DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/16/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues (pg. 9) “It is clear from the Olubummo disclosure that the epoxy compound, whether it is incorporated into the build material, the fusing agent, or a separate reactive agent, is applied during 3D printing,” but this is not found persuasive. Firstly, there does not appear to be a clear distinction in Olubummo between a printing step and a post-processing step as argued by Applicant. Paragraph [0076] of Olubummo discloses a second curing step, while paragraph [0077] refers to a “post-cured”. Olubummo teaches the order of steps to be reversed in paragraph [0076], which alone renders the claimed post-processing step obvious. Secondly, the claim is obvious in view of Schofield which teaches [0017] printing a first intermediate article having a 3D design using a 3D printer with a powder composition and a binder composition and [0035] the one or more post processing agents may be applied by the same or different methods selected from the group consisting of brushing, spraying, dipping, and submersion.
Applicant argues (pg. 9) “the first and second reactive agents disclosed by Olubummo are jetted” but this is not found persuasive. Regarding, claim 7, nothing in the claim limits the method of applying the post-processing agent. Thus, the claim is met by the jetting of Olubummo. Regarding claims 9, 14, and 20, which recite brush coating, the claims are obvious in view of Schofield which teaches [0017] printing a first intermediate article having a 3D design using a 3D printer with a powder composition and a binder composition and [0035] the one or more post processing agents may be applied by the same or different methods selected from the group consisting of brushing, spraying, dipping, and submersion.
Applicant argues (pg. 10) “the results of the elastic modulus test show a surprisingly and unexpectedly large improvement (by about 400% to 500%) in the stiffness (elastic modulus) of the treated 3D objects compared to the untreated 3D objects” but this is not found persuasive. Examiner notes that to overcome an obviousness rejection the results must be unexpected. However, it appears that increased stiffness is an expected result of epoxy treatment because Olubummo teaches the elastic modulus can be optimized with reactive agents, see [0088], and Olubummo teaches that the highest modulus was achieved using the epoxy reactive agents [0088], Table 1, Table 3.
Applicant argues (pg. 13) “the prior art does not disclose, teach, or suggest that the curing includes drying the epoxy resin at room temperature, as recited in new claim 19”. Examiner notes that claim 19 is met by a step of leaving the 3D printed object at room temperature after applying epoxy. This is met by Olubummo paragraph [0070] teaching that the 3D printed article can be removed from the powder bed and cleaned to remove loose powder bed material from the article. That is, simply removing the article leaves the article at room temperature. Examiner notes that Olubummo teaches that the heating steps [0077] are optional and serve to “help complete the curing reaction”. One of ordinary skill in the art would understand the reaction occurs at room temperature and heating is optional. Moreover, Schofield teaches “polymers used for post-processing may infiltrate the porous structure of the greenware through capillary action before the polymers set or cure” [0036], without teaching a further heat or irradiation step to cure.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Olubummo (WO 2020/190277 A1) in view of Schofield (US 2020/0367477 A1).
Regarding claim 7 , Olubummo meets the claimed method of making a three-dimensional object the method comprising: forming a three-dimensional object by iteratively applying individual build material layers of polyamide elastomeric particles (polyamide powder [0056]) to a powder bed: (Fig. 7, iteratively applying individual build material layers of polymer particles to a powder bed 710 [0064]) based on a three-dimensional object model, selectively applying a fusing agent on to the individual build material layers, (based on a three-dimensional object model, selectively jetting a fusing agent onto the individual build material layers, [0064]) wherein the fusing agent comprises water and a radiation absorber, wherein the radiation absorber absorbs radiation and converts the radiation energy to heat, (wherein the fusing agent includes water and a
radiation absorber 720, [0064]) exposing the powder bed to energy to selectively fuse the polymer particles in contact with the radiation absorber to form a fused polymer matrix of the thermoplastic polymer particles at individual build material layers to form a three-dimensional printed object; (exposing the powder bed to energy to selectively fuse the polymer particles in contact with the radiation absorber at individual build material layers 750. Olubummo explicitly teaches the order to be reversed and “In another example, the fusing agent can be applied to the powder bed material first. The powder bed material can then be irradiated to melt the polymer particles that were printed with the fusing agent. After melting the polymer particles, the first reactive agent and second reactive
agent can be applied” [0076]) and applying a post-processing agent to the three-dimensional printed object, (selectively introducing an epoxy compound into the individual build material layers 730, [0064]) wherein the post-processing agent comprises a curable epoxy resin, wherein the epoxy resin, when cured, has a higher elastic modulus than the polyamide elastomeric particles. (Olubummo teaches that the highest modulus was achieved using the reactive agents [0088]).
Olubummo does not teach ii) forms an epoxy coating on a surface of the three-dimensional printed object.
Schofield teaches ii) forms an epoxy coating on a surface of the three-dimensional printed object. (Schofield teaches [0017] printing a first intermediate article having a 3D design using a 3D printer with a powder composition and a binder composition and [0035] the one or more post processing agents may be applied by the same or different methods selected from the group consisting of brushing, spraying, dipping, and submersion).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to combine the spraying post-processing step of Schofield with the epoxy processing step of Olubummo because with enhanced mechanical strength, durability, and waterproof properties of the 3D printed object, see [0035].
Regarding claim 8, Olubummo meets the claimed method of claim 7, wherein:
the curable epoxy resin is a one-part UV-curable epoxy resin and the method further comprises curing the epoxy resin with UV radiation; or
the curable epoxy resin is a two-part composition comprising an epoxy part and a hardener part, (An amine compound can be used as a curing agent or hardener to react with the epoxy compound [0017]) and the method further comprises mixing the epoxy part and the hardener part together before applying the post-processing agent to the three-dimensional printed object. (the epoxy compound and the amine compound can be kept separate until the time of printing so that unwanted crosslinking does not occur [0017], [0049])
Regarding claim 9, Olubummo meets the claimed method of claim 7, wherein:
the post-processing agent is a 100% solids epoxy coating composition (the epoxy compound can be present in a fluid that is applied to the polymer powder or the epoxy compound can be mixed in the polymer powder, see [0017], [0049]. Examiner interprets the second embodiment of Olubummo where the epoxy is mixed with polymer powder to meet the claimed 100% solid limitation).
Olubummo does not teach the post-processing agent is applied by brush coating the post-processing agent onto the three-dimensional printed object.
Schofield teaches the post-processing agent is applied by brush coating the post-processing agent onto the three-dimensional printed object. (Schofield teaches [0017] printing a first intermediate article having a 3D design using a 3D printer with a powder composition and a binder composition and [0035] the one or more post processing agents may be applied by the same or different methods selected from the group consisting of brushing, spraying, dipping, and submersion).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to combine the spraying post-processing step of Schofield with the epoxy processing step of Olubummo because with enhanced mechanical strength, durability, and waterproof properties of the 3D printed object, see [0035].
Regarding claim 10, Olubummo meets the claimed method of claim 7, further comprising: and preparing the three-dimensional object model such that the three-dimensional printed object would have an elastic modulus lower than the target elastic modulus (the final printed object may have less than optimal mechanical properties, such as tensile strength, modulus, and others [0015]) if the three-dimensional printed object were formed from the polyamide elastomeric particles without the epoxy resin, wherein applying the post processing agent increases the elastic modulus of the three-dimensional printed object to the target elastic modulus or higher. (highest modulus was achieved using the reactive agents [0088]).
Olubummo does not explicitly teach defining a target elastic modulus of the three-dimensional printed object.
In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to define a target and meets the target elastic modulus because the final printed object may have less than optimal mechanical properties [0015] and Olubummo teaches the elastic modulus can be optimized with reactive agents, see [0088].
Regarding claim 11, Olubummo meets the claimed method of claim 7, wherein the three-dimensional printed object comprises a lattice structure comprising a plurality of connected lattice beams, wherein the lattice beams are exposed to allow the post-processing agent to coat the lattice beams. (allow the amine compound to form multiple connections with the epoxy compound to form a crosslinked network [0017]).
Regarding claim 12, Olubummo meets the claimed three-dimensional printed object made using the method of claim 7.
Olubummo does not teach wherein the three-dimensional printed object includes a thickness of epoxy coating on a surface of the three-dimensional printed object.
Schofield meets the claimed wherein the three-dimensional printed object includes a thickness of epoxy coating on a surface of the three-dimensional printed object. (Schofield teaches [0017] printing a first intermediate article having a 3D design using a 3D printer with a powder composition and a binder composition and [0035] the one or more post processing agents may be applied by the same or different methods selected from the group consisting of brushing, spraying, dipping, and submersion. Examiner notes that brushing or spraying of epoxy indirectly teachings applying a thickness of cured epoxy resin. )
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to combine the spraying post-processing step of Schofield with the epoxy processing step of Olubummo because with enhanced mechanical strength, durability, and waterproof properties of the 3D printed object, see [0035].
Regarding claim 13, Olubummo meets the claimed three-dimensional printing system comprising:
a powder bed material comprising polyamide elastomeric particles (polyamide powder [0056], three-dimensional printing kit can include a powder bed material including polymer particles [0013])
a fusing agent applicator fluidly coupled or coupleable to a fusing agent, (Fluid jet printheads can jet the fusing fluid in a similar way to an inkjet printhead jetting [0021]) wherein the fusing agent includes water and a radiation absorber, wherein the radiation absorber absorbs radiation and converts the radiation energy to heat: (fusing agent can include water and a radiation absorber [0013])
a radiant energy source positioned to expose the layers of powder bed material to radiation energy (exposing the powder bed to energy to selectively fuse the polymer particles in contact with the radiation absorber at individual build material layers 750. Olubummo explicitly teaches the order to reversed and “In another example, the fusing agent can be applied to the powder bed material first. The powder bed material can then be irradiated to melt the polymer particles that were printed with the fusing agent. After melting the polymer particles, the first reactive agent and second reactive agent can be applied” [0076]) a post-processing agent applicator coupled to a post-processing agent when cured, has a higher elastic modulus than the thermoplastic polymer particles (highest modulus was achieved using the reactive agents [0088]) and a 3D object model including instructions to: direct the fusing agent applicator to iteratively apply the fusing agent to layers of the powder bed material; (the fusing fluid can be applied with great precision to certain areas of the powder bed material that are desired to form a layer of the final 3D printed object [0021]) direct the radiant energy source to apply the radiation energy (The powder bed can be exposed to electromagnetic energy 950 from an energy source 852, such as an infrared lamp, see [0069]) to the layers of powder bed material to selectively fuse the powder bed material in contact with the electromagnetic radiation absorber and form a three- dimensional printed object; and direct the post-processing agent applicator to apply the post-processing agent (The 3D object model may also include features or materials specifically related to jetting fluids on layers of powder bed material, such as the desired amount of fluid to be applied to a given area including concentration of epoxy, see [0065]).
Olubummo does not teach form an epoxy coating on a surface of the three-dimensional printed object.
Schofield teaches form an epoxy coating on a surface of the three-dimensional printed object. (Schofield teaches [0017] printing a first intermediate article having a 3D design using a 3D printer with a powder composition and a binder composition and [0035] the one or more post processing agents may be applied by the same or different methods selected from the group consisting of brushing, spraying, dipping, and submersion).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to combine the spraying post-processing step of Schofield with the epoxy processing step of Olubummo because with enhanced mechanical strength, durability, and waterproof properties of the 3D printed object, see [0035].
Regarding claim 14, Olubummo does not teach the claimed system of claim 13, wherein the post-processing agent applicator comprises a brush, a sprayer, or a soaking container.
Schofield teaches wherein the post-processing agent applicator comprises a brush, a sprayer, or a soaking container. (Schofield teaches [0017] printing a first intermediate article having a 3D design using a 3D printer with a powder composition and a binder composition and [0035] the one or more post processing agents may be applied by the same or different methods selected from the group consisting of brushing, spraying, dipping, and submersion).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to combine the spraying post-processing step of Schofield with the epoxy processing step of Olubummo because with enhanced mechanical strength, durability, and waterproof properties of the 3D printed object, see [0035].
Regarding claim 15, Olubummo as modified meets the claimed system of claim 13, wherein the curable epoxy resin is a one-part UV-curable epoxy resin or a two-part composition comprising an epoxy part and a hardener part. (An amine compound can be used as a curing agent or hardener to react with the epoxy compound [0017])
Regarding claim 16, Olubummo as modified by Schofield meets the claimed method of claim 7, wherein the post-processing agent comprises a diluted epoxy resin in a liquid vehicle (epoxy compound present in a first reactive agent, if present, including a liquid vehicle and the epoxy compound, [0013]) and the post-processing agent is applied by spraying the post-processing agent onto the three-dimensional printed object or soaking the three-dimensional printed object in the post-processing agent. (Schofield teaches [0017] printing a first intermediate article having a 3D design using a 3D printer with a powder composition and a binder composition and [0035] spraying, dipping, and submersion).
Regarding claim 17, Olubummo as modified by Schofield meets the claimed method of claim 7, wherein the epoxy coating formed on the surface of the three-dimensional printed object has a thickness of from about 100 µm to about 500 µm.
Olubummo teaches polymer powder can form layers from about 20 μm to about 100 μm thick, allowing the fused layers of the printed part to have roughly the same thickness, see [0055].
Schofield teaches [0035] post processing agents may be applied by the same or different methods selected from the group consisting of brushing, spraying, dipping, and submersion. Examiner notes that brushing or spraying of epoxy indirectly teach applying a thickness of cured epoxy resin. Schofield teaches the powder layers to be 76.2 µm to 8,000 µm (0.0762 mm to 8 mm), see [0033]. Each layer of the thickness of the layer of the powder composition, as well as saturation or quantity of the binder composition deposited, may be parametrized before the printing begins and/or adjusted accordingly during the printing, see [0044].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to vary the post processing agent thickness in the step of Schofield with the epoxy processing step of Olubummo to meet the claimed 100 to 500 µm in order to optimize the mechanical strength, durability, and waterproof properties of the 3D printed object, see [0035].
Regarding claim 18, Olubummo teaches the method of claim 7, wherein the treating includes curing the epoxy resin without application of UV radiation, thereby forming the epoxy coating on the surface of the three-dimensional printed object. Examiner notes that claim 18 is met by a step of leaving the 3D printed object at room temperature after applying epoxy. Examiner notes that Olubummo teaches [0076] “after melting the polymer particles, the first reactive agent and second reactive agent can be applied. In a particular example, the powder bed can then be irradiated a second time”. One of ordinary skill in the art would understand the reaction occurs at room temperature and irradiating a second time is optional. Similarly the heating steps [0077] are optional and serve to “help complete the curing reaction”. Moreover, Schofield teaches “polymers used for post-processing may infiltrate the porous structure of the greenware through capillary action before the polymers set or cure” [0036], without teaching a further heat or irradiation step to cure.
Regarding claim 19, Olubummo teaches the method of claim 18, wherein the curing includes drying the epoxy resin at room temperature. Examiner notes that claim 19 is met by a step of leaving the 3D printed object at room temperature after applying epoxy. This is met by Olubummo paragraph [0070] teaching that the 3D printed article can be removed from the powder bed and cleaned to remove loose powder bed material from the article. That is, simply removing the article leaves the article at room temperature. Examiner notes that Olubummo teaches that the heating steps [0077] are optional and serve to “help complete the curing reaction”. One of ordinary skill in the art would understand the reaction occurs at room temperature and heating is optional. Moreover, Schofield teaches “polymers used for post-processing may infiltrate the porous structure of the greenware through capillary action before the polymers set or cure” [0036], without teaching a further heat or irradiation step to cure.
Regarding claim 20, Olubummo teaches a method, comprising: printing an initial three-dimensional object by: iteratively applying individual layers of an elastomeric build material to a powder bed, (Fig. 7, iteratively applying individual build material layers of polymer particles to a powder bed 710 [0064]) the elastomeric build material having a first elastic modulus; based on a three-dimensional object model, selectively applying a fusing agent onto the individual layers, wherein the fusing agent comprises water and a radiation absorber that absorbs radiation and converts the radiation to heat; (wherein the fusing agent includes water and a
radiation absorber 720, [0064]) and exposing the powder bed to energy to selectively fuse the elastomeric build material in contact with the radiation absorber to form a fused matrix of elastomeric build material at the individual layers and form the initial three- dimensional object; (exposing the powder bed to energy to selectively fuse the polymer particles in contact with the radiation absorber at individual build material layers 750. Olubummo explicitly teaches the order to be reversed and “In another example, the fusing agent can be applied to the powder bed material first. The powder bed material can then be irradiated to melt the polymer particles that were printed with the fusing agent. After melting the polymer particles, the first reactive agent and second reactive agent can be applied” [0076])
drying the epoxy resin in the absence of applied radiation to form an epoxy coating on the surface of the initial three-dimensional object, (Examiner notes that the step is met by a step of leaving the 3D printed object at room temperature after applying epoxy. Examiner notes that Olubummo teaches [0076] “after melting the polymer particles, the first reactive agent and second reactive agent can be applied. In a particular example, the powder bed can then be irradiated a second time”. One of ordinary skill in the art would understand the reaction occurs at room temperature and irradiating a second time is optional. Similarly the heating steps [0077] are optional and serve to “help complete the curing reaction”)
thereby forming a final three-dimensional object having a second elastic modulus that is higher than the first elastic modulus. (highest modulus was achieved using the reactive agents [0088]).
Olubummo does not teach and then treating the initial three-dimensional object by: brush coating an epoxy resin onto a surface of the initial three- dimensional object.
Schofield teaches and then treating the initial three-dimensional object by: brush coating an epoxy resin onto a surface of the initial three- dimensional object. (Schofield teaches [0017] printing a first intermediate article having a 3D design using a 3D printer with a powder composition and a binder composition and [0035] the one or more post processing agents may be applied by the same or different methods selected from the group consisting of brushing, spraying, dipping, and submersion).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to combine the spraying post-processing step of Schofield with the epoxy processing step of Olubummo because with enhanced mechanical strength, durability, and waterproof properties of the 3D printed object, see [0035].
Relevant Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Allen et al. (US 2022/0234289 A1) [0016] In one example, to form the 3D object, a build material, which may be powder, is deposited on a bed. A fusing agent is then dispensed onto portions of the layer of build material that are to be fused to form a layer of the 3D object. [0033] 2-part epoxy-style resin-catalyst with each component stored in a different sub-chamber of the container structure. [0091] In another example, a user may soak a 3D printed object (FIG. 2, 216) in a solution that causes material to be deposited either into or onto elements of the 3D printed object (FIG. 2, 216).
Conclusion
/MICHAEL M. ROBINSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1744