DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.84(h)(1) because Figure 14 includes an exploded view, on the same page as other views, where the separated parts of the invention are not embraced by a bracket. The Examiner notes providing a dashed line, similar to Figure 2, indicating the parts are intended to be connected, is also acceptable.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to under 37 CFR 1.75(i) for failing to separate claim elements by line indentation. Claim 1 is further objected to for failing to conclude with a period. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 11 recites the limitation, “the depth of the material surrounded by the wall is smaller than the depth of the wall.” It is unclear from the claim how a depth of material can exist in the event the wall surrounds “an opening” as set forth in claim 10, from which claim 11 depends.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-13 and 19-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 3,540,089 (Franklin).
Regarding claim 1, Franklin discloses a rein safety connector device (D; see Figures 1-3), the device comprising
a ball component (F) including a ball (44),
a socket component (E) including a socket (21) shaped to receive the ball (see Figure 2), and
a retaining member (36, 37),
the socket including an opening (24, 29) having a diameter smaller than the diameter of the ball (see Figure 2), the opening being configured for expansion upon application of a first force along a longitudinal axis of the socket component in a first direction by the ball of said ball component and retraction upon removal of said force (see column 3, lines 30-47),
wherein the retaining member is attachable to the socket component around the opening thereof to secure the ball of the ball component in the socket of said socket component (see column 3, line 58, through column 4, line 19),
the ball releasable from the socket when subject to a second force, greater than the first force along said longitudinal axis in a second direction (see column 4, lines 49-60).
Regarding claim 2, Franklin discloses the retaining member (36, 37) is attachable to the socket component (E) such that the retaining member is immediately adjacent to the opening (24, 29) of the socket component (see Figure 2 and column 3, line 58, through column 4, line 19, where the retaining member 36, 37 can be adjusted along the socket component).
Regarding claim 3, Franklin discloses the retaining member (36, 37) is attachable to the socket component (E) by means of a rotational coupling (threads; see column 3, lines 58-66) wherein the retaining member and the socket component each comprise a respective part of the rotational coupling (see Figure 2).
Regarding claim 4, Franklin discloses the rotational coupling comprises co-operating internal and external threads (see column 3, lines 58-66) on respective ones of the socket component (E) and the retaining member (36, 37).
Regarding claim 5, Franklin discloses the opening (24, 29) is defined by a plurality of leaves (31, 32, 33, 34), each leaf moveable outwards relative to said longitudinal axis when subject to said first or second force (see column 3, lines 48-57).
Regarding claim 6, Franklin discloses each leaf (31, 32, 33, 34) includes a region of reduced thickness, said region distal from the opening and forming part of the socket (21; see Figure 2, where the leaves have a reduced thickness compared to the portion shown at 24).
Regarding claim 7, Franklin discloses the retaining member (36, 37) is attachable to the socket component (E) by means of a rotational coupling (threads; see column 3, lines 58-66) wherein the retaining member and the socket component each comprise a respective part of the rotational coupling and wherein the socket component part of the rotational coupling is situated beyond the leaves, distal from the opening (see Figure 2).
Regarding claim 8, Franklin discloses the ball component (F) comprises a central portion and wherein the ball (44) is attached to the central portion (47) by a ball connector (45; see Figure 2).
Regarding claim 9, Franklin discloses the central portion (47) includes a wall, the ball connector (45) extending from the wall (see Figure 2).
Regarding claim 10, Franklin discloses the wall surrounds an opening or a region of material (see Figure 2).
Regarding claim 11, Franklin discloses the depth of the material surrounded by the wall is smaller than the depth of the wall (see Figure 2; the opening being provided by an absence of material, and therefore, the depth is zero and thus less than the depth of the wall).
Regarding claim 12, Franklin discloses the retaining member (36, 37) is provided with grip elements (see the knurling on the outer surface in Figure 2; the axial ends of the retaining member can also be said to be “grip elements”).
Regarding claim 13, Franklin discloses each of the ball component (F) and the socket component (E) is provided with rein attachment elements (14, 42).
Regarding claim 19, Franklin discloses retaining member (36, 37) is configured such that when the ball (44) is subjected to the second force, the retaining member expands within its elastic limit (see column 3, line 48, through column 4, line 19).
Regarding claim 20, Franklin discloses the combination of the rein safety device according to claim 1 (see rejection above) and a pair of reins (B, C), one of the pair attached to the socket component (E) and the other of the pair attached to the ball component (F; see Figures 1 and 2).
Regarding claim 21, Franklin discloses a bridle (see Figures 1-3) including the combination of Claim 20 (see rejection above and NOTE below).
NOTE: Given the bridle of claim 21 only requires the structure of the combination of claim 20 (i.e. the rein safety device of claim 1 and a pair of reins), Franklin meets the limitations of claim 20.
Claims 1-3, 5-13, 15, and 19-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 4,733,625 (Allen).
Regarding claim 1, Allen discloses a rein safety connector device (2; see Figures 1-8)), the device comprising
a ball component (18) including a ball (19),
a socket component (4) including a socket (16) shaped to receive the ball (see Figure 3), and
a retaining member (26),
the socket including an opening (at 17) having a diameter smaller than the diameter of the ball (see Figure 3), the opening being configured for expansion upon application of a first force along a longitudinal axis of the socket component in a first direction by the ball of said ball component and retraction upon removal of said force (see column 5, lines 1-25),
wherein the retaining member is attachable to the socket component around the opening thereof to secure the ball of the ball component in the socket of said socket component (see Figure 2 vs. Figure 3, and column 5, lines 26-45),
the ball releasable from the socket when subject to a second force, greater than the first force along said longitudinal axis in a second direction (see column 5, line 46, through column 6, line 46).
Regarding claim 2, Allen discloses the retaining member (26) is attachable to the socket component (4) such that the retaining member is immediately adjacent to the opening of the socket component (see Figure 3).
Regarding claim 3, Allen discloses the retaining member (26) is attachable to the socket component (4) by means of a rotational coupling (see column 5, lines 26-45, and column 6, lines 27-46) wherein the retaining member and the socket component each comprise a respective part of the rotational coupling (see Figure 3).
Regarding claim 5, Allen discloses the opening (at 17) is defined by a plurality of leaves (6), each leaf moveable outwards relative to said longitudinal axis when subject to said first or second force (see Figure 3).
Regarding claim 6, Allen discloses each leaf (6) includes a region of reduced thickness (shown at 16 in Figure 8), said region distal from the opening (at 17) and forming part of the socket (at 16).
Regarding claim 7, Allen discloses the retaining member (26) is attachable to the socket component (4) by means of a rotational coupling wherein the retaining member and the socket component each comprise a respective part of the rotational coupling (see column 5, lines 26-45) and wherein the socket component part of the rotational coupling is situated beyond the leaves, distal from the opening (at 17; see Figures 2 and 3).
Regarding claim 8, Allen discloses the ball component (18) comprises a central portion (24) and wherein the ball (19) is attached to the central portion by a ball connector (22; see Figure 6).
Regarding claim 9, Allen discloses the central portion (24) includes a wall (at 24), the ball connector (22) extending from the wall (see Figure 6).
Regarding claim 10, Allen discloses the wall (at 24) surrounds an opening (23; see Figure 6) or a region of material.
Regarding claim 11, Allen discloses the depth of the material surrounded by the wall is smaller than the depth of the wall (see Figure 6; the opening 23 being provided by an absence of material, and therefore, the depth is zero and thus less than the depth of the wall).
Regarding claim 12, Allen discloses the retaining member (26) is provided with grip elements (the slots 28, 29, 31, 32 can function as grip elements).
Regarding claim 13, Allen discloses each of the ball component (18) and the socket component (4) is provided with rein attachment elements (13, 23; see Figure 3).
Regarding claim 15, Allen discloses each of the ball component (18), socket component (4) and retaining member (26) are respective one piece plastics mouldings (see column 2, lines 63-65).
Regarding claim 19, Allen discloses the retaining member (26) is configured such that when the ball (19) is subjected to the second force, the retaining member expands within its elastic limit (see column 5, lines 1-25).
Regarding claim 20, Allen discloses the combination of the rein safety device according to claim 1 (see rejection above) and a pair of reins (see Figure 1), one of the pair attached to the socket component (4, at 13) and the other of the pair attached to the ball component (18, at 23; see Figures 1 and 3).
Regarding claim 21, Allen discloses a bridle (see Figures 1-8) including the combination of Claim 20 (see rejection above and NOTE 2 below).
NOTE: Given the bridle of claim 21 only requires the structure of the combination of claim 20 (i.e. the rein safety device of claim 1 and a pair of reins), Allen meets the limitations of claim 20.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Allen in view of Franklin.
Allen discloses a rein safety device according to claim 3, but does not expressly disclose the rotational coupling comprises co-operating internal and external threads on respective ones of the socket component (4) and the retaining member (26).
Franklin teaches a rotational coupling (see Figure 2) comprises co-operating internal and external threads (see column 3, lines 58-66) on respective ones of the socket component (E) and the retaining member (36, 37). Franklin teaches this structure allows for precise adjustment of the force required to pull the ball (44) from the socket (21; see column 3, line 48, through column 4, line 19). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the rein safety device of Allen such that the rotational coupling comprises co-operating internal and external threads on respective ones of the socket component and the retaining member, as taught in Franklin, in order to allow for precise adjustment of the force required to pull the ball from the socket.
Claims 14, 15, 17, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Franklin in view of US 7,100,881 (Worral).
Regarding claim 14, Franklin discloses a rein safety device according to claim 1, but does not expressly disclose the ball component (F) is fabricated from a metal or a metal alloy, and the socket component (E) and retaining member (36, 37) are respective one piece plastics mouldings.
Worral teaches it is known in the art of ball and socket connections (see Figure 1) to fabricate ball components (20), socket components (11, 23), and retaining members (27) from either of a metal or a metal alloy, or a one piece plastics moulding as a matter of obvious design choice depending upon the intended application (see column lines 21-37). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the rein safety device of Franklin such that the ball component is fabricated from a metal or a metal alloy, and the socket component and retaining member are respective one piece plastics mouldings, as Worral teaches it is known in the art of ball and socket connections to fabricate ball components, socket components, and retaining members from either of a metal or a metal alloy, or a one piece plastics moulding as a matter of obvious design choice depending upon the intended application.
Regarding claim 15, Worral teaches each of the ball component (20), socket component (11, 23) and retaining member (27) are respective one piece plastics mouldings (see Figure 1 and column lines 21-37).
Regarding claim 17, Worral teaches the ball component (20) is a one piece metal or metal alloy casting (see Figure 1 and column lines 21-37).
Regarding claim 18, Worral teaches the ball component (20) is fabricated from a metal or metal alloy selected from the group comprising: zinc, aluminium and steel (column lines 21-37).
Claims 14, 17, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Allen in view of Worral.
Regarding claim 14, Allen discloses a rein safety device according to claim 1, but does not expressly disclose the ball component (18) is fabricated from a metal or a metal alloy, and the socket component (4) and retaining member (26) are respective one piece plastics mouldings.
Worral teaches it is known in the art of ball and socket connections (see Figure 1) to fabricate ball components (20), socket components (11, 23), and retaining members (27) from either of a metal or a metal alloy, or a one piece plastics moulding as a matter of obvious design choice depending upon the intended application (see column lines 21-37). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the rein safety device of Franklin such that the ball component is fabricated from a metal or a metal alloy, and the socket component and retaining member are respective one piece plastics mouldings, as Worral teaches it is known in the art of ball and socket connections to fabricate ball components, socket components, and retaining members from either of a metal or a metal alloy, or a one piece plastics moulding as a matter of obvious design choice depending upon the intended application.
Regarding claim 17, Worral teaches the ball component (20) is a one piece metal or metal alloy casting (see Figure 1 and column lines 21-37).
Regarding claim 18, Worral teaches the ball component (20) is fabricated from a metal or metal alloy selected from the group comprising: zinc, aluminium and steel (column lines 21-37).
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Franklin and Worral, and further in view of US 10,844,932 (Maness).
The combination of Franklin and Worall teaches a rein safety device according to claim 14, but does not expressly teach the one piece plastics mouldings are is fabricated from nylon or polypropylene.
Maness teaches fabricating one piece plastics mouldings of a safety connector device from nylon or polypropylene in order to provide a component that can withstand heavy loads and a harsh environment (see column 7, lines 25-27). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Franklin and Worall, such that the one piece plastics mouldings are is fabricated from nylon or polypropylene, as taught in Maness, in order to provide a component that can withstand heavy loads and a harsh environment.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Allen and Worral, and further in view of Maness.
The combination of Allen and Worall teaches a rein safety device according to claim 14, but does not expressly teach the one piece plastics mouldings are is fabricated from nylon or polypropylene.
Maness teaches fabricating one piece plastics mouldings of a safety connector device from nylon or polypropylene in order to provide a component that can withstand heavy loads and a harsh environment (see column 7, lines 25-27). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Allen and Worall, such that the one piece plastics mouldings are is fabricated from nylon or polypropylene, as taught in Maness, in order to provide a component that can withstand heavy loads and a harsh environment.
Conclusion
The prior art set forth in the attached Notice of References Cited (PTO-892) made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/Josh Skroupa/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3678
February 10, 2026