DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The reply filed on 28 November 2025 has been entered. Claim 12 has been cancelled. Claims 1-11 and 13-15 are pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2 and 5-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2001/0043847 A1 to Kramer (Kramer).
In reference to claim 1, Kramer discloses a haptics device comprising: a set of haptic arms (see Figs. 4A, B; 535, 536; Fig. 5L), each haptic arm including a proximal linkage (535; Fig. 5L), a distal linkage (536) and an actuating mechanism (538, 540); a set of shape memory alloy (SMA) components (par. 0114), each of the set of SMA components connected to one of the set of haptic arms to drive the actuating mechanism; and a processor (see Figs. 10, 19) for communicating with each of the actuating mechanisms to actuate the set of haptic arms.
In reference to claim 2, Kramer discloses the haptics device of Claim 1wherein the set of SMA components comprise a SMA wire (par. 0114), a SMA bundle, a SMA spring or a thin SMA sheet.
In reference to claim 5, Kramer discloses the haptics device of Claim 1 further comprising a set of positioning sensors for sensing a position of the set of haptic arms (par. 0139).
In reference to claim 6, Kramer discloses the haptics device of Claim 2 wherein the SMA components are a SMA wire (par. 0114) or SMA bundle (par. 0041).
In reference to claim 7, Kramer discloses the haptics device of Claim 6 wherein the SMA wire bundle comprises crimps or swages at least one end of the SMA wire bundle (the “bundle” is an optional limitation in claim 6 and thus the limitations of claim 7 are also considered optional).
In reference to claim 8, Kramer discloses the haptics device of Claim 6 wherein the SMA wire bundle comprises a first portion and a second portion (any two different sections of the bundle can be interpreted as a “portion”; also, the “bundle” is an optional limitation in claim 6 and thus the limitations of claim 7 are also considered optional).
In reference to claim 9, Kramer discloses the haptics device of Claim 8 further comprising an electrical isolating component (537, 539) to isolate the first portion of the SMA wire bundle from the second portion of the SMA wire or SMA bundle (the “bundle” is an optional limitation in claim 6 and thus the limitations of claim 7 are also considered optional).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 and 13-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kramer as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 2019/0264664 A1 to Zamani et al. (Zamani).
In reference to claims 3 and 13-15, Kramer discloses the haptics device of Claim 1, but fails to explicitly disclose an SMA component with plural portions with different characteristics. However, Zamani discloses an SMA component wherein when a current is passed through a SMA component, at least one portion of the SMA component experiences a microstructural transformation and at least one other portion of the SMA component remains unchanged (pars. 0046-0050) and wherein one portion of a SMA component actuates upon heating and another portion of the SMA component provides sensing (pars. 0035-0040). It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate an SMA component with multiple section characteristics disclosed by Zamani into the device of Kramer. A person of ordinary skill would have been motivated to do so, with a reasonable expectation of success, as Zamani teaches the arrangement advantageously provides for reduced complexity and cost (par. 0035).
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kramer as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 2021/0196555 A1 to Kyung et al. (Kyung).
In reference to claim 4, Kramer discloses 4 the haptics device of Claim 1, but fails to explicitly disclose cooling housings. However, Kyung discloses a similar device utilizing SMAs (par. 0060) further comprising: a set of cooling housings for cooling the set of SMA components (par. 0061). It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the cooling housings disclosed by Kyung into the device of Kramer. A person of ordinary skill would have been motivated to do so, with a reasonable expectation of success, as the arrangement would advantageously provide for faster restoration of the SMA components.
Claim(s) 1, 10 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2010/0092267 A1 to Najdovski et al. (Najdovski) in view of Kramer.
In reference to claim 1, Najdovski discloses a haptics device comprising: a set of haptic arms (12, 13; Figs. 1-8), each haptic arm including a proximal linkage (12 or one of the segments of 12), a distal linkage (one of the other segments of 12 or 13) and an actuating mechanism (pars. 0139-0140); a set of components, each of the set of SMA components connected to one of the set of haptic arms to drive the actuating mechanism (pars. 0139-0140); and a processor (Fig. 13) for communicating with each of the actuating mechanisms to actuate the set of haptic arms, but fails to explicitly disclose a set of shape memory alloy (SMA) components. However, Kramer discloses a similar device that utilizes SMAs for actuation (par. 0114). It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have simply substituted the SMAs disclosed by Kramer motors of Najdovski. A person of ordinary skill would have been motivated to do so, with a reasonable expectation of success, as Kramer teaches the two types of actuators are useable for the same purpose (par. 0114).
In reference to claim 10, the modified Najdovski teaches the haptics device of Claim 1 further comprising an end effector, the end effector connected to at least one of the set of haptic arms (Najdovski, par. 0157).
In reference to claim 11, the modified Najdovski teaches the haptics device of Claim 10 further comprising a stylus component connected to the end effector (Najdovski, “probe”, pars. 0182, 0186, 0206
Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: JP 2004-029999 A (in particular, Fig. 7) still also appears to anticipate at least claim 1 and may be relied upon in a subsequent Office action.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 28 November 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues on pp. 4-5 of the reply that neither Kramer nor Najdovski disclose “a set of haptic arms, each haptic arm including a proximal linkage [and] a distal linkage”. Applicant is correct that Fig. 5L of Kramer (as referred to in the rejection) only depicts a single haptic arm. However, in light of the disclosure as a whole, it is clear that the figure is meant to show the details of a single joint in a glove comprising numerous joints and therefore multiple arms that would form a “set of haptic arms”. For example, a glove with multiple joints for multiple fingers is depicted in Figs. 4A, 4B and described in at least pars. 0006, 0013, 0025-0031. Kramer meets all of the limitations of the claims and the rejections are proper and remain.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JONATHAN R MATTHIAS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3746
10 December 2025