Sb: 0.1-1.0%, Cu: 0.1-1.0%, Ni: 0.001-0.1%, Ag: 0-3%, Fe: 0-0.1%, Co: 0-0.1%, Ga, Mn, and V each: 0-0.01%, P: 0-0.1%, Ge: 0-0.1%, Sn: remainder and impurities, etc.. This is patentably indistinct of claim 1 of the ‘937 patent which recites Bi: 32-40%, Sb: 0.1-1.0%, Cu: 0.1-1.0%, Ni: 0.001-0.1%, Ag: 0.3% or less, Fe and/or Co: 0.001-0.1%, at least one of Ga, Mn, V, P, and Ge and V each: 0.001-0.01%, and Sn: remainder and impurities.
The instant claims and those of the ‘937 patent recite overlapping lead-free solder alloys and the courts have held that where claimed ranges overlap or lie inside of those disclosed in the prior art a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05.
Instant claims 4-5 and 7 recites a solder joint overlapping claim 9 of the ‘937 patent.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites “the dicarboxylic acids” and this lacks antecedent basis as the claim also references “linear dicarboxylic acids”. This may be overcome by amending to recite “ the linear dicarboxylic acids”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 3-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arzadon et al. (US 2003/0221748).
Considering claim 1, Arzadon teaches a solder flux and solder paste (abstract). The paste comprises a powdered solder alloy and the flux where the flux comprises a base component, a solvent component, a rheological component, an activator, and an accelerator (Paragraph 20). The solder alloy comprises Pb-free alloys including Sn42Bi58, etc. (e.g. lead-free solder alloy ii) (Paragraph 44). The base component comprises a rosin, etc. (paragraph 22). The rheological component comprises a thixotropic agent to allow for stenciling (Paragraph 36). The activating agent comprises mono- and di-carboxylic acids including linear di-carboxylic acids of succinic acid, glutaric acid, etc. (e.g. 4-5 carbon atom linear dicarboxylic acids) (Paragraph 29). The accelerating component comprises 2-methylimidazole and 2-ethylimidazole, etc. (e.g. 4-5 carbon atom imidazoles) (Paragraph 32). The accelerating compound of Arzadon is considered the claimed activator compound as they are substantially identical and a material and its properties are inseparable, absent an objective showing. See MPEP 2112.01.
While not expressly teaching a singular example of the claimed solder paste this would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date in view of the teachings of Arzadon as this is considered a combination of conventionally known components known to afford a conventionally known solder paste and one would have had a reasonable expectation of success. While not expressly teaching the claimed solidus temperature, Arzadon teaches a substantially identical solder alloy as that which is claimed and this is considered to be present as a material and its properties are inseparable, absent an objective showing. See MPEP 2112.01. Further, the mass of Bi and Sn taught by Arzadon overlaps that which is claimed and the courts have held that where claimed ranges overlap or lie inside of those disclosed in the prior art a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05.
Considering claim 3, Arzadon teaches where the organic acid component is present in about 1-30 wt.% and preferably 2-20 wt.% overlapping that which is claimed (Paragraph 28). See MPEP 2144.05.
Considering claims 4-5 and 7, Arzadon teaches where the paste is printed on a PCB and electronic devices are mounted thereon (Paragraph 50) and then paste is heated to form a solder joint (Paragraph 51) and is used with both electronic components and electronic devices (Paragraphs 4-5).
Considering claim 6, Arzadon teaches where the di-carboxylic acid comprises succinic acid, glutaric acid, etc. (Paragraph 29).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Yamashita et al. (US 6,156,132), Inaba et al. (US 2019/0193211), and Mutuki et al. (US 2020/0070287) teach solder alloys similar to that which is claimed. Wetz et al. (US 2004/0084510), Shiratori et al. (US 2020/0047291), and Kawanago et al. (US 2021/0078113) teach solder pastes similar to that which is claimed.
SETH DUMBRIS
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1784
/SETH DUMBRIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1784