DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-11 and 20-34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (US 11,659,553 B2, hereinafter Chen) in view of Lee et al. (US 20190149279 A1, hereinafter Lee).
Regarding claim 1, Chen discloses an apparatus for wireless communications by at a user
equipment (UE), comprising: at least one memory comprising computer-executable instructions (figure 11, column 16, lines 65-66, column 17, lines 1-12); and
one or more processors configured to execute the computer-executable instructions and
cause the UE to (column 17, lines 13-25):
decide, when a conflict occurs between a transmission and at least one other transmission in a transmission period one other transmission in the transmission period, in accordance with the decision (column 7, lines 1-20 ). Chen does not disclose sidelink discovery message. Lee discloses sidelink discovery message (¶[0053]). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to make the proposed modification of the sidelink discovery message as disclosed by Lee along with the selection and transmission of Chen to avoid collisions and improve efficiency and ensure reliable discovery.
Regarding claim 2, Chen discloses wherein the at least one
transmission comprises at least one of an uplink transmission to a network entity or a sidelink
transmission to another UE (fig 1, figures 3-, column 7, lines 20-30).
Regarding claim 3, Chen discloses further comprising receiving
wherein the one or more processors are further configured to execute the computer-executable
instructions and cause the UE to receive signaling configuring the UE with transmission gaps for
transmitting sidelink discovery messages, wherein the transmission period comprises one of the
configured transmission gaps (column 10, lines 20-25_
Regarding claim 4, Chen discloses , wherein separate resource pools
are configured for sidelink discovery messages and other sidelink communication (figure 3-5).
Regarding claim 5, Chen discloses wherein a resource pool is shared
for messages and other sidelink communication (column 1 ,lines 45-57).
Chen does not disclose sidelink discovery messages. Lee discloses sidelink discovery message (¶[0053]). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to make the proposed modification of the sidelink discovery message as disclosed by Lee along with the selection and transmission of Chen to avoid collisions and improve efficiency and ensure reliable discovery.
Regarding claim 6, Chen discloses wherein the decision is made by
comparing the priority of the message to a priority of the at least one other
transmission (figure 9, column 10, lines 20-35) . Chen does not disclose sidelink discovery messages. Lee discloses sidelink discovery message (¶[0053]). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to make the proposed modification of the sidelink discovery message as disclosed by Lee along with the selection and transmission of Chen to avoid collisions and improve efficiency and ensure reliable discovery
Regarding claim 7 , Chen discloses , wherein, in an event the priority
of the message and the priority of the at least one other transmission are the
same, the decision is based on a rule (figure 9, column 10, lines 20-35).
Regarding claim 8, Chen discloses wherein the rule dictates that, the
event the priority of the discovery message and the priority of the at least one other
transmission are the same: the UE always sends the message; or
the UE always sends the at least one other transmission (figure 6, figure 9). Chen does not disclose sidelink discovery messages. Lee discloses sidelink discovery message (¶[0053]). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to make the proposed modification of the sidelink discovery message as disclosed by Lee along with the selection and transmission of Chen to avoid collisions and improve efficiency and ensure reliable discovery
Regarding claim 9, Chen discloses, wherein, when the UE is
configured with transmission gaps for transmitting messages, the rule is
applied within transmission gaps (figures 3-6, column 10). Chen does not disclose sidelink discovery messages. Lee discloses sidelink discovery message (¶[0053]). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to make the proposed modification of the sidelink discovery message as disclosed by Lee along with the selection and transmission of Chen to avoid collisions and improve efficiency and ensure reliable discovery
Regarding claim 10, Chen discloses wherein the rule is applied only
when the UE is configured with transmission gaps (figures 3-5)
Regarding claim 11, Chen discloses an apparatus for wireless communications by a network
entity, comprising: at least one memory comprising computer-executable instructions; and
one or more processors configured to execute the computer-executable instructions and
cause the network entity to: configure a user equipment (UE) with a priority for sidelink discovery
messages (column 17, lines 13-25): decide, when a conflict occurs between a sidelink discovery message and at least one uplink transmission in a transmission period, whether the UE is to transmit the at least
one uplink transmission, based at least in part on the priority for messages (column 7, lines 1-20 ). Chen does not disclose sidelink discovery messagse. Lee discloses sidelink discovery message (¶[0053]). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to make the proposed modification of the sidelink discovery message as disclosed by Lee along with the selection and transmission of Chen to avoid collisions and improve efficiency and ensure reliable discovery.
; and monitor for the at least one uplink transmission in the transmission period,
when the decision is that the UE is to transmit the at least one uplink transmission.
Chen does not disclose sidelink discovery messages. Lee discloses sidelink discovery message (¶[0053]). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to make the proposed modification of the sidelink discovery message as disclosed by Lee along with the selection and transmission of Chen to avoid collisions and improve efficiency and ensure reliable discovery.
Regarding claim 20, Chen disclose an apparatus for wireless communications by a user
equipment (UE), comprising: at least one memory comprising computer-executable instructions; and
one or more processors configured to execute the computer-executable instructions and
cause the UE to (figure 11, column 16, lines 65-66, column 17, lines 1-12) :
signal a capability of the UE to simultaneously receive, during a reception
period, on a downlink and a sidelink; and receiving receive on the downlink while also receiving on the sidelink, in accordance with the capability (column 7, lines 1-20). Chen does not disclose sidelink discovery messages. Lee discloses sidelink discovery message (¶[0053]). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to make the proposed modification of the sidelink discovery message as disclosed by Lee along with the selection and transmission of Chen to avoid collisions and improve efficiency and ensure reliable discovery
Regarding claim 21, Chen discloses the capability is a
function of one or more conditions (Fig. 6; col. 10, lines 5–20).
Regarding claim 22, Chen discloses wherein the one or more
conditions relate to at least one of: a received signal power difference between the downlink and the sidelink; or a difference in subcarrier spacing (SCS) between the downlink and the sidelink.
Regarding claim 23, Chen discloses wherein the one or more
conditions relate to at least one of: an aligned physical resource block (PRB) grid;
a bandwidth part (BWP) configuration for the downlink; or a bandwidth part (BWP) configuration for the sidelink (Fig. 3–5).
Regarding claim 24, Chen discloses wherein the UE supports
reduced capability reception on at least one of the downlink or sidelink, when simultaneously
receiving on the downlink or sidelink (Fig 6).
Regarding claim 25, Chen discloses wherein the reduced capability
reception involves decoding physical downlink control channels (PDCCHs) with a smaller
number of blind decodes (BDs) or control channel elements (CCEs) within an occasion as
compared to regular PDCCHs.
Regarding claim 26, Chen discloses wherein the reduced capability reception involves the UE supporting at least one of: a reduced downlink control information (DCI) size budget per slot; or a reduced number of DCIs with pending physical downlink shared channels (PDSCHs) or physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) (¶[0168]).
Regarding claim 27, Chen discloses all subject matter of the claimed invention with the exception of wherein the reduced capability reception involves the UE monitoring for physical downlink control channels (PDCCHs) on a reduced number of search spaces or control resource sets (CORESETs). Lee discloses wherein the reduced capability reception involves the UE monitoring for physical downlink control channels (PDCCHs) on a reduced number of search spaces or control resource sets (CORESETs) . Lee discloses wherein the reduced capability reception involves the UE monitoring for physical downlink control channels (PDCCHs) on a reduced number of search spaces or control resource sets (CORESETs). Lee discloses wherein the reduced capability reception involves the UE monitoring for physical downlink control channels (PDCCHs) on a reduced number of search spaces or control resource sets (CORESETs) (figure 5). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to make the proposed modification of the PDCCH along with the system of Chen to increase the efficiency of the network.
Regarding claim 28, Chen discloses all subject matter of the claimed invention with the exception of further comprising receiving
wherein the one or more processors are further configured to execute the computer-executable
instructions and cause the UE to receive signaling configuring the UE with discovery reception
gaps for monitoring for sidelink discovery messages from other UEs, wherein the reception
period comprises one of the configured discovery reception gaps. Lee discloses further comprising receiving wherein the one or more processors are further configured to execute the computer-executable
instructions and cause the UE to receive signaling configuring the UE with discovery reception
gaps for monitoring for sidelink discovery messages from other UEs, wherein the reception
period comprises one of the configured discovery reception gaps (figure 5).
Regarding claim 29 , Chen discloses all subject matter of the claimed invention with the exception of wherein, during the discovery
reception gaps, the UE applies a prioritization between physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH)
transmission and discovery reception by comparing a priority of discovery messages to a priority
of a PUSCH Lee discloses wherein, during the discovery
reception gaps, the UE applies a prioritization between physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH)
transmission and discovery reception by comparing a priority of discovery messages to a priority
of a PUSCH (figure 5).
Regarding claim 30, Chen discloses all subject matter of the claimed invention with the exception of wherein, during the discovery reception gaps, the UE receives both a discovery message and a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH). Lee discloses of wherein, during the discovery reception gaps, the UE receives both a discovery message and a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH). Lee discloses wherein, during the discovery reception gaps, the UE receives both a discovery message and a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH). Lee discloses of wherein, during the discovery reception gaps, the UE receives both a discovery message and a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) (¶[0063], wherein the IDLE period include the reception gaps)
Regarding claim 31, Chen discloses wherein the reduced capability
reception involves monitoring for PDSCH transmissions based on restrictions on at least one of:
a number of resource blocks, a number of layers, a transport block size (TBS), a modulating and
coding scheme (MCS), or scheduling PSDCH on a reduced number of carriers (figure 5-6)
Regarding claim 32, Chen discloses all subject matter of the claimed invention with the exception of the UE is configured with at least one semi persistent scheduling (SPS) configuration; and one or more SPS occasions are skipped during discovery gaps. Lee discloses the UE is configured with at least one semi persistent scheduling (SPS) configuration; and one or more SPS occasions are skipped during discovery gaps (¶[0114],¶[0116]). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to make the proposed modification of the SPS as disclosed by Lee along with the system of Chen to increase the bandwidth and reliability of the transmission.
Regarding claim 33, Chen discloses all subject matter of the claimed invention with the exception of wherein, the UE refrains from sending acknowledgment feedback when one or more SPS occasions are skipped. Lee discloses wherein, the UE refrains from sending acknowledgment feedback when one or more SPS occasions are skipped (¶[0114],¶[0116]). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to make the proposed modification of the SPS as disclosed by Lee along with the system of Chen to increase the bandwidth and reliability of the transmission.
Regarding claim 34, Chen discloses an apparatus for wireless communications by a network
entity, comprising: at least one memory comprising computer-executable instructions; and
one or more processors configured to execute the computer-executable instructions and
cause the network entity to (figure 11, column 16, lines 65-66, column 17, lines 1-12)
receiving receive signaling, from a user equipment (UE), indicating a capability of the
UE to simultaneously receive, during a reception period, on a downlink and a sidelink (Fig. 6; col. 10, lines 5–20).; and transmitting transmit to the UE on the downlink during the reception period, in
accordance with the capability (Fig. 6; col. 10, lines 5–20).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Agiwal et a. (US 2015/0208440 A1).
/ANGEL T BROCKMAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2412