DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-22 are pending for this Office Action.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-18 in the reply filed on 08/06/2026 is acknowledged. Claims 19-22 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected method, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claims 1-18 are under consideration for this Office Action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 5-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 5: The claim has been amended to depend only on claim 1. Therefore, the claimed “said third electrolyte membrane” lacks antecedent basis.
Claim 6: The claim has been amended to depend only on claim 1. Therefore, the claimed “said third electrolyte membrane” lacks antecedent basis.
Claim 7: The claim has been amended to depend only on claim 1. Therefore, the claimed “said third electrolyte membrane” lacks antecedent basis.
Claim 8: The claim has been amended to depend only on claim 1. Therefore, the claimed “said second interlayer” lacks antecedent basis.
Claim 9: The claim has been amended to depend only on claim 1. Therefore, the claimed “said second interlayer” lacks antecedent basis.
Claim 10: The claim has been amended to depend only on claim 1. Therefore, the claimed “said second interlayer” lacks antecedent basis.
Claim 11: The claim has been amended to depend only on claim 1. Therefore, the claimed “said second interlayer” lacks antecedent basis.
Claim 12: The claim has been amended to depend only on claim 1. Therefore, the claimed “said second interlayer” lacks antecedent basis.
Claim 13: The claim has been amended to depend only on claim 1. Therefore, the claimed “said second interlayer” lacks antecedent basis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Woo et al (US 20210151777 A1).
Claim 1: Woo discloses an electrolyte membrane laminate (see e.g. abstract; Fig 3) comprising:
a first electrolyte membrane having a first main surface and a second main surface (see e.g. 222 on Fig 3); and
a first interlayer (see e.g. 212 on Fig 3) and a second electrolyte membrane (see e.g. 211 on Fig 3) in this order on said first main surface of said first electrolyte membrane;
wherein said first electrolyte membrane contains a hydrocarbon-based polymer electrolyte (see e.g. [0054]), said first interlayer contains a polymer electrolyte and particles (see e.g. [0048]; #133 on Fig 1), and said second electrolyte membrane contains a polymer electrolyte and particles containing a transition metal element (see e.g. [0044]-[0045]).
Claim 2: Woo discloses a third electrolyte membrane on said second main surface of said first electrolyte membrane (see e.g. #231 on Fig 3).
Claim 3: Woo discloses a second interlayer between said second main surface of said first electrolyte membrane and said third electrolyte membrane (see e.g. #232 on Fig 3), wherein said second interlayer contains a polymer electrolyte and particles (see e.g. [0048]).
Claim 4: Woo discloses that said polymer electrolyte(s) contained in said second electrolyte membrane and/or in said third electrolyte membrane contain(s) a fluorine-based polymer electrolyte (see e.g. [0054]).
Claim 5: Woo discloses that said particles containing a transition metal element and contained in said second electrolyte membrane are particles containing at least one transition metal element selected from platinum, gold, palladium, ruthenium, and rhodium (see e.g. [0045]).
Claim 6: Woo discloses that said particles containing a transition metal element and contained in said second electrolyte membrane contain particles of at least one kind selected from zerovalent metal particles, (see e.g. [0045]).
Claim 7: Woo discloses that the mass ratio (the mass of said particles containing a transition metal element / the mass of said polymer electrolyte) of said particles containing a transition metal element to said polymer electrolyte contained in said second electrolyte membrane is ~0.01 to 0.20 (see e.g. [0017]).
Claim 8: Woo discloses that particles contained in said first interlayer are inorganic particles (see e.g. [0048]).
Claim 9: Woo discloses that said particles contained in said first interlayer are particles containing a carbon atom (see e.g. [0046]).
Claim 10: Woo discloses that said particles contained in said first interlayer are carbon particles and/or metal-supporting carbon particles (see e.g. [0046]).
Claim 11: Woo discloses that said particles contained in said first interlayer are carbon particles (see e.g. [0046]).
Claim 12: Woo discloses that said polymer electrolyte(s) contained in said first interlayer contain(s) a fluorine-based polymer electrolyte (see e.g. [0047]).
Claim 13: Woo discloses that the mass ratio (the mass of said particles / the mass of said polymer electrolyte) of said particles to said polymer electrolyte contained in said first interlayer is 0.5 (see e.g. [0068]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Woo in view of Nakagawa (JP 2015117417 A, Espacenet translation used for citations, cited in previous action)
Claim 14: Woo does not explicitly teach that said hydrocarbon-based polymer electrolyte contained in said first electrolyte membrane contains an aromatic polyether-based polymer electrolyte. Nakagawa discloses an electrolyte membrane laminate (see e.g. abstract), making it analogous art (see MPEP § 2141.01(a) I). According to Nakagawa, polyetherimide is a suitable hydrocarbon-based polymer electrode for these types of membranes (see e.g. [0050]). MPEP § 2144.07 states that ‘The selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination in Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945)’. Therefore, it would have been obvious to use the polyetherimide of Nakagawa as the hydrocarbon-based polymer electrolyte.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 15-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claim 15: The prior art does not disclose nor render obvious all of the cumulative
limitations of claim(s) 15 with special attention given to the limitation claiming “a first catalyst layer is on said first main surface side of said first electrolyte membrane of said electrolyte membrane laminate, and a second catalyst layer is on said second main surface side of said first electrolyte membrane”. The closest prior art is Woo. However, the membrane of Woo cannot be modified to further include a first catalyst layer and second catalyst layer because it has already taught those features are in other layers.
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to ALEXANDER W KEELING whose telephone number is (571)272-9961. The examiner can normally be reached 7:30 AM - 4:00 PM. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Luan Van can be reached at 571-272-8521. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/ALEXANDER W KEELING/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1795