DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 8-10, 14-17, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (US-20210199384-A1) hereinafter referred to as ‘Minamitani’ in view of (US-20190058182-A1) hereinafter referred to as ‘Pozin’ in view of (US-20200251692-A1) hereinafter referred to as ‘Oh’
Regarding Claim 1,
Minamitani teaches a cooling structure (Minamitani, “The heat exchanger of the present invention is mainly used as a cooler for cooling a vehicle-mounted battery”, see [0055]) comprising: a press forming member having a groove part and a bank part provided around the groove part (see Fig. 4); a flow path upper lid which is a flat sheet overlapped at a position covering the groove part of the press forming member and forms a flat cooling surface (Minamitani, cover member, 15, Fig. 4); and a weld which joins opposing surfaces of the flow path upper lid and the bank part to form a flow path through which a cooling liquid is capable of flowing (Minamitani, “heat-fusible layers 52 of the tray member 10, and the heat-fusible layers 52 of the cover member 15 are integrally joined by thermal welding (heat-bonding) to seal in a liquid-tight or in an airtight manner.”, see [0110]), wherein the press forming member and the flow path upper lid are plated steel sheets each including a base steel sheet (Minamitani, “As the heat transfer layer 51 in the outer packaging laminate material L1, a copper foil, an aluminum foil, a stainless-steel foil,”, see [0063]) the flow path includes a parallel flow path portion in which a plurality of partial flow paths extending along a first direction are arranged in a second direction orthogonal to the first direction, in a part or all of the parallel flow path portions (see Fig. 2C)(see annotated figure below), an interval between the adjacent partial flow paths is 20 mm or less (Minamitani, “The above-described inner core laminate material L2 was subjected to corrugate processing into, as shown in FIG. 5, a rectangular wave shape having a fin height Hf of 4 mm, a fin pitch Pf of 7.6 mm”, see [0196]), and
Minamitani does not teach a Zn-based plating provided on a surface of the base steel sheet, and an inorganic film or a resin film provided as a chemical conversion coating film on a surface of the Zn-based plating, the inorganic film contains a Si-based component or a Zr-based component in a proportion of 50 mass% or more,
Pozin teaches a Zn-based plating provided on a surface of the base steel sheet (Pozin, “The Zn layer 108 locally increases the hydrogen overvoltage and thereby advantageously suppresses hydrogen bubbling at the specific location(s) where a zinc layer was deposited. ”, see [0050]), and an inorganic film or a resin film provided as a chemical conversion coating film on a surface of the Zn-based plating, the inorganic film contains a Si-based component or a Zr-based component in a proportion of 50 mass% or more (Pozin, “The battery surfaces may be activated by any suitable surface activation technique, for example, plasma treatments including but not limited to … Such treatment prior to deposition may increase adhesion of the composite water-responsive safety layer and/or composite water- and pH-responsive safety layer to the battery surfaces. Adhesion promoters, especially silane adhesions promoters have been found to enhance adhesion of the composite water-responsive safety layer and/or composite water- and pH-responsive safety layer to the battery surfaces”, see [0040])(The examiner notes that silane is more than 50% by mass silicon)
Pozin teaches that a Zn and silane layer can allow for adhesion and formation of a safety layer that prevents hydrogen formation (Pozin, “The Zn layer 108 locally increases the hydrogen overvoltage and thereby advantageously suppresses hydrogen bubbling at the specific location(s) where a zinc layer was deposited. ”, see [0050]).
Minamitani and Pozin are analogous as they are both of the same field of batteries.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the cooling plate as taught in Minamitani with the protecting Zn and silane layers as taught in Pozin in order to protect the surface of the cooling plate from unwanted reactions.
Minamitani does not teach a ratio of a length of a region in which a blow hole and a pit are formed to a total length of the laser weld facing the flow path is 0.2 or less.
Oh teaches a ratio of a length of a region in which a blow hole and a pit are formed to a total length of the laser weld facing the flow path is 0.2 or less (Oh, “In such a manner, the welding portions 146 include the multiple overlapping welding portions, such that pin holes, blow holes, and/or worm holes may not be located in the welding portions 146.”, see [0086])(The examiner nots that if there are no blow holes then the ratio is 0, which is within the claimed range).
Oh teaches that this form of laser welding and overlapping portions prevents defects in the weld such as blow holes (Oh, “In such a manner, the welding portions 146 include the multiple overlapping welding portions, such that pin holes, blow holes, and/or worm holes may not be located in the welding portions 146.”, see [0086]).
Minamitani and Oh are analogous as they are both of the same field of batteries.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the weld as taught in Minamitani to have the laser weld as taught in Oh in order to minimize defects such as blow holes.
Regarding Claim 2,
Modified Minamitani teaches the cooling structure according to claim 1, wherein in the parallel flow path portion, an interval between the adjacent partial flow paths is 0.8 to 15 mm (Minamitani, “The above-described inner core laminate material L2 was subjected to corrugate processing into, as shown in FIG. 5, a rectangular wave shape having a fin height Hf of 4 mm, a fin pitch Pf of 7.6 mm”, see [0196] .
Regarding Claim 3,
Modified Minamitani teaches the cooling structure according to claim 1, wherein in the parallel flow path portion, an interval between the adjacent partial flow paths is 6 to 60 mm (Minamitani, “The above-described inner core laminate material L2 was subjected to corrugate processing into, as shown in FIG. 5, a rectangular wave shape having a fin height Hf of 4 mm, a fin pitch Pf of 7.6 mm”, see [0196])(The examiner notes that the width and the interval are analogous as the width and the interval are equal in Minamitani) .
Regarding Claim 4,
Modified Minamitani teaches the cooling structure according to claim 1, wherein a width of the partial flow path is 6 to 20 mm (Minamitani, “The above-described inner core laminate material L2 was subjected to corrugate processing into, as shown in FIG. 5, a rectangular wave shape having a fin height Hf of 4 mm, a fin pitch Pf of 7.6 mm”, see [0196]) .
Regarding Claim 5,
Modified Minamitani teaches the cooling structure according to claim 1, wherein a gap between the press forming member and the flow path upper lid is 0.03 mm or more at a periphery of a weld metal included in the laser weld (Minamitani, “Note that as the heat-fusible layer 52, it is preferable to use a heat-fusible layer having a thickness of 20 μm to 5,000 μm”, see [0074])(The examiner maps the layer as a spacer).
The examiner takes note of the fact that the prior art range of 20 μm to 5,000 μm broadly overlaps the claimed range of 0.03 mm or more. Absent any additional and more specific information in the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Peterson, 315F.3d 1325, 1330, 65 USPQ2d 1379 (Fed. Cir. 2003). MPEP 2144.05.
Regarding Claim 6,
Modified Minamitani teaches the cooling structure according to claim 5, further comprising: a spacer having a thickness of 0.03 mm or more disposed between the press forming member and the flow path upper lid at the periphery of the weld metal included in the laser weld (Minamitani, “Note that as the heat-fusible layer 52, it is preferable to use a heat-fusible layer having a thickness of 20 μm to 5,000 μm, more preferably 30 μm to 80 μm.”, see [0074])(The examiner maps the layer as a spacer) (Minamitani, “heat-fusible layers 52 of the tray member 10, and the heat-fusible layers 52 of the cover member 15 are integrally joined by thermal welding (heat-bonding) to seal in a liquid-tight or in an airtight manner.”, see [0110]).
The examiner takes note of the fact that the prior art range of 20 μm to 5,000 μm broadly overlaps the claimed range of 0.03 mm or more. Absent any additional and more specific information in the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Peterson, 315F.3d 1325, 1330, 65 USPQ2d 1379 (Fed. Cir. 2003). MPEP 2144.05.
Regarding Claim 8,
Modified Minamitani teaches the cooling structure according to claim 5, further comprising: a spot weld which joins the flow path upper lid and the press forming member to each other at the laser weld or in the vicinity of the laser weld (Minatami, “Note that in this embodiment, the heat fusion processing (heating processing) is performed under reduced pressure. With this, the heat fusion bonding can be assuredly performed with a high adhesion state between the tray member 10, the cover member 15”, see [0113]).
Regarding Claim 9,
Modified Minamitani teaches the cooling structure according to claim 1,wherein a cross-sectional shape of the bank part is substantially an arc (Minamitani, see Fig. 5) , and a radius of curvature of the bank part at a contact section between the flow path upper lid and the bank part is 15 mm or less (Minamitani, “ a convex top wall width W12 of 4 mm, an outer corner radius R1 of 0.3 mm, and an inner corner radius R2 of 0.1 mm. ”, see [0184]).
Regarding Claim 10,
Modified Minamitani teaches the cooling structure according to claim 1, wherein the plated steel sheet forming the press forming member and the flow path upper lid has a sheet thickness of 0.3 to 1.2 mm (Minamitani, “The heat transfer layer 51 is also called a heat collecting layer. As the heat transfer layer 51, it is preferable to use a layer having a thickness of 8 μm to 300 μm”, see [0066])
The examiner takes note of the fact that the prior art range of 8 μm to 300 μm broadly overlaps the claimed range of 0.3 to 1.2 mm. Absent any additional and more specific information in the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Peterson, 315F.3d 1325, 1330, 65 USPQ2d 1379 (Fed. Cir. 2003). MPEP 2144.05.
Regarding Claim 14,
Modified Minamitani teaches a battery unit comprising :a battery cell; a battery pack in which the battery cell is housed; and the cooling structure according to claim 1,wherein the flow path upper lid of the cooling structure is joined to the battery pack (Minamitani, “Further, in this embodiment, as shown in FIG. 9, a battery pack composed of a number of batteries B is placed on the upper surface of the cover member 15 of the heat exchanger. Thus, the total weight of the batteries B constituting the battery pack is applied to the heat exchanger.”, [0123])
Reagrding Claim 15,
Modified Minamitani teaches a battery unit comprising: a battery cell; a battery pack in which the battery cell is housed; and the cooling structure according claim 1,wherein the flow path upper lid of the cooling structure is the battery pack (Minamitani, “Further, in this embodiment, as shown in FIG. 9, a battery pack composed of a number of batteries B is placed on the upper surface of the cover member 15 of the heat exchanger. Thus, the total weight of the batteries B constituting the battery pack is applied to the heat exchanger.”, [0123]).
Regarding Claim 16,
Modified Minamitani teaches a manufacturing method of a cooling structure comprising: press-forming a steel sheet to obtain a press forming member having a groove part and a bank part provided around the groove part (Minamitani, “As the processing method of the inner fin 2, in addition to cutting, injection molding, and sheet forming (vacuum forming, pressure forming, etc.), corrugating or embossing may be employed”, see [0091]); and overlapping a flow path upper lid which is a flat sheet at a position covering the groove part of the press forming member and welding the flow path upper lid and the bank part of the press forming member to obtain a weld which forms a flow path through which a cooling liquid is capable of flowing (Minamitani, “heat-fusible layers 52 of the tray member 10, and the heat-fusible layers 52 of the cover member 15 are integrally joined by thermal welding (heat-bonding) to seal in a liquid-tight or in an airtight manner.”, see [0110]), wherein the press forming member and the flow path upper lid are plated steel sheets each including a base steel sheet (Minamitani, “As the heat transfer layer 51 in the outer packaging laminate material L1, a copper foil, an aluminum foil, a stainless-steel foil,”, see [0063]), the flow path includes a parallel flow path portion in which a plurality of partial flow paths extending along a first direction are arranged in a second direction orthogonal to the first direction, in a part or all of the parallel flow path portions, an interval between the adjacent partial flow paths is 20 mm or less (Minamitani, “The above-described inner core laminate material L2 was subjected to corrugate processing into, as shown in FIG. 5, a rectangular wave shape having a fin height Hf of 4 mm, a fin pitch Pf of 7.6 mm”, see [0196])
Minamitani does not teach a Zn-based plating provided on a surface of the base steel sheet, and an inorganic film or a resin film provided as a chemical conversion coating film on a surface of the Zn-based plating, the inorganic film contains a Si-based component or a Zr-based component in a proportion of 50 mass% or more,
Pozin teaches a Zn-based plating provided on a surface of the base steel sheet (Pozin, “The Zn layer 108 locally increases the hydrogen overvoltage and thereby advantageously suppresses hydrogen bubbling at the specific location(s) where a zinc layer was deposited. ”, see [0050]), and an inorganic film or a resin film provided as a chemical conversion coating film on a surface of the Zn-based plating, the inorganic film contains a Si-based component or a Zr-based component in a proportion of 50 mass% or more (Pozin, “The battery surfaces may be activated by any suitable surface activation technique, for example, plasma treatments including but not limited to … Such treatment prior to deposition may increase adhesion of the composite water-responsive safety layer and/or composite water- and pH-responsive safety layer to the battery surfaces. Adhesion promoters, especially silane adhesions promoters have been found to enhance adhesion of the composite water-responsive safety layer and/or composite water- and pH-responsive safety layer to the battery surfaces”, see [0040])(The examiner notes that silane is more than 50% by mass silicon)
Pozin teaches that a Zn and silane layer can allow for adhesion and formation of a safety layer that prevents hydrogen formation (Pozin, “The Zn layer 108 locally increases the hydrogen overvoltage and thereby advantageously suppresses hydrogen bubbling at the specific location(s) where a zinc layer was deposited. ”, see [0050]).
Minamitani and Pozin are analogous as they are both of the same field of batteries.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the cooling plate as taught in Minamitani with the protecting Zn and silane layers as taught in Pozin in order to protect the surface of the cooling plate from unwanted reactions.
Minamitani does not teach a ratio of a length of a region in which a blow hole and a pit are formed to a total length of the laser weld facing the flow path is 0.2 or less.
Oh teaches a ratio of a length of a region in which a blow hole and a pit are formed to a total length of the laser weld facing the flow path is 0.2 or less (Oh, “In such a manner, the welding portions 146 include the multiple overlapping welding portions, such that pin holes, blow holes, and/or worm holes may not be located in the welding portions 146.”, see [0086])(The examiner nots that if there are no blow holes then the ratio is 0, which is within the claimed range).
Oh teaches that this form of laser welding and overlapping portions prevents defects in the weld such as blow holes (Oh, “In such a manner, the welding portions 146 include the multiple overlapping welding portions, such that pin holes, blow holes, and/or worm holes may not be located in the welding portions 146.”, see [0086]).
Minamitani and Oh are analogous as they are both of the same field of batteries.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the weld as taught in Minamitani to have the laser weld as taught in Oh in order to minimize defects such as blow holes.
Regarding Claim 17,
Modified Minamitani teaches the manufacturing method of the cooling structure according to claim 16, wherein before the laser welding, a spacer having a thickness of 0.03 mm or more is disposed between the press forming member and the flow path upper lid at a portion to be subjected to the laser welding or in the vicinity of the portion to be subjected to the welding, so that a gap between the press forming member and the flow path upper lid at the portion to be subjected to the laser welding or in the vicinity of the portion to be subjected to the laser welding is 0.03 mm or more (Minamitani, “Note that as the heat-fusible layer 52, it is preferable to use a heat-fusible layer having a thickness of 20 μm to 5,000 μm, more preferably 30 μm to 80 μm.”, see [0074])(The examiner maps the layer as a spacer) (Oh, “the term “welding” as used herein mainly means laser welding, and examples of a laser used for welding may include, but are not limited to, CO2 laser, fiber laser, disk laser, semiconductor laser, and/or yttrium aluminum garnet (YAG) laser.”, see [0040]).
The examiner takes note of the fact that the prior art range of 20 μm to 5,000 μm broadly overlaps the claimed range of 0.03 mm or more. Absent any additional and more specific information in the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Peterson, 315F.3d 1325, 1330, 65 USPQ2d 1379 (Fed. Cir. 2003). MPEP 2144.05.
Regarding Claim 19,
Modified Minamitani teaches the manufacturing method of the cooling structure according to claim 16, wherein before the laser welding, the press forming member and the flow path upper lid are spot-welded at a portion to be subjected to the laser welding or in the vicinity of the portion to be subjected to the laser welding (Minamitani, “151 of the bottom wall 111 of the tray member 10 and the cover member 15 are integrally secured by thermal welding (heat-bonding) to seal in a liquid-tight or in an airtight manner (Fin Heat-fusing Step)”, see [0110])(The examiner notes that the welding Minamitani teaches is treated as spot welding) , so that a gap between the press forming member and the flow path upper lid at the portion to be subjected to the laser welding or in the vicinity of the portion to be subjected to the laser welding is 0.03 mm or more (Minamitani, “Note that as the heat-fusible layer 52, it is preferable to use a heat-fusible layer having a thickness of 20 μm to 5,000 μm, more preferably 30 μm to 80 μm.”, see [0074])(The examiner maps the layer as a spacer).
Claims 7,11- 12, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (US-20210199384-A1) hereinafter referred to as ‘Minamitani’ in view of (US-20190058182-A1) hereinafter referred to as ‘Pozin’ in view of (US-20200251692-A1) hereinafter referred to as ‘Oh’ in view of (US-20200393069-A1) hereinafter referred to as ‘Sachdev’
Regarding Claim 7,
Modified Minamitani does not teach the cooling structure according to claim 6, wherein the spacer is a projection formed by deforming the flow path upper lid or the press forming member.
Sachdev teaches the cooling structure according to claim 6, wherein the spacer is a projection formed by deforming the flow path upper lid or the press forming member (Sachdev, “FIG. 9 illustrates that the inflating can inflate the first substrate 20 to form a first single-sided channel 60 having a height h, the second substrate 22 to form a second single-sided channel 62 having a height h, or both the first substrate 20 and the second substrate 22 to form a double-sided channel 64 having a height H”, see [0054]).
Sachdev teaches that this deformation reduces the design complexity (Sachdev, “This embodiment can be beneficial as only one of the first substrate 20 and the second substrate 22 would need to have the raised portion, potentially reducing the design complexity.”, see [0055]).
Minamitani and Sachdev are analogous as they are both of the same field of cooling plates.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the plate as taught in Minamitani to form a spacer by the deformation of a flow path upper lid as taught in Sachdev in order to reduce the design complexity of the cooling plate.
Regarding Claim 11,
Modified Minamitani does not teach wherein the laser weld includes a flow path outer edge weld surrounding all the flow paths, and a start position and an end position of the laser weld are excluded from the flow path outer edge weld.
Sachdev teaches wherein the laser weld includes a flow path outer edge weld surrounding all the flow paths, and a start position and an end position of the laser weld are excluded from the flow path outer edge weld (Sachdev, “FIG. 8 illustrates that an outer laser weld 26 can be selectively located around one or more perimeters of cooling channel 58 as an additional line of defense against leakage of the coolant from the cooling channel 58 during use.”, see [0052]).
Sachdev teaches that this prevents the leakage of coolant (Sachdev, “FIG. 8 illustrates that an outer laser weld 26 can be selectively located around one or more perimeters of cooling channel 58 as an additional line of defense against leakage of the coolant from the cooling channel 58 during use.”, see [0052]).
Modified Minamitani are analogous as they are both of the same field of cooling plates.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the laser weld taught in Modified Minamitani to be formed around the perimeter surrounding the flow paths as taught in Sachdev in order to prevent the leakage of coolant.
Regarding Claim 12,
Modified Minamitani does not teach wherein a start position, and an end position of the laser weld are omitted from the cooling structure.
Sachdev teaches wherein a start position, and an end position of the laser weld are omitted from the cooling structure. (Sachdev, “FIG. 8 illustrates that an outer laser weld 26 can be selectively located around one or more perimeters of cooling channel 58 as an additional line of defense against leakage of the coolant from the cooling channel 58 during use.”, see [0052]).
Sachdev teaches that this prevents the leakage of coolant (Sachdev, “FIG. 8 illustrates that an outer laser weld 26 can be selectively located around one or more perimeters of cooling channel 58 as an additional line of defense against leakage of the coolant from the cooling channel 58 during use.”, see [0052]).
Modified Minamitani are analogous as they are both of the same field of cooling plates.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the laser weld taught in Modified Minamitani to be formed around the perimeter surrounding the flow paths as taught in Sachdev in order to prevent the leakage of coolant.
Regarding Claim 18,
Modified Minamitani does not teach wherein the spacer is a projection formed by deforming the flow path upper lid or the press forming member.
Sachdev teaches the cooling structure according to claim 6, wherein the spacer is a projection formed by deforming the flow path upper lid or the press forming member (Sachdev, “FIG. 9 illustrates that the inflating can inflate the first substrate 20 to form a first single-sided channel 60 having a height h, the second substrate 22 to form a second single-sided channel 62 having a height h, or both the first substrate 20 and the second substrate 22 to form a double-sided channel 64 having a height H”, see [0054]).
Sachdev teaches that this deformation reduces the design complexity (Sachdev, “This embodiment can be beneficial as only one of the first substrate 20 and the second substrate 22 would need to have the raised portion, potentially reducing the design complexity.”, see [0055]).
Minamitani and Sachdev are analogous as they are both of the same field of cooling plates.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the plate as taught in Minamitani to form a spacer by the deformation of a flow path upper lid as taught in Sachdev in order to reduce the design complexity of the cooling plate.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (US-20210199384-A1) hereinafter referred to as ‘Minamitani’ in view of (US-20190058182-A1) hereinafter referred to as ‘Pozin’ in view of (US-20190366877-A1) hereinafter referred to as ‘Blersch’
Regarding Claim 13,
Modified Minamitani does not teach the cooling structure according to claim 1 ,wherein a bead height of the laser weld in the flow path upper lid is 0.3 mm or less .
Blersch teaches wherein a bead height of the laser weld in the flow path upper lid is 0.3 mm or less (Blersch, “In the unwelded state, the thickness of each of the metal sections 2 a, 2 b is 0.2 to 1.5 mm, ” see [0069]))(The examiner notes that the wall is welded to the thickness as seen in Fig. 2C)
The examiner takes note of the fact that the prior art range of 0.2 to 1.5 mm broadly overlaps the claimed range of 0.3 mm or less. Absent any additional and more specific information in the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Peterson, 315F.3d 1325, 1330, 65 USPQ2d 1379 (Fed. Cir. 2003). MPEP 2144.05.
Blersch teaches that thin metal walls allow for reduction of the inflation of the cavity (Blersch, “These islands are useful both for flow guidance and for stabilizing the plates, in particular when these are made of thin-walled metal sheet, since an “inflation” of the cavity is thereby avoided.”, see [0029]).
Modified Minimitani and Blersch are analogous as they are both of the same field of welding.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the weld thickness as taught in Modified Minimitani to be the thickness as taught in Blersch in order to reduce the inflation of the welding cavities.
Conclusion
/S.P.M./Examiner, Art Unit 1752
/NICHOLAS A SMITH/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1752