DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to applicants’ amendment and response received January 26, 2026. Claims 1-2, and 4-14 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-12, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sanders et al, US 2020/0240068 in view of Souter et al, US 2015/0252304.
Sanders et al teach a package for a unit dose detergent, containing a biodegradable outer shell and an inner structure with divided sections for holding multiple unit dose detergents (see abstract), wherein the package contains a removable lid and a bottom (claim 11) and the outer shell includes a child-resistant opening (¶39). The biodegradable outer shell may be paper/pulp based, but may also be recycled plastic (¶51) which is certainly leak resistant. Note that even the paper-based materials may be coated with a wax or other coating that does not allow water to permeate (¶51). Obviously, it would be a serious issue if a package of unit-dose detergents, designed to dissolve in water, would allow water to penetrate and so ruin the product inside. The reference recognizes this issue, obviously, and takes steps to address it and so the reference teaches the package claimed, however the composition of the unit dose detergent is not disclosed.
With respect to claim 14, the reference contemplates many different paper-based materials which will have cellulose lengths within the range claimed.
Unit dose detergents are extremely common in the art however, as demonstrated by Souter et al, which discloses a unit dose detergent comprising HEDP, bittering agent, hueing dye, and 10% water (¶129, example 2.1). Suitable dyes of the invention are phthalocyanine dyes (¶76). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to use this unit dose detergent, or any well-known unit dose detergent in the package of Sanders et al as the package is designed for containing unit dose detergents and Sanders teaches a typical unit dose detergent.
Applicants have traversed this rejection on the grounds the reference does not include a leak resistant barrier material. In fact, just the opposite is true. The reference contemplates materials and coatings specifically designed to keep out water as discussed above.
Claims 1-2, and 4-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sanders et al, US 2020/0240068 in view of Souter et al, US 2015/0252304 and further in view of McCully et al, US 2021/0214147.
Sanders et al and Souter et al are relied upon a set forth above. Neither reference teaches a package with an absorbent pad in case the product leaks. McCully et al teach a shipping container with an absorbent pad in case the product inside leaks (see abstract). It doesn’t matter what the product is that might leak. Persons of skill in the art and consumers alike understand that when there is a liquid spill, whatever the liquid, the first step is to absorb as much of the liquid as possible. Containers containing absorbent pads for leaks are known and so it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to use such a container for transporting any product that might pose a leak risk.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHARLES I BOYER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1761