DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-6 are pending herein.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/07/2023, were filed in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “electric vehicle” (Claim 1) and “a driving shaft” (Claim 1) and “an accelerator pedal” (Claim 1) must be shown and labeled or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: the limitation “the manipulation” (line 7) should be rewritten as “manipulation”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1-6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention. Regarding claim 1, the claim recites the limitation: "has fixed power applied after operated” (line 6), which is unclear and therefore renders the claims indefinite. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 1-6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention. Regarding claim 1, the claim recites the limitation: " has a gear ratio varying depending on the manipulation of an accelerator pedal” (line 6), which is unclear and therefore renders the claims indefinite. Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 2 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention. Regarding claim 2, the claim recites the limitation: "has applied power varying depending on a change in speed and an inclination of the ground", which is unclear, and therefore renders the claims indefinite. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention. Regarding claim 4, the claim recites the limitation: "has applied power varying depending on a change in speed and an inclination of the ground", which is unclear, and therefore renders the claims indefinite. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al. (CN 2058920527 – Applicant provided art) in view of Chen (KR20120051644 – Applicant provided art).
[Claim 1] Regarding Claim 1, Yang discloses: An electric vehicle (See, e.g., Fig.1-3) comprising: a main motor (See, e.g., Fig.1-3, 10) configured to generate a driving force (See, e.g., Fig.1-3); a sub-motor (See, e.g., Fig.1-3, 11) configured to share a rotational shaft with the main motor (See, e.g., Fig.1-3); and a gear unit (See, e.g., Fig.1-3, 13) positioned between a differential gear (See, e.g., Fig.1-3, 15) provided on a driving shaft and the main motor (See, e.g., Fig.1-3), wherein the main motor has fixed power applied after operated, and the gear unit has a gear ratio varying depending on the manipulation of an accelerator pedal.
Yang fails to explicitly teach further comprising: wherein the main motor has fixed power applied after operated, and the gear unit has a gear ratio varying depending on the manipulation of an accelerator pedal.
However, Chen teaches a similar electric vehicle (See, e.g., Chen: Fig.1-2) wherein a main motor (See, e.g., Chen: Fig.1-2) has fixed power applied after operated (See, e.g., Chen: Fig.1-2), and the gear unit has a gear ratio varying depending on the manipulation of an accelerator pedal (See, e.g., Chen: Fig.1-2).
Chen teaches that it is well known in the art of electric vehicle design to provide the gear ratio based on manipulation of the accelerator pedal. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide the system taught by Yang modified with the electric vehicle control method such as taught by Chen, for the purpose of conveniently adjusting the control of the electric vehicle components based on user input in order to achieve maximum vehicle efficiency. Moreover, the modification is obvious as no more than the use of familiar elements according to known methods in a manner that achieves predictable results. (See, e.g., KSR Int'/ Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398,416 (2007)).
[Claim 2] Regarding Claim 2, the combination of Yang in view of Chen teaches: wherein the sub-motor has applied power varying depending on a change in speed and an inclination of the ground (See, e.g., Chen: Fig.1-2).
[Claim 3] Regarding Claim 3, the combination of Yang in view of Chen teaches: wherein when the power applied to the sub-motor is zero, the sub-motor generates power by a rotational force of the rotational shaft (See, e.g., Yang: Fig.1-3, as best understood sub-motor 11 is capable of charging batteries when operating as a generator).
[Claim 4] Regarding Claim 4, the combination of Yang in view of Chen teaches: wherein the gear unit has a gear ratio varying depending on a change in speed and an inclination of the ground (See, e.g., Chen: Fig.1-2).
[Claim 5] Regarding Claim 5, the combination of Yang in view of Chen teaches: wherein the gear unit has a continuously variable transmission (CVT) structure (See, e.g., Yang: Fig.1-3 in view of Chen: Fig.1-2).
[Claim 6] Regarding Claim 6, the combination of Yang in view of Chen teaches: wherein a clutch (See, e.g., Yang: Fig.1-3, 12) is provided between the gear unit and the main motor (See, e.g., Yang: Fig.1-3).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure, and can be found on the attached Notice of References Cited.
/JAMES M DOLAK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3613