DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-11, 14-15, 20-26 are presented for examination.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-11, 14-15, 20-26 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 6, 8-9, 14-15, 20-21 and 23-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Paladugu et al (Paladugu), US 2021/0385714.
As per claim 1, Paladugu teaches the invention including a method for releasing a remote terminal, performed by a relay terminal, comprising:
Sending first release indication information to the remote terminal, in response to a specified condition being satisfied (pp. 0097; figure 15: relay UE may initiate the PC5 link release), wherein the first release indication information is configured to indicate the remote terminal to release the relay terminal, and the specified condition comprises receiving a synchronous reconfiguration indication (pp. 0084-0085, 0097; figure 11: RRC reconfiguration including Reconfigwithsync).
As per claim 2, Paladugu teaches the invention as claimed in claim 1. Paladugu further teaches wherein sending the first release indication information to the remote terminal, in response to the specified condition being satisfied comprises:
Sending the first release indication information to the remote terminal, in response to receiving the synchronous reconfiguration indication, and a target cell identifier in the synchronous reconfiguration indication being different from a source cell identifier; or
Sending the first release indication information to the remote terminal, in response to receiving a synchronous reconfiguration indication (pp. 0084, 0097), and the relay terminal not containing bearer configuration information of a dual active protocol solution (DAPS) (pp. 0081: relay UE may not know about the DAPS DRBs configuration); or
Sending the first release indication information to the remote terminal, in response to receiving a synchronous reconfiguration indication (pp. 0084, 0097), and a bearer currently configured to bear a transmission of the remote terminal not being a DAPS bearer (pp. 0036, 0089, 0091: non-DAPS channel).
As per claim 3, Paladugu teaches the invention as claimed in claim 1. Paladugu further teaches wherein sending the first release indication information to the remote terminal, in response to the specified condition being satisfied comprises:
Sending the first release indication information to the remote terminal, in response to receiving a synchronous reconfiguration process (pp. 0084, 0097: figure 15); or
Sending the first release indication information to the remote terminal, in response to receiving a synchronous reconfiguration process, and a target cell identifier in the synchronous reconfiguration indication being different from a source cell identifier; or
Sending the first release indication information to the remote terminal, in response to receiving a synchronous reconfiguration process (pp. 0084, 0097), and the relay terminal not containing bearer configuration information of a dual active protocol solution (DAPS) (pp. 0081: relay UE may not know about the DAPS DRBs configuration); or
Sending the first release indication information to the remote terminal, in response to receiving a synchronous reconfiguration process (pp. 0084, 0097), and a bearer currently configured to bear a transmission of the remote terminal not being a DAPS bearer (pp. 0036, 0089, 0091: non-DAPS channel).
As per claim 6, Paladugu teaches the invention as claimed in claim 1. Paladugu further teaches wherein sending the first release indication information to the remote terminal comprises:
Sending the first release indication information to the remote terminal by broadcasting (pp. 0097, 0105, 0116); and/or
Sending the first release indication information to the remote terminal by unicasting (pp. 0097, 0105, 0116).
As per claim 8, Paladugu teaches the invention including a method for releasing a remote terminal, configured to be performed by a remote terminal, comprising:
Receiving first release indication information sent by a first relay terminal, wherein the first release indication information is configured to indicate the remote terminal to release the first relay terminal (pp. 0097; figure 15: relay UE may initiate the PC5 link release), the first release indication information is sent in response to a specified condition being satisfied by the first relay terminal, and the specified condition comprises receiving a synchronous reconfiguration indication (pp. 0084-0085, 0097; figure 11: RRC reconfiguration including Reconfigwithsync).
As per claim 9, Paladugu teaches the invention as claimed in claim 8. Paladugu further teaches to comprise:
Releasing a connection with the first relay terminal (pp. 0097).
As per claim 14, Paladugu teaches the invention including a communication device, comprising
A processor (pp. 0056-0057, 0110); and
A memory, wherein a computer program is stored in the memory (pp. 0056-0057, 0110), and the processor is configured to:
Send first release indication information to a remote terminal, in response to a specified condition being satisfied (pp. 0097; figure 15: relay UE may initiate the PC5 link release), wherein the first release indication information is configured to indicate the remote terminal to release a relay terminal, and the specified condition comprises receiving a synchronous reconfiguration indication (pp. 0084-0085, 0097; figure 11: RRC reconfiguration including Reconfigwithsync).
As per claim 15, Paladugu teaches the invention as claimed in claim 8. Paladugu further teaches a communication device, comprising
A processor (pp. 0056-0057, 0110); and
A memory, wherein a computer program is stored in the memory (pp. 0056-0057, 0110), and the processor executes the computer program stored in the memory to cause the device to perform the method of claim 8.
As per claim 20, Paladugu teaches the invention as claimed in claim 14. Paladugu further teaches wherein the processor is configured to:
Send the first release indication information to the remote terminal, in response to receiving the synchronous reconfiguration indication, and a target cell identifier in the synchronous reconfiguration indication being different from a source cell identifier; or
Send the first release indication information to the remote terminal, in response to receiving a synchronous reconfiguration indication (pp. 0084, 0097), and the relay terminal not containing bearer configuration information of a dual active protocol solution (DAPS) (pp. 0081: relay UE may not know about the DAPS DRBs configuration); or
Send the first release indication information to the remote terminal, in response to receiving a synchronous reconfiguration indication (pp. 0084, 0097), and a bearer currently configured to bear a transmission of the remote terminal not being a DAPS bearer (pp. 0036, 0089, 0091: non-DAPS channel).
As per claim 21, Paladugu teaches the invention as claimed in claim 14. Paladugu further teaches wherein the processor is configured to:
Send the first release indication information to the remote terminal, in response to receiving a synchronous reconfiguration process (pp. 0084, 0097: figure 15); or
Send the first release indication information to the remote terminal, in response to receiving a synchronous reconfiguration process, and a target cell identifier in the synchronous reconfiguration indication being different from a source cell identifier; or
Send the first release indication information to the remote terminal, in response to receiving a synchronous reconfiguration process (pp. 0084, 0097), and the relay terminal not containing bearer configuration information of a dual active protocol solution (DAPS) (pp. 0081: relay UE may not know about the DAPS DRBs configuration); or
Send the first release indication information to the remote terminal, in response to receiving a synchronous reconfiguration process (pp. 0084, 0097), and a bearer currently configured to bear a transmission of the remote terminal not being a DAPS bearer (pp. 0036, 0089, 0091: non-DAPS channel).
As per claim 23, Paladugu teaches the invention as claimed in claim 14. Paladugu further teaches wherein the processor is configured to:
Sending the first release indication information to the remote terminal by broadcasting (pp. 0097, 0105, 0116); and/or
Sending the first release indication information to the remote terminal by unicasting (pp. 0097, 0105, 0116).
As per claim 24, Paladugu teaches the invention as claimed in claim 15. Paladugu further teaches wherein the processor is configured to:
Release a connection with the first relay terminal (pp. 0097).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7, 10-11 and 25-26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Paladugu et al (Paladugu), US 2021/0385714, in view of Cheng et al (Cheng), US2023/0262564.
Cheng was cited in the previous office action.
As per claim 7, Paladugu teaches the invention as claimed in claim 1. Paladugu does not teach to comprise: stopping sending a relay discovery signal. Cheng teaches to stop sending a relay discovery signal (pp. 0099). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to combine the teaching of Paladugu and Cheng and stop sending relay discovery signal while the nodes are in the process of performing RRC establishing or RRC re-establishing connection.
As per claim 10, Paladugu teaches the invention as claimed in claim 8. Paladugu does not teach to comprise:
Performing a relay reselection to determine a second relay terminal, wherein the second relay terminal is the first relay terminal or other terminals; or
Performing a cell reselection and determining a network device to be accessed.
Cheng teaches to:
Perform a relay reselection to determine a second relay terminal, wherein the second relay terminal is the first relay terminal or other terminals (pp. 0013-0015, 0037, 0079, 0081, 0087-0093, 0097-0099); or
Perform a cell reselection and determining a network device to be accessed (pp. 0037, 0081, 0089-0092, 0098-0099).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to combine the teaching of Paladugu and Cheng and perform relay or cell reselection as part of the handover process to select the best cell or relay node for service.
As per claim 11, Paladugu and Cheng teach the invention as claimed in claim 10. Cheng further teaches to comprise:
Sending a connection establishment request to the second relay terminal (figure 9: RRC connection request); or
Sending a connection establishment to the network device (figure 9: RRC connection request).
As per claim 25, Paladugu teaches the invention as claimed in claim 15. Paladugu does not teach wherein the processor is configured to:
Perform a relay reselection to determine a second relay terminal, wherein the second relay terminal is the first relay terminal or other terminals; or
Perform a cell reselection and determining a network device to be accessed.
Cheng teaches to:
Perform a relay reselection to determine a second relay terminal, wherein the second relay terminal is the first relay terminal or other terminals (pp. 0013-0015, 0037, 0079, 0081, 0087-0093, 0097-0099); or
Perform a cell reselection and determining a network device to be accessed (pp. 0037, 0081, 0089-0092, 0098-0099).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to combine the teaching of Paladugu and Cheng and perform relay or cell reselection as part of the handover process to select the best cell or relay node for service.
As per claim 26, Paladugu and Cheng teach the invention as claimed in claim 25. Cheng further teaches wherein the processor is configured to:
Send a connection establishment request to the second relay terminal (figure 9: RRC connection request); or
Send a connection establishment to the network device (figure 9: RRC connection request).
Claim(s) 4-5 and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Paladugu et al (Paladugu), US 2021/0385714, in view of Chun et al (Chun), US 2019/0239147.
Chun was cited in the previous office action
As per claim 4, Paladugu teaches the invention as claimed in claim 1. Paladugu does not teach wherein sending the first release indication information to the remote terminal, in response to the specified condition being satisfied comprises:
Sending the first release indication information to the remote terminal, in response to receiving second release indication information sent by a target cell, wherein the second release indication information is configured to indicate the relay terminal to release a source cell; or
Sending the first release indication information to the remote terminal, in response to a cell handover trigger condition being satisfied.
Chun teaches wherein sending the first release indication information to the remote terminal, in response to the specified condition being satisfied comprises: sending the first release indication information to the remote terminal, in response to a cell handover trigger condition being satisfied (pp. 0250, 0252, 0267-0268). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to combine the teach Paladugu and Chun and release relay terminal connection in response to a cell handover procedure.
As per claim 5, Paladugu and Chun teach the invention as claimed in claim 4. Chun further teaches to comprise:
Determining the cell handover trigger condition according to an agreement of a protocol; or
Determining the cell handover trigger condition according to an indication from a network device (pp. 0267).
As per claim 22, Paladugu teaches the invention as claimed in claim 14. Paladugu does not teach wherein the processor is configured to:
Send the first release indication information to the remote terminal, in response to receiving second release indication information sent by a target cell, wherein the second release indication information is configured to indicate the relay terminal to release a source cell; or
Send the first release indication information to the remote terminal, in response to a cell handover trigger condition being satisfied.
Chun teaches wherein sending the first release indication information to the remote terminal, in response to the specified condition being satisfied comprises: sending the first release indication information to the remote terminal, in response to a cell handover trigger condition being satisfied (pp. 0250, 0252, 0267-0268). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to combine the teach Paladugu and Chun and release relay terminal connection in response to a cell handover procedure.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Wang et al, US2023/0164648
Wu et al, US20230422137
Futaki et al, US 2022/0256368
Xu et al, US2023/0099609
Wu, US2023/0189112
Pelletier et al, US2009/0086671
Zhang et al, US2020/0323016
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
KENNY S. LIN
Examiner
Art Unit 2416
/Kenny S Lin/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2416
February 24, 2026