DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 26 June 2026 has been entered. Claims 1 and 3-12 are currently pending in the application. The rejections of record from the office action dated 29 April 2026 not repeated herein have been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 4-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ng Pak Leung et al. (US 2021/0047072 A1) in view of Sharma et al. (US 2011/0278300 A1) and Bourgeois (US 2004/0076779 A1).
Regarding claims 1 and 4-8. Ng Pak Leung discloses a container and at least one water-soluble unit dose article, comprising a water-soluble film and a detergent composition, inside the container, wherein the container has a lockable lid and the walls of the container comprise a paper material (i.e. a container for unit dose liquid detergent products comprising a lid and a base wherein said base and lid are co-operable to form a closed container and which is openable to access the contents by pulling them apart, said base and lid comprising a barrier coating) (abstract, [0007], [0047]-[0049] Fig. 1-3), wherein the water-soluble film may comprise polyvinyl alcohol polymer and may comprise a printed area and may comprise a bittering agent ([0031]-[0037]), wherein the container may comprise a barrier material (i.e. barrier coating)([0051]-[0054]).
Ng Pak Leung does not specifically disclose that at least 50% of the lid and/or base comprise a biodegradable material.
Sharma discloses a paper container that is fully biodegradable (i.e. overlapping at least 50% of the lid and/or base comprise a biodegradable material) ([0031]).
Ng Pak Leung and Sharma are analogous art because they both teach about containers comprising paper. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to make the container of Ng Pak Leung fully biodegradable as taught by Sharma in order to provide a container with the advantage of being able to completely biodegrade and therefore being better for the environment.
Ng Pak Leung does not specifically disclose that the barrier coating comprises from 0.1 to 5% wt. of the container without the unit dose detergent products.
Bourgeois discloses a container comprising a barrier layer and that the barrier layer is approximately 1.5 wt% of the total container weight (i.e. overlapping the barrier coating comprises from 0.1 to 5% wt. of the container without the unit does detergent products)(abstract, [0019]).
Ng Pak Leung and Bourgeois are analogous art because they both teach about containers comprising barrier layers. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to make the barrier layer of modified Ng Pak Leung approximately 1.5 wt% of the total container weight as taught by Bourgeois because this is a known percentage of total container weight for barrier layers and in order to balance cost vs. barrier properties.
Ng Pak Leung discloses that the barrier/secondary material may be polyvinyl alcohol (i.e. water-based)([0054]). Given that polyvinyl alcohol is water soluble, it is the examiner’s position that it could be considered water-based. Alternatively, while there is no disclosure that the barrier is water-based, given that the present claims are directed to a final product where the water would be removed by curing (evaporated)(see instant specification at [0084]), it is the examiner’s position that the container of Ng Pak Leung would be indistinguishable from the container instantly claimed.
Regarding claim 4, the container comprises a lid that may be hinged and comprises top and sidewalls and the sidewall of the lid may overlap with the base sidewall and may comprise a locking means such as a tab and an abutment or a slot and tab (i.e. a pair of opposing long walls each long wall having a pressable zone which is pressed to engage a child proof locking mechanism and enable the lid and base to be separated)([0042]-[0045], [0063], Fig 1-3).
It is the examiner’s position that given that the locking mechanism may be a tab and an abutment or a slot and tab it would be “a pressable zone which is pressed to engage a child proof locking mechanism and enable the lid and base to be separated” because it would be capable of being pressed to engage or disengage the locking mechanism. Further, given that the locking mechanism locks the container in the closed position and given that there is no mention of the age of the child and given that there is no specific definition of “child proof” in the instant specification, it is the examiner’s position that it would prevent opening by a child less than a year old.
Regarding claim 5, While there is no specific disclosure that the container has an average width from 9 to 15 cm, it is the examiner’s position that it would have been obvious to make the container any size, including having an average width from 9 to 15 cm as claimed depending on the end use of the container and how many unit dose products are desired to be packaged in the container and thereby arrive at the claimed width.
Change in size and shape is not patently distinct over the prior art absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed invention is significant. See In re Rose, 220 F.2d 459, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955); In re Rinehart, 531 F.2d 1048, 189 USPQ 143 (CCPA 1976); In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966). MPEP 2144.04[R-1].
Regarding claim 6, the container comprises a lid that may be hinged and comprises top and sidewalls and the sidewall of the lid may overlap with the base sidewall and may comprise a locking means such as a tab and an abutment or a slot and tab (i.e. a lid with a top sheet and two pairs of opposing walls attached thereto, and the base has a bottom surface which has two pairs of opposing walls attached thereto)([0042]-[0045], [0063], Fig 1-3).
Regarding claim 7, Ng Pak Leung discloses that detergent composition may comprise less than 15% of water (i.e. overlapping wherein the unit dosed detergent products contain a detergent composition comprising from 5 to 15% wt. water)([0087]).
Regarding claim 8, Ng Pak Leung discloses that the unit dose products may comprise a bittering agent ([0037]).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ng Pak Leung et al. (US 2021/0047072 A1), Sharma et al. (US 2011/0278300 A1) and Bourgeois (US 2004/0076779 A1), as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Qian et al. (US 2011/0028623 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Ng Pak Leung teaches all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Ng Pak Leung does not disclose that the barrier coating comprises a thermoplastic elastomer.
Qian teaches a barrier layer for a container comprising a thermoplastic elastomer that provides flexibility and barrier properties (i.e. barrier coating comprises a thermoplastic elastomer)([0002], [0007], [0033]).
Ng Pak Leung and Qian are analogous art because they both teach about containers with barrier layers. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the thermoplastic barrier layer of Qian into the container of Ng Pak Leung in order to provide a container having the advantage of a barrier layer that provides both flexibility and barrier properties.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ng Pak Leung et al. (US 2021/0047072 A1), Sharma et al. (US 2011/0278300 A1) and Bourgeois (US 2004/0076779 A1), as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Oriakhi et al. (US 2018/0223119 A1).
Regarding claim 9, Modified Ng Pak Leung teaches all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Ng Pak Leung does not disclose that the film comprises a phthalocyanine based pigment.
Oriakhi discloses a phthalocyanine pigment used in ink on a water soluble film of a unit dose detergent product to provide industry required labeling (i.e. film comprises a phthalocyanine based pigment)([0001]-[0003], [0042]).
Ng Pak Leung and Oriakhi are analogous art because they both teach about unit dose detergent product having printing thereon. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the phthalocyanine pigment of Oriakhi to provide industry required labeling on the unit dose product of modified Ng Pak Leung in order to meet industry standards and because doing so would amount to nothing more than using a known material in a known environment to accomplish an entirely expected result.
Claims 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ng Pak Leung et al. (US 2021/0047072 A1), Sharma et al. (US 2011/0278300 A1) and Bourgeois (US 2004/0076779 A1), as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Olson et al. (US 2012/0053104 A1).
Regarding claims 10-12, Modified Ng Pak Leung teaches all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Ng Pak Leung does not disclose that the unit dose detergent products contain a detergent composition comprising a sequestrant, wherein the sequestrant is a phosphonic acid based sequestrant that is 1-hydroxyethanediphosphonic acid (HEDP) and salts thereof, N,N-dicarboxymethyl-2-aminopentane-1,5-dioic acid and salts thereof, 2-phosphonobutane-1,2,4-tricarboxylic acid and salts thereof or any combination thereof.
Olson discloses 2-phosphonobutane-1,2,4-tricarboxylic acid as a component in unit dose detergent for reducing precipitation of calcium carbonate (i.e. sequestrant, phosphonic acid based sequestrant, 2-phosphonobutane-1,2,4-tricarboxylic acid)([0048]-[0049], [0086]).
Ng Pak Leung and Olson are analogous art because they both teach about unit dose detergent products. It would have been obvious to one of skill in the art to incorporate the 2-phosphonobutane-1,2,4-tricarboxylic acid of Olson into the detergent composition of Ng Pak Leung in order to reduce precipitation of calcium carbonate and because doing so would amount to nothing more than using a known material in a known environment to accomplish an entirely expected result.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ng Pak Leung et al. (US 2021/0047072 A1), Sharma et al. (US 2011/0278300 A1) and Bourgeois (US 2004/0076779 A1), as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Bressan et al. (WO 2016/198978 A1).
Regarding claim 4, the container comprises a lid that may be hinged and comprises top and sidewalls and the sidewall of the lid may overlap with the base sidewall and may comprise a locking means such as a tab and an abutment or a slot and tab (i.e. a pair of opposing long walls each long wall having a pressable zone which is pressed to engage a locking mechanism and enable the lid and base to be separated)([0042]-[0045], [0063], Fig 1-3).
Ng Pak Leung does not specifically disclose that the locking mechanism is child-proof.
Bressan discloses a container having a child-proof locking mechanism (abstract, Fig. 3).
Ng Pak Leung and Bressan are analogous art because they both teach about containers having a locking mechanism. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the child-proof locking mechanism of Bressan into the container of Ng Pak Leung in order to provide a container with the advantage of protecting children from the dangers of the contents of the container.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 26 June 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the combination of references does not disclose a water-based barrier coating.
It is noted that the instant specification provides no definition of “water-based”, As set forth above, Ng Pak Leung discloses that the barrier/secondary material may be polyvinyl alcohol (i.e. water-based)([0054]). Given that polyvinyl alcohol is water soluble, it is the examiner’s position that it could be considered water-based. Alternatively, while there is no disclosure that the barrier is water-based, given that the present claims are directed to a final product where the water would be removed by curing (evaporated)(see instant specification at [0084]), it is the examiner’s position that the container of Ng Pak Leung would be indistinguishable from the container instantly claimed.
Applicant argues that one of ordinary skill in the art would not apply the percentages of Bourgeois to the package of Ng Pak Leung because it relates to an amount of barrier resin layer in a multilayer plastic structure rather than a biodegradable paper package and Bourgeoise does not disclose a water-based barrier coating.
As set forth above, Ng Pak Leung and Bourgeois are analogous art because they both teach about containers comprising barrier layers. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to make the barrier layer of modified Ng Pak Leung approximately 1.5 wt% of the total container weight as taught by Bourgeois because this is a known percentage of total container weight for barrier layers and in order to balance cost vs. barrier properties.
Note that while Bourgeois does not disclose all the features of the present claimed invention, Bourgeois is used as teaching reference, and therefore, it is not necessary for this secondary reference to contain all the features of the presently claimed invention, In re Nievelt, 482 F.2d 965, 179 USPQ 224, 226 (CCPA 1973), In re Keller 624 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871, 881 (CCPA 1981). Rather this reference teaches a certain concept, namely a container comprising a barrier layer and that the barrier layer is approximately 1.5 wt% of the total container weight (i.e. overlapping the barrier coating comprises from 0.1 to 5% wt. of the container without the unit does detergent products)(abstract, [0019]), and in combination with the primary reference, discloses the presently claimed invention.
Applicant argues that examiner improperly conflated a material property (water solubility) with a formulation characteristic (water-based) and water-based means an aqueous PVOH formulation.
It is noted that the instant specification provides no definition of “water-based”, As set forth above, Ng Pak Leung discloses that the barrier/secondary material may be polyvinyl alcohol (i.e. water-based)([0054]). Given that polyvinyl alcohol is water soluble, it is the examiner’s position that it could be considered water-based. Alternatively, while there is no disclosure that the barrier is water-based, given that the present claims are directed to a final product where the water would be removed by curing (evaporated)(see instant specification at [0084]), it is the examiner’s position that the container of Ng Pak Leung would be indistinguishable from the container instantly claimed.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., aqueous PVOH) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Applicant argues that Bourgeois is concerned with gas-barrier performance in multilayer plastic containers and does not address the competing objectives of moisture resistance and biodegradability addressed by the specification.
Note that while Bourgeois does not disclose all the features of the present claimed invention, Bourgeois is used as teaching reference, and therefore, it is not necessary for this secondary reference to contain all the features of the presently claimed invention, In re Nievelt, 482 F.2d 965, 179 USPQ 224, 226 (CCPA 1973), In re Keller 624 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871, 881 (CCPA 1981). Rather this reference teaches a certain concept, namely a container comprising a barrier layer and that the barrier layer is approximately 1.5 wt% of the total container weight (i.e. overlapping the barrier coating comprises from 0.1 to 5% wt. of the container without the unit does detergent products)(abstract, [0019]), and in combination with the primary reference, discloses the presently claimed invention.
Applicant argues that the claims do not merely recite a container that once contained water during the manufacture, rather a coating in which water serves as the carrier or continuous phase.
It is noted that the instant specification provides no definition of “water-based”, As set forth above, Ng Pak Leung discloses that the barrier/secondary material may be polyvinyl alcohol (i.e. water-based)([0054]). Based on the instant specification, it would appear that the present claims are directed to a final product where the water would be removed by curing (evaporated)(see instant specification at [0084]), Therefore, examiner’s position remains that the container of Ng Pak Leung would be indistinguishable from the container instantly claimed.
Applicant argues that a process using a water-based coating would result in a fundamentally different barrier coating.
It is noted that “[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process”, In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985) . Further, “although produced by a different process, the burden shifts to applicant to come forward with evidence establishing an unobvious difference between the claimed product and the prior art product”, In re Marosi, 710 F.2d 798, 802, 218 USPQ 289, 292 (Fed. Cir.1983). See MPEP 2113.
Applicant argues that examiner’s position has read “water-based” out of the claim.
Applicant’s argument is unpersuasive given that examiner has not read “water-based” out of the claim. However, it is noted that this appears to be a product by process limitation. Based on the instant specification, it would appear that the present claims are directed to a final product where the water would be removed by curing (evaporated)(see instant specification at [0084]), Therefore, examiner’s position remains that the container of Ng Pak Leung would be indistinguishable from the container instantly claimed absent evidence to the contrary.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JAMES C YAGER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1782