Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 05/13/2026 with respect Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The Applicant argued that “the cited prior arts does not disclose the new limitations of the amended claim of “the grinding gas flow travels into the grinding chamber through open grinding gas nozzles at the constant operating pressure with no change in the discharge speed from the open grinding gas nozzles into the grinding chamber”.
In response to this argument, Kozawa discloses a spiral jet mill a spiral jet mill (fig.2: (4)), comprising:
a grinding chamber (fig.2: (20)) (abstract and paragraphs 0026-0037), which is delimited by a bottom (fig.2: (24)), a cover (fig.2: (22)), and a wall (fig.2: (28)) that connects the bottom and the cover;
a plurality of grinding gas nozzles (figs.2-3: (50)), wherein each of the grinding gas nozzles pass through the wall of the grinding chamber (figs.2-3), and
the each of the grinding gas nozzles is connected to a grinding gas source (fig.1: (8)) providing a constant operating pressure (paragraphs 0040: a predetermined pressure, paragraph 0050: a pressure of 0.7 MPa);
Kozawa does not disclose a plurality of switchable shut-off mechanisms, wherein each of the grinding gas nozzles includes an associated switchable shut-off mechanism of the plurality of shut-off mechanisms, which is able to independently open and close a connection to the grinding gas source; wherein regulation of the grinding gas flow into the grinding chamber per unit time is varied by changing a number of the grinding gas nozzles that are acted on with the grinding gas flow, and upon a decrease or increase in a number of opened switchable shut-off mechanisms, the grinding gas flow travels into the grinding chamber through open grinding gas nozzles at the constant operating pressure with no change in the discharge speed from the open grinding gas nozzles into the grinding chamber.
Van discloses a spiral jet mill (fig.1: (10)) (abstract and cols.2- col.4 line 3), comprising:
a grinding chamber (figs.1 and 4: (12)) which is delimited by a bottom (fig.4: (24)), a cover (fig.4: (22)), and a wall (fig.4: (26)) that connects the bottom and the cover; a plurality of grinding gas nozzles (fig.1: (28)), wherein each of the grinding gas nozzles pass through the wall of the grinding chamber (fig.1), and
the each of the grinding gas nozzles is connected to a grinding gas source (a manifold not shown: fluid under pressure);
a plurality of switchable shut-off mechanisms (fig.1: (40)), wherein each of the grinding gas nozzles includes an associated switchable shut-off mechanism of the plurality of shut-off mechanisms, which is able to independently open and close a connection to the grinding gas source (col.3 last 11 lines-col.4 line 3);
wherein regulation of the grinding gas flow into the grinding chamber per unit time is varied by changing a number of the grinding gas nozzles that are acted on with the grinding gas flow (each of the nozzles (28) having an independent switchable shut-off mechanism (fig.1: (40), so the number the nozzles (28) that act in the griding chamber can be changed “increased or decreased” by shutoff or turn on each of the individual of the nozzles (28) which effect the grinding gas flow into the grinding chamber per unit time), and
upon a decrease or increase in a number of opened switchable shut-off mechanisms, the grinding gas flow travels into the grinding chamber through open grinding gas nozzles with no change in the discharge speed from the open grinding gas nozzles into the grinding chamber (each of the nozzles (28) having an independent switchable shut-off mechanism (fig.1: (40), so the number the nozzles (28) that act in the griding chamber can be changed “increased or decreased”; so closing one of the individual independent nozzle will not affect the grinding gas flow travels into the grinding chamber through open grinding gas nozzles).
Both of the prior arts of Kozawa and Van are related to a jet mill grinding having gas nozzles;
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify each of the grinding gas nozzles of the apparatus of Kozawa to have switchable shut-off mechanism as taught by Van in order to vary the amount and intensity of the gases in the chamber in accordance with the material being treated (Van: col.3 last 11 lines-col.4 line 3); thereby having a plurality of switchable shut-off mechanisms, wherein each of the grinding gas nozzles includes an associated switchable shut-off mechanism of the plurality of shut-off mechanisms, which is able to independently open and close a connection to the grinding gas source; wherein regulation of the grinding gas flow into the grinding chamber per unit time is varied by changing a number of the grinding gas nozzles that are acted on with the grinding gas flow, and upon a decrease or increase in a number of opened switchable shut-off mechanisms, the grinding gas flow travels into the grinding chamber through open grinding gas nozzles at the constant operating pressure with no change in the discharge speed from the open grinding gas nozzles into the grinding chamber.
Accordingly, this argument is not percussive.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 9, 12, 24 and 28 objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 1, the phrase “a grinding chamber which is delimited by a bottom” should be changed to “a grinding chamber is delimited by a bottom”.
Regarding claim 9, the phrase “a grinding chamber which is delimited by a bottom” should be changed to “a grinding chamber is delimited by a bottom”.
Regarding claim 12, the phrase “a regular sequence of grinding gas nozzles are opened or closed in alternating fashion” should be changed to “a regular sequence of the grinding gas nozzles are opened or closed in alternating manner”.
Regarding claim 24, the phrase “a regular sequence of grinding gas nozzles are opened or closed in alternating fashion” should be changed to “a regular sequence of the grinding gas nozzles are opened or closed in alternating manner”.
Regarding claim 28, the phrase “a pressure in the grinding chamber” should be changed to “the pressure in the grinding chamber”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-4, 9-10, 12-14, 18, 20, 24-26 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Van (US3974574A) in view of Rowley (US5598979A).
Regarding claim 1, Van discloses a spiral jet mill (fig.1: (10)) (abstract and cols.2- col.4 line 3), comprising:
a grinding chamber (figs.1 and 4: (12)) which is delimited by a bottom (fig.4: (24)), a cover (fig.4: (22)), and a wall (fig.4: (26)) that connects the bottom and the cover; a plurality of grinding gas nozzles (fig.1: (28)), wherein each of the grinding gas nozzles pass through the wall of the grinding chamber (fig.1), and
the each of the grinding gas nozzles is connected to a grinding gas source (a manifold not shown: fluid under pressure);
a plurality of switchable shut-off mechanisms (fig.1: (40)), wherein each of the grinding gas nozzles includes an associated switchable shut-off mechanism of the plurality of shut-off mechanisms, which is able to independently open and close a connection to the grinding gas source (col.3 last 11 lines-col.4 line 3);
wherein regulation of the grinding gas flow into the grinding chamber per unit time is varied by changing a number of the grinding gas nozzles that are acted on with the grinding gas flow (each of the nozzles (28) having an independent switchable shut-off mechanism (fig.1: (40), so the number the nozzles (28) that act in the griding chamber can be changed “increased or decreased” by shutoff or turn on each of the individual of the nozzles (28) which effect the grinding gas flow into the grinding chamber per unit time), and
upon a decrease or increase in a number of opened switchable shut-off mechanisms, the grinding gas flow travels into the grinding chamber through open grinding gas nozzles with no change in the discharge speed from the open grinding gas nozzles into the grinding chamber (each of the nozzles (28) having an independent switchable shut-off mechanism (fig.1: (40), so the number the nozzles (28) that act in the griding chamber can be changed “increased or decreased”; so closing one of the individual independent nozzle will not affect the grinding gas flow travels into the grinding chamber through open grinding gas nozzles).
Van does not disclose providing a constant operating pressure; and at the constant operating pressure.
Rowley teaches a spiral jet mill (fig.1) (abstract and cols.2- col.4 line 3), comprising:
a grinding gas source providing a constant operating pressure (col.4 lines 10-27);
Both of the prior arts of Van and Rowley are related to a jet mill grinding having gas nozzles;
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the grinding gas source of Van to have providing a constant operating pressure as taught by Rowley, since it has been held that combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results requires only routine skill in the art. [KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S.Ct. 1727, 1742, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007)]. Thereby having the grinding gas flow travels into the grinding chamber through open grinding gas nozzles at the constant operating pressure with no change in the discharge speed from the open grinding gas nozzles into the grinding chamber.
Regarding claim 3, Van discloses wherein the grinding gas source communicates with the grinding gas nozzles by supply lines (fig.5: element (38) that connected to a manifold) that each lead to a respective grinding gas nozzle, wherein the switchable shut-off mechanism (fig.5: (38)) is provided in the supply lines.
Therefore, the modification of Van in view of Rowley teaches the limitations of claim 3.
Regarding claim 4, Van discloses wherein 3 to 40 grinding gas nozzles (fig.5: (40)) are provided.
Therefore, the modification of Van in view of Rowley teaches the limitations of claim 4.
Regarding claim 18, Van discloses wherein 3 to 40 grinding gas nozzles (fig.5: (40)) are provided.
Therefore, the modification of Van in view of Rowley teaches the limitations of claim 18.
Regarding claim 20, Van discloses wherein a control unit (fig.1: (54)) is provided for independently triggering the shut-off mechanisms.
Therefore, the modification of Van in view of Rowley teaches the limitations of claim 20.
Regarding claim 9, Van discloses a method for grinding milling materials in a spiral jet mill (fig.1: (10)) (abstract and cols.2- col.4 line 3),
wherein the spiral jet mill has a grinding chamber (figs.1 and 4: (12)) which is delimited by a bottom (fig.4: (24)), a cover (fig.4: (22)), and a wall (fig.4: (26)), the method comprising:
introducing (fig.1: (30)) the milling material into the grinding chamber;
introducing a grinding gas flow (a manifold not shown: fluid under pressure) into the grinding chamber to act on the milling material, wherein the grinding gas flow is introduced from a plurality of grinding gas nozzles (fig.1: (28)) that pass through the wall of the spiral jet mill; and
regulating the grinding gas flow within the grinding chamber by varying a number of the grinding gas nozzles that are acted on with the grinding gas flow (each of the nozzles (28) having an independent switchable shut-off mechanism (fig.1: (40), so the number the nozzles (28) that act in the griding chamber can be changed “increased or decreased” by shutoff or turn on each of the individual of the nozzles (28) which effect the grinding gas flow into the grinding chamber per unit time),
wherein upon a decrease or increase in a number of opened switchable shut-off mechanisms, the grinding gas flow travels into the grinding chamber through open grinding gas nozzles with no change in the discharge speed from the open grinding gas nozzles into the grinding chamber (each of the nozzles (28) having an independent switchable shut-off mechanism (fig.1: (40), so the number the nozzles (28) that act in the griding chamber can be changed “increased or decreased”; so closing one of the individual independent nozzle will not affect the grinding gas flow travels into the grinding chamber through open grinding gas nozzles).
Van does not disclose at a constant operating pressure
Rowley teaches a spiral jet mill (fig.1) (abstract and cols.2- col.4 line 3), comprising:
a grinding gas source providing a constant operating pressure (col.4 lines 10-27);
Both of the prior arts of Van and Rowley are related to a jet mill grinding having gas nozzles;
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the grinding gas source of Van to have providing a constant operating pressure as taught by Rowley, since it has been held that combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results requires only routine skill in the art. [KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S.Ct. 1727, 1742, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007)]. Thereby having the grinding gas flow travels into the grinding chamber through open grinding gas nozzles at a constant operating pressure with no change in the discharge speed from the open grinding gas nozzles into the grinding chamber.
Regarding claim 10, Van discloses wherein grinding gas nozzles (14) are opened and acted on by the grinding gas flow or closed and disconnected from the grinding gas flow separately and independently from the other grinding gas nozzles (fig.1: each nozzle (28) switchable shut-off mechanism (fig.1: (40)) (col.3 last 11 lines-col.4 line 3).
Therefore, the modification of Van in view of Rowley teaches the limitations of claim 10.
Regarding claim 12, Van discloses wherein viewed in the direction around the circumference of the wall, a regular sequence of grinding gas nozzles are opened or closed in alternating fashion (fig.1: each nozzle (28) switchable shut-off mechanism (fig.1: (40)) (col.3 last 11 lines-col.4 line 3).
Therefore, the modification of Van in view of Rowley teaches the limitations of claim 12.
Regarding claim 13, Van discloses wherein viewed in the direction around the circumference of the wall, a number of grinding gas nozzles adjacent to one another in sequence are closed or opened (fig.1: each nozzle (28) switchable shut-off mechanism (fig.1: (40)) (col.3 last 11 lines-col.4 line 3).
Therefore, the modification of Van in view of Rowley teaches the limitations of claim 13.
Regarding claim 14, Van discloses wherein the grinding gas nozzles are opened or closed during the time that the grinding chamber is being acted on with the grinding gas flow (fig.1: each nozzle (28) switchable shut-off mechanism (fig.1: (40)) (col.3 last 11 lines-col.4 line 3).
Therefore, the modification of Van in view of Rowley teaches the limitations of claim 14.
Regarding claim 24, Van discloses wherein viewed in the direction around the circumference of the wall, a regular sequence of grinding gas nozzles are opened or closed in alternating fashion (fig.1: each nozzle (28) switchable shut-off mechanism (fig.1: (40)) (col.3 last 11 lines-col.4 line 3).
Therefore, the modification of Van in view of Rowley teaches the limitations of claim 24.
Regarding claim 25, Van discloses wherein viewed in the direction around the circumference of the wall, a number of grinding gas nozzles adjacent to one another in sequence are closed or opened (fig.1: each nozzle (28) switchable shut-off mechanism (fig.1: (40)) (col.3 last 11 lines-col.4 line 3).
Therefore, the modification of Van in view of Rowley teaches the limitations of claim 25.
Regarding claim 26, Van discloses wherein the grinding gas nozzles are opened or closed during the time that the grinding chamber is being acted on with the grinding gas flow (fig.1: each nozzle (28) switchable shut-off mechanism (fig.1: (40)) (col.3 last 11 lines-col.4 line 3).
Therefore, the modification of Van in view of Rowley teaches the limitations of claim 26.
Regarding claim 28, Van discloses wherein the opening or closing of the grinding gas nozzles is varied as a function of the desired grain size of the milling material, the hardness of the milling material, and/or the pressure in the grinding chamber (fig.1: each nozzle (28) switchable shut-off mechanism (fig.1: (40)) (col.3 last 11 lines-col.4 line 3).
Therefore, the modification of Van in view of Rowley teaches the limitations of claim 28.
Claims 1, 3-4, 21 and 29-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kozawa (US20130341438A1) in view of Van (US3974574A).
Regarding claim 1, Kozawa discloses a spiral jet mill a spiral jet mill (fig.2: (4)), comprising:
a grinding chamber (fig.2: (20)) (abstract and paragraphs 0026-0037), which is delimited by a bottom (fig.2: (24)), a cover (fig.2: (22)), and a wall (fig.2: (28)) that connects the bottom and the cover;
a plurality of grinding gas nozzles (figs.2-3: (50)), wherein each of the grinding gas nozzles pass through the wall of the grinding chamber (figs.2-3), and
the each of the grinding gas nozzles is connected to a grinding gas source (fig.1: (8)) providing a constant operating pressure (paragraphs 0040: a predetermined pressure, paragraph 0050: a pressure of 0.7 MPa);
Kozawa does not disclose a plurality of switchable shut-off mechanisms, wherein each of the grinding gas nozzles includes an associated switchable shut-off mechanism of the plurality of shut-off mechanisms, which is able to independently open and close a connection to the grinding gas source; wherein regulation of the grinding gas flow into the grinding chamber per unit time is varied by changing a number of the grinding gas nozzles that are acted on with the grinding gas flow, and upon a decrease or increase in a number of opened switchable shut-off mechanisms, the grinding gas flow travels into the grinding chamber through open grinding gas nozzles at the constant operating pressure with no change in the discharge speed from the open grinding gas nozzles into the grinding chamber.
Van discloses a spiral jet mill (fig.1: (10)) (abstract and cols.2- col.4 line 3), comprising:
a grinding chamber (figs.1 and 4: (12)) which is delimited by a bottom (fig.4: (24)), a cover (fig.4: (22)), and a wall (fig.4: (26)) that connects the bottom and the cover; a plurality of grinding gas nozzles (fig.1: (28)), wherein each of the grinding gas nozzles pass through the wall of the grinding chamber (fig.1), and
the each of the grinding gas nozzles is connected to a grinding gas source (a manifold not shown: fluid under pressure);
a plurality of switchable shut-off mechanisms (fig.1: (40)), wherein each of the grinding gas nozzles includes an associated switchable shut-off mechanism of the plurality of shut-off mechanisms, which is able to independently open and close a connection to the grinding gas source (col.3 last 11 lines-col.4 line 3);
wherein regulation of the grinding gas flow into the grinding chamber per unit time is varied by changing a number of the grinding gas nozzles that are acted on with the grinding gas flow (each of the nozzles (28) having an independent switchable shut-off mechanism (fig.1: (40), so the number the nozzles (28) that act in the griding chamber can be changed “increased or decreased” by shutoff or turn on each of the individual of the nozzles (28) which effect the grinding gas flow into the grinding chamber per unit time), and
upon a decrease or increase in a number of opened switchable shut-off mechanisms, the grinding gas flow travels into the grinding chamber through open grinding gas nozzles with no change in the discharge speed from the open grinding gas nozzles into the grinding chamber (each of the nozzles (28) having an independent switchable shut-off mechanism (fig.1: (40), so the number the nozzles (28) that act in the griding chamber can be changed “increased or decreased”; so closing one of the individual independent nozzle will not affect the grinding gas flow travels into the grinding chamber through open grinding gas nozzles).
Both of the prior arts of Kozawa and Van are related to a jet mill grinding having gas nozzles;
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify each of the grinding gas nozzles of the apparatus of Kozawa to have switchable shut-off mechanism as taught by Van in order to vary the amount and intensity of the gases in the chamber in accordance with the material being treated (Van: col.3 last 11 lines-col.4 line 3); thereby having a plurality of switchable shut-off mechanisms, wherein each of the grinding gas nozzles includes an associated switchable shut-off mechanism of the plurality of shut-off mechanisms, which is able to independently open and close a connection to the grinding gas source; wherein regulation of the grinding gas flow into the grinding chamber per unit time is varied by changing a number of the grinding gas nozzles that are acted on with the grinding gas flow, and upon a decrease or increase in a number of opened switchable shut-off mechanisms, the grinding gas flow travels into the grinding chamber through open grinding gas nozzles at the constant operating pressure with no change in the discharge speed from the open grinding gas nozzles into the grinding chamber.
Regarding claim 3, Van discloses wherein the grinding gas source communicates with the grinding gas nozzles by supply lines (fig.5: element (38) that connected to a manifold) that each lead to a respective grinding gas nozzle, wherein the switchable shut-off mechanism (fig.5: (38)) is provided in the supply lines.
Therefore, the modification of Kozawa in view of Van teaches the limitations of claim 3.
Regarding claim 4, Kozawa discloses wherein 3 to 40 grinding gas nozzles (figs.2-3: (50)) are provided.
Therefore, the modification of Kozawa in view of Van teaches the limitations of claim 4.
Regarding claim 21, Kozawa discloses wherein the wall is embodied as cylindrical (figs.2-3).
Therefore, the modification of Kozawa in view of Van teaches the limitations of claim 21.
Regarding claim 29, Kozawa discloses wherein the cover of the grinding chamber comprises: an inlet opening (fig.2: the opening of chamber (20) that connected to the supply nozzle (52)); an injector tube (fig.2: (52)) connected to the inlet opening, the injector tube configured to introduce an accelerated supply of milling material through the inlet opening and into the grinding chamber (paragraphs 0037 and 0043); and
a central discharge opening (fig.2: (12)) for discharging a milling material that is ground in the grinding chamber.
Therefore, the modification of Kozawa in view of Van teaches the limitations of claim 29.
Regarding claim 30, Kozawa discloses wherein the inlet opening (fig.2: the opening of chamber (20) that connected to the supply nozzle (52)) is disposed between the central discharge opening (fig.2: (12)) and the wall (fig.2: (28)) of the grinding chamber.
Therefore, the modification of Kozawa in view of Van teaches the limitations of claim 30.
Regarding claim 31, Kozawa discloses wherein the wall comprises a cylindrical wall (figs.2-3), the plurality of grinding gas nozzles (figs.2-3: (50)) are distributed around a circumference of the cylindrical wall; and each of the grinding gas nozzles pass through the cylindrical wall at a predetermined entry angle tangential to the cylindrical wall (fig.2-3).
Therefore, the modification of Kozawa in view of Van teaches the limitations of claim 31.
Regarding claim 32, Kozawa discloses wherein the plurality of grinding gas nozzles (figs.2-3: (50)) create a spiral-shaped grinding gas flow in a first direction within the grinding chamber, and the cover connected to the cylindrical wall comprises:
an inlet opening (fig.2: the opening of chamber (20) that connected to the supply nozzle (52)); an injector tube (fig.2: (52)) connected to the inlet opening,
wherein the injector tube is disposed at an angle to the cover and configured to introduce an accelerated supply of milling material through the inlet opening and into the spiral-shaped grinding gas flow (paragraph 0037); and a central discharge opening (fig.2: (12)) for discharging a milling material that is ground in the grinding chamber.
Therefore, the modification of Kozawa in view of Van teaches the limitations of claim 32.
Claims 5-8 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kozawa (US20130341438A1) in view of Van (US3974574A) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Handl (US20160023907A1).
Regarding claims 5 and 19, Kozawa in view of Van does not disclose wherein the grinding gas nozzles are embodied as de Laval nozzles.
Handl teaches a jet mill (abstarct) comprising as de Laval nozzles (paragraphs 0065-0066).
Both of the prior arts of Kozawa and Handl are related to a jet mill grinding having gas nozzles;
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify each of the grinding gas nozzles of the apparatus of Kozawa in view of Van to be de Laval nozzle as taught by Handl in order to have the particles are accelerated optimally (Handl: paragraph 0066).
Regarding claim 6, Van teaches wherein a control unit (fig.1: (54)) is provided for independently triggering the shut-off mechanisms.
Therefore, the modification of Kozawa in view of Van and Handl teaches the limitations of claim 6.
Regarding claim 7, Kozawa discloses wherein the wall is embodied as cylindrical (figs.2-3).
Therefore, the modification of Kozawa in view of Van and Handl teaches the limitations of claim 7.
Regarding claim 8, Kozawa discloses wherein an inlet opening (fig.2: (36)) for supplying the milling material into the grinding chamber and a discharge opening (fig.2: (30)) for discharging the milling material that has been is ground in the grinding chamber are embodied in the cover.
Therefore, the modification of Kozawa in view of Van and Handl teaches the limitations of claim 8.
Claims 15-16 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Van (US3974574A) in view of Rowley (US5598979A) as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Handl (US20160023907A1).
Regarding claim 15 and 27, Van in view of Rowley does not disclose wherein the grinding gas flow from the grinding gas nozzles is introduced into the grinding chamber at supersonic speed.
Handl teaches a jet mill (abstract) comprising as de Laval nozzles; and wherein the grinding gas flow from the grinding gas nozzles is introduced into the grinding chamber at supersonic speed (paragraphs 0065-0066).
Both of the prior arts of Van and Handl are related to a jet mill grinding having gas nozzles;
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify each of the grinding gas nozzles of the apparatus of Van in view of Rowley to be de Laval nozzle, wherein the grinding gas flow from the grinding gas nozzles is introduced into the grinding chamber at supersonic speed as taught by Handl in order to have the particles are accelerated optimally (Handl: paragraph 0066).
Regarding claim 16, Van discloses wherein the opening or closing of the grinding gas nozzles is varied as a function of the desired grain size of the milling material, the hardness of the milling material, and/or the pressure in the grinding chamber (fig.1: each nozzle (28) switchable shut-off mechanism (fig.1: (40)) (col.3 last 11 lines-col.4 line 3).
Therefore, the modification of Van in view of Rowley and Handl teaches the limitations of claim 16.
Claims 1 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Itoh (US20040211849A1) in view of Van (US3974574A).
Regarding claim 1, Itoh discloses a spiral jet mill a spiral jet mill (figs.1-2: (1)), comprising:
a grinding chamber (fig.1: (8)) (abstract and paragraphs 0060-0066) which is delimited by a bottom (fig.1: (7)), a cover (fig.2: (6)), and a wall (fig.1: (5)) that connects the bottom and the cover;
a plurality of grinding gas nozzles (figs.1-2: (9)), wherein each of the grinding gas nozzles pass through the wall of the grinding chamber (figs.2-3), and
the each of the grinding gas nozzles is connected to a grinding gas source (fig.4: (50)) providing a constant operating pressure (paragraph 0107 fixed at 0.6 MPa);
Itoh does not disclose a plurality of switchable shut-off mechanisms, wherein each of the grinding gas nozzles includes an associated switchable shut-off mechanism of the plurality of shut-off mechanisms, which is able to independently open and close a connection to the grinding gas source; wherein regulation of the grinding gas flow into the grinding chamber per unit time is varied by changing a number of the grinding gas nozzles that are acted on with the grinding gas flow, and upon a decrease or increase in a number of opened switchable shut-off mechanisms, the grinding gas flow travels into the grinding chamber through open grinding gas nozzles at the constant operating pressure with no change in the discharge speed from the open grinding gas nozzles into the grinding chamber.
Van discloses a spiral jet mill (fig.1: (10)) (abstract and cols.2- col.4 line 3), comprising:
a grinding chamber (figs.1 and 4: (12)) which is delimited by a bottom (fig.4: (24)), a cover (fig.4: (22)), and a wall (fig.4: (26)) that connects the bottom and the cover; a plurality of grinding gas nozzles (fig.1: (28)), wherein each of the grinding gas nozzles pass through the wall of the grinding chamber (fig.1), and
the each of the grinding gas nozzles is connected to a grinding gas source (a manifold not shown: fluid under pressure);
a plurality of switchable shut-off mechanisms (fig.1: (40)), wherein each of the grinding gas nozzles includes an associated switchable shut-off mechanism of the plurality of shut-off mechanisms, which is able to independently open and close a connection to the grinding gas source (col.3 last 11 lines-col.4 line 3);
wherein regulation of the grinding gas flow into the grinding chamber per unit time is varied by changing a number of the grinding gas nozzles that are acted on with the grinding gas flow (each of the nozzles (28) having an independent switchable shut-off mechanism (fig.1: (40), so the number the nozzles (28) that act in the griding chamber can be changed “increased or decreased” by shutoff or turn on each of the individual of the nozzles (28) which effect the grinding gas flow into the grinding chamber per unit time), and
upon a decrease or increase in a number of opened switchable shut-off mechanisms, the grinding gas flow travels into the grinding chamber through open grinding gas nozzles with no change in the discharge speed from the open grinding gas nozzles into the grinding chamber (each of the nozzles (28) having an independent switchable shut-off mechanism (fig.1: (40), so the number the nozzles (28) that act in the griding chamber can be changed “increased or decreased”; so closing one of the individual independent nozzle will not affect the grinding gas flow travels into the grinding chamber through open grinding gas nozzles).
Both of the prior arts of Itoh and Van are related to a jet mill grinding having gas nozzles;
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify each of the grinding gas nozzles of the apparatus of Itoh to have switchable shut-off mechanism as taught by Van in order to vary the amount and intensity of the gases in the chamber in accordance with the material being treated (Van: col.3 last 11 lines-col.4 line 3); thereby having a plurality of switchable shut-off mechanisms, wherein each of the grinding gas nozzles includes an associated switchable shut-off mechanism of the plurality of shut-off mechanisms, which is able to independently open and close a connection to the grinding gas source; wherein regulation of the grinding gas flow into the grinding chamber per unit time is varied by changing a number of the grinding gas nozzles that are acted on with the grinding gas flow, and upon a decrease or increase in a number of opened switchable shut-off mechanisms, the grinding gas flow travels into the grinding chamber through open grinding gas nozzles at the constant operating pressure with no change in the discharge speed from the open grinding gas nozzles into the grinding chamber.
Regarding claim 1, Itoh discloses a method for grinding milling material in a spiral jet mill (abstract and paragraphs 0060-0066), wherein the spiral jet mill has a grinding chamber (fig.1: (8)) (abstract and paragraphs 0060-0066) which is delimited by a bottom (fig.1: (7)), a cover (fig.2: (6)), and a wall (fig.1: (5)), the method comprising:
introducing (fig.1: (60)) the milling material into the grinding chamber;
introducing a grinding gas flow (fig.4: (50)) into the grinding chamber to act on the milling material, wherein the grinding gas flow is introduced from a plurality of grinding gas nozzles (figs.1-2: (9)) that pass through the wall of the spiral jet mill (figs.1-2); and the grinding gas flow travels into the grinding chamber through open grinding gas nozzles at a constant operating pressure (paragraph 0107 fixed at 0.6 MPa).
Itoh does not disclose regulating the grinding gas flow within the grinding chamber by varying a number of the grinding gas nozzles that are acted on with the grinding gas flow, wherein upon a decrease or increase in a number of opened switchable shut-off mechanisms, the grinding gas flow travels into the grinding chamber through open grinding gas nozzles with no change in the discharge speed from the open grinding gas nozzles into the grinding chamber.
regulating the grinding gas flow within the grinding chamber by varying a number of the grinding gas nozzles that are acted on with the grinding gas flow, wherein upon a decrease or increase in a number of opened switchable shut-off mechanisms, the grinding gas flow travels into the grinding chamber through open grinding gas nozzles at a constant operating pressure with no change in the discharge speed from the open grinding gas nozzles into the grinding chamber.
Van discloses a method for grinding milling materials in a spiral jet mill (fig.1: (10)) (abstract and cols.2- col.4 line 3),
wherein the spiral jet mill has a grinding chamber (figs.1 and 4: (12)) which is delimited by a bottom (fig.4: (24)), a cover (fig.4: (22)), and a wall (fig.4: (26)), the method comprising:
introducing (fig.1: (30)) the milling material into the grinding chamber;
introducing a grinding gas flow (a manifold not shown: fluid under pressure) into the grinding chamber to act on the milling material, wherein the grinding gas flow is introduced from a plurality of grinding gas nozzles (fig.1: (28)) that pass through the wall of the spiral jet mill; and
regulating the grinding gas flow within the grinding chamber by varying a number of the grinding gas nozzles that are acted on with the grinding gas flow (each of the nozzles (28) having an independent switchable shut-off mechanism (fig.1: (40), so the number the nozzles (28) that act in the griding chamber can be changed “increased or decreased” by shutoff or turn on each of the individual of the nozzles (28) which effect the grinding gas flow into the grinding chamber per unit time),
wherein upon a decrease or increase in a number of opened switchable shut-off mechanisms, the grinding gas flow travels into the grinding chamber through open grinding gas nozzles with no change in the discharge speed from the open grinding gas nozzles into the grinding chamber (each of the nozzles (28) having an independent switchable shut-off mechanism (fig.1: (40), so the number the nozzles (28) that act in the griding chamber can be changed “increased or decreased”; so closing one of the individual independent nozzle will not affect the grinding gas flow travels into the grinding chamber through open grinding gas nozzles).
Both of the prior arts of Itoh and Van are related to a jet mill grinding having gas nozzles;
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify each of the grinding gas nozzles of the method of Itoh to have switchable shut-off mechanism as taught by Van in order to vary the amount and intensity of the gases in the chamber in accordance with the material being treated (Van: col.3 last 11 lines-col.4 line 3); thereby having a plurality of switchable shut-off mechanisms, wherein each of the grinding gas nozzles includes an associated switchable shut-off mechanism of the plurality of shut-off mechanisms, which is able to independently open and close a connection to the grinding gas source; wherein regulation of the grinding gas flow into the grinding chamber per unit time is varied by changing a number of the grinding gas nozzles that are acted on with the grinding gas flow, and upon a decrease or increase in a number of opened switchable shut-off mechanisms, the grinding gas flow travels into the grinding chamber through open grinding gas nozzles at the constant operating pressure with no change in the discharge speed from the open grinding gas nozzles into the grinding chamber.
Conclusion
/MOHAMMED S. ALAWADI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3725