DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Objections
Claim 16 is objected to because of the following informalities: claim 16 recites “wherein the temperature is 155°” and should be corrected to “wherein the temperature is 155°C” to provide proper units of measure. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 and 9-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rudisill (WO 2020/251541 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Rudisill teaches a method of three-dimensional printing (methods of making three dimensional printed articles. FIG. 4 shows a flowchart, pg. 15, lines 28-30) comprising: iteratively applying individual build material layers of a build material (iteratively applying individual build material layers of polymer particles to a powder bed 410, pg. 15, lines 31-33) having a D50 particle size ranging from about 2 um to about 150 um; (average particle size can be from about 20 μm to about 50 μm, pg. 7, lines 26-28) based on a 3D object model, iteratively and selectively dispensing a fusing agent onto individual build material layers, (iteratively applying individual build material layers of polymer particles to a powder bed 410; based on a three-dimensional object model, selectively jetting a
fusing agent onto the individual build material layers, pg. 15, lines 31-33) wherein the fusing agent comprises water and a radiation absorber; (includes water, a radiation absorber, pg. 16, line 1) iteratively exposing a powder bed to energy to selectively fuse the thermoplastic elastomer particles in contact with the radiation absorber and form a fused polymer matrix at the individual build material layers resulting in a fused three-dimensional object; (exposing the
powder bed to radiation energy to selectively fuse the polymer particles in contact with the radiation absorber at individual build material layers and thereby form the
three-dimensional printed article 430, pg. 16, lines 3-7) and thermally treating the fused three-dimensional object to a temperature at or within +40°C of a melting point of the thermoplastic elastomer particles for a time period ranging from about 5 minutes to about 48 hours, (after printing a three-dimensional printed article, the article was post-cured for 20 hours at 170 °C, pg. 28, lines 14-15, where the polymer powder can be polyamide 12, which can have a melting point from about 175°C to about 200°C, pg. 7, lines 30-32)
Rudisill teaches post-curing the three-dimensional printed article in this way can increase the amount of crosslinking in the polymer, which can increase the strength of the article, pg. 20, lines 7-10. The further claimed “thereby enhancing the fusion between adjacent build material layers at an interior location of the three-dimensional object without structural deformation of the three-dimensional object” is presumed an inherent property of claimed materials and methods, see MPEP 2112.01.
Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977).
Rudisill does not explicitly teach including from about 95 wt% to 100 wt% of thermoplastic elastomer particles.
Rudisill teaches a weight ratio of thermoplastic polymer particles to filler particles can be from about 100: 1 to about 1:2, pg. 8, lines 20-22. Example 1: the various powders were mainly made up of polyamide 12 particles with small amounts of additives, pg. 25, lines 20-23.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to vary the amount of filler of Rudisill to meet the claimed 95 wt% to 100 wt% because Rudisill teaches it to be varied to achieve small amounts of additives, pg. 25, lines 20-23.
Regarding claim 9, Rudisill teaches the method of claim 6, wherein the thermoplastic elastomer particles include styrenic block copolymer (TPS), thermoplastic polyolefin elastomers (TPO), thermoplastic vulcanizate (TPV), thermoplastic polyurethane (TPU), thermoplastic copolyester (TPC), thermoplastic polyamide (TPA), or a mixture thereof. (A variety of thermoplastic polymers, for example, polyamide 12, thermoplastic polyurethane, pg. 7, lines 30- pg. 8, lines 11).
Regarding claim 10, Rudisill teaches the method of claim 6, wherein the fused three-dimensional object after thermally treating compared to the fused three-dimensional object prior to thermally treating has an enhanced layer-to-layer mechanical property in the Z- direction. (Rudisill teaches several mechanical properties of the sample articles were then measured. The mechanical properties are shown in Table 3, pg. 28. Examiner notes that Table 3 depicts an increase in Tensile Strength due to post curing)
Regarding claim 11, Rudisill teaches the method of claim 10, wherein the enhanced mechanical property in the Z-direction (Rudisill teaches several mechanical properties of the sample articles were then measured. The mechanical properties are shown in Table 3, pg. 28. Examiner notes that Table 3 depicts an increase in Tensile Strength due to post curing)
Rudisill does not explicitly teach provides from about 70% to about 200% strain at break, from about 6 MPa to about 12 MPa tensile strength, from about 30 MPa to about 70 MPa Young's Modulus, or a combination thereof, but it is presumed an inherent property of claimed materials and methods, see MPEP 2112.01.
Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977).
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rudisill (WO 2020/251541 A1) in view of Ugarte et al. (US 2020/0254520 A1).
Regarding claim 12, Rudisill as modified meets the claimed method of claim 6, but does not teach wherein applying the individual build material layers includes applying a plurality or all of the individual build material layers of the thermoplastic elastomer particles at a layer thickness from about 180 um to about 400 um.
Ugarte teaches that each successive layer may be, for example, between about 10 μm and 200 μm, although the thickness may be selected based on any number of parameters and may be any suitable size according to alternative embodiments, [0022].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to vary the layer thickness of Rudisill to be 200 μm as taught by Ugarte because Ugarte teaches layer thickness to be varied based on any number of parameters, see [0022].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 16 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 16, the prior art or record does not teach or reasonably suggest the method of claim 6, wherein the melting point of the thermoplastic elastomer particles ranges from 130°C to about 140°C, wherein the temperature is 155°, and wherein the time period is 20 hours.
Rudisill teaches after printing a three-dimensional printed article, the article was post-cured for 20 hours at 170 °C, pg. 28, lines 14-15.
Conclusion
/MICHAEL M. ROBINSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1744