DETAILED ACTION
Withdrawn Rejections
Any rejections and or objections, made in the previous Office Action, and not repeated below, are hereby withdrawn due to Applicant’s amendments and/or arguments in the response dated April 20, 2026. However, new rejections may have been made using the same prior art if still applicable to the newly presented amendments and/or arguments.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because Figure 1 contains a multitude of arrows that appear to be pointing to the same element of the material tape system. Reference numbers 33, 57, 61, 5, 29, 21, 13, 31 appear to be pointing to the exact same element in the drawing. Reference numbers 39, 7, 59, 63, 37 appear to be pointing to the exact same element in the drawing. From the drawing, it is hard to tell what/or if there is a structural difference between the elements. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: Line 13 contains a typo “fhe” should be --the--. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 – 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Shaw (USPN 6,951,676).
Shaw discloses a material tape system (Figure 7A; Abstract) having a backing tape having a first end section that has first end face and a second end section opposite the first end section (Figure 7A, #21 and 20), wherein a total length of the backing tape is defined between the first end section and the second end section (Figure 7A, #21 and 20), and the first end section terminates at the first end face (Figure 7A, #21 and 20, the left end), a fixing adhesive tape having a fixing adhesive surface, by means of which the fixing adhesive tape is detachably connected to the first end section of the backing tape on the first side of the backing tape (Figure 7A, #10, 11’ and 11”), a first connecting adhesive tape having a connecting section, by means of which the first connecting adhesive tape is connected to the first end section of the backing tape on a second side of the backing tape, which is opposite to the first side of the backing tape (Figure 7A, #31 and 32), and a release tape disposed at the first end section of the backing tape such that the first end face is covered by the release tape and the fixing adhesive tape and the first connecting adhesive tape is separated by the release tape (Figure 7A, #13), wherein the fixing adhesive tape and the first connecting adhesive tape are connected to the backing tape in such a way that, when the fixing adhesive tape is connected to the backing tape, a connecting adhesive surface of the first connecting adhesive tape is covered (Figure 7A, #10, 11’ and 11”; Figure 7A, #31 and 32), and, when the fixing adhesive tape is detached from the backing tape, the connecting adhesive surface of the first connecting adhesive tape is exposed (Figure 7A, #31 and 32, release liners removed, exposing adhesive) as in claim 1. With respect to claim 2, the release tape has a first side and a second side, wherein when fixing adhesive tape is connected to the backing tape, the release tape is arranged between the fixing adhesive tape and the first connecting adhesive tape in such a way that the fixing adhesive surface faces the first side of the release tape and the connecting adhesive surface faces the second side of the release tape (Figure 7A, #13). Regarding claim 3, the release tape is connected on its first side to the fixing adhesive tape and is detachably connected on its second side to the connecting adhesive surface of the first connecting adhesive tape in such a way that, when the fixing adhesive tape is detached from the backing tape, the release tape is detached from the connecting adhesive surface (Figure 7A, #13). For claim 4, the connecting adhesive surface of the first connecting adhesive tape is covered by the release tape (Figure 7A, #13, 31). In claim 5, a first adhesive force acting from the fixing adhesive surface to the backing tape is less than a second adhesive force acting from a connecting section of the fixing adhesive tape to the release tape (Figure 3). With regard to claim 6, the second adhesive force acting from the connecting section of the fixing adhesive tape to the release tape is greater than a third adhesive force acting from the connecting adhesive surface of the first connecting adhesive tape to the release tape (Column 9, lines 30 – 50; Column 9, line 66 to Column 10, line 8; Column 11, lines 4 – 14; Column 13, lines 23 - 33, wherein the adhesive abilities and separation of layers of the tape system may be controlled by the adhesive and treatment of the release liner). As to claim 7, the third adhesive force acting from the connecting adhesive surface of the first connecting adhesive tape to the release tape is less than a fourth adhesive force acting from the connecting section of the first connecting adhesive tape to the first end section of the backing tape (Column 9, lines 30 – 50; Column 9, line 66 to Column 10, line 8; Column 11, lines 4 – 14; Column 13, lines 23 - 33, wherein the adhesive abilities and separation of layers of the tape system may be controlled by the adhesive and treatment of the release liner). With respect to claim 8, when the fixing adhesive tape is connected to the backing tape (Figure 7A, #32 and 20, the connecting adhesive surface of the first connecting adhesive tape is arranged on the first side of the backing tape (Figure 7A, #20 and 21, 31).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shaw (USPN 6,951,676) in view of Rohde et al. (USPN 9,346,980).
Shaw discloses a material tape system (Figure 7A; Abstract) having a backing tape having a first end section that has first end face and a second end section opposite the first end section (Figure 7A, #21 and 20), wherein a total length of the backing tape is defined between the first end section and the second end section (Figure 7A, #21 and 20), and the first end section terminates at the first end face (Figure 7A, #21 and 20, the left end), a fixing adhesive tape having a fixing adhesive surface, by means of which the fixing adhesive tape is detachably connected to the first end section of the backing tape on the first side of the backing tape (Figure 7A, #10, 11’ and 11”), a first connecting adhesive tape having a connecting section, by means of which the first connecting adhesive tape is connected to the first end section of the backing tape on a second side of the backing tape, which is opposite to the first side of the backing tape (Figure 7A, #31 and 32), and a release tape disposed at the first end section of the backing tape such that the first end face is covered by the release tape and the fixing adhesive tape and the first connecting adhesive tape is separated by the release tape (Figure 7A, #13), wherein the fixing adhesive tape and the first connecting adhesive tape are connected to the backing tape in such a way that, when the fixing adhesive tape is connected to the backing tape, a connecting adhesive surface of the first connecting adhesive tape is covered (Figure 7A, #10, 11’ and 11”; Figure 7A, #31 and 32), and, when the fixing adhesive tape is detached from the backing tape, the connecting adhesive surface of the first connecting adhesive tape is exposed (Figure 7A, #31 and 32, release liners removed, exposing adhesive). However, Shaw fails to disclose the first connecting adhesive tape extends in a first connecting adhesive tape direction of extent away from the first end section of the backing tape, wherein an extent of the connecting section of the first connecting and adhesive tape and the first connecting adhesive tape direction of extent corresponds to between 20% and 40% of an extent of the first connecting adhesive tape in the first connecting adhesive tape direction of extent, and a multiplicity of punch parts is arranged on the first side of the backing tape.
Rohde et al. teach a material tape system (Figures; Abstract) having a backing tape (Figure 1, #1), which has a first end section and a second end section and extends from the first end section to the second end section (Figure 1, #1a and 1b), a fixing adhesive tape having a fixing adhesive surface (Figure 1, #5), by means of which the fixing adhesive tape is detachably connected to the first end section of the backing tape on the first side of the backing tape (Figure 1, #5, wherein release liners are removable), a first connecting adhesive tape having a connecting section (Figure 1, #2), by means of which the first connecting adhesive tape is connected to the first end section of the backing tape on a second side of the backing tape (Figure 1, #22), which is opposite to the first side of the backing tape (Figure 1, #1, 5, and 2), wherein the fixing adhesive tape and the first connecting adhesive tape are connected to the backing tape in such a way that, when the fixing adhesive tape is connected to the backing tape, a connecting adhesive surface of the first connecting adhesive tape is covered (Figure 1, #5 and 2), and, when the fixing adhesive tape is detached from the backing tape, the connecting adhesive surface of the first connecting adhesive tape is exposed (Figure 1, #5 and 2, wherein when the release liner is removed, the adhesive is exposed on the adhesive layer 22), the first connecting adhesive tape extends in a first connecting adhesive tape direction of extent away from the first end section of the backing tape, wherein an extent of the connecting section of the first connecting and adhesive tape and the first connecting adhesive tape direction of extent corresponds to between 20% and 40% of an extent of the first connecting adhesive tape in the first connecting adhesive tape direction of extent (Column 5, lines 4 – 9), and a multiplicity of punch parts is arranged on the first side of the backing tape (Figure 1, #50) for the purpose of splicing two rolls of material together (Column 6, lines 25 – 32).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have multiplicity of punch parts is arranged on the first side of the backing tape and first connecting adhesive tape direction of extent corresponds to between 20% and 40% of an extent of the first connecting adhesive tape in the first connecting adhesive tape direction of extent in Shaw in order to splice two rolls of material together as taught by Rohde et al.
Claims 10 – 12 and 14 – 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shaw (USPN 6,951,676) in view of White (USPN 2,940,884).
Shaw discloses a material tape system (Figure 7A; Abstract) having a backing tape having a first end section that has first end face and a second end section opposite the first end section (Figure 7A, #21 and 20), wherein a total length of the backing tape is defined between the first end section and the second end section (Figure 7A, #21 and 20), and the first end section terminates at the first end face (Figure 7A, #21 and 20, the left end), a fixing adhesive tape having a fixing adhesive surface, by means of which the fixing adhesive tape is detachably connected to the first end section of the backing tape on the first side of the backing tape (Figure 7A, #10, 11’ and 11”), a first connecting adhesive tape having a connecting section, by means of which the first connecting adhesive tape is connected to the first end section of the backing tape on a second side of the backing tape, which is opposite to the first side of the backing tape (Figure 7A, #31 and 32), and a release tape disposed at the first end section of the backing tape such that the first end face is covered by the release tape and the fixing adhesive tape and the first connecting adhesive tape is separated by the release tape (Figure 7A, #13), wherein the fixing adhesive tape and the first connecting adhesive tape are connected to the backing tape in such a way that, when the fixing adhesive tape is connected to the backing tape, a connecting adhesive surface of the first connecting adhesive tape is covered (Figure 7A, #10, 11’ and 11”; Figure 7A, #31 and 32), and, when the fixing adhesive tape is detached from the backing tape, the connecting adhesive surface of the first connecting adhesive tape is exposed (Figure 7A, #31 and 32, release liners removed, exposing adhesive). However, Shaw fails to disclose the material tape system has a roll core with a circumferential outer surface, wherein the fixing adhesive tape has a connecting section by means of which the fixing adhesive tape is connected to the outer surface, the material tape system has a second connecting adhesive tape having a connecting section, by means of which the connecting adhesive tape is connected to the second end section of the backing tape on the first side of the backing tape and having a connecting adhesive surface, the material tape system has a roll core with a circumferential outer surface, wherein the second connecting adhesive tape is connected to the outer surface by means of which the connecting of the connecting adhesive surface, a first tape system according to claim 1 and a second material tape system according to claim 1, wherein the connecting adhesive surface of the first connecting adhesive tape of the first material tape system is connected to the second end section of the backing tape of the second material tape system on a second side of the backing tape of the second material tape system, the connecting adhesive surface of the second connecting adhesive tape of the second material tape system is connected to the first end section of the backing tape of the first material tape system on the first side of the backing tape of the first material tape system, the backing tape of the first material tape system and the backing tape of the second material tape system are arranged in such a way that a first tangential surface running perpendicularly to the connecting adhesive surface of the first connecting adhesive tape of the first adhesive tape material system runs along a first edge region of the first end section of the backing tape of the first material tape system and along a first edge region of the second end section of the backing tape of the second material system, and a second tangential surface running parallel to the first tangential surface runs along a second edge region of the first end section of the backing tape of the first material tape system and along a second region of the second end section of the backing tape of the second material system, and a first and face of the first end section of the backing tape of the first material tape system and a second end face of the second end section of the backing tape of the second material system rest against one another.
White teaches a material tape system (Figures; Abstract), the material tape system has a roll core with a circumferential outer surface (Figure 1) for the purpose of conveniently storing individual adhesive tapes (Column 1, lines 50 – 52).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a core in Shaw in order to conveniently store individual adhesive tapes as taught by White.
With regard to the limitations of “the fixing adhesive tape has a connecting section by means of which the fixing adhesive tape is connected to the outer surface (Figure 1, #1), the material tape system has a second connecting adhesive tape having a connecting section, by means of which the connecting adhesive tape is connected to the second end section of the backing tape on the first side of the backing tape and having a connecting adhesive surface, the material tape system has a roll core with a circumferential outer surface, wherein the second connecting adhesive tape is connected to the outer surface by means of which the connecting of the connecting adhesive surface, a first tape system according to claim 1 and a second material tape system according to claim 1, wherein the connecting adhesive surface of the first connecting adhesive tape of the first material tape system is connected to the second end section of the backing tape of the second material tape system on a second side of the backing tape of the second material tape system, the connecting adhesive surface of the second connecting adhesive tape of the second material tape system is connected to the first end section of the backing tape of the first material tape system on the first side of the backing tape of the first material tape system, the backing tape of the first material tape system and the backing tape of the second material tape system are arranged in such a way that a first tangential surface running perpendicularly to the connecting adhesive surface of the first connecting adhesive tape of the first adhesive tape material system runs along a first edge region of the first end section of the backing tape of the first material tape system and along a first edge region of the second end section of the backing tape of the second material system, and a second tangential surface running parallel to the first tangential surface runs along a second edge region of the first end section of the backing tape of the first material tape system and along a second region of the second end section of the backing tape of the second material system, and a first and face of the first end section of the backing tape of the first material tape system and a second end face of the second end section of the backing tape of the second material system rest against one another”, it is well settled that a particular shape, or arrangement, of a prior invention carries no patentable weight unless the applicant can demonstrate that the new shape, or arrangement, provides significant unforeseen improvements to the invention. In the instant case, the application does not indicate any new, significant attributes of the invention due to its shape, or arrangement, which would have been unforeseen to one of ordinary skill in the art. It has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. MPEP 2144.04.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 – 17 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Patricia L. Nordmeyer/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1788
/pln/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1788 April 29, 2026