FINAL REJECTION
Claim Interpretation
In Rishoi, a film of liquid was claimed as part of an apparatus, it being clear that the liquid film is only present during use of the apparatus. It was held that the liquid film is not a structural limitation and therefore cannot impart patentability to those claims which are otherwise unpatentable. It was further stated that there is no patentable combination between a device and the material upon which it works.
In Smith, a particular web material having an extra length of carbons was claimed as part of an apparatus. The web material is worked upon by the apparatus. The court considered the possibility of combining the specified web with an old machine to provide a patentable combination, but it was held that a person may not patent a combination of a device and material upon which the device works, nor limit other persons from the use of similar material by claiming a device patent.
In Young, a concrete structure upon which an apparatus works was claimed as part of the apparatus. It was held that the inclusion of the material worked upon may not lend patentability to the apparatus.
In view of the cited cases and MPEP 2115, the claimed material worked upon has only been given weight to the extent that such limitations indicate structural limitations of the claimed apparatus.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1-4, 8-11, 13-18, 24, 25, 32, 37 and 48 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “the OD of the tubing along the region to be narrowed”. This limitation lacks antecedent basis. The claim previously recited the tubing only comprising “an outside diameter (OD)”. The claim does not specify if the initially recited OD is the same or different than the OD of the region to be narrowed. Alternatively, does “the OD of the tubing along the region to narrowed” refer to the OD before or after the narrowing occurs?
Claim 1 recites “the area of the region to be narrowed”. This limitation lacks proper antecedent basis. What is the difference, if any, between “the region to be narrowed” and the “area of the region to be narrowed”.
Claim 1 recites “at a location over region of the tubing desired to be narrowed”. This limitation is indefinite for at least two reasons. First, it’s not clear to what “region” the limitation refers. Second, it’s unclear what the difference, if any, is between the term “area” in the previously recited limitation, the “area of region” and the term “location” in the above limitation. The specification does not disclose a difference, and the applicant is inconsistently using the terms.
Claims 2, 3 and 32 recite “the OD”. It’s unclear if this refers the “OD” or the “OD of the tubing along the region to be narrowed”.
In claim 8, the limitation “in the area in the region” is unclear.
As to claim 18, “wherein heat applied” is not clear because the limitation does not properly refer back to the heat applying recited in claim 1.
As to claim 37, the limitation “the OD of the tubing along a length of the conduit corresponding to the region to be narrowed” lacks proper antecedent basis. Is this “OD” the same as previously recited, or a different OD, such as the OD after narrowing? See discussion of claim 1 above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 8-10, 13-15, 18, 24, 32 and 37 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Martin et al. (us 5409644).
As to claim 1, Martin discloses a method for narrowing an inside diameter (ID) of a tubing 46 (C2, L44-61, figs 2-3), the method comprising:(i) positioning the tubing inside a conduit 38/78 that does not substantially expanded or contract on heating or cooling (C2, L44-61, figs 2-3, C3, L21 – C4, L14), wherein the tubing comprises an ID, an outside diameter (OD), a heat-deformable material (C2, L44-61, figs 2-3, C3, L21 – C4, L14), and a region (region is portion of tubing within box labeled 500 in annotated fig A below) to be narrowed from the ID to a narrowed ID, and wherein an ID of the conduit is greater than the outside diameter (OD) of the tubing along the region to be narrowed (figs 2-3, abstract, annotated fig A below), ; (ii) positioning a mandrel 48 inside the tubing (C2, L44-61, figs 2-3, C3, L21 – C4, L14), wherein: (a) the mandrel is positioned at least at the area of region to be narrowed (C2, L44-61, figs 2-3, C3, L21 – C4, L14), and (b) the mandrel has an OD that is substantially equal to the narrowed ID (C3, L52-53) of the tubing (C2, L44-61, figs 2-3, C3, L21 – C4, L14); and (iii) applying heat to the conduit at a location (location labeled 500 in annotated fig A below) over region (tubing region within box 500 fig A below) of the tubing desired to be narrowed, such that heat is conducted from the conduit to the tubing and a temperature gradient is established along a length of the conduit with a peak temperature at the location over the region of the tubing to be narrowed and decreasing temperature on either side of the location (see annotated fig and discussion below) thereby deforming the tubing around the mandrel at the region to be narrowed such that the ID of the tubing is narrowed to the narrowed ID in the region to be narrowed (C2, L44-61, figs 2-3, C3, L21 – C4, L14, specifically, C4 L2-14 discusses the tubing narrowing in diameter such that conforms to and forms on the narrow portion of the mandrel).
The location 500 corresponds to “the location” as claimed and the region to be narrowed as shown above. Heater 80 applies heat to location 500. Since the location labeled 600 does not have a heater, the temperature at location 500 generated by heater 80 reads on the “peak temperature”. Additionally, because 600 does not have a heater the temperature at 600 will necessarily be lower than the peak temperature. See MPEP 2112. This is sufficient to meet the applicant’s limitation requiring a temperature gradient to be “established along a length of the conduit with a peak temperature at the location over the region of the tubing to be narrowed and decreasing temperature on either side of the location”. While there is a location at peak temperature on the side of 500 between 500 and 600, the examiner notes that applicant’s claim only requires “decreasing temperature on either side of the location” rather than “decreasing temperature on either adjacent side of the location”.
As to claims 2-3, Martin discloses the conduit has an ID no more than 5% greater than the OD of the tubing, wherein the ID of the conduit is no more than 2 thousandths of an inch greater than the OD of the tubing (fig 2-3, C3, L21-60).
As to claim 4, Martin discloses further comprising applying a compressive force to the tubing in a long axis of the tubing (C3, L12-20, C3, L65-C4, 13).
As to claim 8, Martin discloses a method wherein the long axis of the mandrel is within 50 μm of the long axis of the tubing in the area in which the tubing is to be narrowed (figs 2-3, (C2, L44-61, figs 2-3, C3, L21 – C4, L14).
As to claim 9, Martin discloses the claimed polishing step (C5, L10-12).
As to claim, 10, Martin discloses the heat-deformable material comprises a thermoplastic material (C2, L52-53).
As to claim 13, Martin discloses the method wherein the heat-deformable material comprises a material with a glass transition temperature (Tg) and a melting temperature(Tm), wherein the melting temperature is higher than the glass transition temperature (polymer material of 46 inherently has both Tg and Tm, C2, L51-61).
As to claim 14, wherein the area of the tubing desired to be narrowed is heated to a temperature that is below the melting temperature of the heat- deformable material (any deforming heating step inherently requires heating to a such a temperature in order to achieve deformable temp).
As to claim 15, Martin discloses a method wherein the tubing is heated to a temperature that is within 5% of the glass transition temperature (heating to with 5% of Tg necessarily required for flow, claim 1).
As to claim 18, Martin discloses the method wherein the area of the tubing desired to be narrowed is selectively heated by a heating element (80) in contact with the conduit (figs 2-3, C2, L44-61)
As to claim 24, Martin discloses after the tubing has been narrowed, cutting the narrowed portion of the tubing (C5, 3-7).
As to claim 32, Martin discloses a method wherein the area of the tubing to which heat is applied has a length no greater than 2× the OD of the tubing (figs 2-3)
With respect to claim 37, the tubing is considered material to be worked upon.
As to claim 37, Martin discloses an apparatus for narrowing the ID of a tubing comprising: (i) a conduit 38/78 into which a tubing can be inserted, wherein the tubing comprises an ID, an outside diameter (OD), a heat-deformable material, and a region to be narrowed from the ID to a narrowed ID, and wherein the conduit: (a) has an ID that is greater than the OD of the tubing along a length of the conduit corresponding to the region of the tubing to be narrowed when the tubing is inserted in the conduit, and (b) comprises a material that is capable of conducting heat to the tubing (C3, L21-28); (c) does not substantially expand or contract on heating and cooling (C2, L44-61, figs 2-3, C3, L21 – C4, L14); (ii) a heating element configured to apply heat to the conduit at a location over the region of the tubing to be narrowed when the tubing is inserted in the conduit, such that heat is conducted from the conduit to the tubing and a temperature gradient is established along a length of the conduit with a peak temperature at the location and a decreasing temperature on either side of the location (see claims 1 and 18 discussion and citations above, annotated fig A and discussion above); and (iii) a mandrel 48 to be inserted into the tubing, wherein the mandrel has an OD corresponding to the narrowed ID of the tubing ((C2, L44-61, figs 2-3, C3, L21 – C4, L14, see claim 1 and fig A discussion above).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 16 and 48 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Martin, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Zheng (previously cited).
As to claims 16 and 48, Martin does not disclose the claimed heating range. In Zheng, para 58 discloses that the temperature is a selection within the purview of one of ordinary skill in the art and can be varied based on the desired heating time. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Martin such that the tubing is heated to between 260 and 300 deg C, and/or 280 deg C as one would have achieved such a range by performing routine experimentation as taught by Zheng above to achieve only the expected results.
Claim(s) 11 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Martin, as applied to claims 1 and 13 above, and further in view of Burnside (US 2004/0098095).
As to claim 11, Burnside discloses a tubing 100 comprising a thermoplastic fluoropolymer (portion 110 of 100, para 19, 52), It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Martin such that the thermoplastic has a fluoropolymer as taught by Burnside above as such is a favorable polymer material and has a reasonable expectation of success.
As to claim 17, Burnside discloses the tubing comprising another thermoplastic material (PLLA, para 8), wherein the tubing is heated to a maximum temperature below the and glass transition temperature of the PLLA (para 85,96, 101, 116).
Claim(s) 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Martin, as applied to claim 1 and 14 above, and further in view of Scopton et al. (US 9868238). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Martin such that the conduit comprises metal as taught by Scopton (C7, L50 - C8 L8) as such improves strength and conductivity.
Claim(s) 47 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Martin in view of Hansen et al.et al. (US 2011/0014459).
Martin discloses a length of tubing 46, wherein the length of tubing comprises a narrowed portion of the tubing comprising a narrowed inside diameter (ID) compared to other sections of the length of tubing, wherein a first ID of the tubing tapers to the narrowed ID over a length (see discussion of claim 1 above, C2, L44-61, figs 2-3, C3, L21 – C4, L14). While Martin does not expressly disclose the tapering length to be at least 4 times the length of the narrowed portion of the tubing, Martin discloses the length is design choice that can effect the density and flexibility of the tubing (C4, L17-61). . It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, for the tapering length to be at least 4 times the length of the narrowed portion of the tubing as the length is a design choice within the purview of one of ordinary skill in the art. Additionally, one would have achieved such by performing routine experimentation to obtain only the expected results.
Martin does not disclose the narrowed portion of the tubing has uniform optical transmittance around a circumference of the narrowed portion of the tubing. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Martin such that the narrowed portion of the tubing has uniform optical transmittance around a circumference of the narrowed portion of the tubing as taught by Hansen (para 71) as such reduces glare and improves visibility (para 71).
Response to Arguments
**Note: The examiner respectfully suggests applicant’s representative contact the examiner to schedule an interview to discuss the outstanding issues.**
Applicant's arguments filed 6/25/26 have been fully considered. Several of the applicant’s arguments are moot in light of the amendments. While nearly all of the references applied remain the same, the applicant’s amendments prompted new grounds of rejection with said references. The examiner has detailed in the body of the rejection above why the references under the new grounds of rejection meet the amended claims. Applicant’s arguments as they may apply to said new grounds of rejection are not persuasive, and said arguments are addressed below.
Applicant asserts Martin does not disclose “an ID of the conduit is greater than the OD of the tubing along the region to be narrowed”. Applicant asserts this is because the diameter at exit portion 96 is smaller than the tubing OD where the narrowing occurs. Applicant further asserts the diameter at entry location 90 is not equivalent to the claimed ID because the claimed ID is required to be at the narrowing portion of the conduit. Without conceding the applicant’s arguments, the examiner asserts that said arguments are not commensurate with the scope of the claims because the claims do not require the recited conduit ID to be at a conduit narrowing portion. The claims require an ID of the conduit to be greater than the tubing OD at the region the tubing is narrowed. The claims further do not specify at which portion along the conduit the claimed “greater ID” exists. Thus, Martin meets the limitations of claims 1 and 37 at least because the conduit ID diameter at location 600 in the annotated fig A above is larger than the OD of the tubing. Additionally, location 500 in fig A clearly shows the ID diameter of the conduit is greater at the location of narrowing than the OD of the tubing.
The applicant asserts Martin discloses uniform heating and thus does not meet the amended claims. Without conceding applicant’s characterization of Martin, Martin meets the temperature gradient limitations for the reasons detailed in the body of the rejection above.
Applicant asserts Martin does not meet the amended claim limitations because the claimed narrowed ID is defined by the mandrel alone, whereas in Martin it is defined by the mandrel and conduit. This argument is not persuasive for at least two reasons. First, it’s not commensurate with the scope of the claims because the claims expressly require the conduit to participate in the narrowing. Second, as detailed in the body of the rejection above, the narrowed ID of Martin’s tubing is clearly defined by the OD diameter of the mandrel.
As to claim 47, applicant assert’s that Martin does not identify the tapered to narrowed ratio as a results effective variable. This is not accurate - C4, L 20-40 discloses it is “desirable to arrange the proportions” of the conduit and mandrel by ensuring “proper shaping” of the transition region. The selection of shaping effects the thickness (and thus flexibility) and density (C4, L41-65) of the tubing. Additionally, C4,L62-65 discloses varied cross-sections can be accommodated. The examiner notes changes in shape are obvious absent criticality demonstrated by the applicant. MPEP 2144.04.
Applicant asserts that Hansen does not disclose “uniform optical transmittance” because Hason discloses uniform output intensity after scattering. This argument is not persuasive. Para 71 specifically discloses “in the transmittance test, the diffused light was very uniform”. Further, para 71 (and 69-70 and 86) specifically discloses this uniform transmission is beneficial in medical tubes, such as catheters. Applicant’s arguments directed at Jones are moot.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRISTOPHER T SCHATZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1746