DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Amendment filed 16 April 2026 is acknowledged. Claims 17, 18, and 20 have been amended. Claims 1-20 are pending.
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s declaration under 37 C.F.R. 1.130(a) disqualifying Zou et al. (Chinese Patent Application Publication 115332460, hereinafter Zou ‘460) as prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(1)(A) is accepted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 10, 11, and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sugiyama (Japanese Kokai Publication 2010-231010, hereinafter Sugiyama ‘010) of record.
With respect to claim 1, Sugiyama ‘010 teaches (FIG. 6) a display panel as claimed, comprising:
a base substrate (6) ([0019, 0033]);
a plurality of sub-pixels (13F) disposed on the base substrate (6), wherein each of the plurality of sub-pixels comprises a light-emitting region (14A), wherein an orthographic projection of the light-emitting region on the base substrate is in an elongated-structure shape, a length of the elongated-structure in a first direction is different from a length of the elongated-structure in a second direction ([0033]); and
a plurality of microlens structures (16) disposed on a side, away from the base substrate (6), of the plurality of sub-pixels (13F) and in one-to-one correspondence to the plurality of sub-pixels, wherein an orthographic projection of each of the plurality of microlens structures on the base substrate covers an orthographic projection of the light-emitting region (14A) of the corresponding sub-pixel on the base substrate ([0033]);
wherein a length of the orthographic projection of each of the plurality of microlens structures (16) on the base substrate (6) in the first direction is different from a length of the orthographic projection of the each of the plurality of microlens structures on the base substrate in the second direction, and each of the plurality of microlens structures comprises a curved surface away from the base substrate, wherein a curvature of the curved surface in the first direction is different from a curvature of the curved surface in the second direction, the first direction being intersected with the second direction ([0033]).
With respect to claim 2, Sugiyama ‘010 teaches wherein the length of the elongated-structure in the first direction is greater than the length of the elongated-structure in the second direction; and the length of the orthographic projection of each of the plurality of microlens structures (16) on the base substrate (6) in the first direction is greater than the length of the orthographic projection of the each of the plurality of microlens structures on the base substrate in the second direction ([0033]).
With respect to claim 3, Sugiyama ‘010 teaches wherein the curvature of the curved surface of each of the plurality of microlens structures (16) in the first direction is less than the curvature of the curved surface of the each of the plurality of microlens structures in the second direction ([0033]).
With respect to claim 4, Sugiyama ‘010 teaches wherein a width of a gap between two adjacent microlens structures (16) in the plurality of microlens structures is negatively correlated with the curvatures of the two adjacent microlens structures at the gap ([0033]).
With respect to claim 5, Sugiyama ‘010 teaches wherein a width of the gap between two adjacent microlens structures (16) in the plurality of microlens structures arranged in the first direction is greater than a width of the gap between two adjacent microlens structures in the plurality of microlens structures arranged in the second direction ([0033]).
With respect to claim 10, Sugiyama ‘010 teaches wherein the plurality of microlens structures (16) form a plurality of microlens groups arranged in the first direction, wherein each of the plurality of microlens groups comprises a plurality of microlens structures arranged in the second direction; wherein in a first microlens group and a second microlens group adjacent to each other in the first direction, axes of microlens structures in the first microlens group in the first direction are disposed in gaps between two adjacent microlens structures in the second microlens group ([0033]).
With respect to claim 11, Sugiyama ‘010 teaches wherein the axes of the microlens structures (16) in the first microlens group in the first direction are overlapped with axes of the gaps between two adjacent microlens structures in the second microlens group ([0033]).
With respect to claim 16, Sugiyama ‘010 teaches further comprising: a plurality of compensation microlens structures (another one of microlens structure 16 arranged in an adjacent row); wherein each of the plurality of compensation microlens structures is disposed in the gap between any two microlens structures ([0033]).
With respect to claim 17, Sugiyama ‘010 teaches wherein the plurality of compensation microlens structures (another one of microlens structure 16 arranged in an adjacent row) and at least one microlens structure (16) are arranged in the first direction; or the plurality of compensation microlens structures and at least one microlens structure are arranged in the second direction ([0033]).
With respect to claim 18, Sugiyama ‘010 teaches wherein a gap is present between an orthographic projection of each of the plurality of compensation microlens structures (another one of microlens structure 16 arranged in an adjacent row) on the base substrate (6) and the orthographic projection of the microlens structure (16) on the base substrate ([0033]).
With respect to claim 19, Sugiyama ‘010 teaches wherein the plurality of compensation microlens structures (another one of microlens structure 16 arranged in an adjacent row) and the plurality of microlens structures (16) are prepared by a one patterning process ([0033]).
The expression, “are prepared by a one patterning process,” is taken to be a product-by-process limitation and is given limited patentable weight. Even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process. In re Thorpe, 111 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985). See MPEP 2113.
With respect to claim 20, Sugiyama ‘010 teaches (FIGs. 6 and 11) a display device as claimed, comprising: a power supply assembly (assembly that provides power to electrodes 27 and 30) and a display panel (2 and 23) ([0033, 0045]); wherein
the display panel (2 and 23) comprises:
a base substrate (6) ([0019, 0033]);
a plurality of sub-pixels (13F) disposed on the base substrate (6), wherein each of the plurality of sub-pixels comprises a light-emitting region (14A), wherein an orthographic projection of the light-emitting region on the base substrate is in an elongated-structure shape, a length of the elongated-structure in a first direction is different from a length of the elongated-structure in a second direction ([0033]); and
a plurality of microlens structures (16) disposed on a side, away from the base substrate (6), of the plurality of sub-pixels (13F) and in one-to-one correspondence to the plurality of sub-pixels, wherein an orthographic projection of each of the plurality of microlens structures on the base substrate covers an orthographic projection of the light-emitting region (14A) of the corresponding sub-pixel on the base substrate ([0033]); wherein a length of the orthographic projection of each of the plurality of microlens structures (16) on the base substrate (6) in the first direction is different from a length of the orthographic projection of the each of the plurality of microlens structures on the base substrate in the second direction, and each of the plurality of microlens structures comprises a curved surface away from the base substrate, wherein a curvature of the curved surface in the first direction is different from a curvature of the curved surface in the second direction, the first direction being intersected with the second direction ([0033]); and
the power supply assembly (assembly that provides power to electrodes 27 and 30) is configured to supply power to the display panel (2 and 23) ([0045]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sugiyama ‘010 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Matsuda et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2021/0013453, hereinafter Matsuda ‘453) of record.
With respect to claims 6-9, Sugiyama ‘010 teaches the device as described in claim 1 above with the exception of the additional limitations wherein a curvature of a first side of the curved surface of each of the plurality of microlens structures is different from a curvature of a second side of the curved surface of the each of the plurality of microlens structures, and the first side and the second side of the curved surface of each of the plurality of microlens structures are two sides of the each of the plurality of microlens structures in the first direction; wherein in the first direction, the curvatures of the curved surface of each of the plurality of microlens structures at positions of different heights are different; wherein in the first direction, the curvature of the curved surface of each of the plurality of microlens structures at a target position is negatively correlated with a distance between the target position and a face, close to the base substrate, of the each of the plurality of microlens structures; and further comprising: a first region and a second region arranged in the first direction and symmetrical about an axis of the display panel in the second direction; wherein in the first region and the second region, the curvature of the first side of the curved surface of each of the plurality of microlens structures is greater than the curvature of the second side of the curved surface of the each of the plurality of microlens structures; or in the first region and the second region, the curvature of the first side of the curved surface of each of the plurality of microlens structures is less than the curvature of the second side of the curved surface of the each of the plurality of microlens structures; or in the first region, the curvature of the first side of the curved surface of each of the plurality of microlens structures is less than the curvature of the second side of the curved surface of the each of the plurality of microlens structures; and in the second region, the curvature of the first side of the curved surface of each of the plurality of microlens structures is greater than the curvature of the second side of the curved surface of the each of the plurality of microlens structures.
However, Matsuda ‘453 teaches (FIGs. 2A-2C and 8A) a plurality of microlens structures (210, 220, 230, 240, 250, 260, and 270) wherein a curvature of a first side of a curved surface of each of the plurality of microlens structures is different from a curvature of a second side of the curved surface of the each of the plurality of microlens structures, and the first side and the second side of the curved surface of each of the plurality of microlens structures are two sides of the each of the plurality of microlens structures in a first direction; wherein in the first direction, the curvatures of the curved surface of each of the plurality of microlens structures at positions of different heights are different; wherein in the first direction, the curvature of the curved surface of each of the plurality of microlens structures at a target position is negatively correlated with a distance between the target position and a face, close to a base substrate (610), of the each of the plurality of microlens structures; and further comprising: a first region and a second region arranged in the first direction and symmetrical about an axis of the display panel in the second direction; wherein in the first region, the curvature of the first side of the curved surface of each of the plurality of microlens structures is less than the curvature of the second side of the curved surface of the each of the plurality of microlens structures; and in the second region, the curvature of the first side of the curved surface of each of the plurality of microlens structures is greater than the curvature of the second side of the curved surface of the each of the plurality of microlens structures ([0033, 0073]) in an arrangement wherein luminous flux that is not used in the optical lens system can be reduced, and a ghost and color mixing can be inhibited from occurring due to an unintentional reflection component in the optical lens system ([0045])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed the display panel of Sugiyama ‘010 wherein a curvature of a first side of the curved surface of each of the plurality of microlens structures is different from a curvature of a second side of the curved surface of the each of the plurality of microlens structures, and the first side and the second side of the curved surface of each of the plurality of microlens structures are two sides of the each of the plurality of microlens structures in the first direction; wherein in the first direction, the curvatures of the curved surface of each of the plurality of microlens structures at positions of different heights are different; wherein in the first direction, the curvature of the curved surface of each of the plurality of microlens structures at a target position is negatively correlated with a distance between the target position and a face, close to the base substrate, of the each of the plurality of microlens structures; and further comprising: a first region and a second region arranged in the first direction and symmetrical about an axis of the display panel in the second direction; wherein in the first region and the second region, the curvature of the first side of the curved surface of each of the plurality of microlens structures is greater than the curvature of the second side of the curved surface of the each of the plurality of microlens structures; or in the first region and the second region, the curvature of the first side of the curved surface of each of the plurality of microlens structures is less than the curvature of the second side of the curved surface of the each of the plurality of microlens structures; or in the first region, the curvature of the first side of the curved surface of each of the plurality of microlens structures is less than the curvature of the second side of the curved surface of the each of the plurality of microlens structures; and in the second region, the curvature of the first side of the curved surface of each of the plurality of microlens structures is greater than the curvature of the second side of the curved surface of the each of the plurality of microlens structures as taught by Matsuda ‘453 in an arrangement wherein luminous flux that is not used in the optical lens system can be reduced, and a ghost and color mixing can be inhibited from occurring due to an unintentional reflection component in the optical lens system.
Claims 12-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sugiyama ‘010 as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of Irobe (US Patent Application Publication 2022/0158135, hereinafter Irobe ‘135) of record.
With respect to claims 12-15, Sugiyama ‘010 teaches the device as described in claim 10 above with the exception of the additional limitations wherein each of the plurality of sub-pixels comprises a pixel circuit and a light-emitting unit laminated in a direction away from the base substrate; wherein the light-emitting unit comprises an anode, a light-emitting layer, and a cathode layer, wherein the anode is electrically connected to the pixel circuit, an orthographic projection of a connection position where the anode is electrically connected to the pixel circuit on the base substrate is within an orthographic projection of the gap between adjacent microlens structures in the first direction on the base substrate; wherein the anode comprises a first portion and a second portion; wherein an orthographic projection of the first portion on the base substrate is within the orthographic projection of the microlens structure on the base substrate, an orthographic projection of the second portion on the base substrate is within the orthographic projection of the gap between the microlens structures in the first direction on the base substrate, and the second portion is electrically connected to the pixel circuit; wherein a center of the orthographic projection of the microlens structure on the base substrate is not overlapped with a center of the orthographic projection of the second portion on the base substrate; and wherein a center of a triangle formed by a center of a first target microlens structure in the first microlens group, and a center of a second target microlens structure and a center of a third target microlens structure in the second microlens group is within the orthographic projection of the connection position on the base substrate; wherein the second target microlens structure and the third target microlens structure are two microlens structures closest to the first target microlens structure in the second microlens group.
However, Irobe ‘135 teaches (FIGs. 3 and 4) a display wherein each of a plurality of sub-pixels comprises a pixel circuit (30) and a light-emitting unit (23, 24, 25, and 28) laminated in a direction away from a base substrate (10); wherein the light-emitting unit comprises an anode (23 and 28), a light-emitting layer (24), and a cathode layer (25), wherein the anode is electrically connected to the pixel circuit, an orthographic projection of a connection position where the anode is electrically connected to the pixel circuit on the base substrate is within an orthographic projection of a gap between adjacent microlens structures (81) in a first direction on the base substrate; wherein the anode comprises a first portion (23) and a second portion (28); wherein an orthographic projection of the first portion on the base substrate is within the orthographic projection of the microlens structure on the base substrate, an orthographic projection of the second portion on the base substrate is within the orthographic projection of the gap between the microlens structures in the first direction on the base substrate, and the second portion is electrically connected to the pixel circuit; wherein a center of the orthographic projection of the microlens structure on the base substrate is not overlapped with a center of the orthographic projection of the second portion on the base substrate; and wherein a center of a triangle formed by a center of a first target microlens structure in a first microlens group, and a center of a second target microlens structure and a center of a third target microlens structure in a second microlens group is within the orthographic projection of the connection position on the base substrate; wherein the second target microlens structure and the third target microlens structure are two microlens structures closest to the first target microlens structure in the second microlens group ([0053, 0064-0065, 0083]) to electrically couple said pixel circuit to said cathode ([0070]) in an arrangement that enhances light extraction efficiency ([0063]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed the display panel of Sugiyama ‘010wherein each of the plurality of sub-pixels comprises a pixel circuit and a light-emitting unit laminated in a direction away from the base substrate; wherein the light-emitting unit comprises an anode, a light-emitting layer, and a cathode layer, wherein the anode is electrically connected to the pixel circuit, an orthographic projection of a connection position where the anode is electrically connected to the pixel circuit on the base substrate is within an orthographic projection of the gap between adjacent microlens structures in the first direction on the base substrate; wherein the anode comprises a first portion and a second portion; wherein an orthographic projection of the first portion on the base substrate is within the orthographic projection of the microlens structure on the base substrate, an orthographic projection of the second portion on the base substrate is within the orthographic projection of the gap between the microlens structures in the first direction on the base substrate, and the second portion is electrically connected to the pixel circuit; wherein a center of the orthographic projection of the microlens structure on the base substrate is not overlapped with a center of the orthographic projection of the second portion on the base substrate; and wherein a center of a triangle formed by a center of a first target microlens structure in the first microlens group, and a center of a second target microlens structure and a center of a third target microlens structure in the second microlens group is within the orthographic projection of the connection position on the base substrate; wherein the second target microlens structure and the third target microlens structure are two microlens structures closest to the first target microlens structure in the second microlens group as taught by Irobe ‘135 to electrically couple said pixel circuit to said cathode in an arrangement that enhances light extraction efficiency.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendments to claim 17 are sufficient to overcome the objection to claim 17 made in the non-final rejection filed 16 January 2026. The objection to claim 17 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s amendments to claims 18 and 20 are sufficient to overcome the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejections of claims 18 and 20 made in the non-final rejection filed 16 January 2026. The 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejections of claims 18 and 20 have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s declaration under 37 C.F.R. 1.130(a) disqualifying Zou ‘460 as prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(1)(A) is sufficient to overcome the 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) rejection of claims 1-5, 10, 11, and 16-20 and the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejections of claims 6-9 and 12-15 made in the non-final rejection filed 16 January 2026. The 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) rejection of claims 1-5, 10, 11, and 16-20 and the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejections of claims 6-9 and 12-15 have been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of a prior art reference(s) of record.
Conclusion
/C.M.R./Examiner, Art Unit 2893
/YARA B GREEN/Supervisor Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2893