DETAILED ACTION
According to a preliminary amendment filed on Nov. 6, 2023, the applicants have canceled claims 4 and 9-11 and furthermore, have amended claims 1-3 and 5-8.
Claims 1-3 and 5-8 are pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claims 1-2, 6 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Lee (WO 2019/182274 A1).
Lee discloses Thienopyridine derivatives as inhibitors of RON kinase activity for treating various cancers including colorectal cancer (see page 2, lines 11-13). The compounds disclosed in examples 2-30 (see table 1on pages 50-57) and examples 32-37 (see table 2 on pages 63-65) by Lee anticipate the instant compounds of formula (1) and therefore, meet all the limitations of instant claims except that Ron-mutated cancer is colorectal cancer instead of instant cholangiocarcinoma (bile duct cancer). However, Lee does teach anticancer effect in RON-activated (KM 12C) and RON-mutated (HT29) colon cancer cells (see example 2 on page 67 and table 4 on page 68). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to treat any RON-mutated cancer including cholangiocarcinoma with compounds disclosed by Lee with reasonable expectation of success.
The applied reference has a common assignee with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2).
This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C.102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B); or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement. See generally MPEP § 717.02.
7. Claims 1, 3, 6 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Ryu (WO 2021/025407 A1).
Ryu discloses oxo-pyridine fusion ring derivatives as inhibitors of RON-activated kinase activity for treating various cancers including colorectal cancer. The compounds disclosed in examples 40-53 (see paragraphs 937-990) and examples 77-178 (see paragraphs 1109-1513) by Ryu (see English translation of this document) anticipate the instant compounds of formula (2) when instant variable L represents NH and therefore, meet all the limitations of instant claims except that Ron-mutated cancer is colorectal cancer instead of instant cholangiocarcinoma (bile duct cancer). However, Ryu does teach anticancer effect in RON-activated (KM 12C) and RON-mutated (HT29) colon cancer cells (see figures 1-3)). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to treat any RON-mutated cancer including cholangiocarcinoma with compounds disclosed by Ryu with reasonable expectation of success.
The applied reference has a common assignee with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2).
This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C.102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B); or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement. See generally MPEP § 717.02.
Double Patenting
9. Claims 1, 2, 6 and 8 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 10-15 of U.S. Patent No. 11,447,500. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to treat any RON-mutated cancer including cholangiocarcinoma with instant compounds of formula (1) disclosed by the cited patent with reasonable expectation of success since the cited patent does teach treating RON-mutated colon cancer with these compounds.
10. Claims 1-3 and 5-8 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 11-18 of copending Application No. 17/999,189 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to treat any RON-mutated cancer including cholangiocarcinoma with instant compounds of formulae 1 and 2 with reasonable expectation of success since the cited application does teach treating RON-mutated small-cell lung cancer with these compounds.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
.
/CHARANJIT AULAKH/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1621