DETAILED ACTION
Application Status
The preliminary amendment filed on 11/03/2023 is acknowledged and has been entered.
Claims 1-13 are currently pending and under consideration.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed on 11/03/2023 is acknowledged and has been considered except where lined through.
Claim Interpretation
Independent claim 1 recites “A method of treating sepsis in a subject in need thereof”. Claims 5 and 6 further limit claim 1 by reciting that the subject suffers from or is at risk. As such, the subject in need thereof is interpreted as one who either has sepsis or is at risk of developing sepsis as a result of an infection.
Claims 3, 4 and 7-9 contain the language “for use” which appears to be left over language from the original claims that were drawn to a compound. The examiner suggests removing this language by amended to “is used”. Moreover, the limitations of claim 3 and 4 are being interpreted as the action of the compound once it is administered to the patient population. Thus, if the same compound is administered to the same population it would appear that the claimed result would happen. See MPEP 2112.01.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-8 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhong et al. (CN111743899, 2020-10-09, IDS). US2023/0077704A1 is being used as the English Translation and referenced herein.
Zhong et al. teach a method of treating coronavirus or an infection caused by coronavirus comprising administering nitazoxanide, wherein the infection includes, but is not limited to, pneumonia, sepsis and septic shock (paragraph 0013, claim 11 of PGPUB).
Claim(s) 1-10 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ali and Pullano (American Journal of Gastroenterology 2008; 103:A337-S338).
Ali and Pullano teach nitazoxanide as a rescue treatment for refractory fulminant Clostridium difficile colitis (Title). Specifically, Ali and Pullano teach administering 500 mg of nitazoxanide to a patient with refractory C. Difficile panacolitis whom developed septic shock and respiratory distress prior to administration (71 year old female). Moreover, Ali and Pullano teach that Nitazoxanide was continued for 10 days and then vancomycin PO was continued for another 2 weeks (2nd to last sentence of 71 year old female). Moreover, while claim 9 requires the compound for use with an antimicrobial agent, the claims do not specifically require that the compounds be used in combination at the same time. As such, a patient that has received the compound followed by a second agent would read on the claims.
Claim(s) 1-8 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Rossignol, Jean Francois (US5578621, 1996-11-26) referred to herein as Rossignol as evidenced by Kwiecinski and Horswill (Curr. Opin Microbiol. 2020; 53: 51-60).
Rossignol teach a method of treating bacterial infections comprising administering to a host in need of treatment an effective amount of a mixture of a compound of formula (I)
and a compound of formula II
, wherein compound of formula II is the chemical structure of Nitazoxanide (claim 5 of the Patent). With regards to the bacteria, the Patent teaches that the composition is effective against gram positive and gram negative aerobic bacteria such as Staphylococcus aureas, Escherichia coli and Helicobacter pylori (Column 3, line 65 to column 4, line 2). While the prior art does not specifically teach that Staphylococcus aureas infection leads to sepsis, as evidenced by Kwiecinski and Horswill, Staphylococcus aureas is one of the leading causes of life-threatening bloodstream infections, such as sepsis (abstract).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rossignol, Jean Francois (US5578621, 1996-11-26) referred to herein as Rossignol as evidenced by Kwiecinski and Horswill (Curr. Opin Microbiol. 2020; 53: 51-60), as applied to claims 1-8 and 13 above, in view of Gesser et al. (International Journal of Antimicrobial Agents 2004; 23: 235-239).
Rossignol teach a method of treating bacterial infections comprising administering to a host in need of treatment an effective amount of a mixture of a compound of formula (I)
and a compound of formula II
, wherein compound of formula II is the chemical structure of Nitazoxanide (claim 5 of the Patent). With regards to the bacteria, the Patent teaches that the composition is effective again gram positive and gram negative aerobic bacteria such as Staphylococcus aureas, Escherichia coli and Helicobacter pylori (Column 3, line 65 to column 4, line 2). While the prior art does not specifically teach that Staphylococcus aureas infection leads to sepsis, as evidenced by Kwiecinski and Horswill, Staphylococcus aureas is one of the leading causes of life-threatening bloodstream infections, such as sepsis (abstract).
Rossignol does not specifically teach administration of the composition in combination with ertapenem.
Gesser et al. teach that ertapenem is highly active in vitro against methicillin-susceptible Staphylococcus aureas (page 235, 2nd column).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention, to modify the method taught by Rossignol to further include ertapenem in view of the teachings of Gesser et al. . One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification, with a reasonable expectation of success, because:
-Both prior art references teach that the compounds are useful for treating Staphylococcus aureas .
"It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose.... [T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art." In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980) (citations omitted) .
Double Patenting
Claims 1-8 and 13 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 4-5, 7-9, 11-12 and 14-15 of copending Application No. 18252760 in view of Fernandez et al. (Gut 2018; 67: 1870-1880).
The copending application claims a method of treating liver failure in a subject in need thereof, the method comprising administering a compound to the subject, wherein the compound is selected from the group consisting of nitazoxanide, tizoxanide or tizoxanide glucuride, wherein the liver failure is acute on chronic liver failure (ACLF) (claim 1). Claims 4-5, 7-9, 11-12 and 14-15 further define the type of ACLF.
The copending application does not specifically claim that the patient has a bacterial infection or is at risk or has sepsis.
Fernandez et al. teach that patients with ACLF are highly predisposed to develop bacterial infections within a short follow-up period, wherein severe infections (spontaneous bacterial peritonitis, pneumonia, severe sepsis/septic shock, nosocomial infections and infections caused by multiresistant organisms) are more prevalent in patients with ACLF and are associated with more severe systemic inflammation, poorer clinical course and higher mortality (Significance of this study on this subject 2nd, 3rd and 4th bullet). Moreover, Fernandez et al. teach that infection control practices are essential in the management of patients with ACLF mortality (Significance of this study on this subject 7th bullet).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention, to modify the method claimed by the copending application to treat bacterial infections and/or reduce the risk of or treat sepsis in a patient with ACLF in view of the teachings of Fernandez et al.. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification, with a reasonable expectation of success, because:
- Fernandez et al. teach that infection control practices are essential in the management of patients with ACLF mortality.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Conclusion
Therefore, No Claim is allowed.
BRANDON J. FETTEROLF, PHD
Primary Patent Examiner
Art Unit 1626
/BRANDON J FETTEROLF/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1626