Claims 1-15 and 18-22 are pending.
Claims 16 and 17 are canceled.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on April 23,2025 and August 27,2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 18, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over as Radpour et al, US 20160006500 A1, in view of Lohman et al, US 20150124616 A1.
Regarding claim 1, Radpour disclose a method for determining a quality of service identity, performed by a policy control function (PCF)([0054] The PCRF 1016 can store data (e.g., QoS class identifier and/or bit rates) that facilitates QoS authorization of data flows within the PCEF.), comprising:
determining that a data flow can be transmitted or received over a satellite backhaul link([0023][0054] FIG. 4 Wherein the satellite 106 schedules data transmissions transmitted to/from wireless access points via the satellite backhaul links (e.g., 110.sub.1-110.sub.N). The PCRF 1016 can store data (e.g., QoS class identifier and/or bit rates) that facilitates QoS authorization of data flows within the PCEF.).);
Radpour does not disclose and selecting, for the data flow that can be transmitted or received over the satellite backhaul link, the quality of service identity corresponding to a same data flow service transmitted or received over a non-satellite backhaul link.
However, Lohman does disclose and selecting, for the data flow that can be transmitted or received over the satellite backhaul link, the quality of service identity corresponding to a same data flow service transmitted or received over a non-satellite backhaul link([0004][0033][0035][0037] An efficient decision process is implemented for determining times when backhaul data and/or subsets of backhaul data that will be sent over satellite links to alleviate congestion on terrestrial backhaul links. The DM may transfer certain classes of traffic (which may comprise multiple IP flows) from the congested terrestrial path(s) to satellite links based on the respective QCIs (quality class indices). By way of example, the class of traffic is determined by the QCI (QoS Class of Index), as defined in the LTE standard. When congestion occurs, the DM looks into the QCIs of currently established bearers and identifies bearers whose flows can be routed over satellite links.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Radpour with and selecting, for the data flow that can be transmitted or received over the satellite backhaul link, the quality of service identity corresponding to a same data flow service transmitted or received over a non-satellite backhaul link as taught by Lohman. The motivation for doing so would be to provide a system and methods for more cost effective backhaul services in terrestrial mobile communications systems.. (Lohman, [0004]).
Regarding claim 18, Radpour does disclose a communication device, comprising:
a processor([0047] FIG. 9 a processor 945);
and a memory for storing, and an executable program([0048]FIG. 9 In addition, it is to be noted that the various aspects disclosed in the subject specification can also be implemented through (i) program modules stored in a computer-readable storage medium or memory (e.g., memory 955) and executed by a processor (e.g., processor 945), or (ii) other combination(s) of hardware and software, or hardware and firmware.),
wherein the processor is configured to([0047] In particular, processor 945 can facilitates implementing configuration instructions received through communication platform 925, which can include storing data in memory 955.):
determine that a data flow can be transmitted or received over a satellite backhaul link([0023][0046] FIG. 4 wherein the satellite 106 schedules data transmissions transmitted to/from wireless access points via the satellite backhaul links (e.g., 110.sub.1-110.sub.N).);
Radpour does not disclose and select, for the data flow that can be transmitted or received over the satellite backhaul link, a quality of service identity corresponding to a same data flow service transmitted or received over a non-satellite backhaul link.
However, Lohman does disclose and select, for the data flow that can be transmitted or received over the satellite backhaul link, a quality of service identity corresponding to a same data flow service transmitted or received over a non-satellite backhaul link([0004][0033][0035][0037] An efficient decision process is implemented for determining times when backhaul data and/or subsets of backhaul data that will be sent over satellite links to alleviate congestion on terrestrial backhaul links. The DM may transfer certain classes of traffic (which may comprise multiple IP flows) from the congested terrestrial path(s) to satellite links based on the respective QCIs (quality class indices). By way of example, the class of traffic is determined by the QCI (QoS Class of Index), as defined in the LTE standard. When congestion occurs, the DM looks into the QCIs of currently established bearers and identifies bearers whose flows can be routed over satellite links.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Radpour with and selecting, for the data flow that can be transmitted or received over the satellite backhaul link, the quality of service identity corresponding to a same data flow service transmitted or received over a non-satellite backhaul link as taught by Lohman. The motivation for doing so would be to provide a system and methods for more cost effective backhaul services in terrestrial mobile communications systems.. (Lohman, [0004]).
Regarding claim 21, Radpour teaches a communication device, comprising:
a processor([0047] FIG. 9 a processor 945);
and a memory for storing an executable program([0048]FIG. 9 In addition, it is to be noted that the various aspects disclosed in the subject specification can also be implemented through (i) program modules stored in a computer-readable storage medium or memory (e.g., memory 955) and executed by a processor (e.g., processor 945), or (ii) other combination(s) of hardware and software, or hardware and firmware.),
wherein the processor is configured to perform the method according to claim 8([0047] FIG. 9 In particular, processor 945 can facilitates implementing configuration instructions received through communication platform 925, which can include storing data in memory 955.).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over as Radpour et al, US 20160006500 A1, in view of Lohman et al, US 20150124616 A1, and in further view of Kim et al, US 20230362305 A1.
Regarding claim 2, Radpour and Lohman do not disclose the method wherein determining that the data flow can be transmitted or received over the satellite backhaul link comprises at least one of:
receiving an application function (AF) service request and determining that the data flow can be transmitted or received over the satellite backhaul link according to the AF service request; or determining that the data flow can be transmitted or received over the satellite backhaul link according to a preconfigured transmission willingness indication.
However, Kim does disclose the method wherein determining that the data flow can be transmitted or received over the satellite backhaul link comprises at least one of:
receiving an application function (AF) service request and determining that the data flow can be transmitted or received over the satellite backhaul link according to the AF service request([0114] When the PCF receives a request from the AF to indicate the occurrence of a specific event and related information (for this purpose, for example, the AF may transmit the definition of the event to the PCF through the Npcf_EventExposure_Subscibe message). The AF may request the PCF to transfer QoS monitoring for dynamic satellite backhaul control for the above-described dynamic satellite backhaul control to the AF.);
or determining that the data flow can be transmitted or received over the satellite backhaul link according to a preconfigured transmission willingness indication(optional limitation no citation is required).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Radpour and Lohman with and selecting, for the data flow that can be transmitted or received over the satellite backhaul link, the quality of service identity corresponding to a same data flow service transmitted or received over a non-satellite backhaul link as taught by Kim. The motivation for doing so would be to reduce the cost of constructing a wired link. (Kim, [0045]).
Claims 3 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over as Radpour et al, US 20160006500 A1, in view of Lohman et al, US 20150124616 A1, in view of Kim et al, US 20230362305 A1, and in further view of Li et al, US 20200053802 A1.
Regarding claim 3, Radpour, Lohman, and Kim do not disclose the method wherein determining that the data flow can be transmitted or received over the satellite backhaul link according to the AF service request comprises at least one of: determining that the data flow can be transmitted or received over the satellite backhaul link according to a transmission willingness indication carried in the AF service request for indicating a willingness to transmit or receive over the satellite backhaul link; or determining that the data flow can be transmitted or received over the satellite backhaul link according to a delay value carried in the AF service request being less than or equal to a predetermined transmission delay for transmitting or receiving a data flow over the satellite backhaul link.
However, Li does disclose the method wherein determining that the data flow can be transmitted or received over the satellite backhaul link according to the AF service request comprises at least one of:
determining that the data flow can be transmitted or received over the satellite backhaul link according to a transmission willingness indication carried in the AF service request for indicating a willingness to transmit or receive over the satellite backhaul link([0053] [0109] The NEF exposes capabilities and services in the 5G core network 170. The NEF may connect to an AF 188 via an interface and it may connect to other control plane and user plane functions (180, 178, 172, 174, 184, 176, and N3IWF 175) in order to expose the capabilities and services of the 5G core network 170. A UE 806 sends a relay configuration request to the Core Network. This request is used to identify UE's capability and willingness to serve as a relay and/or to register/authorize for using the relay service as a remote UE 702 in the future.);
or determining that the data flow can be transmitted or received over the satellite backhaul link according to a delay value carried in the AF service request being less than or equal to a predetermined transmission delay for transmitting or receiving a data flow over the satellite backhaul link(optional limitation no citation is required).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Radpour, Lohman, and Kim with the method wherein determining that the data flow can be transmitted or received over the satellite backhaul link according to the AF service request comprises at least one of: determining that the data flow can be transmitted or received over the satellite backhaul link according to a transmission willingness indication carried in the AF service request for indicating a willingness to transmit or receive over the satellite backhaul link; or determining that the data flow can be transmitted or received over the satellite backhaul link according to a delay value carried in the AF service request being less than or equal to a predetermined transmission delay for transmitting or receiving a data flow over the satellite backhaul link as taught by Li. The motivation for doing so would be to determine which subscriber is associated with the relayed traffic. (Li, [0041]).
Regarding claim 7, Radpour does disclose the method further comprising: determining a user equipment (UE) and/or a UE group, associated with the data flow, according to UE identification information in the AF service request([0043] [0054] [0064] Further, a higher QoS priority can be assigned to network traffic associated with a UE (and/or femto access point) of a subscriber that has paid a higher fee to obtain a higher QoS. The PCRF 1016 can store data (e.g., QoS class identifier and/or bit rates) that facilitates QoS authorization of data flows within the PCEF. A number of program modules can be stored in the drives and RAM 1112, including an operating system 1130, one or more application programs 1132, other program modules 1134 and program data 1136. All or portions of the operating system, applications, modules, and/or data can also be cached in the RAM 1112.).
Claims 8 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over as Kim et al, US 20230362305 A1, in view of Radpour et al, US 20160006500 A1.
Regarding claim 8, Kim discloses a method for transmitting or receiving information, performed by an application function (AF), comprising: transmitting an AF service request, wherein the AF service request is configured for a policy control function (PCF) to determine that a data flow can be transmitted or received over a satellite backhaul link and select, for the data flow([0114] When the PCF receives a request from the AF to indicate the occurrence of a specific event and related information (for this purpose, for example, the AF may transmit the definition of the event to the PCF through the Npcf_EventExposure_Subscibe message). The AF may request the PCF to transfer QoS monitoring for dynamic satellite backhaul control for the above-described dynamic satellite backhaul control to the AF.),
Kim does not disclose a quality of service identity corresponding to a same data flow service transmitted or received over a non-satellite backhaul link in response to determining that the data flow can be transmitted or received over the satellite backhaul link.
However, Radpour does disclose a quality of service identity corresponding to a same data flow service transmitted or received over a non-satellite backhaul link in response to determining that the data flow can be transmitted or received over the satellite backhaul link([0043] At 802, network traffic demand associated with access points coupled to the satellite via satellite backhaul links can be determined. For example, an amount of traffic requested by each wireless access point can be determined based on control signaling received from the wireless access points. At 804, QoS requirements of the network traffic can be determined. In one example, the QoS associated with the network traffic can be determined based on a QCI that provides information regarding priority and/or type of service.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kim with a quality of service identity corresponding to a same data flow service transmitted or received over a non-satellite backhaul link in response to determining that the data flow can be transmitted or received over the satellite backhaul link as taught by Radpour. The motivation for doing so would be to increase bandwidth and improve spectral efficiency. (Radpour, [0036]).
Regarding claim 15, Kim does not disclose the method wherein, the AF service request further comprises user equipment (UE) identification information, wherein the UE identification information is configured to indicate a UE and/or a UE group associated with the data flow.
However, Radpour does disclose the method wherein, the AF service request further comprises user equipment (UE) identification information, wherein the UE identification information is configured to indicate a UE and/or a UE group associated with the data flow([0043] [0054] [0064] Further, a higher QoS priority can be assigned to network traffic associated with a UE (and/or femto access point) of a subscriber that has paid a higher fee to obtain a higher QoS. The PCRF 1016 can store data (e.g., QoS class identifier and/or bit rates) that facilitates QoS authorization of data flows within the PCEF. A number of program modules can be stored in the drives and RAM 1112, including an operating system 1130, one or more application programs 1132, other program modules 1134 and program data 1136. All or portions of the operating system, applications, modules, and/or data can also be cached in the RAM 1112.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kim with a quality of service identity corresponding to a same data flow service transmitted or received over a non-satellite backhaul link in response to determining that the data flow can be transmitted or received over the satellite backhaul link as taught by Radpour. The motivation for doing so would be to increase bandwidth and improve spectral efficiency. (Radpour, [0036]).
Claims 9 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over as Kim et al, US 20230362305 A1, in view of Radpour et al, US 20160006500 A1, and in further view of Li et al, US 20200053802 A1.
Regarding claim 9, Kim and Radpour do not disclose the method wherein transmitting the AF service request comprises at least one of: transmitting the AF service request carrying a transmission willingness indication, wherein the transmission willingness indication is configured to indicate that the data flow can be transmitted or received over the satellite backhaul link; or transmitting the AF service request carrying a delay value when the data flow is transmitted or received over the satellite backhaul link, wherein the delay value is configured for the PCF to determine whether the data flow can be transmitted or received over the satellite backhaul link.
However, Li does disclose the method wherein transmitting the AF service request comprises at least one of:
transmitting the AF service request carrying a transmission willingness indication, wherein the transmission willingness indication is configured to indicate that the data flow can be transmitted or received over the satellite backhaul link([0053] [0109] The NEF exposes capabilities and services in the 5G core network 170. The NEF may connect to an AF 188 via an interface and it may connect to other control plane and user plane functions (180, 178, 172, 174, 184, 176, and N3IWF 175) in order to expose the capabilities and services of the 5G core network 170. A UE 806 sends a relay configuration request to the Core Network. This request is used to identify UE's capability and willingness to serve as a relay and/or to register/authorize for using the relay service as a remote UE 702 in the future.);
or transmitting the AF service request carrying a delay value when the data flow is transmitted or received over the satellite backhaul link, wherein the delay value is configured for the PCF to determine whether the data flow can be transmitted or received over the satellite backhaul link(optional limitation no citation is required).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kim and Radpour with the method wherein transmitting the AF service request comprises at least one of: transmitting the AF service request carrying a transmission willingness indication, wherein the transmission willingness indication is configured to indicate that the data flow can be transmitted or received over the satellite backhaul link; or transmitting the AF service request carrying a delay value when the data flow is transmitted or received over the satellite backhaul link, wherein the delay value is configured for the PCF to determine whether the data flow can be transmitted or received over the satellite backhaul link as taught by Li. The motivation for doing so would be to determine which subscriber is associated with the relayed traffic. (Li, [0041]).
Claims 19, 20, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over as Radpour et al, US 20160006500 A1, in view of Lohman et al, US 20150124616 A1, and in further view of Li et al, US 20200053802 A1.
Regarding claim 19, Radpour and Lohman do not disclose a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium having stored therein instructions that, when executed by a policy control function (PCF) of a core network, causes the PCF to perform the method for determining a quality of service identity according to claim 1.
However, Li does disclose a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium having stored therein instructions that, when executed by a policy control function (PCF) of a core network, causes the PCF to perform the method for determining a quality of service identity according to claim 1([0007] [0043 TABLE-US-00001 TABLE 1 ] One aspect of the application is directed to a core network including a non-transitory memory including instructions stored thereon for transferring infrequent small data to a service capability or application server on a 5G network. The core network also includes a processor operably coupled to the non-transitory memory. Session Management In 3GPP CN, session management is to manage the end-to-end in 3GPP CN PDN connection (IP or non-IP type) between UE and packet data network for the data transfer through the core network with policy (e.g., QoS) and charging control enforced.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Radpour and Lohman with a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium having stored therein instructions that, when executed by a policy control function (PCF) of a core network, causes the PCF to perform the method for determining a quality of service identity according to claim 1 as taught by Li. The motivation for doing so would be to determine which subscriber is associated with the relayed traffic. (Li, [0041]).
Regarding claim 20, Radpour and Lohman do not disclose the device wherein the processor is further configured to perform at least one of: receiving an application function (AF) service request and determining that the data flow can be transmitted or received over the satellite backhaul link according to the AF service request; or determining that the data flow can be transmitted or received over the satellite backhaul link according to a preconfigured transmission willingness indication.
However, Li does disclose the device wherein the processor is further configured to perform at least one of: receiving an application function (AF) service request and determining that the data flow can be transmitted or received over the satellite backhaul link according to the AF service request([0053] [0109] The NEF exposes capabilities and services in the 5G core network 170. The NEF may connect to an AF 188 via an interface and it may connect to other control plane and user plane functions (180, 178, 172, 174, 184, 176, and N3IWF 175) in order to expose the capabilities and services of the 5G core network 170. A UE 806 sends a relay configuration request to the Core Network. This request is used to identify UE's capability and willingness to serve as a relay and/or to register/authorize for using the relay service as a remote UE 702 in the future.);
or determining that the data flow can be transmitted or received over the satellite backhaul link according to a preconfigured transmission willingness indication(optional limitation no citation is required).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Radpour and Lohman with the method wherein transmitting the AF service request comprises at least one of: transmitting the AF service request carrying a transmission willingness indication, wherein the transmission willingness indication is configured to indicate that the data flow can be transmitted or received over the satellite backhaul link; or transmitting the AF service request carrying a delay value when the data flow is transmitted or received over the satellite backhaul link, wherein the delay value is configured for the PCF to determine whether the data flow can be transmitted or received over the satellite backhaul link as taught by Li. The motivation for doing so would be to determine which subscriber is associated with the relayed traffic. (Li, [0041]).
Regarding claim 22, Radpour and Lohman do not disclose a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium having stored therein instructions that, when executed by an application function (AF) of a core network, causes the PCF to perform the method according to claim 8.
However, Li does disclose a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium having stored therein instructions that, when executed by an application function (AF) of a core network, causes the PCF to perform the method according to claim 8([0050] [0053] The PCF 184 may be connected to the SMF 174 via an N7 interface, connected to the AMF 172 via an N15 interface, and connected to an application function (AF) 188 via an N5 interface. The PCF 184 may provide policy rules to control plane nodes such as the AMF 172 and SMF 174, allowing the control plane nodes to enforce these rules. The NEF exposes capabilities and services in the 5G core network 170. The NEF may connect to an AF 188 via an interface and it may connect to other control plane and user plane functions (180, 178, 172, 174, 184, 176, and N3IWF 175) in order to expose the capabilities and services of the 5G core network 170.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Radpour and Lohman with a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium having stored therein instructions that, when executed by an application function (AF) of a core network, causes the PCF to perform the method according to claim 8 as taught by Li. The motivation for doing so would be to determine which subscriber is associated with the relayed traffic. (Li, [0041]).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over as Radpour et al, US 20160006500 A1, in view of Lohman et al, US 20150124616 A1, and in further view of Kim et al, US 20230362305 A1, and in further view of Qiao et al, US 20200214054 A1.
Regarding claim 4, Radpour, Lohman, and Kim do not disclose the method wherein receiving the AF service request comprises: receiving the AF service request before a protocol data unit (PDU) session associated with the data flow is established.
However, Qiao does disclose the method wherein receiving the AF service request comprises: receiving the AF service request before a protocol data unit (PDU) session associated with the data flow is established([0440] An always-on PDU session may be needed to support an application service (e.g. a low latency service), an application function (AF) may request an always-on PDU session for the application service by sending a message (e.g. always-on PDU session request, or application/service information provisional) to a PCF, the message sent to the PCF may comprise one or more of the following information: an always-on PDU session requested indication. The application/service information may comprise one or more of the information: IP filter information to identify a service data flow of the application service. ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Radpour, Lohman, and Kim with the method wherein receiving the AF service request comprises: receiving the AF service request before a protocol data unit (PDU) session associated with the data flow is established as taught by Qiao. The motivation for doing so would be to improve network resource usage for an always-on PDU session. (Qiao, [0250]).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over as Kim et al, US 20230362305 A1, in view of Radpour et al, US 20160006500 A1, and in further view of Qiao et al, US 20200214054 A1.
Regarding claim 13, Kim and Radpour do not disclose the method wherein transmitting the AF service request comprises at least one of: determining that the data flow is to be transmitted or received over the satellite backhaul link before a protocol data unit (PDU) session associated with the data flow is established, and transmitting the AF service request; or transmitting the AF service request in response to receiving second indication information for indicating that the data flow is to be transmitted or received over the satellite backhaul link.
However, Qiao does disclose the method wherein transmitting the AF service request comprises at least one of: determining that the data flow is to be transmitted or received over the satellite backhaul link before a protocol data unit (PDU) session associated with the data flow is established, and transmitting the AF service request([0440] An always-on PDU session may be needed to support an application service (e.g. a low latency service), an application function (AF) may request an always-on PDU session for the application service by sending a message (e.g. always-on PDU session request, or application/service information provisional) to a PCF, the message sent to the PCF may comprise one or more of the following information: an always-on PDU session requested indication. The application/service information may comprise one or more of the information: IP filter information to identify a service data flow of the application service.);
or transmitting the AF service request in response to receiving second indication information for indicating that the data flow is to be transmitted or received over the satellite backhaul link(optional limitation no citation is required).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kim and Radpour with the method wherein transmitting the AF service request comprises at least one of: determining that the data flow is to be transmitted or received over the satellite backhaul link before a protocol data unit (PDU) session associated with the data flow is established, and transmitting the AF service request; or transmitting the AF service request in response to receiving second indication information for indicating that the data flow is to be transmitted or received over the satellite backhaul link as taught by Qiao. The motivation for doing so would be to improve network resource usage for an always-on PDU session. (Qiao, [0250]).
Claims 5 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over as Radpour et al, US 20160006500 A1, in view of Lohman et al, US 20150124616 A1, in view of Kim et al, US 20230362305 A1, and in further view of Wu et al, US 20220210700 A1.
Regarding claim 5, Radpour, Lohman, and Kim do not disclose the method further comprising: in response to receiving first indication information transmitted by a session management function (SMF) for indicating that the data flow is transmitted or received over the satellite backhaul link, transmitting second indication information for indicating that the data flow is transmitted or received over the satellite backhaul link to the AF; wherein the AF service request is returned by the AF according to the second indication information.
However, Wu does disclose the method further comprising: in response to receiving first indication information transmitted by a session management function (SMF) for indicating that the data flow is transmitted or received over the satellite backhaul link, transmitting second indication information for indicating that the data flow is transmitted or received over the satellite backhaul link to the AF([0276] It should be noted that, if the location information is not included in the service request in step 501, the location information may be determined by the PCF based on the request of the AF. Specifically, the PCF may obtain the location information corresponding to the service from a UDR or locally obtain the location information corresponding to the service based on the request of the AF. Alternatively, the location information is determined by the PCF based on location information of UE. Specifically, the location information of the UE may be location information that is of the UE and that is provided by an SMF or an AMF.);
wherein the AF service request is returned by the AF according to the second indication information([0234] the traffic steering identifier stored in the AF, and the traffic steering identifier and the traffic steering policy information that are stored in the first network element may be obtained through negotiation between a second PCF (where the second PCF may be the same as or different from the first PCF) and the AF before the embodiment of FIG. 4C.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Radpour, Lohman, and Kim with the method further comprising: in response to receiving first indication information transmitted by a session management function (SMF) for indicating that the data flow is transmitted or received over the satellite backhaul link, transmitting second indication information for indicating that the data flow is transmitted or received over the satellite backhaul link to the AF; wherein the AF service request is returned by the AF according to the second indication information as taught by Wu. The motivation for doing so would be to reduce an end-to-end delay and load of a transmission network. (Wu, [0077]).
Regarding claim 6, Radpour, Lohman, and Kim does not disclose the method wherein receiving the AF service request comprises: obtaining the AF service request from a unified data storage (UDR).
However, Wu does disclose the method wherein receiving the AF service request comprises: obtaining the AF service request from a unified data storage (UDR)([0276] It should be noted that, if the location information is not included in the service request in step 501, the location information may be determined by the PCF based on the request of the AF. Specifically, the PCF may obtain the location information corresponding to the service from a UDR or locally obtain the location information corresponding to the service based on the request of the AF. ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Radpour, Lohman, and Kim with the method wherein receiving the AF service request comprises: receiving the AF service request before a protocol data unit (PDU) session associated with the data flow is established as taught by Wu. The motivation for doing so would be to reduce an end-to-end delay and load of a transmission network. (Wu, [0077]).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over as Kim et al, US 20230362305 A1, in view of Radpour et al, US 20160006500 A1, and in further view of Wu et al, US 20220210700 A1.
Regarding claim 14, Kim and Radpour do not disclose the method wherein transmitting the AF service request comprises: storing, by a network exposure function (NEF), the AF service request into a unified data storage (UDR), wherein a transmission willingness indication stored in the UDR is configured to be obtained by the PCF.
However, Wu does disclose the method wherein transmitting the AF service request comprises: storing, by a network exposure function (NEF), the AF service request into a unified data storage (UDR), wherein a transmission willingness indication stored in the UDR is configured to be obtained by the PCF([0276] [0283] It should be noted that, if the location information is not included in the service request in step 501, the location information may be determined by the PCF based on the request of the AF. Specifically, the PCF may obtain the location information corresponding to the service from a UDR or locally obtain the location information corresponding to the service based on the request of the AF. Step 505. The PCF sends a service request response to the NEF. Correspondingly, the NEF may receive the service request response.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kim and Radpour with the method wherein transmitting the AF service request comprises: storing, by a network exposure function (NEF), the AF service request into a unified data storage (UDR), wherein a transmission willingness indication stored in the UDR is configured to be obtained by the PCF as taught by Wu. The motivation for doing so would be to reduce an end-to-end delay and load of a transmission network. (Wu, [0077]).
Claims 10 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over as Kim et al, US 20230362305 A1, in view of Radpour et al, US 20160006500 A1, and in further view of Li et al, US 20200053802 A1, in view of Dao et al, US 20190253917 A1.
Regarding claim 10, Kim, Radpour, and Li do not disclose the method wherein transmitting the AF service request carrying the transmission willingness indication comprises: transmitting the AF service request carrying the transmission willingness indication in response to determining that a delay value when the data flow is transmitted or received over the satellite backhaul link is less than or equal to a first delay threshold.
However, Dao does disclose the method wherein transmitting the AF service request carrying the transmission willingness indication comprises: transmitting the AF service request carrying the transmission willingness indication in response to determining that a delay value when the data flow is transmitted or received over the satellite backhaul link is less than or equal to a first delay threshold([0448] The AF may request or subscribe the PCF or SMF to receive notification for packet delay violated events. The AF may include in the request a packet delay threshold. The packet delay threshold may be greater, or equal, or larger than the end-to-end PDB.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kim, Radpour, and Li with the method wherein transmitting the AF service request carrying the transmission willingness indication comprises: transmitting the AF service request carrying the transmission willingness indication in response to determining that a delay value when the data flow is transmitted or received over the satellite backhaul link is less than or equal to a first delay threshold as taught by Dao. The motivation for doing so would be to improve the reliability. (Dao, [0434]).
Regarding claim 11, Kim, Radpour, and Li do not disclose the method wherein transmitting the AF service request carrying the delay value when the data flow is transmitted or received over the satellite backhaul link comprises: determining a delay value enabling the data flow to be transmitted or received over the satellite backhaul link according to service requirements of the data flow.
However, Dao does disclose the method wherein transmitting the AF service request carrying the delay value when the data flow is transmitted or received over the satellite backhaul link comprises:determining a delay value enabling the data flow to be transmitted or received over the satellite backhaul link according to service requirements of the data flow ([0424] [0448] To enable the enforcement in the 5GC of the policy decisions made by the PCF for the policy and charging control of a service data flow. The AF may request or subscribe the PCF or SMF to receive notification for packet delay violated events. The AF may include in the request a packet delay threshold.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kim, Radpour, and Li with the method wherein transmitting the AF service request carrying the delay value when the data flow is transmitted or received over the satellite backhaul link comprises: determining a delay value enabling the data flow to be transmitted or received over the satellite backhaul link according to service requirements of the data flow as taught by Dao. The motivation for doing so would be to improve the reliability. (Dao, [0434]).
Claims 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over as Kim et al, US 20230362305 A1, in view of Radpour et al, US 20160006500 A1, and in further view of Li et al, US 20200053802 A1, in view of Xin et al, US 20200229199 A1.
Regarding claim 12, Kim does not disclose the method further comprising: determining that the data flow cannot be transmitted or received over the satellite backhaul link in response to service requirements of the data flow;
However, Radpour does disclose the method further comprising: determining that the data flow cannot be transmitted or received over the satellite backhaul link in response to service requirements of the data flow([0023][0046] FIG. 4 Further, using a scheduler (e.g., of the satellite 106 or a network device of the core mobility network 108), the spectrum allocation can be performed based on traffic requested by wireless access points 102.sub.1-102.sub.N, Quality of Service (QoS) requirements associated with data that is transmitted via the wireless links 110.sub.1-110.sub.N, and/or the satellite channel conditions (e.g., cloud cover/weather conditions between the satellite 106 and the wireless access points 102.sub.1-102.sub.N). Wherein the satellite 106 schedules data transmissions transmitted to/from wireless access points via the satellite backhaul links (e.g., 110.sub.1-110.sub.N).);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kim with the method further comprising: determining that the data flow cannot be transmitted or received over the satellite backhaul link in response to service requirements of the data flow as taught by Radpour. The motivation for doing so would be to increase bandwidth and improve spectral efficiency. (Radpour, [0036]).
Kim, Radpour, and Li do not disclose and transmitting, indication information for indicating a removal of the data flow, to a core network.
However, Xin does disclose and transmitting, indication information for indicating a removal of the data flow, to a core network([0105] Preferably, the first removal request may include release indication information. Alternatively, the first removal request includes the QoS parameter that corresponds to the service data flow and that is of the first communications network.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kim, Radpour, and Li with and transmitting, indication information for indicating a removal of the data flow, to a core network as taught by Xin. The motivation for doing so would be to decrease propagation loss of the radio waves. (Xin, [0002]).
Conclusion
/RYA TEON NELSON/Examiner, Art Unit 2419
/Nishant Divecha/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2419