Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) filed November 7, 2023 has been entered and the references cited therein have been considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “insulating member” in claim 3 and the “first and second sides” in claims 4 and 5 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
The drawings are also objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: 120l appears in Figures 1 and 2 and 225 appears in Figures 4 and 5.
Specification
The specification filed on April 29, 2024 is objected to as it appears to be in a format designed for foreign filings by utilizing headers that do not correspond to U.S. practice (such as “Technical Solution.” The following guidelines illustrate the preferred layout for the specification of a utility application. These guidelines are suggested for the applicant’s use.
Arrangement of the Specification
As provided in 37 CFR 1.77(b), the specification of a utility application should include the following sections in order. Each of the lettered items should appear in upper case, without underlining or bold type, as a section heading. If no text follows the section heading, the phrase “Not Applicable” should follow the section heading:
(a) TITLE OF THE INVENTION.
(b) CROSS-REFERENCE TO RELATED APPLICATIONS.
(c) STATEMENT REGARDING FEDERALLY SPONSORED RESEARCH OR DEVELOPMENT.
(d) THE NAMES OF THE PARTIES TO A JOINT RESEARCH AGREEMENT.
(e) INCORPORATION-BY-REFERENCE OF MATERIAL SUBMITTED ON A READ-ONLY OPTICAL DISC, AS A TEXT FILE OR AN XML FILE VIA THE PATENT ELECTRONIC SYSTEM.
(f) STATEMENT REGARDING PRIOR DISCLOSURES BY THE INVENTOR OR A JOINT INVENTOR.
(g) BACKGROUND OF THE INVENTION.
(1) Field of the Invention.
(2) Description of Related Art including information disclosed under 37 CFR 1.97 and 1.98.
(h) BRIEF SUMMARY OF THE INVENTION.
(i) BRIEF DESCRIPTION OF THE SEVERAL VIEWS OF THE DRAWING(S).
(j) DETAILED DESCRIPTION OF THE INVENTION.
(k) CLAIM OR CLAIMS (commencing on a separate sheet).
(l) ABSTRACT OF THE DISCLOSURE (commencing on a separate sheet).
(m) SEQUENCE LISTING. (See MPEP § 2422.03 and 37 CFR 1.821 - 1.825). A “Sequence Listing” is required on paper if the application discloses a nucleotide or amino acid sequence as defined in 37 CFR 1.821(a) and if the required “Sequence Listing” is not submitted as an electronic document either on read-only optical disc or as a text file via the patent electronic system.
The disclosure is also objected to because of the following informalities: Paragraph 32 is empty (no descriptive text follows paragraph 32).
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4 recites the limitations "first side", “second side” and “body of the handpiece plug.” There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim or in claims 1 and 2, from which claim 4 depends. Similarly, claim 5 recites the limitations “first side” and “second side.” There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim or in claims 1, 2 and 4, from which claim 5 depends.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 and 6-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ben-Haim et al. (PCT Publication WO 2013/019796) in view of Hosaku et al. (JP 2016087360).
In regard to claims 1 and 7, Ben-Haim et al. teach an energy delivery system 110 that delivers microwave energy to the skin of a patient to treat a condition of the skin (microwave frequencies are a subset of RF energy frequencies; see para. 00060). An applicator 114 is connected to a console 112 via a multifunction connector 136 (integrated handpiece plug) and cable assembly 134 (see Fig. 1). Figure 1 shows that, as broadly as claimed, the portion of console 112 that connects to connector 136 is installed in a depression part provide on a surface of the console 112. In other words, the corresponding structure on console 112 that connects to connector 136 would reside in a depression or cutout part on the surface of the console 112. Connector 136 includes a cooling fluid connector 224 for connecting to a cooling fluid source (which encompasses the use of gaseous refrigerant – see para. 00062), microwave connector 220 for connection to the console 112 and electric connectors 222 for connecting to the console 112 (see Fig. 4 and para. 00065). Figure 4 shows that the fluid connector 224, microwave connector 220 and electric connectors 222 are integrally formed. Ben-Haim et al. are silent as to a coupling part between the console 112 and the connector 136. However, Hosaku et al. teach a similar connector device 60 that includes a socket 70 and a paddle connector 100 that can be attached to and detached from the socket 70 (see Figs. 3 and 4). The paddle connector 110 is an insulator body that includes a connector main body 110 that is inserted into and fitted into the insertion recess 73 (guide groove) of the socket body 72 and the outer periphery of the connector main body 110 has a cylindrical rotation lock body 150 rotatably mounted on it (see Figs. 3-6). Thus, the insertion recess 73 and the connector main body 110 thus constitute corresponding coupling parts. Hosaku et al. thus demonstrate that corresponding coupling parts for a connector and the socket on a console are well known in the art for the purpose of securely connecting the two parts and provide the necessary functions (transfer of coolant, power and control signal) to the handpiece. Accordingly, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to provide the device of Ben-Haim et al. with the corresponding coupling parts taught by Hosaku et al. in order to securely connect the two parts and provide the necessary functions (transfer of coolant, power and control signal) to the handpiece. In regard to claim 2, Figure 4 of Ben-Haim et al. shows that the microwave connector 220 and the electric connectors 222 are spaced apart from each other in left and right directions. In regard to claim 6, Figure 4 of Ben-Haim et al. shows that cooling fluid connector 224 is at a position spaced apart in a vertical direction from the microwave connector 220 and the electric connectors 222 so that, as broadly as claimed, the connector 136 has an asymmetrical shape in the vertical direction. In regard to claim 3, Hosaku et al. teach that the connector main body 110 which separates first terminals 130 and second terminals 140 is an insulator body (see the above rejection for claim 1). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to position an insulating member between the microwave connector 220 and the electric connectors 222 of Ben-Haim et al. in order to electrically separate the microwave connector 220 and the electric connectors 222.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4 and 5 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art of record (Ben-Haim et al. and Hosaku et al.) do not teach a coupling part that has a first side and a second side where different numbers of coupling parts are provided on the first side and the second side, respectively (see claims 4 and 5 of the instant invention). As noted above, Ben-Haim et al. does not teach any specific coupling part and Hosaku et al. teaches a singular connector main body 110 that is not defined as having a first side and a second side or a plurality or number of coupling parts. Similarly, Kim et al. (PCT Publication No. 2010/047818) teaches a coupling mechanism (between parts 36 and 38) that is an external rotating collar and corresponding threads (see Fig. 16B).
/BEVERLY M FLANAGAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3794