DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority of application DE10 2021 111 866.2 under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d).
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS)(s) submitted on 11/06/2023, 07/09/2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Preliminary Amendment
The preliminary amendment to the claims received 5/13/2026 is acceptable and made of record in accordance with MPEP 714.01(e). Applicant’s statement of no new matter added is acknowledged.
Specification
The substitute specification dated 11/7/2023 is accepted and made of record.
Claim Objections
Claims 25 and 33 are objected to because of the following informalities: claim 25 line 3 recites, “plurality of of battery”. Please delete one instance of “of”.
Claim 33, line 11 recites, “the several battery modules”. This should instead be “the plurality of battery modules” to maintain consistency with “a plurality of battery modules in line 3. Appropriate correction is required.
Drawings
The drawings (figures 1-6) are objected to. All unlabeled box(es) shown in the drawings should be provided with descriptive text labels as provided in the specification. For example: Fig. 1, item 1 should be shown as energy supply system 1; Fig. 6, item 25 should be shown as fault control unit 25. No new matter should be entered. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Status of Claims
Claims 1-14 are cancelled by preliminary amendment. Claims 15-33 (New) are pending and presented for prosecution on the merits below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 15, 17-24 and 26-33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Despesse US 20140015488 in view of Martin et al. US 20130293251.
Regarding claims 15, 28 and 33 [claim 15 is considered representative for purposes of itemization. The method claims are encompassed by the device claims], Despesse discloses an energy supply system [Figs. 4 and 11 (see reproduced below)], comprising:
a plurality of battery modules [Fig. 4 and 11, modules 12] which can be controllably connected in series [par. 0011] to provide different voltages at a power supply connection of the energy supply system [par. 0066, 0160 the control method of the invention includes commanding cell and/or module switches to obtain an output voltage of predefined value and/or an alternating output voltage in accordance with a predefined setpoint], and
a control unit [Fig. 11, central computer 22 + control circuit 27] for controlling the battery modules [par. 0076],
wherein each of the plurality of battery modules [Fig. 4 and 11, modules 12] has an input connection and an output connection [Figs. 4 and 5, lower terminal 17 and upper terminal 18; par. 0064], a battery unit [cells 11] for providing a module voltage [par. 0064], a switching device [Fig. 5, cells switches 13 + module switches 14] for selectively switching the module voltage to the input connection and to the output connection [pars. 0063-0064], and a control input [electronic card 20 with control circuit 27 and communication interface receiving commands from central computer 22] for receiving a control input signal [par. 0076-0077], wherein the plurality of battery modules are each configured so as to assume, in response to a switch-off control signal at the control input, a switched-off state in which the module voltage is disconnected from the input and output connections [pars. 0066, 0076-0077 control circuit 27 executes commands from the computer 22 to actuate transistors 23, 24 forming the switches 13, 14 (Fig. 6), which connects or disconnects cell voltages onto terminals 17 and 18],
wherein each of the plurality of battery modules [Fig. 4 and 11, modules 12] comprises a detection circuit [Fig. 11, temperature sensor 33, voltage sensor 35, current sensor 36 (par. 0084), processing circuit 30; Fig. 12, sensors 29] for detecting, in each case, an impermissible operating state of the respective battery module [card 20 is added for each module 12, thus each module comprises its card 20 (par. 0075) and sensors 29 (which detect current, voltage and temperature, par. 0077) and processing circuit 30 (Fig. 11). Processing circuit 30 being shown as part of module 12 in Fig. 11] and a control output for outputting the detected impermissible operating state by way of a fault control signal [par. 0201 the master circuit may request information such as a measurement of the voltage, current and/or temperature of a certain cell, after which the latter can send the requested information, possibly with a code for reporting a fault],
wherein the energy supply system further comprises a fault control circuit which connects the control output of at least one of the plurality of battery modules to the control input of at least one other of the plurality of battery modules [pars. 0201, 0202, Fig. 29, first module 121 of a battery generates a communication signal 100 by actuating at least one cell switch 13 and a corresponding signal 101 is then received at the level of a second module 122 of the battery]. Despesse discloses the additional claim 33 limitation as follows: wherein the fault control signal [Fig. 29, communication signal 100] is transmitted from the control output of at least one battery module [Fig. 29, cell switches 13 of module 121] to the control input of at least the one other of the plurality of battery modules [Fig. 29, the connection at module 122 where signal 101 is output] by a fault control circuit [Fig. 29, the series connection joining module 121 to module 122; pars. 0201, 0202].
Despesse does not explicitly disclose: wherein each of the plurality of battery modules has at least one loop-through contact comprising an input contact and an output contact which are connected to each other on a module-side in an electrically conducting manner, and
wherein the fault control circuit is configured to connect the control output and/or the control input of at least one of the plurality of battery modules in series with the loop-through contact of at least one other of the plurality of battery modules.
Martin discloses: wherein each of the plurality of battery modules [Figs. 1 and 10, battery module clients 1101-110x daisy chained to host 105, par. 0041] has at least one loop-through contact [Fig. 9, the node tied to diode 815] comprising an input contact [Fig. 9, upper terminal 925] and an output contact [Fig. 9, lower terminal 925] which are connected to each other on a module-side [PCB 305 of 110x] in an electrically conducting manner [Figs. 9 and 10, pars. 0075, 0076 each client’s PCB 305 includes a daisy-chain connector 920 with a pair of terminals 925, one wire segment 915 extending to the previous client and one wire segment 915 extending to the next client which are joined together], and
wherein the fault control circuit is configured to connect the control output and/or the control input of at least one of the plurality of battery modules in series with the loop-through contact of at least one other of the plurality of battery modules [Figs. 9 and 10, pars. 0074-0076 The daisy-chain loop begins host 105, loops through all the clients 110x with fault wire 225 doing the same then and ends at host 105].
Despesse and Martin are analogous battery modules in the same field of endeavor, namely battery modules with fault handling for use in electric vehicles [Despesse, par. 0162, 0217 and Martin, pars. 0007, 0009].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Despesse by adding a fault circuit in series through a pass-through connector on each battery module, as taught by Martin, for the benefit of providing a redundant fault path independent of data transmission and/or detection of a broken fault wire [see Martin, pars. 0069, 0074-0075, 0107-0112].
Regarding claim 17 (New), Despesse discloses: wherein the fault control circuit [Figs. 8 and 10a, communications bus 21. Fig. 29, carrier-current path through the modules] is configured to connect the control output of each of the plurality of battery modules [Figs. 8 and 9, card 20 communication interface; Fig. 11, interface 37] to the control input of every other one of the plurality of battery modules [the communication interface of the other cards 20; pars. 0076, 78, 0201, 0202].
Regarding claim 18 (New), Despesse discloses: wherein the fault control circuit [Figs. 8 and 10a, communications bus 21] comprises a separate fault control unit [central computer 22] having a fault control input to which the control output of at least one of the plurality of battery modules is routed [central computer 22 in connected through communication bus 21 to the communication interface of card 20], and a fault control output [the same connection of central computer 22 to communication bus 21] which is routed to the control input of at least one of the plurality of battery modules [Figs. 9 and 11, the control circuit 27 of each card 20], wherein the fault control unit is configured to generate, in response to a presence of the fault control signal at the fault control input, the switch-off control signal at the fault control output [par. 0076. Separate is interpreted under BRI as separate from the battery modules; computer 22 is seen to be separate from the module cards 20].
Regarding claims 19 and 29 (New), Despesse discloses: wherein the plurality of battery modules each has a control connection contact [Figs. 8 and 11, the connection of card 20 to bus 21 through interface 37] which forms both the control input and the control output, wherein the switch-off control signal and the fault control signal are routed via the control connection contact as a bi-directional control signal [pars. 0076, 0201, traffic travels bidirectionally over the connection].
Regarding claims 20 and 30 (New), Despesse discloses: wherein the switch-off control signal [Fig. 11, control signals 41] causes the switched-off state of the plurality of battery modules [pars. 0076-0079, control circuit 27 controls transistors 23, 24 to execute commands].
Regarding claims 21 and 31 (New), Martin discloses: wherein the fault control signal representing the impermissible operating state of the plurality of battery modules [Figs. 8 and 9, the fault signal on fault wire 225] is an active low control signal [par. 0072 fault wire 225 is held at a positive potential by pull up resistors 810].
Regarding claims 22 and 32 (New), Martin discloses: wherein the control output of the plurality of battery modules [Figs. 8 and 9, the output of fault transmitter 805 through diode 815] is configured as an open drain output or an open collector output [par. 0074].
Regarding claim 23 (New), Despesse discloses: wherein the fault control circuit comprises a data communication bus which connects the plurality of battery modules [Figs. 8 and 10a, modules 12 with cards 20; Figs. 21-22, casings 150] with each other with at least one data transmission line [Fig. 10a, bus line 21], wherein the control output and/or the control input of the plurality of battery modules is/are connected to the at least one data transmission line [par. 0076, each card 20 is connected bus 21 to central computer 22].
Regarding claim 24 (New), Despesse discloses: wherein the plurality of battery modules each has an insulation device [Fig. 11, interface 37] forming a galvanic isolation between the detection circuit [sensors 33, 35, 36, processing circuit 30] and the fault control circuit [communication bus 21. Pars. 0076, 0078, 0079].
Regarding claim 26 (New), Despesse discloses: wherein the impermissible operating state is provided when a predetermined maximum or minimum voltage threshold value of the module voltage [Fig. 23, high and low voltage thresholds VS1 and VS2] and/or cell voltages of a plurality of battery cells of the battery unit, a predetermined voltage difference between different battery cells of the battery unit, a predetermined maximum or minimum power threshold value at the power supply connection of the energy supply system and/or within the energy supply system, a predetermined maximum or minimum temperature threshold value of the plurality of battery modules during a charging and/or discharging process, are exceeded or fallen short of [par. 0157].
Regarding claim 27 (New), Despesse discloses: wherein the energy supply system [Figs. 4 and 11] is mobile [Fig. 22, motor vehicle; par. 0101].
Regarding claim 29 (New), Despesse discloses: further comprising a control connection contact [Figs. 8 and 11, connection of card 20 to bus 21 through interface 37 ] which forms both the control input and the control output, wherein the switch-off control signal and the fault control signal are routed via the control connection contact as a bi-directional control signal [par. 0076 the same bus is used to send and receive commands].
Regarding claim 30 (New), Despesse discloses: wherein the switch-off control signal [Fig. 11, control signal 41] causes the switched-off state of the battery module [pars. 0073, 0076, 0079].
Claim(s) 16 and 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Despesse US 20140015488 in view of Martin et al. US 20130293251, as applied to claim 15 above, and further in view of Ronne et al. US 20190229518.
Regarding claim 16 (New), Despesse in view of Martin discloses the energy supply system according to claim 15, but is silent on: wherein the fault control circuit connects the control output of each of the plurality of battery modules in each case to the control input of only a single other one of the battery modules.
Ronne discloses: wherein the fault control circuit [Figs. 1A, 1B, communication channel 172] connects the control output of each of the plurality of battery modules [the output 176 of each module controller 104] in each case to the control input of only a single other one of the battery modules [par. 0152 the controller transmits a message to the downstream controller 104. Par. 0155 each module’s output only goes to another module’s input].
Despesse, Martin and Ronne are analogous battery modules in the same field of endeavor, namely modules comprising electronics to detect faults and signal them to other modules [Despesse, pars. 0162, 0217; Martin, pars. 0007, 0009; Ronne, 0154-0155].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Despesse and Martin to relay each module’s fault signal to only the next module in a chain to disconnect the battery from its output when a fault is signaled, as taught by Ronne, so that a fault could be recognized at the last module without having to have processor software [e.g., Ronne, pars. 0155-0157, 0187].
Regarding claim 25 (New), Despesse in view of Martin discloses the energy supply system according to claim 15, but is silent regarding: further comprising a switch connected to the fault control circuit, wherein the switch is configured to separate the plurality of of battery modules from the power supply connection of the energy supply system upon the switch-off control signal being provided.
Ronne discloses: further comprising a switch [Fig. 1B, switch 158] connected to the fault control circuit [Fig. 1B, safety return circuit 152 of controller 102], wherein the switch is configured to separate the plurality of of battery modules [battery cells 156 of modules 104] from the power supply connection of the energy supply system upon the switch-off control signal being provided [pars. 0156, 0157].
Despesse, Martin and Ronne are analogous battery modules in the same field of endeavor, namely modules comprising electronics to detect faults and signal them to other modules [Despesse, pars. 0162, 0217; Martin, pars. 0007, 0009; Ronne, 0154-0155].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Despesse and Martin to relay each module’s fault signal to the next module in a chain to disconnect the battery from its output when no fault is signaled, as taught by Ronne, so that a fault at any module could be recognized at the last module without needing processor software [e.g., Ronne, pars. 0155-0157, 0187].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20160269095, US 20140001866, US 20160226107, US10804690 are all in the same battery module field of endeavor and have serial controllers with individual battery control and/or fault handling capability.
unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Drew Dunn can be contacted at 571-272-2312. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273- 8300.
to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent -center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
RICHARD V. MURALIDAR
Primary Examiner Art Unit 2859
/RICHARD V MURALIDAR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859