DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
Figure 8 should be designated by a legend such as --Prior Art-- because only that which is old is illustrated. See MPEP § 608.02(g). Additionally, the reference number (201) in figure 8 should be removed because a surface of the cover (200) does not apply to this figure.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the drawing of “plating layer” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Interpretation
If claim limitations in this application that use the word "means" (or "step"), they are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. Conversely, if claim limitations in this application that do not use the word "means" (or "step"), they are not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, except as otherwise indicated in an Office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 and 4-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, last line, it is unclear of what does “CBN” stand for.
Regarding claim 8, the limitations “20%D” and “100%D” are unclear as the claim depends upon claim 1 instead of claim 7, where “D” is recited. For clarity, if the claim is depended upon claim 1, it is suggested that the limitation, “20%D” be changed to “20 % of a diameter D of a bearing portion of the die hole”, and “100%D” be changed to “100 % of the diameter D of the bearing portion of the die hole”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sarver et al. (hereinafter “Sarver”) (US 5,402,664).
Regarding claim 1, as best understood, Sarver discloses a wire drawing die (10) comprising:
a wear-resistant member (14) provided with a die hole (the die hole formed a converging inlet portion 30; see fig. 1) for performing a wire drawing process onto a wire material; and
a die case (12) that supports the wear-resistant member (14) (fig. 1), wherein
the wear-resistant member (14) has a thermal conductivity higher than a thermal conductivity of the die case (12). [Col. 2, lines 51-55 discloses the die case (12) is made of steel and the wear-resistant member (14) can be made of diamond. It is well known in mechanical art that diamond (the wear-resistant member 14) has a thermal conductivity higher than steel (the die case 12)], and
the wear-resistant member (14) has an upstream-side end surface (the right side of 14 in fig. 1) and a downstream-side end surface (the left side of 14 in fig. 1) in a wire drawing direction (see an arrow at the bottom of fig. 1), the die hole is provided between the upstream-side end surface and the downstream-side end surface (see fig. 1), and the downstream-side end surface is exposed from the die case (12) (see fig. 1), and
further comprising a cover (16) provided with a through hole (fig. 1) through which the wire material is able to pass, wherein the cover has a heat radiation member (18) that is in contact with the wear-resistant member (14) and that is provided with the through hole (fig. 1), and a supporting member (16, see a portion around the heat radiation member 18 in fig. 1) that supports the heat radiation member (18) (fig. 1), and the heat radiation member (18) has a thermal conductivity higher than a thermal conductivity of the supporting member [Col. 2, lines 54-55 discloses the supporting member (16) is made of steel and the heat radiation member (18) can be made of diamond. It is well known in mechanical art that diamond (the heat radiation member (18) has a thermal conductivity higher than steel (the supporting member 16)],
wherein the heat radiation member (18) includes at least one selected from a group consisting of diamond (see “diamond draw nib 18” in col. 2, line 55), CBN, and a composite material including diamond or CBN.
Regarding claim 4, the wire drawing die according to claim 1, wherein the steel supporting member (16) includes one of: at least one simple substance selected from a group consisting of copper, silver, tungsten and molybdenum. It is note that steel can include copper, tungsten, or molybdenum.
Regarding claim 5, the wire drawing die according to claim 1, wherein the heat radiation member (18) and the supporting member (16) are joined to each other by a brazing material (see “brazed” in col. 1, line 15) or screwing.
Regarding claim 6, the wire drawing die according to claim 1, Sarver discloses the heat radiating member (18) is a diamond draw member (see col. 2, line 55). A diamond draw die is type of wire-drawing die that has been coated with a layer of diamond, and thus Sarver does disclose a plating layer (i.e. a layer of diamond) is provided on a joining surface between the heat radiation member (18) and the supporting member.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sarver.
Regarding claim 7, the wire drawing die according to claim 1, Sarver does not disclose the die hole as set forth above. Sarver does not expressly disclose a diameter of a bearing portion of the die hole is 10 µm or more and 1.0 mm or less. It would have been an obvious design choice to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make a diameter of a bearing portion of the die hole 10 µm or more and 1.0 mm or less, because such selection or determination would be the result of routine optimization and does not itself warrant patentability, as one would arrive at such optimization through routine engineering and design practice.
Regarding claim 8, as best understood, the wire drawing die according to claim 1, Sarver appears to disclose a length L of a bearing portion (i.e. a portion that contact the wire (50) as shown in fig. 1) of the die hole (see fig. 1) is 20% of a diameter of the bearing portion of the die hole or more and 100% of the diameter or less. However, if the Applicant disagreed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the length of a bearing portion of the die hole 20% of a diameter of the bearing portion of the die hole or more and 100% of the diameter or less, because such selection or determination would be the result of routine optimization and does not itself warrant patentability, as one would arrive at such optimization through routine engineering and design practice.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 2016/0199895 A1, US 2008/0173063 A1, US 10,406,576, US 5,916,323, and US 1,954,961 disclose wire drawing dies.
JIMMY T. NGUYEN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3725
/JIMMY T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3725