DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Claims 1-5 and 11 have been amended. Therefore, claims 1-5 and 9-11 remain pending in the application. Applicant’s amendments to the Drawings, Specification, and Claims have overcome a majority of objections and 112(b) rejections previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed May 14, 2026. However, an unaddressed objection and 112(b) rejection are maintained and are as set forth below.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the features of "an internally threaded hole" and "having a securing female thread offset from a female thread of the internally threaded hole" in claim 1 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "the thickness (S1, S2)" in lines 4 and 6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purpose of examination, claim 2 will be read as “the thickness (S1)” and “the thickness (S2)”, in lines 4 and 6, respectively.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-5, and 9-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Danforth (US2289828A), hereinafter "Danforth".
Regarding claim 1, Danforth teaches a screw-nut blank (see Fig 5) for producing (see Figs 5-8, Pg 1, Col 1, line 55 - Pg 2, Col 1, line 2) a securing nut (see Fig 8), the securing nut (see Fig 8) having a shaped collar (Fig 8, diaphragm 28) formed in one piece (see Figs 5-8, Pg 1, Col 1, line 55 - Pg 2, Col 1, line 2) with a nut body (see Fig 8, Examiner notes a body of the nut as a nut body) on an end surface (see Fig 8, Examiner notes an end surface of the nut adjacent diaphragm 28 as on an end surface) of the securing nut (see Fig 8), the shaped collar (28) having an inner end surface (see Fig 8, Examiner notes an inner end surface of diaphragm 28 concentric with a threaded bore of the nut body as having an inner end surface) concentric (see Fig 8) with an internally threaded hole (see Fig 8, Pg 1, Col 2, line 45 - Pg 2, Col 1, line 2, Examiner notes the threaded bore of the nut as with an internally threaded hole) of the nut body (see Fig 8), the shaped collar (28) having a distance (see Fig 8) from the internally threaded hole (see Fig 8) in an axial direction (see Fig 8, Examiner notes an axial direction of the nut as in an axial direction) and having a securing female thread (see Fig 8, Examiner notes a female thread of diaphragm 28 as having a securing female thread) offset (see Fig 8) from a female thread (see Fig 8, Pg 1, Col 2, line 45 - Pg 2, Col 1, line 2) of the internally threaded hole (see Fig 8),
the screw-nut blank (see Fig 5) having an axially extending (see Fig 5) ring collar (Fig 5, collar 24) serving to form (see Figs 5-8, Pg 1, Col 2, lines 35-44) the shaped collar (28) by reshaping (see Figs 5-8, Pg 1, Col 2, lines 35-44), and the ring collar (24) having a constant contour (see Fig 4) in a circumferential direction (see Fig 4) and a cross-sectional shape (see Fig 5) which increases (see Fig 5) in the axial direction (see Fig 8) as a distance (see Fig 8) from the end surface (see Fig 8) increases (see Fig 5), wherein
a ratio of a thickness (see Fig 9, Examiner notes a thickness of collar 24 near groove 26 as a thickness) of the ring collar (24) in an area of transition (see Fig 9, Examiner notes an area of the nut between collar 24 and the nut body as in an area of transition) toward the end surface (see Fig 8) to a thickness (see Fig 9, Examiner notes a thickness of collar 24 distal groove 26 as a thickness) of the ring collar (24) at a free end (see Fig 5, Examiner notes an end of collar 24 distal from bore 12 as at a free end) serving to form (see Fig 8) the inner end surface (see Fig 8) is between 0.45 and 0.75 (see Fig 9, Examiner notes a ratio of a thickness of the collar 24 near groove 26 and a thickness of the collar distal groove 26 as a ratio of a thickness of the ring collar in an area of transition toward the end surface to a thickness of the ring collar at a free end serving to form the inner end surface is between 0.45 and 0.75).
Regarding claim 3, Danforth teaches the screw-nut blank (see Fig 5) according to claim 1 and further teaches wherein the thickness (see Fig 9, Examiner notes the thickness of collar 24 distal groove 26 as the thickness) of the ring collar (24) at the free end (see Fig 5) is 0.8 to 1.5 times (see Fig 8) a pitch (see Fig 8, Examiner notes a pitch of the female thread of diaphragm 28 as a pitch) of the securing female thread (see Fig 8) to be formed (see Figs 5-8) on the ring collar (24) reshaped (see Figs 5-8) into the shaped collar (28).
Regarding claim 4, Danforth teaches the screw-nut blank (see Fig 5) according to claim 1 and further teaches wherein in a radial direction (see Fig 4), the ring collar (24) is disposed (see Fig 5) between two shoulder portions (see Fig 5, Examiner notes collar 24 between inner and outer shoulder portions as between two shoulder portions) of the end surface (see Fig 8) which slope (see Fig 5) to both sides (see Fig 5).
Regarding claim 5, Danforth teaches the screw-nut blank (see Fig 5) according to claim 1 and further teaches wherein the ring collar (24) has a hollow cylindrical end portion (see Figs 4-5) adjacent (see Fig 5) to and/or extending (see Fig 5) from the free end (see Fig 5).
Regarding claim 9, Danforth teaches the screw-nut blank (see Fig 5) according to claim 1 and further teaches wherein the cross-sectional shape (see Fig 5) is a conical cross-sectional shape (see Fig 5).
Regarding claim 10, Danforth teaches the screw-nut blank (see Fig 5) according to claim 1 and further teaches wherein the ratio (see Fig 9) is between 0.5 and 0.7 (see Fig 9, Examiner notes the ratio of the thickness of the collar 24 near groove 26 and the thickness of the collar distal groove 26 as the ratio is between 0.5 and 0.7).
Regarding claim 11, Danforth teaches the screw-nut blank (see Fig 5) according to claim 5 and further teaches wherein the hollow cylindrical end portion (see Figs 4-5) has an axial dimension (see Figs 4-5) of up to half (see Figs 4-5 and 8) a securing thread (see Fig 8) to be formed (see Figs 5-8) later on the ring collar (24) reshaped (see Figs 5-8) into the shaped collar (28).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Danforth.
Regarding claim 2, as best understood, Danforth teaches the screw-nut blank (see Fig 5) according to claim 1 but fails to teach wherein the ratio of the thickness of the ring collar in the area of transition toward the end surface to the thickness of the ring collar at the free end serving to form the inner end surface is between 0.1 per millimeter in length to 0.15 per millimeter in length with respect to a length of the ring collar between the area of transition and the end surface.
It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to have modified the ratio of the thickness of the ring collar in the area of transition toward the end surface to the thickness of the ring collar at the free end serving to form the inner end surface as disclosed by Danforth to be between 0.1 per millimeter in length to 0.15 per millimeter in length with respect to a length of the ring collar between the area of transition and the end surface, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. MPEP 2144.04 (IV)(A). The rationale for supporting this conclusion of obviousness is to provide dimensions based on application and use requirements, e.g. torque requirements.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed August 14, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. With respect to Pgs 8-9 of Applicant’s Remarks/Arguments filed August 14, 2026, Applicant argues that Danforth does not disclose or suggest at least the ratio S1/S2 as recited in the claims as being between 0.45 and 0.75, specifically, Applicant argues that while Danforth may generally reveal a tapering or widening of a shaped collar, the specific, required ratio between 0.45 and 0.75 cannot be considered to be disclosed from the not-to-scale figures or other disclosures in Danforth. The Examiner agrees that Danforth reveals a tapering or widening of a shaped collar, however, the Examiner respectfully disagrees that the specific, required ratio between 0.45 and 0.75 cannot be considered to be disclosed from the not-to-scale figures or other disclosures in Danforth. Specifically, the Examiner notes Applicant’s claim 1 merely recites “a ratio of a thickness of the ring collar in an area of transition toward the end surface to a thickness of the ring collar at a free end serving to form the inner end surface is between 0.45 and 0.75”, i.e. thickness S1 can be selected in any area of transition toward the end surface. Accordingly, as set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed May 14, 2026 and as set forth above, a ratio of a thickness of the collar 24 near groove 26 and a thickness of the collar distal groove 26 teaches the specific, required ratio between 0.45 and 0.75.
With respect to Pgs 9-10 of Applicant’s Remarks/Arguments, Applicant argues this ratio is not an arbitrary limitation in the claims and that the resulting outer surface and/or inner surface of the formed flange has a flat contour or surface and, in particular, one free of indentations or misalignment over its entire circumference. In response to Applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which Applicant relies (i.e., the resulting outer surface and/or inner surface of the formed flange has a flat contour or surface and, in particular, one free of indentations or misalignment over its entire circumference) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/J.W./Examiner, Art Unit 3675 /KRISTINA R FULTON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3675