DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: 22, 23, and H. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the features of "an internally threaded hole" and "having a securing female thread offset from a female thread of the internally threaded hole" in claim 1, must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
In Paragraphs 0042-0043, “Fig. 1” is unclear
In Paragraph 0043, “Fig. 4” is unclear
In Paragraphs 0043-0044, “Fig. 2” is unclear
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 2-3 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 2, line 6, “a thickness” should read “the thickness”
In claim 2, lines 6-7, “a free end” should read “the free end”
In claim 3, lines 5-6, “ a securing female thread” should read “the securing female thread”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-5 and 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The Examiner notes the claims appear to have numerous 112(b) rejections and respectfully requests Applicant to carefully review all claims in their entirety and correct appropriately; a non-exhaust list is as follows:
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the nut body" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purpose of examination, claim 1 will be read as “a nut body”.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the screw nut" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purpose of examination, claim 1 will be read as “the securing nut”.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the axial direction" in line 8. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purpose of examination, claim 1 will be read as “an axial direction”.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the circumferential direction" in line 14. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purpose of examination, claim 1 will be read as “a circumferential direction”.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the distance" in lines 16-17. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purpose of examination, claim 1 will be read as “a distance”.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the ratio" in line 19. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purpose of examination, claim 1 will be read as “a ratio”.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the area" in line 20. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purpose of examination, claim 1 will be read as “an area”.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "the thickness (S1, S2)" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purpose of examination, claim 2 will be examined as best understood.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "the length" in line 9. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purpose of examination, claim 2 will be read as “a length”.
Claim 3 recites the limitation "the thicknes" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purpose of examination, claim 3 will be examined as best understood.
Claim 3 recites the limitation "the pitch" in line . There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purpose of examination, claim 3 will be read as “a pitch”.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "the radial direction" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purpose of examination, claim 4 will be read as “a radial direction”.
Claim 5 recites the limitation "a hollow cylindrical end portion (42) " in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purpose of examination, claim 5 will be examined as best understood.
Claim 11 recites the limitation "the end portion (42) " in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purpose of examination, claim 11 will be examined as best understood.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-5, and 9-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Danforth (US2289828A), hereinafter "Danforth".
Regarding claim 1, as best understood, Danforth teaches a screw-nut blank (see Fig 5) for producing (see Figs 5-8, Pg 1, Col 1, line 55 - Pg 2, Col 1, line 2) a securing nut (see Fig 8), the securing nut (see Fig 8) having a shaped collar (Fig 8, diaphragm 28) formed in one piece (see Figs 5-8, Pg 1, Col 1, line 55 - Pg 2, Col 1, line 2) with the nut body (see Fig 8, Examiner notes a body of the nut as the nut body) on an end surface (see Fig 8, Examiner notes an end surface of the nut adjacent diaphragm 28 as on an end surface) of the screw nut (see Fig 8), the shaped collar (28) having an inner end surface (see Fig 8, Examiner notes an inner end surface of diaphragm 28 concentric with a threaded bore of the nut body as having an inner end surface) concentric (see Fig 8) with an internally threaded hole (see Fig 8, Pg 1, Col 2, line 45 - Pg 2, Col 1, line 2, Examiner notes the threaded bore of the nut as with an internally threaded hole) of the nut body (see Fig 8), the shaped collar (28) having a distance (see Fig 8) from the internally threaded hole (see Fig 8) in the axial direction (see Fig 8, Examiner notes an axial direction of the nut as in the axial direction) and having a securing female thread (see Fig 8, Examiner notes a female thread of diaphragm 28 as having a securing female thread) offset (see Fig 8) from a female thread (see Fig 8, Pg 1, Col 2, line 45 - Pg 2, Col 1, line 2) of the internally threaded hole (see Fig 8),
the screw-nut blank (see Fig 5) having an axially extending (see Fig 5) ring collar (Fig 5, collar 24) serving to form (see Figs 5-8, Pg 1, Col 2, lines 35-44) the shaped collar (28) by reshaping (see Figs 5-8, Pg 1, Col 2, lines 35-44), and the ring collar (24) having a constant contour (see Fig 4) in the circumferential direction (see Fig 4) and a cross-sectional shape (see Fig 5) which increases (see Fig 5) in the axial direction (see Fig 8) as the distance (see Fig 8) from the end surface (see Fig 8) increases (see Fig 5), wherein
the ratio of a thickness (see Fig 9, Examiner notes a thickness of collar 24 near groove 26 as a thickness) of the ring collar (24) in the area of transition (see Fig 9, Examiner notes an area of the nut between collar 24 and the nut body as in the area of transition) toward the end surface (see Fig 8) to a thickness (see Fig 9, Examiner notes a thickness of collar 24 distal groove 26 as a thickness) of the ring collar (24) at a free end (see Fig 5, Examiner notes an end of collar 24 distal from bore 12 as at a free end) serving to form (see Fig 8) the inner end surface (see Fig 8) is between 0.45 and 0.75 (see Fig 9, Examiner notes a ratio of a thickness of the collar 24 near groove 26 and a thickness of the collar distal groove 26 as the ratio of a thickness of the ring collar in the area of transition toward the end surface to a thickness of the ring collar at a free end serving to form the inner end surface is between 0.45 and 0.75).
Regarding claim 3, as best understood, Danforth teaches the screw-nut blank (see Fig 5) according to claim 1 and further teaches wherein the thickness (see Fig 9, Examiner notes the thickness of collar 24 distal groove 26 as the thickness) of the ring collar (24) at the free end (see Fig 5) is 0.8 to 1.5 times (see Fig 8) the pitch (see Fig 8, Examiner notes a pitch of the female thread of diaphragm 28 as the pitch) of a securing female thread (see Fig 8) to be formed (see Figs 5-8) on the ring collar (24) reshaped (see Figs 5-8) into the shaped collar (28).
Regarding claim 4, as best understood, Danforth teaches the screw-nut blank (see Fig 5) according to claim 1 and further teaches wherein in the radial direction (see Fig 4), the ring collar (24) is disposed (see Fig 5) between two shoulder portions (see Fig 5, Examiner notes collar 24 between inner and outer shoulder portions as between two shoulder portions) of the end surface (see Fig 8) which slope (see Fig 5) to both sides (see Fig 5).
Regarding claim 5, as best understood, Danforth teaches the screw-nut blank (see Fig 5) according to claim 1 and further teaches wherein the ring collar (24) has a hollow cylindrical end portion (see Figs 4-5) adjacent (see Fig 5) to and/or extending (see Fig 5) from the free end (see Fig 5).
Regarding claim 9, as best understood, Danforth teaches the screw-nut blank (see Fig 5) according to claim 1 and further teaches wherein the cross-sectional shape (see Fig 5) is a conical cross-sectional shape (see Fig 5).
Regarding claim 10, as best understood, Danforth teaches the screw-nut blank (see Fig 5) according to claim 1 and further teaches wherein the ratio (see Fig 9) is between 0.5 and 0.7 (see Fig 9, Examiner notes the ratio of the thickness of the collar 24 near groove 26 and the thickness of the collar distal groove 26 as the ratio is between 0.5 and 0.7).
Regarding claim 11, as best understood, Danforth teaches the screw-nut blank (see Fig 5) according to claim 5 and further teaches wherein the end portion (see Figs 4-5) has an axial dimension (see Figs 4-5) of up to half (see Figs 4-5 and 8) a securing thread (see Fig 8) to be formed (see Figs 5-8) later on the ring collar (24) reshaped (see Figs 5-8) into the shaped collar (28).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Danforth.
Regarding claim 2, as best understood, Danforth teaches the screw-nut blank (see Fig 5) according to claim 1 but fails to teach wherein the ratio of the thickness of the ring collar in the area of transition toward the end surface to a thickness of the ring collar at a free end serving to form the inner end surface is between 0.1 per millimeter in length to 0.15 per millimeter in length with respect to the length of the ring collar between the area of transition and the end surface.
It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to have modified the ratio of the thickness of the ring collar in the area of transition toward the end surface to a thickness of the ring collar at a free end serving to form the inner end surface as disclosed by Danforth to be between 0.1 per millimeter in length to 0.15 per millimeter in length with respect to the length of the ring collar between the area of transition and the end surface, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. MPEP 2144.04 (IV)(A). The rationale for supporting this conclusion of obviousness is to provide dimensions based on application and use requirements, e.g. torque requirements.
Conclusion
/J.W./Examiner, Art Unit 3675 /KRISTINA R FULTON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3675