DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending in the application.
Examiner’s Note: The examiner has cited particular passages including column and line numbers, paragraphs as designated numerically and/or figures as designated numerically in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claims, other passages, paragraphs and figures of any and all cited prior art references may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant, in preparing an eventual response, to fully consider the context of the passages, paragraphs and figures as taught by the prior art and/or cited by the examiner while including in such consideration the cited prior art references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention. MPEP 2141.02 VI: “PRIOR ART MUST BE CONSIDERED IN ITS ENTIRETY, INCLUDING DISCLOSURES THAT TEACH AWAY FROM THE CLAIMS."
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/06/2023, 12/03/2023, 10/31/2025 was filed after the mailing date of the first office action. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 7-10, 12-13, 17 are is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Damec Vladislav et al. DE 102012213725 (“Damec”)1.
Regarding claim 1, Damec discloses a method for controlling uniform heat generation by silicon controlled rectifiers, comprising:
ST1, acquiring heating parameters of at least two silicon controlled rectifiers connected in parallel [SEE fig. 1], wherein the at least two silicon controlled rectifiers comprise a first silicon controlled rectifier [2a] and a second silicon controlled rectifier [2n], and the heating parameters comprise a first heating parameter of the first silicon controlled rectifier and a second heating parameter of the second silicon controlled rectifier;
[0002] Parallel current converter connections are used, for example, in exciter systems for synchronous machines. In this case, a plurality of power converters are connected in parallel in order to divide the total power between a plurality of devices. A corresponding controller must actuate at least simultaneously two semiconductor valves which are connected in parallel between an alternating current or three-phase connection on the one hand and a direct current connection on the other hand. As semiconductor valves, thyristors, IGBTs or GTOs with a positive or negative temperature characteristic are used, for example.
[0011] In this case, a first temperature value influenced by a waste heat of the first semiconductor valve and a second temperature value influenced by a waste heat of the second semiconductor valve are detected and the predefined ignition angle adaptations are corrected in such a way that the two temperature values approach one another. The control method is therefore no longer aimed at a uniform distribution of the partial currents through the individual semiconductor valves. Rather, the partial currents are divided taking into account the thermal loads in the individual branches of the converter parallel circuit. A slight asymmetry of the currents is accepted in this case in order to compensate for the actual loading of the parallel-connected converters. By means of a corresponding regulation, it is ensured that the losses in each power converter are of equal magnitude, as a result of which a uniform thermal loading of the parallel circuit is established.
[0030] According to the invention, the parallel circuit 3 comprises measuring devices for detecting temperature values 13 a... 13n which are respectively separated from the waste heat of the semiconductor valves 2a... 2n. In a simple embodiment, each semiconductor valve 2a... 2n by means of its own heat sink, and the temperature values 13a... 13n are detected as heat sink temperatures.
ST2, comparing the first heating parameter and the second heating parameter with a set threshold respectively, and regulating a firing angle of the first silicon controlled rectifier and/or a firing angle of the second silicon controlled rectifier based on a comparison result;
[0014] In an advantageous embodiment, it is provided that the first semiconductor valve is controlled by means of a first temperature compensation regulator and the second semiconductor valve is controlled by means of a second temperature compensation regulator, that a mean temperature value is formed from the first temperature value and the second temperature value as a reference variable of the two temperature compensation regulators, and that the difference between the mean temperature value and the respective temperature value is supplied to each temperature compensation regulator as a control deviation. In this way, an efficient control structure is provided which leads to a rapid correction of the temperature values in the event of faults.
[0015] It is favorable if an ignition angle correction value is formed for each semiconductor valve by means of the associated temperature compensation regulator and that the associated predefined ignition angle adaptation is corrected by means of the ignition angle correction value.
[0032] The respective temperature deviation 15 is supplied to a temperature compensation regulator 6. This is, for example, a P or PI controller. Each temperature compensation regulator 6 supplies a provisional ignition angle correction value 16, which is combined with a correction value 18 of the pilot control to form an unlimited ignition angle correction value 13. Positive values are limited in a limiter 19, so that a resulting ignition angle correction value 19 is ultimately present. By means of this resulting ignition angle correction value 19, the common ignition angle 10 is corrected. The corrected ignition angle 20 of the respective semiconductor valve 2 a... 2n is subsequently converted into an ignition pulse 21a... by means of a control unit 9. 21 n.
ST3, repeating ST1 and ST2 until a difference between the first heating parameter and the second heating parameter is within a set difference range.
[0011] In this case, a first temperature value influenced by a waste heat of the first semiconductor valve and a second temperature value influenced by a waste heat of the second semiconductor valve are detected and the predefined ignition angle adaptations are corrected in such a way that the two temperature values approach one another. The control method is therefore no longer aimed at a uniform distribution of the partial currents through the individual semiconductor valves. Rather, the partial currents are divided taking into account the thermal loads in the individual branches of the converter parallel circuit. A slight asymmetry of the currents is accepted in this case in order to compensate for the actual loading of the parallel-connected converters. By means of a corresponding regulation, it is ensured that the losses in each power converter are of equal magnitude, as a result of which a uniform thermal loading of the parallel circuit is established.
[0005] To avoid these problems, balancing methods are known which slightly retard the ignition time of individual semiconductor valves if required. The common ignition angle is adapted for each semiconductor valve, i.e. each semiconductor valve is given its own ignition angle. The balancing methods are carried out with a regulator structure which continuously approximates the currents through the parallel-connected semiconductor valves to one another. As soon as a current difference occurs, the ignition time of the more powerful semiconductor valve is delayed, so that a uniform current distribution is again established.
Regarding claim 2, Damec discloses the first heating parameter and the second heating parameter each comprises a temperature parameter or a thermal parameter [SEE par. 0011, 14].
Regarding claim 6, Damec discloses acquiring a first temperature parameter of the first silicon controlled rectifier by detecting the first silicon controlled rectifier using a temperature sensor, as the first heating parameter; and acquiring a second temperature parameter of the second silicon controlled rectifier by detecting the second silicon controlled rectifier using a temperature sensor, as the second heating parameter [SEE par. 0023, 0030].
Regarding claim 7, Damec discloses setting a first set threshold and a second set threshold as the set threshold [mean temperature value]; comparing the first heating parameter with the first set threshold to obtain a first comparison result, and comparing the second heating parameter with the second set threshold to obtain a second comparison result; and regulating the firing angle of the first silicon controlled rectifier and/or the firing angle of the second silicon controlled rectifier based on the first comparison result and the second comparison result [SEE par. 0030-0032, 0035-0036].
Regarding claim 8, Damec discloses the first set threshold is equal to or greater than the second set threshold [SEE par. 0030-0032 - A circuit for averaging 4 outputs a temperature average value 12 of the detected temperature values 13 a... 13n out].
Regarding claim 9, Damec discloses The respective temperature deviation 15 is supplied to a temperature compensation regulator 6. This is, for example, a P or PI controller. Each temperature compensation regulator 6 supplies a provisional ignition angle correction value 16, which is combined with a correction value 18 of the pilot control to form an unlimited ignition angle correction value 13. Positive values are limited in a limiter 19, so that a resulting ignition angle correction value 19 is ultimately present. By means of this resulting ignition angle correction value 19, the common ignition angle 10 is corrected. The corrected ignition angle 20 of the respective semiconductor valve 2 a... 2n is subsequently converted into an ignition pulse 21a... by means of a control unit 9. 21 n [0032].
In other words, Damec discloses determining a temperature deviation for each semiconductor value and feeding that deviation into a P or PI temperature compensation regulator. A temperature deviation necessarily results from comparing a measure temperature to a set threshold. The regulator outputs a firing angle correction value that is combined with a based firing angle. A limiter restricts positive correction values, and the resulting correction is applied to determine the correct ignition angle for each respective semiconductor valve. Thus, when one valve’s temperature exceeds the threshold (positive deviation), the controller generates a positive correction that increases its firing angle. When another valve’s temperature is below the threshold (negative deviation), no corresponding positive increase is applied to that valve. As a result, only the hotter valve experiences an increase in firing angle, while the cooler valve remains unchanged with respect to increasing action.
Therefore, Damec discloses increasing the firing angle of the first silicon controlled rectifier and controlling the firing angle of the second silicon controlled rectifier to remain unchanged, when the first heating parameter is greater than the first set threshold and the second heating parameter is less than the second set threshold; and increasing the firing angle of the second silicon controlled rectifier and controlling the firing angle of the first silicon controlled rectifier to remain unchanged, when the first heating parameter is less than the second set threshold and the second heating parameter is greater than the first set threshold.
Regarding claim 10, Damec discloses each of the first set threshold and the second set threshold is equal to an average of the first heating parameter and the second heating parameter. [par. 0031].
Regarding claim 12, Damec teaches at least a first silicon controlled rectifier [2a] and a second silicon controlled rectifier [2n] connected in parallel [SEE fig. 1]; and a processor
[0019] A control circuit according to the invention is configured to carry out the aforementioned methods, wherein the control circuit comprises a pilot control for presetting an ignition angle adaptation, a regulator structure for ignition angle correction and a control set for generating ignition pulses for each semiconductor valve, and wherein a first temperature value influenced by the waste heat of the first semiconductor valve and a second temperature value influenced by the waste heat of the second semiconductor valve are supplied to the control circuit for determining the respective ignition angle correction.
for controlling uniform heat generation by the first silicon controlled rectifier and the second silicon controlled rectifier, wherein the processor has a computer program stored thereon, the computer program, when executed by the processor, implements the method according to claim 1.
Regarding claim 13, they are directed to a computer-readable storage medium having a computer program stored therein to implement the method of steps as set forth in claim 1. Therefore, they are rejected on the same basis as set forth hereinabove.
Regarding claim 17, Damec discloses setting a first set threshold and a second set threshold as the set threshold; comparing the first heating parameter with the first set threshold to obtain a first comparison result, and comparing the second heating parameter with the second set threshold to obtain a second comparison result; and regulating the firing angle of the first silicon controlled rectifier and/or the firing angle of the second silicon controlled rectifier based on the first comparison result and the second comparison result [SEE par. 0030-0033].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-4, 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Damec as applied to claim 1+2 or 1+2+3 above, and further in view of Hoernle Klaus EP1193756 (“Klaus”)2.
Regarding claim 3, Damec does not teach acquiring a first loop current for the first silicon controlled rectifier, a second loop current for the second silicon controlled rectifier, a first silicon controlled rectifier voltage drop for the first silicon controlled rectifier and a second silicon controlled rectifier voltage drop for the second silicon controlled rectifier; calculating a first thermal parameter of the first silicon controlled rectifier, as the first heating parameter, based on the first loop current, the first silicon controlled rectifier voltage drop and a power frequency period; and calculating a second thermal parameter of the second silicon controlled rectifier, as the second heating parameter, based on the second loop current, the second silicon controlled rectifier voltage drop and the power frequency period.
Klaus teaches a method for protecting output stages from overtemperature, wherein a measure for a temperature of a component of a control unit is determined. Specifically, Klaus teaches acquiring a first loop current for an inverter, a first silicon controlled rectifier voltage drop for the inverter and; calculating a first thermal parameter of the inverter, as the first heating parameter, based on the first loop current, the first silicon controlled rectifier voltage drop and a power frequency period.
[0024] FIG. 1 schematically outlines an exemplary embodiment according to the invention. The power part of an inverter 10 comprises power semiconductors 16. During operation, power losses occur in these power semiconductors 16, which at least depend on the different operating parameters. The operating parameters comprise the electric current which flows through the power semiconductors 16 and is detected by means of a current measurement 4, the electric voltage which is rectified by means of the rectifiers 13 and is present at the power semiconductors 16 as an intermediate circuit voltage detected by means of the voltage measurement 14, and the switching frequency and operating mode of the power semiconductors 16 which is determined by the control 2 by means of the control signals 5 as long as no defect or irregularity is present. The control 2 takes into account substantially the setpoint value 3 for motor control, which is supplied from the control and regulation method for the converter.
[0026] A temperature model used in the control and regulating method calculates temperature differences and/or temperatures from current, voltage and drive signal profile at the power semiconductors 16, as well as switching frequency, duty cycle, frequency, operating mode or the like, after a power loss which is emitted by the power semiconductors 16 and flows for the most part via the chip or the substrate 17 has been determined. The temperature sensor T 1 is likewise located on the chip or substrate 17 and is thus connected to the power semiconductors 16 in a highly heat-conducting manner.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to apply the teachings as discussed above of Klaus to the method of Damec to obtain the thermal parameter of the first and second silicon controlled rectifier, as an alternative to using a temperature sensor for each rectifier. Such alternative would allow the system for determine the most accurate thermal parameter.
Regarding claim 4, Damec in view of Klaus does not expressly teach filtering the first thermal parameter and the second thermal parameter; and determining the filtered first thermal parameter as the first heating parameter and determining the filtered second thermal parameter as the second heating parameter. However, the examiner takes official notice that such feature is old and well known in the art of data analysis. One of ordinary skill in the art would motivate to provide such feature is order to eliminate any noise data.
Regarding claim 14, Damec teaches setting a first set threshold and a second set threshold as the set threshold; comparing the first heating parameter with the first set threshold to obtain a first comparison result, and comparing the second heating parameter with the second set threshold to obtain a second comparison result; and regulating the firing angle of the first silicon controlled rectifier and/or the firing angle of the second silicon controlled rectifier based on the first comparison result and the second comparison result [SEE par. 0030-0033].
Regarding claim 15, Damec teaches setting a first set threshold and a second set threshold as the set threshold; comparing the first heating parameter with the first set threshold to obtain a first comparison result, and comparing the second heating parameter with the second set threshold to obtain a second comparison result; and regulating the firing angle of the first silicon controlled rectifier and/or the firing angle of the second silicon controlled rectifier based on the first comparison result and the second comparison result [SEE par. 0030-0033].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5, 11, 16, 18-20 are/is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Claims 5, 11, 16, 18-20 are considered allowable since, when reading the claims in light of the specification, none of the references of record alone or in combination disclose or suggest the combination of subject matter specified in the dependent claim(s): “ acquiring the first loop current and the second loop current by online detection, acquiring the first silicon controlled rectifier voltage drop based on a first conduction voltage drop curve of the first silicon controlled rectifier, and acquiring the second silicon controlled rectifier voltage drop based on a second conduction voltage drop curve of the second silicon controlled rectifier; acquiring the first loop current and the second loop current by online detection, determining a first set voltage drop that is fixed at intervals or fixed as the first silicon controlled rectifier voltage drop, and determining a second set voltage drop that is fixed at intervals or fixed as the second silicon controlled rectifier voltage drop; acquiring the first loop current and the second loop current by online detection, calculating the first silicon controlled rectifier voltage drop by measuring a voltage across the first silicon controlled rectifier, and calculating the second silicon controlled rectifier voltage drop by measuring a voltage across the second silicon controlled rectifier; and acquiring the first loop current, the second loop current, the first silicon controlled rectifier voltage drop and the second silicon controlled rectifier voltage drop by online detection, directly”, “determining a smaller one of the first heating parameter and the second heating parameter as the set threshold, increasing the firing angle of one of the first silicon controlled rectifier and the second silicon controlled rectifier corresponding to a greater one of the first heating parameter and the second heating parameter, and/or reducing the firing angle of one of the first silicon controlled rectifier and the second silicon controlled rectifier corresponding to the smaller one of the first heating parameter and the second heating parameter, based on the comparison result”
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20140002117 to Woodley teaches a system for measuring soft starter current includes a current monitoring system including a controller and a current transfer device that includes a first thyristor and a first conductor coupled to the first thyristor and configured to convey a first current flowing through the first thyristor, wherein the first current comprises current flowing through the first thyristor when the first thyristor is in an off state. The system also comprises a first current sensor configured to sense the first current and a first current measurement circuit coupled to the first current sensor and couplable to the controller and configured to output a first output value to the controller representative of the first current flowing through the first thyristor.
U.S. Patent No. 6614639 to Gibbs teaches a control system includes a rectifier bridge including a heat sink having a temperature, and also including an SCR having a gate. The SCR thermally engages the heat sink. A circuit controls the rectifier bridge through the gate of the SCR. An RTD circuit measures the temperature of the heat sink. A circuit disables gating of the SC based upon the temperature of the heat sink.
VINCENT H TRAN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2115
/VINCENT H TRAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2115
1 IDS filed on 10/31/2025.
2 IDS filed on 12/03/2024.