DETAILED ACTION
Priority
The applicant’s priority to foreign application JP2021-084780 filed on May 19th, 2021 has been accepted.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statements filed on November 7th, 2023, December 5th 2025 and January 15th, 2026 have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “operation signal input unit,” “a movement control unit,” “an output determination unit,” and “operation signal output unit” and “avoidance angle specifying unit” throughout the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the enablement requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention. Claims 1-4 contain terms that invoke 112f however the specification is silent as to what the “operation signal input unit,” “a movement control unit,” “an output determination unit,” and “operation signal output unit” and “avoidance angle specifying unit” actually are.
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim limitations “operation signal input unit,” “a movement control unit,” “an output determination unit,” and “operation signal output unit” and “avoidance angle specifying unit” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed functions and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mairet et al (US 20190226175), hereafter Mairet.
With regards to claim 1, Mairet discloses a control system (150) for a loading machine including a swing body (cab 112) swinging around a swing center, a support part (frame not labeled in Fig. 1) supporting the swing body, and work equipment having a bucket (106) and attached to the swing body, the control system for a loading machine comprising: an operation signal input unit configured to receive an input of a manual operation signal for the swing body and the work equipment on the basis of an operation of an operation device configured to operate the swing body and the work equipment (P0021); a movement control unit configured to generate an automatic operation signal for driving the swing body and the work equipment (P0033); an output determination unit configured to determine to output the manual operation signal for any of the swing body and the work equipment for which there has been an input of the manual operation signal and determine to output the automatic operation signal for any thereof for which there has been no input of the manual operation signal, on the basis of the input manual operation signal (P034, L1-5); and an operation signal output unit configured to output the manual operation signal or the automatic operation signal for each of the swing body and the work equipment on the basis of a result of the determination (P0039).
With regards to claim 2, Mairet discloses all the elements of claim 1 as outlined above. Mairet further discloses wherein the work equipment is provided with a plurality of link parts (boom arms 108) including the bucket (106), and if the result of the determination indicates that the manual operation signal is output for at least one link part among the plurality of link parts, the movement control unit generates the automatic operation signal for another link part, which is other than the at least one link part, among the plurality of link parts such that an operation amount thereof approaches an operation amount of the manual operation signal related to the another link part (P0034).
With regards to claim 5, Mairet A control method (Abstract) for a loading machine including a swing body (cab 112) swinging around a swing center, a support part (frame not labeled separately in Fig. 1) supporting the swing body, and work equipment having a bucket (106) and attached to the swing body, the control method for a loading machine comprising: a step of receiving an input of a manual operation signal for the swing body and the work equipment on the basis of an operation of an operation device configured to operate the swing body and the work equipment (P0021); a step of generating an automatic operation signal for driving the swing body and the work equipment(P0033); a step of determining to output the manual operation signal for any of the swing body and the work equipment for which there has been an input of the manual operation signal and determining to output the automatic operation signal for any thereof for which there has been no input of the manual operation signal, on the basis of the input manual operation signal (P034, L1-5); and a step of outputting the manual operation signal or the automatic operation signal for each of the swing body and the work equipment on the basis of a result of the determination (P0039)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mairet,
With regards to claim 3, Mairet discloses all the elements of claim 1 as outlined above. Mairet does not directly disclose wherein the output determination unit determines to output the automatic operation signal for any of the swing body and the work equipment in which the operation amount of the manual operation signal is less than an operation amount of the automatic operation signal. However, this would be obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention in order for the work equipment to function.
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mairet as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Friend et al. (US 20170191246), hereafter Friend.
With regards to claim 4, Mairet discloses all the elements of claim 1 as outlined above. Mairet does not disclose an avoidance angle specifying unit configured to specify an interference avoidance angle, which is a swing angle of the swing body at which the bucket and a loading target do not overlap in a plan view from above, during an automatic control of moving the bucket from above the loading target to an excavation start point, wherein the operation signal output unit outputs the automatic operation signal for the work equipment regardless of the manual operation signal until the swing angle of the swing body reaches the interference avoidance angle.
However, Friend discloses avoiding collision between an excavation machine and a target (P0046). It would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to prevent collision as disclosed by Friend in order to avoid damaging the loading machine (MPEP 2143.I.D).
Conclusion
/J.L.B./Examiner, Art Unit 3653
/MICHAEL MCCULLOUGH/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3653