DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Examiner acknowledges the reply filed on 5/27/2026 in which claim 3 has been amended. Currently claims 1-14 are pending for examination in this application. The examiner notes that this action is a Non-final as a new secondary reference is relied upon. Since the claims have not been amended, the new grounds of rejection was not necessitated by amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 8-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pulver et al. (WO 00/07157) in view of Ota (JP 2015/177227 A). The examiner notes the translation of Ota provided by the examiner is relied up on in the rejection set forth below.
Regarding claim 1, Pulver discloses: A communications assembly (102) for a mask (100) (page 10, lines 4-6), the assembly comprising:
a housing (101; page 10, line 10) configured to couple to the mask (see figure 3 where 102 couples to 100; page 11, lines 3-32), the housing including:
a substrate (113; figures 3-3a);
a push-to-talk actuator (109; page 10, lines 30-31) coupled to the substrate (see figure 3; page 11, lines 1-2); and
a transceiver (112) coupled to the substrate (see figure 3).
Pulver is not explicit in the type of transceiver and thus does not explicitly disclose the transceiver is a near field communication antenna.
However, Ota teaches a communication system (abstract; page 2, paragraph 2 starting with “In the”) and thus is analogous art. Ota teaches that it is known to use a near field communication antenna (2e) for communication (last paragraph of page 5; page 3, paragraph 4 starting with “First”- paragraph 5; figure 1 shows PTT switch 2b and 2e).
It would have been obvious to have substituted the transceiver (112) of Pulver with the near filed communication antenna of Ota as both components have known functions and the substitution of one for another would yield predictable results. The courts have held the substitution of one known element for another which yields predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art supports a conclusion of non-obviousness.
Regarding claim 2, Pulver as modified does not explicitly disclose wherein the NFC antenna is at least partially circumferentially disposed about a peripheral region of the substrate (112 is located around a peripheral region of 113; see figure 3)).
Regarding claim 3, Pulver further discloses a resilient membrane (106) coupled to housing and configured to engage the PTT actuator when depressed (page 13, lines 5-11).
Regarding claim 4, Pulver further discloses a bezel (seat where 106 goes as shown in figure 3), and wherein the resilient membrane (106) is at least partially retained by the bezel (see figure 3).
Regarding claim 5 Pulver further discloses, wherein when the resilient membrane (106) is disposed within the housing the resilient membrane is substantially co-planar with the housing (see figure 2).
Regarding claim 8, Pulver discloses a mask (100) having a frame (frame can be seen in figure 3), comprising:
a housing (101; page 10, line 10) coupled to the frame (see figure 3 where 102 couples to 100; page 11, lines 3-32) (102), the housing including a communications assembly, the communications assembly including:
a substrate (113; figures 3-3a);
a push-to-talk actuator (109; page 10, lines 30-31) coupled to the substrate (see figure 3; page 11, lines 1-2); and
a transceiver (112) coupled to the substrate (see figure 3).
Pulver is not explicit in the type of transceiver and thus does not explicitly disclose the transceiver is a near field communication antenna.
However, Ota teaches a communication system (abstract; page 2, paragraph 2 starting with “In the”) and thus is analogous art. Ota teaches that it is known to use a near field communication antenna (2e) for communication (last paragraph of page 5; page 3, paragraph 4 starting with “First”- paragraph 5; figure 1 shows PTT switch 2b and 2e).
It would have been obvious to have substituted the transceiver (112) of Pulver with the near filed communication antenna of Ota as both components have known functions and the substitution of one for another would yield predictable results. The courts have held the substitution of one known element for another which yields predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art supports a conclusion of non-obviousness.
Regarding claim 9, Pulver as modified further discloses wherein the NFC antenna is at least partially circumferentially disposed about a periphery of the substrate (112 is located around a peripheral region of 113; see figure 3).
Regarding claim 10, Pulver further discloses wherein the communications assembly further includes a resilient membrane (106) coupled to housing and configured to engage the PTT actuator when depressed (page 13, lines 5-11).
Regarding claim 11, Pulver further discloses wherein the communications assembly further includes a bezel (seat where 106 goes as shown in figure 3), and wherein the resilient membrane (106) is at least partially retained by the bezel (see figure 3).
Regarding claim 12 Pulver further discloses, wherein when the resilient membrane (106) is disposed within the housing the resilient membrane is substantially co-planar with the housing (see figure 2).
Claim(s) 6 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pulver et al. (WO 00/07157) in view of Ota (JP 2015/177227 A) in further view of Klinger (US 3,154,073)
Regarding claim 6, Pulver as modified does not explicitly disclose wherein the housing includes at least one tab, and wherein the resilient membrane includes at least one slot configured to engage the at least one tab.
Klinger teaches a mask wherein a housing (1) includes a tab (8) and wherein a resilient membrane (3) includes at least one slot (6) configured to engage with the at least one tab (col. 1, line 65-col. 2, line 5).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Pulver to include wherein the housing includes at least one tab, and wherein the resilient membrane includes at least one slot configured to engage the at least one tab to ensure a secure connection between the membrane and housing.
Regarding claim 13, Pulver as modified does not explicitly disclose wherein the housing includes at least one tab, and wherein the resilient membrane includes at least one slot configured to engage the at least one tab.
Klinger teaches a mask wherein a housing (1) includes a tab (8) and wherein a resilient membrane (3) includes at least one slot (6) configured to engage with the at least one tab (col. 1, line 65-col. 2, line 5).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Pulver to include wherein the housing includes at least one tab, and wherein the resilient membrane includes at least one slot configured to engage the at least one tab to ensure a secure connection between the membrane and housing.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pulver et al. (WO 00/07157) in view of Ota (JP 2015/177227 A) in further view of Von Bosch et al. (US 9,385,789 B1).
Regarding claim 7, Pulver as modified does not explicitly disclose ferrite shielding coupled to the substrate.
However, Von Bosch teaches it is known to have a ferrite shielding (505, 507) coupled to a substrate (coupled to 301 and 303 as shown by the dashed lines figure 5).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include ferrite shielding coupled to the substrate to minimize eddy currents (abstract).
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pulver et al. (WO 00/07157) in view of Ota (JP 2015/177227 A) in further view of Maue et al. (WO 97/21563).
Regarding claim 14, Pulver discloses: A mask (100), comprising:
a housing (101; page 10, line 10) coupled to the mask, the housing being configured to contour an outer surface of the mask (see figure 3), the housing including a communications assembly (assembly within 101), the communications assembly including:
a substrate (113; figures 3-3a);
a push-to-talk actuator (109; page 10, lines 30-31) coupled to the substrate (see figure 3; page 11, lines 1-2); and
a resilient membrane (106) coupled to housing and configured to engage the PTT actuator when depressed (page 13, lines 5-11);
a bezel (seat where 106 goes as shown in figure 3) coupled to the housing and configured to retain the resilient membrane (see figure 3);
a transceiver (112) circumferentially disposed about a peripheral region of the substrate (see figure 3).
Pulver is not explicit in the type of transceiver and thus does not explicitly disclose the transceiver is a near field communication antenna.
However, Ota teaches a communication system (abstract; page 2, paragraph 2 starting with “In the”) and thus is analogous art. Ota teaches that it is known to use a near field communication antenna (2e) for communication (last paragraph of page 5; page 3, paragraph 4 starting with “First”- paragraph 5; figure 1 shows PTT switch 2b and 2e).
It would have been obvious to have substituted the transceiver (112) of Pulver with the near filed communication antenna of Ota as both components have known functions and the substitution of one for another would yield predictable results. The courts have held the substitution of one known element for another which yields predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art supports a conclusion of non-obviousness.
Pulver as modified does not explicitly disclose a film disposed between the PTT actuator and the resilient membrane.
However, Maue teaches it is known to provide a film (29) disposed between the PTT actuator (145) and the resilient membrane (147) (see figure 7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Pulver such that there is a film disposed between the PTT actuator and the resilient membrane for providing an aesthetically pleasing and environmentally protective layer which covers the actuator (page 14, lines 4-10).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 5/27/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the prior art of Osterhout has been considered but the arguments are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on Osterhout.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: [0134]-[0150] of Stevens et al. (US 2015/0136158 A1) and Yosui (WO 2015/016353 A1)
/VICTORIA MURPHY/ Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3785