DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 9, 11, 12 and 15-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Lee et al (US Pat. Pub. No. 2021/0120476) in view of Orsino et al (US Pat. Pub. No. 2024/0155470).
Regarding claim 1, Lee et al discloses a method performed by a relay node (paragraph 12 [relay UE]), comprising: receiving a request for a system information block (SIB) from a user equipment (UE) (paragraph 12 [remote UE]), wherein the UE accesses a cell (paragraph 12 [serving cell]) via the relay node (see at least paragraph 111 discloses the relay UE receives assistant information request); transmitting the requested SIB to the UE (see at least paragraph 116 discloses the relay UE forwards the assistant information to the remote UE); receiving an updated version of the requested SIB from the cell (see at least paragraph 138 discloses the relay UE receives the required SIB from serving cell [s1207 of fig. 12]); and transmitting the updated version of the requested SIB to the UE (see at least paragraph 139 discloses the relay UE sends the required SIB to the remote UE).
Lee et al specifically does not disclose storing an indication of the requested SIB in a SIB list associated with the UE; and transmitting the updated version of the requested SIB to the UE based on the indication of the requested SIB in the SIB list associated with the UE.
However, Orsino et al from the same or similar fields of endeavor teaches storing an indication of the requested SIB in a SIB list associated with the UE; and transmitting the updated version of the requested SIB to the UE based on the indication of the requested SIB in the SIB list associated with the UE (see at least paragraphs 208-209 and fig. 11 [1102, 1103] discloses transmitting updated SIB to first wireless device, based on adding or changing the SI in the SIB form further SIB which includes an indication).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify to incorporate above mention feature as taught by Orsino et al into the system of Lee et al for purpose of relay sending the further SIB which includes indication content; wireless device receiving content of SIB different from the SIB received from the base station.
Regarding claim 2, Lee et al discloses maintaining an association between the UE and a SIB list, wherein the SIB list contains the requested SIB (paragraph 137).
Regarding claim 3, Lee et al discloses receiving, from the UE, an indicator indicating that the requested SIB is not needed at the UE; and removing the requested SIB from the SIB list in response to receiving the indicator (paragraph 123).
Regarding claim 4, Lee et al discloses in response to the SIB being updated by the cell, receiving the SIB based on the SIB list from the cell (paragraph 138); and wherein transmitting the updated version of the requested SIB to the UE comprises transmitting the updated version of the requested SIB based on the association (paragraph 139).
Regarding claim 5, Lee et al discloses transmitting a SIB list indicating that the requested SIB is updated to the UE in response to receiving the updated version of the requested SIB from the cell (paragraph 139); receiving an additional request for the updated version of the requested SIB from the UE; and transmitting the updated version of the requested SIB to the UE (paragraph 139).
Regarding claim 9, Lee et al discloses further comprising at least one of: storing the requested SIB at the relay node after transmitting the requested SIB to the UE; receiving an acknowledgement of the requested SIB received from the UE, and discarding the requested SIB in response to receiving the acknowledgement and no additional request received for the requested SIB; or receiving the acknowledgement of the requested SIB received from the UE, starting a timer in response to receiving the acknowledgement, and discarding the requested SIB in response to expiry of the timer (paragraph 137) .
Regarding claim 11, Lee et al discloses at least one of: the request for the SIB is received via a radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration sidelink message, which includes a SIB request list indicating the requested SIB; or the request for the SIB is received via a PC5 RRC message specified for SIB request (paragraphs 84 and 115).
Regarding claim 12, Lee et al discloses further comprising: starting a timer in response to transmitting the requested SIB to the UE; receiving an acknowledgement of the requested SIB received from the UE; and stopping the timer in response to receiving the acknowledgement (paragraph 91).
Regarding claim 15, Lee et al discloses a relay node (paragraph 12 [relay UE]) for wireless communication, comprising: at least one memory 130 (figure 5); and at least one processor 110 (figure 5)coupled with the at least one memory and configured to cause the relay node to: receive a request for a system information block (SIB) from a user equipment (UE) (paragraph 12 [remote UE]), wherein the UE accesses a cell (paragraph 12 [serving cell]) via the relay node (see at least paragraph 111 discloses the relay UE receives assistant information request); transmit the requested SIB to the UE (see at least paragraph 116 discloses the relay UE forwards the assistant information to the remote UE); receive an updated version of the requested SIB from the cell (see at least paragraph 138 discloses the relay UE receives the required SIB from serving cell [s1207 of fig. 12]); and transmit the updated version of the requested SIB to the UE (see at least paragraph 139 discloses the relay UE sends the required SIB to the remote UE).
Lee et al specifically does not disclose storing an indication of the requested SIB in a SIB list associated with the UE; and transmitting the updated version of the requested SIB to the UE based on the indication of the requested SIB in the SIB list associated with the UE.
However, Orsino et al from the same or similar fields of endeavor teaches storing an indication of the requested SIB in a SIB list associated with the UE; and transmitting the updated version of the requested SIB to the UE based on the indication of the requested SIB in the SIB list associated with the UE (see at least paragraphs 208-209 and fig. 11 [1102, 1103] discloses transmitting updated SIB to first wireless device, based on adding or changing the SI in the SIB form further SIB which includes an indication).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify to incorporate above mention feature as taught by Orsino et al into the system of Lee et al for purpose of relay sending the further SIB which includes indication content; wireless device receiving content of SIB different from the SIB received from the base station.
Regarding claims 16-22, see above rejection of claims 2-5, 9, 11 and 12.
Regarding claim 23, Lee et al discloses a user equipment (UE) (paragraph 12 [remote UE]) for wireless communication, comprising: at least one memory 130 (figure 5); and at least one processor 110 (figure 5) coupled with the at least one memory and configured to cause the UE to: transmit a request for a system information block (SIB) to a relay node (paragraph 12 [relay UE]), the UE configured to access a cell (paragraph 12 [serving cell]) via the relay node (see at least paragraph 111 discloses the relay UE receives assistant information request); receive the requested SIB from the relay node (see at least paragraph 116 discloses the relay UE forwards the assistant information to the remote UE); and receive an updated version of the requested SIB from the relay node (see at least paragraph 139 discloses the relay UE sends the required SIB to the remote UE).
Lee et al specifically does not disclose receive an updated version of the requested SIB from the relay node based on the indication of the requested SIB in the SIB list associated with the UE stored at the relay node.
However, Orsino et al from the same or similar fields of endeavor teaches receive an updated version of the requested SIB from the relay node based on the indication of the requested SIB in the SIB list associated with the UE stored at the relay node (see at least paragraphs 208-209 and fig. 11 [1102, 1103] discloses transmitting updated SIB to first wireless device, based on adding or changing the SI in the SIB form further SIB which includes an indication).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify to incorporate above mention feature as taught by Orsino et al into the system of Lee et al for purpose of relay sending the further SIB which includes indication content; wireless device receiving content of SIB different from the SIB received from the base station.
Regarding claim 24, Lee et al discloses the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to transmit, to the relay node, an indication that the requested SIB is not needed at the UE (paragraph 123).
Regarding claim 25, Lee et al discloses a processor for wireless communication, comprising: at least one controller coupled with at least one memory and configured to cause the processor to: transmit a request for a system information block (SIB) to a relay node (paragraph 12 [relay UE]), the processor of a user equipment (UE) (paragraph 12 [remote UE]) configured to access a cell (paragraph 12 [serving cell]) via the relay node (see at least paragraph 111 discloses the relay UE receives assistant information request); receive the requested SIB from the relay node (see at least paragraph 116 discloses the relay UE forwards the assistant information to the remote UE); and receive an updated version of the requested SIB from the relay node (see at least paragraph 139 discloses the relay UE sends the required SIB to the remote UE).
Lee et al specifically does not disclose receive an updated version of the requested SIB from the relay node based on the indication of the requested SIB in the SIB list associated with the UE stored at the relay node.
However, Orsino et al from the same or similar fields of endeavor teaches receive an updated version of the requested SIB from the relay node based on the indication of the requested SIB in the SIB list associated with the UE stored at the relay node (see at least paragraphs 208-209 and fig. 11 [1102, 1103] discloses transmitting updated SIB to first wireless device, based on adding or changing the SI in the SIB form further SIB which includes an indication).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify to incorporate above mention feature as taught by Orsino et al into the system of Lee et al for purpose of relay sending the further SIB which includes indication content; wireless device receiving content of SIB different from the SIB received from the base station.
Regarding claim 26, Lee et al discloses the at least one controller is configured to cause the processor to transmit, to the relay node, an indication that the requested SIB is not needed at the UE (paragraph 123).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments, filed on June 29, 2026, with respect to claims 1, 15, 23 and 25 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection, necessitated by applicant’s amendment. See the above rejection of claims 1-5, 9, 11, 12 and 15-26 for the relevant citations found in Lee et al and Orsino et al disclosing the limitations.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LITON MIAH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2642