DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 6 contains the limitation “preferably” and therefore it is unknown if the limitations that follow are required or not.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Slatin (US 2861030 A) as submitted on Applicant's Information Disclosure Statement filed 7 November 2023.
In regards to claim(s) 1, Slatin discloses a method for preparing metallic titanium (col. 1, lines 28-46) by molten salt electrolysis reduction of titanium dioxide (col. 1, lines 28-46),
wherein the method is implemented with an electrolytic cell (Fig. 1); the electrolytic cell comprises an anode chamber (reductor compartment, where reductor electrolyte 31 is; col. 2, lines 49-50) and a cathode chamber (refining compartment, where refiner electrolyte 32 is; col. 3, lines 9-10), the anode chamber is filled with an anodic molten salt electrolyte (31) and inserted with an anode (36), the cathode chamber is filled with a cathodic molten salt electrolyte (32) and inserted with a cathode (44), and a liquid alloy (liquid alloy bipolar electrode 15; col. 1, lines 28-46), is accommodated at an inner bottom of the electrolytic cell; the anodic molten salt electrolyte and the cathodic molten salt electrolyte are connected through the liquid alloy without contacting with each other (divided by 30/33/34; col. 2, lines 37-48); and the method comprises: adding titanium dioxide to the anode chamber (col. 4, lines 39-41) and powering on the electrolytic cell (col. 4, lines 58-62), the titanium dioxide in the anode chamber is reduced into titanium atoms at an interface between the anodic molten salt electrolyte and the liquid alloy and dissolved in the liquid alloy (col. 4, lines 72-75), the titanium atoms in the liquid alloy are oxidized into titanium ions at an interface between the liquid alloy and the cathodic molten salt electrolyte and enter the cathodic molten salt electrolyte, and the titanium ions to be reduced into titanium atoms on a surface of the cathode, thereby forming the metallic titanium (col. 6, lines 11-48).
In regards to claim(s) 2, Slatin discloses both the anolyte and the catholyte as halide molten salts (col. 11, lines 11-17).
In regards to claim(s) 3, Slatin discloses CaCl2 as anolyte (col. 11, lines 11-17).
In regards to claim(s) 4, Slatin discloses the catholyte comprising TiCl2, NaCl and CaCl2 (col. 11, lines 13-29).
In regards to claim(s) 5, Slatin discloses a graphite anode (col. 2, lines 49-50) and a molybdenum cathode (col. 4, lines 45-52).
In regards to claim(s) 6, Slatin discloses Ti-Cu alloy (col. 11, lines 4-6).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Slatin in view of Hu (CN 104947152 A – see translation).
In regards to claim(s) 7, Slatin discloses an anode current density of below about 1.55 A/cm2 (col. 6, lines 70-74) and a temperature of 950°C (col. 11, lines 8-10).
However, Slatin does not disclose the wherein an area of the cathode is 1 to 20 times an area of the anode.
Hu pertains to electrolytic refining of titanium ([0004]) and is therefore in the same field of endeavor as Slatin. Hu discloses wherein the cathode current density is 0.05 A/cm2 and the anode current density is 0.45 A/cm2 ([0045]), which means that the cathode is 9 times larger than the anode. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the electrode sizes of Slatin with Hu’s electrode sizes because the substituted components were known, their functions were known in the art (to perform electrolysis to produce titanium), one of ordinary skill in the art could have substituted one known component for another and that the results of the substitution would have been predictable. See MPEP 2143 I (B).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-7 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-9 of copending Application No. 18/287658 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims of the reference application are slightly broader, wherein the feed material includes titanium raw material, which be titanium-containing slag or a titanium-rich slag (claim 2).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Johansen (US 20070215483 A1) discloses a system and method of electrolytic refining of metals wherein the lower molten alloy layer includes a metal more noble than the target produced metal (abstract).
/NICHOLAS A SMITH/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1752