DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the means configured to offset the compacting element to either the first side of the pipe or the second side of the pipe, when connected to an excavator arm such that the excavator arm remains aligned with the second axis (claim 10); wherein the means configured to offset the single elongate powered compacting element comprises a sliding rail (claim 11); and, wherein the single elongate powered compacting element is hingeable at one or more points along its length (claim 12) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: means configured to offset the compacting element in claim 10 and means configured to offset the single elongate powered compacting element in claim 11.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1 (hence claims 2-12) and claim 21 (hence claim 22) are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1, lines 10-12, the recitation of “the compacting element simultaneously compacts the aggregate material to a pre-defined minimum density about the bed, about a first side of the pipe, and about a second side of the pipe” (emphasis added) appears to be incorrect and mis-leading, thus rendering the claims indefinite. The single compacting element would not be able to “simultaneously” compact the aggregate material about a first side and about a second side of the pipe. The single compacting element would only be able to compact a first side of the pipe, then afterwards a second side of the pipe, but not simultaneously.
As to claim 21, claim 21 appears to be redundant with respect to claim 20.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Insofar as understood, claim(s) 1, 7-9, and 19-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gately (US 2018/0371721).
As to claim 1, Gately discloses (see para [0053]) a compactor apparatus 3 for compacting aggregate
material about a pipe in a trench comprising:
a single elongated powered compacting element 7, wherein
the compacting element 7 is oriented along a first axis that is approximately
perpendicular to a second axis that runs through the center and along a length of a pipe
that is seated in a trench,
the compacting element 7 is configured to be moveable in a reciprocating
motion along the length of a pipe disposed on a bed of aggregate material,
the compacting element 7 simultaneously compacts the aggregate material
to a pre-defined minimum density about the bed, about a first side of the pipe, and
about a second side of the pipe, wherein the first side and the second side of the pipe
run along a length of the pipe, and wherein
compacting the aggregate material maintains a pipe gradient, wherein, in
use, the compacting element is submerged beneath the aggregate material at all times
when compacting the aggregate.
As to claim 7, Gately discloses (see para [0057]) wherein the compacting element has stroke reciprocating distance of about 50 mm.
As to claim 8, Gately discloses (see para [0055]) wherein compactor element reciprocates at a frequency that can be adjusted.
As to claim 9, Gately discloses (see para [0079]) wherein the pipe is at least 400 mm in diameter.
As to claim 19, Gately discloses (see para [0053] and [0078]) method for compacting aggregate about a pipe having a predetermined pipe gradient: the method comprising:
inserting a single elongated powered compacting element 7 beneath a surface of
an aggregate material that partially surrounds a first side, a bottom, and a second side
of a pipe having a gradient relative to surrounding ground;
providing a reciprocating motion to the single elongated powered compacting
element 7 to compact the aggregate material on the first side of the pipe. while
maintaining the single elongated powered compacting element submerged beneath the
surface of the aggregate material at all times when compacting the aggregate:
extracting the single elongated powered compacting element from beneath the
surface when the aggregate material is compacted to a pre-defined minimum density
about the bottom and the sides of the pipe along a length of the pipe to maintain the
pipe gradient.
As to claim 20, Gately discloses (see para [0053] and [0078]) moving the single elongate powered compacting element 7 along the length of the pipe about the first side of the pipe before extracting the single elongate powered compacting element from beneath the aggregate surface;
inserting a single elongated powered compacting element beneath the surface
of the aggregate material about the second side of the pipe; moving the single elongate powered compacting element along the length of the pipe about the second side of the pipe while providing a reciprocating motion to the single elongated powered compacting element to compact the aggregate material on the second side of the pipe, while maintaining the single elongated powered compacting element submerged beneath the surface of the aggregate material at all times when compacting the aggregate on the second side of the pipe.
As to claim 21, Gately discloses (see para [0053] and [0078]) moving the single elongate powered compacting element 7 along the length of the
pipe about the first side of the pipe before extracting the single elongate powered
compacting element from beneath the aggregate surface;
inserting a single elongated powered compacting element beneath the surface
of the aggregate material about the second side of the pipe;
moving the single elongate powered compacting element along the length of the
pipe about the second side of the pipe while providing a reciprocating motion to the
single elongated powered compacting element to compact the aggregate material on the second side of the pipe, while maintaining the single elongated powered compacting
element submerged beneath the surface of the aggregate material at all times when
compacting the aggregate on the second side of the pipe.
As to claim 22, Gately discloses (see para [0063] and [0079]) wherein the single elongated powered compacting element 7 is submerged beneath the depth of the aggregate at a depth of approximately 150 mm, and wherein the pipe has a diameter of at least 400 mm.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-6, 10, and 15-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gately (US 2018/0371721) in view of Schrode (US 7,107,711).
As to claim 2, Gately discloses all that is claimed except a rotator mechanically coupled to the compacting element, wherein the rotator element is configured to rotate the compacting element from the first side of the pipe to the second side of the pipe. Schrode discloses a compactor apparatus comprising a rotator element 22. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a rotator element as disclosed by Schrode, since doing so provides the expected benefit of rotating the compacting element to compact a desired side of a pipeline in a trench.
As to claim 3, Gately discloses all that is claimed wherein the rotator element is configured to rotate from a central position through an angle of at least 90 degrees in a first direction for positioning the compacting element alongside the first side of the pipe and through an angle of at least 90 degrees in a second direction for positioning the single compacting element alongside the second side of the pipe. Schrode discloses a compactor apparatus comprising a rotator element 22 capable of rotating through an angle of 90 degrees. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a rotator element as disclosed by Schrode, since doing so provides the expected benefit of rotating the compacting element to compact a desired side of a pipeline in a trench.
As to claim 4, Schrode further discloses wherein the compactor apparatus is integrated into a quick hitch coupler 14.
As to claim 5, both Gately and Schrode disclose wherein the compactor apparatus is coupled to a hydraulic circuit of an excavator arm.
As to claim 6, Gately and Schrode disclose hose connections. However, Gately and Schrode disclose all that is claimed except for wherein (a) the compactor apparatus further comprises two-hose connections. and (b) the compactor apparatus is coupled to the hydraulic circuit of an excavator arm via the two hose connections. Again, Gately and Schrode are silent to the number of hose connections; however, Gately discloses (see para [0053]) the use of hydraulic, pneumatic, and electrical connections. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide two hose connections, since doing so provides the expected benefit of powering excavator tools via hydraulic, pneumatic, and/or electrical sources.
As to claim 10, Gately discloses all that is claimed except the compactor apparatus further comprising means configured to offset the compacting element to either the first side of the pipe or the second side of the pipe, when connected to an excavator arm such that the excavator arm remains aligned with the second axis. Schrode discloses a compactor apparatus comprising means 22 configured to offset the compacting element. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide means configured to offset the compacting element as disclosed by Schrode, since doing so provides the expected benefit of rotating the compacting element to compact a desired side of a pipeline in a trench.
As to claim 15, Gately discloses compactor apparatus 3 for compacting of aggregate material about a pipe in a trench comprising:
(a) a single compacting element 7, wherein
(i)the compacting element comprises a rod 7 with a rod length and a head 30 at a first end of the rod,
(ii)the rod length of the compacting element is oriented along a first axis that is
approximately perpendicular to a second axis that runs through the center and along a
length of a pipe that is seated in a trench,
(iii)an aggregate material (see para [0053]) at least partially surrounds a first side of the pipe, a bottom of the pipe, and a second side of the pipe, and wherein
(iv)the compacting element 3 is mechanically coupled to a power source (see para [0053]) that is configured to reciprocate the compacting element along the first axis while the compacting element is either submerged in the aggregate material on the first side of the pipe or submerged in the aggregate material second side of the pipe.
Gately does not disclose the rotator mechanically coupled to the compacting element, wherein the rotator element is configured to rotate the compacting element from the first side of the pipe to the second side of the pipe.
Schrode discloses a compactor apparatus comprising a rotator element 22. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a rotator element as disclosed by Schrode, since doing so provides the expected benefit of rotating the compacting element to compact a desired side of a pipeline in a trench.
As to claim 16, Gately discloses (see para [0053]) wherein the power source is selected from a hydraulic power source, an electrical power source, or a pneumatic power source.
As to claim 17, Schrode further discloses wherein the compacting element and rotator 22 are coupled to an excavator arm 12.
As to claim 18, Gately and Schrode disclose hose connections. However, Gately and Schrode disclose all that is claimed except for wherein (a) the compactor apparatus further comprises two-hose connections. and (b) the compactor apparatus is coupled to the hydraulic circuit of an excavator arm via the two hose connections. Again, Gately and Schrode are silent to the number of hose connections; however, Gately discloses (see para [0053]) the use of hydraulic, pneumatic, and electrical connections. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide two hose connections, since doing so provides the expected benefit of powering excavator tools via hydraulic, pneumatic, and/or electrical sources.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11 and 12 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
As to claim 11, the prior art of record fails to show or suggest wherein the means configured to offset the single elongate powered compacting element comprises a sliding rail.
As to claim 12, the prior art of record fails to show or suggest wherein the single elongate powered compacting element is hingeable at one or more points along its length.
Conclusion
/FREDERICK L LAGMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3678