DETAILED ACTION
This Office action responds to papers filed on 6 November 2023.
Claims 1-7 are pending and presented for examination.
Applicant's submission of references on form PTO-1449, filed on November 6, 2023, November 7, 2024, and February 14, 2025, have been considered. A signed copy of each form is attached.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The terms “explicit” and “implicit” in claim each of the claims 2-4 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The terms “explicit” and “implicit” are not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The terms “explicit” and “implicit” are used to imply a variety of points or issues. With regard to the instant claims a term or period of time or object is intended to be described but the terms “explicit” and “implicit” do not give a definition or explanation to what is implied as considered to be “explicit” and “implicit”; therefore, causing indefiniteness on the subject of the claim limitations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)1) as being anticipated by US Patent Publication No. US 2019/0095246 A1 to Nakano et al..
The reference to Nakano et al. (herein after “Nakano”) teaches of “a support device which is connected to a control device for controlling a control target and a non-transitory storage medium for storing a support program for realizing the support device.” In doing so, the limitations of the instant invention are taught/fairly suggested as stated herein below.
Regarding independent claims 1 and 7 where a control device and method, respectively, for executing a process on a processing request from a client for an industrial machine, the control device or method comprising:
a priority analysis unit configured to, upon receiving the processing request from the client, perform an analysis of a priority that is set for the received processing request - (taught by Nakano in paragraph [0033] as the “user program” portion where it is described as ““user program” includes a program which can be entirely scanned every execution and can output a control command every execution. Basically, the user program is arbitrarily generated by a user in response to a control target or an application”; and
a priority change unit configured to change the priority with respect to the received processing request on the basis of a result of the analysis by the priority analysis unit - (is taught as the “task means” in paragraph [0041]-[0049] where ““task” means the unit of execution of a process including one or a plurality of processes. An execution cycle may be set for each task in addition to the priority. When the execution cycle is set, a scheduler triggers the execution of the task in accordance with the set execution cycle.” Furthermore, the execution of the “task” is described as “the execution of the plurality of tasks is managed by the function of the control device 100 called the scheduler. The scheduler allocates the process time (hereinafter, also referred to as “processor resources”) of one or a plurality of processors of the control device 100 to a target task” in paragraph [0041]).
Claim 5 is directed to the control device according to claim 1, wherein the industrial machine is a machine tool, and the control device is a numerical control device. Nakano teaches the use of a machine tool and a numerical control device in paragraph [0070] as “the field device 500 includes a remote input/output (I/O) device 510, a robot 520, a robot controller 522, a CNC machine tool 530, a servo driver 538, and a servomotor 532.” (emphasis added).
In claim 6 the control device according to claim 1, wherein the industrial machine is an industrial robot, and the control device is a robot control device is stated. As aforementioned the use of a robot and robot control device is taught in paragraph [0070] and in paragraph [0038] where “a “control application” includes, for example, a device or machine performing specific processing or operation using computer numerical control (CNC) and/or a robot and such control” is stated.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent Publication No. US 2019/0095246 A1 to Nakano et al. as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US Patent Publication No. US 2019/0101904 A1 to Shimamura et al..
The teachings of Nakano are stated above.
Regarding claims 2-4, claim 2 where the control device according to claim 1, wherein the priority that is set for the processing request is an explicit priority that is designated by the client is recited. In claim 3 the control device according to claim 1, wherein the priority that is set for the processing request is an implicit priority that is set in advance is claimed. And claim 4 where the control device according to claim 1, wherein the priority that is set for the processing request is a combination of an explicit priority designated by the client, and an implicit priority that is set in advance is stated. Nakano teaches the setting of a processing request through the “scheduler” wherein the priority level of the task is set (see paragraphs [0041]-[0049]. However, Nakano does not particularly teach the designation of an “explicit priority”. For this reason the prior art of Shimamura et al. (herein after “Shimamura”) is introduced. In paragraph [0176], Shimamura teaches of assigning priority statuses based on client input as “the application arbitration part 162 instructs the scheduler 154 to change the priority that has been set to the task related to the generation of the internal command. In response to the priority change instruction, the scheduler 154 changes the priority of the target task and allocates more processor resources, thereby completing generation of the internal command earlier”. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the above mentioned invention of Nakano with the scheduling assignment portion of Shimamura so as to allow for improved completion and allocate more resources.
For the reasons stated above, the limitations of the instant invention are taught and/or fairly suggested by the prior arts of record; thereby, rendering the instant claims unpatentable.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US Patent Publication No. US 2021/0187742 A1 Ozeki
relates to a control device and a control method
/Sheela Rao/Examiner, Art Unit 2119 January 27, 2026
/MOHAMMAD ALI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2119