DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
claim 15:
a modeling unit with corresponding structure seen in Fig. 2; and
a processing unit, with corresponding structure found in para. [0104] of applicant’s pre-publication.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5 and 7-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Grosseline et al. (WO 2020/002519).
With respect to claim 1, Grosseline et at. teaches a method of generating a prediction model configured to predict a quality value (Qix) of an electrode configuration (page 7 lines 1-2) for electrophysiological measurements (page 7 lines 16-20), wherein the electrode configuration is a positional arrangement of a plurality of electrodes (on a user), the method comprising: inputting a plurality of training electrode signals for a plurality of known electrode configurations, and with a plurality of known quality values to the prediction model (Grosseline et al. teaches a electroencephalographic training set TR1 which includes a plurality of training electrode signal TS1 used to train a predicative model, i.e. as the examiner considers the taught classification algorithms as reading on the claimed predictive model; page 19 line 15 to page 20, line 14, based on defined quality metrics used to compare a difference threshold between the training set quality and the predicted quality); receiving (120) a plurality of predicted quality values (Qix; page 23 line 9 to page 24 line 3) from the prediction model (i.e. the first and second classification models, which read on the claimed “prediction model”); and determining parameter values (i.e. weights and k values) of the prediction model (i.e. first and second classification models) based on a difference between the plurality of known quality values and the plurality of predicted quality values (as Grosseline et al teaches using features values of the signals to determine the weights and k values based on determined difference between the a known quality point and an unknown quality point during the classification training; page 20 line 20 to page 21 line 5).
With respect to claim 2, Grosseline et at. teaches the method wherein the prediction model uses a classifier (i.e. a first classifier; page 12 lines 1-3).
With respect to claim 3, Grosseline et at. teaches the method wherein the plurality of training electrode signals (found in the train sets; TR1) comprises training electrode signals with the one or more signal variables (i.e. statistical descriptors; page 18 lines 15-19), and wherein the prediction model (i.e. first and second classifiers) is configured to represent an interaction between with the one or more signal variables (i.e. the statistical descriptors) and the plurality of known quality values (as Grosseline et al. teaches the qualities are used by the prediction model classifier and are determined using statistical descriptors; page 18 lines 15-19).
With respect to claim 4, Grosseline et at. teaches the method wherein the one signal variable includes kurtosis of channels (page 18 lines 15-19).
With respect to claims 5 and 12, Grosseline et at. teaches the method wherein the quality value (Qix) comprises accuracy (as the quality equation taught on page 18 relates to measures that involve accuracy, such as performance metrics in machine learning or statistics).
With respect to claim 7, Grosseline et at. teaches a method for processing electrode signals from an electrode configuration for electrophysiological measurements (as read in the Abstract), the method comprising: generating a prediction model (i.e. the first and second classification algorithms) according to claim 1 (as rejected above); obtaining electrode signals from an electrode configuration for obtaining electrophysiological measurements of a subject; and obtaining a prediction of a quality value of the electrode configuration based on inputting the electrode signals to the generated prediction model (as Grosseline et al. teaches, the trained prediction model is used to give in real-time positional correction based on obtained signals from placed electrodes on a user and generated results from the predication model based on the electrode signals; page 4 lines 21-25).
With respect to claim 8, Grosseline et at. teaches the method further comprising: identifying a modification to the electrode configuration based on the predicted quality value of the electrode configuration (as the result from the prediction model will indicate if the electrode configuration is not providing accurate enough results, thereby prompting the user to re-position the electrodes until the prediction model indicates the quality of the signals meets a defined threshold; page 4 lines 21-25 and page 3 lines 1-7).
With respect to claim 9, Grosseline et at. teaches the method further comprising: classifying (using the taught classifier) the electrode configuration into one of a plurality of classifications (similar to CLAS1 and CLAS2 used to train the model) based on the predicted quality value of the electrode configuration (i.e. as Grosseline teaches based on the quality metric used to steer feature values from the electrode signals to their respective classification).
With respect to claim 10, Grosseline et at. teaches the method wherein classifying the electrode configuration comprises: comparing the predicted quality value of the electrode configuration against at least one threshold value; and classifying the electrode configuration into one of a plurality of classifications based on the comparison result (as taught in claim 11 of the method taught by Grosseline et al. which details of each EEG signal calculating a spectral distance between the spectrum of each EEG signal segment and a reference spectrum; and comparing said spectral distance to a predefined threshold to determine the presence of a muscular artifact in the EEG signal segment in the quality class and assign it a class).
With respect to claim 11, Grosseline et at. teaches a method for processing electrode signals from an electrode configuration for electrophysiological measurements using a prediction model (as read in the Abstract) configured to predict a quality value (i.e. a quality of the signal; Abstract) of an electrode configuration (as based on the model, a user will be presented a quality of placement based on the prediction model and received signals; page 4 lines 21-25), wherein the electrode configuration is a positional arrangement of a plurality of electrodes (as indirectly taught on page 4 lines 21-25 which details the positional location of the electrodes with be assessed based on a quality of the signal), the method comprising: obtaining electrode signals from an electrode configuration for obtaining electrophysiological measurements of a subject (as page 4 lines 21-25 details the positioned signal for obtaining electrophysical measurements from a patient); and acquiring a prediction of a quality value of the electrode configuration based on inputting the electrode signals to the generated prediction model (as the classification model with provide the user of the electrodes an indication of the quality of the placement based on the signals and their respective classification indicating a good or bad placement).
With respect to claim 13, Grosseline et at. teaches the method further comprising: identifying a modification to the electrode configuration based on the predicted quality value of the electrode configuration (as Grosseline the output of the prediction model is to indicate a proper improper position of the electrodes based the quality of the signal so to improve their respective position, if necessary, page 4 lines 21-25).
With respect to claim 14, Grosseline et at. teaches the method further comprising: classifying the electrode configuration into one of a plurality of classifications based on the predicted quality value of the electrode configuration (as taught in claim 11 of the method taught by Grosseline et al. which details of each EEG signal calculating a spectral distance between the spectrum of each EEG signal segment and a reference spectrum; and comparing said spectral distance to a predefined threshold to determine the presence of a muscular artifact in the EEG signal segment in the quality class and assign it a class).
With respect to claim 15, Grosseline et at. teaches a system for processing electrode signals from an electrode configuration (Abstract) for electrophysiological measurements using a prediction model (i.e. as Grosseline et al. teaches using classification models for prediction) configured to predict a quality value of an electrode configuration (page 4 lines 20-25), wherein the electrode configuration is a positional arrangement of a plurality of electrodes (as Grosseline et al. teaches the prediction model is used to determine in the position of the electrodes are in the right location to ensure a predefined quality threshold to ensure the most accurate signal), the system comprising: a modelling unit (i.e. a data processing system; page 8 lines 12-14) configured to generate a prediction model (i.e. first and second classification models) configured to predict a quality value (i.e. quality index, Qix) of an electrode configuration for electrophysiological measurements (as initially position on a user); an interface (i.e. EEG channel) configured to obtain electrode signals from an electrode configuration (page 12 lines 4-26); and a processing unit (as part of the data processing system; page 8 lines 12-14) configured to acquire a prediction of a quality value of the electrode configuration (as determined using the equation seen on page 18) based on inputting the electrode signals to the generated prediction model (where the model using the first and second classification algorithms determine if the quality index indicates a correctly position electrode or not based on that signals classification).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grosseline et al. (WO 2020/002519) in view of Hansen et al. (WO 2019/120438).
With respect to claim 6, Grosseline et at. teaches all that is claimed above in the rejection of claim 1, but remains silent regarding the method wherein the determining parameter values of the prediction model comprises: adjusting parameter values of the prediction model so as to decrease a difference between: a known quality value associated with training electrode signals for a known electrode configuration; and a predicted quality value received from the prediction model for the known electrode configuration.
Hansen et al. teaches a similar method that includes adjusting parameter values of a prediction model so as to decrease a difference between: a known quality value associated with training electrode signals for a known electrode configuration; and a predicted quality value received from the prediction model for the known electrode configuration (as Hansen et al. teaches [a]fter the initial convolution neural network module 313 outputs identified features, the initial weights of the convolution neural network module 313 may be adjusted so the features identified by the convolution neural network module 313 closely align with the known, verified, and/or confirmed features. For example, backpropagation can be performed on the convolution neural network module 313 to adjust the weights of the filters to minimize the differences between the features identified by the convolution neural network module 313 and the known, verified, and/or confirmed features. Over several training iterations, optimal or otherwise suitable weights can be learned for the filters of the convolution neural network module 313 and, therefore, the convolution neural network module 313 can be sufficiently trained to identify the reference locations 354, 356, the stoma 324, the ostomy appliance 2, and/or other objects included in an image. For example, a sufficiently trained convolution neural network module 313 has obtained an overall accuracy exceeding 95% when identifying reference locations 354, 356, the stoma 324, the ostomy appliance 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the instant invention to substitute the predictive model in Grosseline with the BPNN taught in Hansen et al. to achieve the predictable results of determining the best configuration for electrodes on a user. Further, such a modification enhances the models performance using an adjustable quality metric, thereby improving the electrode placement of Grosseline iteratively.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Wen et al. (2020/0121293) which teaches determining the proper placement of an electrode on a user using quality data.
/MATTHEW G MARINI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853