Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/07/2023, 09/11/2024, 03/14/2025, 06/20/2025, and 11/04/2025 has been considered by the examiner and made of record in the application file.
Priority
Acknowledgement is made of applicant’s claim for priority under 35 U.S.C 119(a)-(d) or (f), 365(a) or (b), or 386(a) based upon application CN202111238759 filed in PEOPLE’S REPUBLIC OF CHINA on 10/25/2021.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 states “preferably, a wavelength of the first laser is less than 450 nm, and a wavelength of the second laser is greater than 450 nm” which is unclear as to what “preferably” is referring to. “Preferably” can mean the emitter can have a wavelength of the first laser is less than 450 nm, and a wavelength of the second laser is greater than 450 nm. The subsequent interrupting phrase “a wavelength of the first laser is less than 450 nm, and a wavelength of the second laser is greater than 450 nm” is unclear and is ambiguous as to whether or not the claim requires a wavelength of the first laser is less than 450 nm, and a wavelength of the second laser is greater than 450 nm. Moreover, the phrase does not explain whether it is necessary for the laser to have a wavelength of the first laser is less than 450 nm, and a wavelength of the second laser is greater than 450 nm. The claim will be interpreted that the laser does have wavelength of the first laser is less than 450 nm, and a wavelength of the second laser is greater than 450 nm for the purpose of examination. However, due to these ambiguities, a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the claimed invention cannot determine whether the laser requires the feature of a wavelength of the first laser is less than 450 nm, and a wavelength of the second laser is greater than 450 nm and is considered indefinite. Thus, clarification is requested.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 103
Claim 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C § 103 as being unpatentable over Hirata et. al. in the printed publication “Selective Emitter Structure Formation In Crystalline Silicon Solar Cells Only By Laser Doping at Room Temperature,” hereinafter “Hirata” in view of Song et. al., Chinese Patent Pub. No. 105405899B, hereinafter “Song.”
Regarding claim 1, Hirata teaches a method for preparing an emitter (selective emitter formation described in Abstract), comprising:
irradiating a layer sequentially (irradiation described in Abstract) with at least two lasers with different wavelengths (one laser is cited as having a wavelength of 355 nm and another laser is cited as having a wavelength of 532 nm in para [0003] of the Introduction section) to sequentially dope a same region of a silicon wafer with the boron-rich layer, thereby obtaining the emitter (the first and second irradiation process sequentially form the selective emitter for improved “conversion” efficiency in para [0003] in Section 3.2 Apply to selective emitter in various pn junctions).
Hirata does not explicitly teach using irradiating a boron-rich layer and to sequentially dope a same region of a silicon wafer with boron atoms in the boron-rich layer. Instead, Hirata incorporates phosphorus as a dopant utilizing a process that involved a phosphorous contact liquid spin coated and dried on a hot plate to form a solid phase doping precursor (phosphorus silicate glass in para [0001] of the Experiments section).
However, Song does teach the use of boron and irradiating a boron-rich layer (boron doping disclosed in para [0010]) and to sequentially dope a same region of a silicon wafer with boron atoms in the boron-rich layer (boron doping on a first surface of N-type silicon wafer in para [0010]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to consider providing irradiating a layer sequentially with at least two lasers with different wavelengths, thereby obtaining the emitter as taught in Hirata and irradiating a boron-rich layer to sequentially dope a same region of a silicon wafer with boron atoms in the boron-rich layer as taught in Song. A person of ordinary skill in the art would know to apply two lasers with different wavelengths with phosphorus as shown in Hirata and replace the phosphorus dopant with boron as shown in Song to achieve the claimed method of a selective emitter because boron is a viable alternative dopant for forming p-type selective emitters and the laser doping process with a dual wavelength laser technique provides improved control of laser induced heating because of the wavelength dependent absorption in silicon. A boron dopant is well known p-type counterpart to phosphorus used for forming selective emitter structures. One of ordinary skill would additionally know that the combination applies known laser processing techniques and the known use of boron instead of phosphorus for the making of the claimed emitter. Thus, Song cures the deficiencies of Hirata.
Regarding claim 2, Hirata in view of Song teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the irradiating (Hirata, irradiation described in Abstract) the boron-rich layer (Song, boron doping disclosed in para [0010]) sequentially with at least two lasers with different wavelengths (Hirata, one laser is cited as having a wavelength of 355 nm and another laser is cited as having a wavelength of 532 nm in para [0003] of the Introduction section) comprises irradiating the boron-rich layer (Song, boron doping disclosed in para [0010]) with a first laser (one laser cited in para [0003]) and then irradiating the boron-rich layer (Song, boron doping disclosed in para [0010]) with a second laser (another laser cited in para [0003]);
preferably, a wavelength of the first laser is less than 450 nm, and a wavelength of the second laser is greater than 450 nm (Hirata, one laser is cited as having a wavelength of 355 nm which is less than 450 nm and another laser is cited as having a wavelength of 532 nm which is greater than 450 nm in para [0003] of the Introduction section).
Regarding claim 3, Hirata in view of Song teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the irradiating (Hirata, irradiation described in Abstract) the boron-rich layer (Song, boron doping disclosed in para [0010]) sequentially with at least two lasers with different wavelengths (Hirata, one laser is cited as having a wavelength of 355 nm and another laser is cited as having a wavelength of 532 nm in para [0003] of the Introduction section) comprises irradiating the boron-rich layer (Song, boron doping disclosed in para [0010]) with a first laser and then irradiating the boron-rich layer with a second laser (Hirata, one laser is cited as having a wavelength of 355 nm and another laser is cited as having a wavelength of 532 nm in para [0003] of the Introduction section);
preferably, a wavelength of the first laser is greater than 450 nm, and a wavelength of the second laser is less than 450 nm (Hirata, one laser is cited as having a wavelength of 532 nm which is greater than 450 nm in para [0003] of the Introduction section and another laser is cited as having a wavelength of 355 nm which is less than 450 nm).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-11 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter.
Regarding claim 4, Hirata in view of Song teaches
a method for preparing a selective emitter cell (Hirata, selective emitter formation described in Abstract), comprising:
preparing a lightly doped emitter (doping of emitter in para [0001]) and a boron-rich layer (Song, boron doping disclosed in para [0010]), preparing a heavily doped selective emitter (Song, heavy doping of a local area in para [0056]), and preparing metal electrodes (Song, preparing electrode in para [0013]), thereby obtaining the selective emitter cell (Hirata, selective emitter formation described in Abstract);
wherein the heavily doped (Song, heavy doping of a local area in para [0056]) selective emitter is prepared by the method for preparing an emitter (Hirata, selective emitter formation described in Abstract) according to claim 1; a first laser doping and a second laser doping (one laser is cited as having a wavelength of 355 nm and another laser is cited as having a wavelength of 532 nm in para [0003] of the Introduction section) are for sequentially patterned doping a same region on a surface of the lightly doped emitter (Hirata, the first and second irradiation process sequentially form the selective emitter for improved “conversion” efficiency in para [0003] in Section 3.2 Apply to selective emitter in various pn junctions) with boron atoms in the boron-rich layer (boron doping disclosed in para [0010]) to obtain the heavily doped (Song, heavy doping of a local area in para [0056]) selective emitter (Hirata, selective emitter formation described in Abstract); and the heavily doped selective emitter is embedded in the lightly doped emitter.
But Hirata and Song does not appear to explicitly disclose texturing a silicon wafer and the lightly doped emitter.
The claimed process sequence such as texturing a silicon wafer and the lightly doped emitter are not taught by Hirata and Song. The prior art may disclose individual concepts such as a selective emitter, heavy doping of an emitter, a first and second laser process, and implementing different wavelengths using boron. However, no references teach the specific order combination with texturing a silicon wafer and lightly doping an emitter in view of the rest of the limitations that involve heavy doping of an emitter, the first and second laser process, and implementing different wavelengths using boron. Hirata and Song fails to teach or suggest the entire combination as arranged in the claim and the specific process is not rendered obvious by the cited teachings. Additionally, there was no prior art that one of ordinary skill in the art would use alone or would find obvious to combine with the invention of Hirata and Song to reach all of the limitations of the claim. Moreover, both Hirata and Song do not teach laser-assisted selective doping but does not disclose or suggest forming a lightly doped emitter region or performing wafer texturing of the silicon wafer which requires surface modification process that alters the physical topography of a silicon wafer. The cited prior arts do not disclose or suggest performing any texturing step or forming surface structures on the silicon wafer. For these reasons, the claimed subject matter as a whole would not have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing. Therefore, claim 4 contains allowable subject matter.
Dependent claims 5-11 depend directly or indirectly from independent claim 4 and, thus, further define and/or limit the subject matter recited therein. Therefore, dependent claims 5-11 also contain allowable subject matter.
Conclusion
/MEHEK AHMED/
Examiner, Art Unit 2812
/William B Partridge/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2812