DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 14 and 15, are objected to because of the following informalities: the acronym MBE and SDF needs to be fully defined at least once in the claims. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 6-7, 9, 14-15, 17-18, 20, 23, 28-29, 31-32, 46 and 52 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KIM et al., US 2022/0360977 A1 (Kim using PCT application filing date of August 09, 2019 corresponding to PCT/KR2020/005089; referred to as Kim hereinafter hereinafter), in view of PRABHAKAR et al., US 2021/0368395 A1 (using foreign application priority dates of May 22, 2020, corresponding to IN 202041021677; referred to as Prabhakar hereinafter).
Here is how the references teach the claims.
Regarding claim 1, Kim discloses a communication method (Kim, abstract, One disclosure of the present specification provides a communication method related to a change of an application server performed by an SMF node), comprising:
in response to being triggered by a policy decision, performing, by a first control plane network element (Kim, Fig. 7a and 7b and paragraph [0023], discloses signaling flow diagram of PDU session modification procedure. More particularly the step 1b discloses signaling related to PCF initiated/triggered SM policy association modification between PCF (i.e., a first control plane network element) and SMF), a session management (SM) policy association modification procedure initiated by the first control plane network element, to notify a second control plane network element of a modification of a policy (Kim, paragraph [0260], The PCF (i.e., the first control plane network element) may perform a PCF initiated SM Policy Association Modification procedure to notify the SMF (i.e., a second control plane network element) of the modification of the policy. The PCP-initiated SM policy association modification procedure may be triggered, for example, by a policy decision or may be triggered when an application function (AF) requests);
Regarding claim 9, Kim discloses a communication method (Kim, abstract, One disclosure of the present specification provides a communication method related to a change of an application server performed by an SMF node), comprising:
in response to being triggered by a policy decision, performing, by a first control plane network element (Kim, Fig. 7a and 7b and paragraph [0023], discloses signaling flow diagram of PDU session modification procedure. More particularly the step 1b discloses signaling related to PCF initiated/triggered SM policy association modification between PCF (i.e., a first control plane network element) and SMF), a session management (SM) policy association modification procedure initiated by the first control plane network element, to notify a second control plane network element of a modification of a policy (Kim, paragraph [0260], The PCF (i.e., the first control plane network element) may perform a PCF initiated SM Policy Association Modification procedure to notify the SMF (i.e., a second control plane network element) of the modification of the policy. The PCP-initiated SM policy association modification procedure may be triggered, for example, by a policy decision or may be triggered when an application function (AF) requests);
Regarding claim 23, Kim discloses a communication method (Kim, abstract, One disclosure of the present specification provides a communication method related to a change of an application server performed by an SMF node), comprising:
in response to being triggered by a policy decision, performing, by a first control plane network element (Kim, Fig. 7a and 7b and paragraph [0023], discloses signaling flow diagram of PDU session modification procedure. More particularly the step 1b discloses signaling related to PCF initiated/triggered SM policy association modification between PCF (i.e., a first control plane network element) and SMF),
Kim does not explicitly disclose the following features.
Regarding claim 1, and in response to determining that a data rate for single network slice selection assistance information (S-NSSAI) reaches a threshold, using, by the first control plane network element, a utilized data rate for the policy decision, and downgrading, by the first control plane network element, a session aggregate maximum bit rate (Session-AMBR).
Regarding claim 9, and in response to determining that a data rate for single network slice selection assistance information (S-NSSAI) reaches a threshold, updating, by the first control plane network element, a policy and charging control (PCC) rule, and using, by the first control plane network element, a utilized data rate for the policy decision of the first control plane network element.
Regarding claim 23, an access and mobility management (AM) policy association modification procedure initiated by the first control plane network element, to notify a third control plane network element of a modification of a policy; and
in response to determining that a data rate for single network slice selection assistance information (S-NSSAI) reaches a threshold, downgrading, by the first control plane network element, a user equipment-slice-aggregate maximum bit rate (UE-Slice-AMBR), and using, by the first control plane network element, a utilized data rate for the policy decision of the first control plane network element.
In the same field of endeavor (e.g., communication system) Prabhakar discloses a wireless communications system that comprises the following features.
Regarding claim 1, and in response to determining that a data rate for single network slice selection assistance information (S-NSSAI) reaches a threshold (Prabhakar, paragraph [0055], When the limit of AMBR for a S-NSSAI has been reached (i.e., determining the data rate of the S-NSSAI has reached a threshold), NSQ will initiate a notification to the AMF with the following information: S-NSSAI (for which the limit is reached), a cause code), using, by the first control plane network element, a utilized data rate for the policy decision (Prabhakar, paragraph [0055], For example, all UE(s) would get a 10% reduction in size, or only the Bronze & Silver category UE(s) would get the reduction while no change for Gold. AMF would inform SMF about the change and SMF, with updated PCC rules from PCF (i.e., a utilized data rate for the policy decision used by the first control plane network element)), and downgrading, by the first control plane network element, a session aggregate maximum bit rate (Session-AMBR) (Prabhakar, paragraph [0055], When the limit of AMBR for a S-NSSAI has been reached, NSQ will initiate a notification to the AMF with the following information: S-NSSAI (for which the limit is reached), a cause code, the percentage of QoS to reduce for the established PDU sessions of the S-NSSAI (i.e., reduce/downgrade a UE AMBR for a S-NSSAI). In an alternative, the percentage would be same for Gold/Silver/Bronze UEs (to maintain fairness) or different. These percentage reductions (i.e., downgrade) could be implementation specific).
Regarding claim 9, and in response to determining that a data rate for single network slice selection assistance information (S-NSSAI) reaches a threshold (Prabhakar, paragraph [0055], When the limit of AMBR for a S-NSSAI has been reached (i.e., determining the data rate of the S-NSSAI has reached a threshold), NSQ will initiate a notification to the AMF with the following information: S-NSSAI (for which the limit is reached), a cause code), updating, by the first control plane network element, a policy and charging control (PCC) rule (Prabhakar, paragraph [0057], NSQ would provide only a cause code and S-NSSAI to AMF when the limit is reached. AMF would inform SMF, and SMF would inform PCF. PCF would determine the percentage of QoS to reduce, and create new PCC rules for SMF (i.e., updating a policy and charging control (PCC) rule by the first control plane element) . It is noted that PCF would check with UDM and decide the percentage in some implementations), and using, by the first control plane network element, a utilized data rate for the policy decision of the first control plane network element (Prabhakar, paragraph [0055], For example, all UE(s) would get a 10% reduction in size, or only the Bronze & Silver category UE(s) would get the reduction while no change for Gold. AMF would inform SMF about the change and SMF, with updated PCC rules from PCF (i.e., a utilized data rate for the policy decision used by the first control plane network element)).
Regarding claim 23, an access and mobility management (AM) policy association modification procedure initiated by the first control plane network element, to notify a third control plane network element of a modification of a policy (Prabhakar, paragraph [0077], In response, an N4 Session Update occurs between SMF 1130 and UPF 1140 to effect S-AMBR changes per subscription level. SMF 1130 then signals PCF 1150 with a Npcf_SMUpdate Response. PCF 1150 (i.e., a first control plane network element) signals AMF 1120 (i.e., a third control plane network element) with a Npcf_AMPolicyControl_Update Notify signal); and
in response to determining that a data rate for single network slice selection assistance information (S-NSSAI) reaches a threshold (Prabhakar, paragraph [0055], When the limit of AMBR for a S-NSSAI has been reached (i.e., determining the data rate of the S-NSSAI has reached a threshold), NSQ will initiate a notification to the AMF with the following information: S-NSSAI (for which the limit is reached), a cause code), downgrading, by the first control plane network element, a user equipment-slice-aggregate maximum bit rate (UE-Slice-AMBR) (Prabhakar, paragraph [0055], When the limit of AMBR for a S-NSSAI has been reached, NSQ will initiate a notification to the AMF with the following information: S-NSSAI (for which the limit is reached), a cause code, the percentage of QoS to reduce for the established PDU sessions of the S-NSSAI (i.e., reduce/downgrade a UE AMBR for a S-NSSAI). In an alternative, the percentage would be same for Gold/Silver/Bronze UEs (to maintain fairness) or different. These percentage reductions (i.e., downgrade) could be implementation specific), and using, by the first control plane network element, a utilized data rate for the policy decision of the first control plane network element (Prabhakar, paragraph [0055], For example, all UE(s) would get a 10% reduction in size, or only the Bronze & Silver category UE(s) would get the reduction while no change for Gold. AMF would inform SMF about the change and SMF, with updated PCC rules from PCF (i.e., a utilized data rate for the policy decision used by the first control plane network element)).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Kim by using the features, as taught by Prabhakar, in order to support dynamic adjustment to meet the limitation of data rate per network slice in the uplink and downlink wireless connections in a wireless network (see Prabhakar, abstract).
Regarding claim 46, Kim discloses a first network device, comprising a processor (Kim, Fig. 29, element 112&120), a transceiver (Kim, Fig. 29, element 114), a memory (Kim, Fig. 29, element 130), and a processor-executable program stored in the memory that, when executed by the processor, causes steps of the communication method according to claim 1 to be implemented (Kim, paragraph [0012]. In order to solve the above problems, one disclosure of the present specification provides a device for performing communication related to change of an application server. The device includes at least one processor; and at least one memory to store instructions and operably electrically connectable with the at least one processor).
Regarding claim 52, Kim discloses wherein a first control plane network element comprises a policy control function (PCF) network element (Kim, paragraph [0070], 5GC (5G Core) may include various components, part of which are shown in FIG. 1, including an access and mobility management function (AMF) 41, a session management function (SMF) 42, a policy control function (PCF) 43), and the being triggered by a policy decision comprises:
being triggered by an internal PCF event or triggered by application function (AF) network element, a unified data repository (UDR) network element, or a network data analysis function (NWDAF) network element (Kim, paragraph [0260], The PCF may perform a PCF initiated SM Policy Association Modification procedure to notify the SMF of the modification of the policy. The PCP-initiated SM policy association modification procedure may be triggered, for example, by a policy decision or may be triggered when an application function (AF) requests).
Kim does not explicitly disclose the following features.
Regarding claim 6, wherein downgrading, by the first control plane network element, the Session-AMBR comprises:
sending, by the first control plane network element, a first indication message to the second control plane network element, wherein the first indication message indicates an SM policy association modification for downgrading the Session-AMBR.
Regarding claim 7, wherein the first indication message comprises at least one of the following information: a single network slice selection assistance information (S-NSSAI) identifier and an authorized Session-AMBR.
Regarding claim 14, wherein notifying the second control plane network element of the modification of the policy comprises:
sending, by the first control plane network element, a first indication message to the second control plane network element, wherein the first indication message indicates decreasing an MBR of a related quality of service (QoS) flow.
Regarding claim 15, wherein the first indication message comprises at least one of the following information:
an S-NSSAI identifier, and an MBR and a guaranteed bit rate (GBR) corresponding to an SDF.
Regarding claim 17, a communication method, performed by the second control plane network element according to claim 1, the communication method comprising:
receiving a first indication message from the first control plane network element, the first indication message indicating that the data rate for the S-NSSAI reaches the threshold; and
changing the Session-AMBR in response to the first indication message.
Regarding claim 18, wherein the first indication message comprises at least one of the following information:
an S-NSSAI identifier and an authorized Session-AMBR;
wherein the method further comprises:
initiating, by the second control plane network element, a packet data unit (PDU) session modification procedure to change the Session-AMBR.
Regarding 20, a communication method, performed by the second control plane network element according to claim 1, the communication method comprising:
receiving a first indication message from the first control plane network element, the first indication message indicating that the data rate for the S-NSSAI reaches the threshold; and
changing a maximum bit rate (MBR) and a guaranteed bit rate (GBR) corresponding to a service data flow (SDF) in response to the first indication message.
Regarding claim 28, wherein downgrading, by the first control plane network element, the UE-Slice-AMBR comprises:
sending, by the first control plane network element, a second indication message to the third control plane network element, wherein the second indication message indicates an AM policy association modification for downgrading the UE-Slice-AMBR.
Regarding claim 29, wherein the second indication message comprises at least one of the following information: a single network slice selection assistance information (S-NSSAI) identifier and an authorized UE-Slice-AMBR.
Regarding claim 31, a communication method, performed by the third control plane network element according to claim 23, the communication method comprising:
receiving a second indication message from the first control plane network element, the second indication message indicating that the data rate for the S-NSSAI reaches the threshold; and changing the UE-Slice-AMBR in response to the second indication message.
Regarding claim 32, wherein the second indication message comprises at least one of the following information:
a single network slice selection assistance information (S-NSSAI) identifier and an authorized UE-Slice-AMBR;
wherein the method further comprises:
initiating, by the third control plane network element, a packet data unit (PDU) session modification procedure to change the UE-Slice-AMBR.
In the same field of endeavor (e.g., communication system) Prabhakar discloses a wireless communications system that comprises the following features.
Regarding claim 6, wherein downgrading, by the first control plane network element (Prabhakar, paragraph [0052], When a PDU session is established successfully for an S-NSSAI, the NSQ updates the AMBR & AvMBR as follows: For non-GBR, the Session-AMER of the established PDU session is reduced from AMBR of the S-NSSAI, AvMBR=(AMBR of S-NSSAI)-(Session-AMBR of the established PDU session). For GBR, the MFBR of the established PDU session is reduced from AMBR of the S-NSSAI, AvMBR=(AMBR of S-NSSAI)-( MFBR of the established PDU session)), the Session-AMBR comprises:
sending, by the first control plane network element, a first indication message to the second control plane network element (Prabhakar, paragraph [0053], AMF/SMF/PCF 410 performs a Nnsq_PDUCount_ AvailabilityCheck_Request. In 440, NSQ checks if quota available for a new PDU session to be established in the S-NSSAI. NSQ 420 responds to AMF/SMF/PCF 410 with aNnsq_PDUCount_AvailabilityCheck_Response. NSQ reduces the PDU session data rates (session-AMER or MFBR) from the AMBR for the S-NSSAI), wherein the first indication message indicates an SM policy association modification for downgrading the Session-AMBR (Prabhakar, paragraph [0053], all UE(s) would get a 10% reduction in size, or only the Bronze & Silver category UE(s) would get the reduction while no change for Gold. AMF would inform SMF about the change and SMF, with updated PCC rules from PCF, will trigger a PDU Modification with an updated QoS. In some cases, the NSQ could send the notification to SMF. SMF would inform the UPF, RAN and optionally the UE about the changes).
Regarding claim 7, wherein the first indication message comprises at least one of the following information: a single network slice selection assistance information (S-NSSAI) identifier and an authorized Session-AMBR (Prabhakar, paragraph [0076], In step 1, New User(s) request for NSSAI or active Session requests Upgrade in Subscription Levels. In step 2, AMF forwards the PDU Session request to respective SMF with the requested NSSAI & UE ID. In step 3, SMF requests PCF to provide SM Policy for UE ID and whether this request can be associated with the required NSSAI 4).
Regarding claim 14, wherein notifying the second control plane network element of the modification of the policy (Prabhakar, paragraph [0076], In step 1, New User(s) request for NSSAI or active Session requests Upgrade in Subscription Levels. In step 2, AMF forwards the PDU Session request to respective SMF with the requested NSSAI & UE ID. In step 3, SMF requests PCF to provide SM Policy for UE ID and whether this request can be associated with the required NSSAI 4) comprises:
sending, by the first control plane network element, a first indication message to the second control plane network element, wherein the first indication message indicates decreasing an MBR of a related quality of service (QoS) flow (Prabhakar, paragraph [0042], GFBR and MFBR are signaled to the (R)AN in the QoS Profile and signaled to the UE as QoS Flow level QoS parameter ( as specified in TS 24.501 (47)) for each individual QoS Flow).
Regarding claim 15, wherein the first indication message comprises at least one of the following information:
an S-NSSAI identifier, and an MBR and a guaranteed bit rate (GBR) corresponding to an SDF (Prabhakar, paragraph [0061], In an alternative approach, one may use an in-band SDAP-based QoS modification in which signaling is substantially reduced. In this alternative approach, as part of the downlink IP packet sent to the user, 5GC will modify the QFI in the DRB associated with the slice-specific PDU session. QFI has 1:1 association with the MFBR and GFBR, as part of the QoS rules configured by network in initial PDU Session Establishment Accept procedure).
Regarding claim 17, a communication method, performed by the second control plane network element according to claim 1, the communication method comprising:
receiving a first indication message from the first control plane network element (Prabhakar, paragraph [0077], In response, an N4 Session Update occurs between SMF 1130 and UPF 1140 to effect S-AMBR changes per subscription level. SMF 1130 then signals PCF 1150 with a Npcf_SMUpdate Response. PCF 1150 (i.e., a first control plane network element) signals AMF 1120 (i.e., a third control plane network element) with a Npcf_AMPolicyControl_Update Notify signal), the first indication message indicating that the data rate for the S-NSSAI reaches the threshold (Prabhakar, paragraph [0055], When the limit of AMBR for a S-NSSAI has been reached (i.e., determining the data rate of the S-NSSAI has reached a threshold), NSQ will initiate a notification to the AMF with the following information: S-NSSAI (for which the limit is reached), a cause code); and
changing the Session-AMBR in response to the first indication message (Prabhakar, paragraph [0055], When the limit of AMBR for a S-NSSAI has been reached, NSQ will initiate a notification to the AMF with the following information: S-NSSAI (for which the limit is reached), a cause code, the percentage of QoS to reduce for the established PDU sessions of the S-NSSAI (i.e., reduce/downgrade a UE AMBR for a S-NSSAI). In an alternative, the percentage would be same for Gold/Silver/Bronze UEs (to maintain fairness) or different. These percentage reductions (i.e., downgrade) could be implementation specific).
Regarding claim 18, wherein the first indication message comprises at least one of the following information:
an S-NSSAI identifier and an authorized Session-AMBR (Prabhakar, paragraph [0076], In step 1, New User(s) request for NSSAI or active Session requests Upgrade in Subscription Levels. In step 2, AMF forwards the PDU Session request to respective SMF with the requested NSSAI & UE ID. In step 3, SMF requests PCF to provide SM Policy for UE ID and whether this request can be associated with the required NSSAI 4);
wherein the method further comprises:
initiating, by the second control plane network element, a packet data unit (PDU) session modification procedure to change the Session-AMBR (Prabhakar, paragraph [0077], In response, an N4 Session Update occurs between SMF 1130 and UPF 1140 to effect S-AMBR changes per subscription level. SMF 1130 then signals PCF 1150 with a Npcf_SMUpdate Response. PCF 1150 (i.e., a first control plane network element) signals AMF 1120 (i.e., a third control plane network element) with a Npcf_AMPolicyControl_Update Notify signal).
Regarding 20, a communication method, performed by the second control plane network element according to claim 1, the communication method comprising:
receiving a first indication message from the first control plane network element (Prabhakar, paragraph [0077], In response, an N4 Session Update occurs between SMF 1130 and UPF 1140 to effect S-AMBR changes per subscription level. SMF 1130 then signals PCF 1150 with a Npcf_SMUpdate Response. PCF 1150 (i.e., a first control plane network element) signals AMF 1120 (i.e., a third control plane network element) with a Npcf_AMPolicyControl_Update Notify signal), the first indication message indicating that the data rate for the S-NSSAI reaches the threshold (Prabhakar, paragraph [0055], When the limit of AMBR for a S-NSSAI has been reached (i.e., determining the data rate of the S-NSSAI has reached a threshold), NSQ will initiate a notification to the AMF with the following information: S-NSSAI (for which the limit is reached), a cause code); and
changing a maximum bit rate (MBR) and a guaranteed bit rate (GBR) corresponding to a service data flow (SDF) in response to the first indication message (Prabhakar, paragraph [0046], The (R)AN shall enforce UE-AMBR (see clause 5.7.2.6) in UL and DL per UE for Non-GBR QoS Flows. The UE shall perform UL rate limitation on PDU Session basis for Non-GBR traffic using Session-AMER, if the UE receives a Session-AMER. MBR per SDF is mandatory for GBR QoS Flows but optional for Non-GBR QoS Flows).
Regarding claim 28, wherein downgrading, by the first control plane network element (Prabhakar, paragraph [0052], When a PDU session is established successfully for an S-NSSAI, the NSQ updates the AMBR & AvMBR as follows: For non-GBR, the Session-AMER of the established PDU session is reduced from AMBR of the S-NSSAI, AvMBR=(AMBR of S-NSSAI)-(Session-AMBR of the established PDU session). For GBR, the MFBR of the established PDU session is reduced from AMBR of the S-NSSAI, AvMBR=(AMBR of S-NSSAI)-( MFBR of the established PDU session)), the UE-Slice-AMBR comprises:
sending, by the first control plane network element, a second indication message to the third control plane network element (Prabhakar, paragraph [0053], AMF/SMF/PCF 410 performs a Nnsq_PDUCount_ AvailabilityCheck_Request. In 440, NSQ checks if quota available for a new PDU session to be established in the S-NSSAI. NSQ 420 responds to AMF/SMF/PCF 410 with aNnsq_PDUCount_AvailabilityCheck_Response. NSQ reduces the PDU session data rates (session-AMER or MFBR) from the AMBR for the S-NSSAI), wherein the second indication message indicates an AM policy association modification for downgrading the UE-Slice-AMBR (Prabhakar, paragraph [0053], all UE(s) would get a 10% reduction in size, or only the Bronze & Silver category UE(s) would get the reduction while no change for Gold. AMF would inform SMF about the change and SMF, with updated PCC rules from PCF, will trigger a PDU Modification with an updated QoS. In some cases, the NSQ could send the notification to SMF. SMF would inform the UPF, RAN and optionally the UE about the changes. Also see paragraph [0077], a new user makes a request for NSSAI or an active user subscription update. AMF 1120 sends a Npcf_AMPolicyControl_Update Request to PCF 1150. PCF 1150 signals NSQ 1160 with an Nnsq_PDUCount_Availability Request. NSQ 1160 updates S-AMBR, per Proposal 0 (as described above)).
Regarding claim 29, wherein the second indication message comprises at least one of the following information: a single network slice selection assistance information (S-NSSAI) identifier and an authorized UE-Slice-AMBR (Prabhakar, paragraph [0076], In step 1, New User(s) request for NSSAI or active Session requests Upgrade in Subscription Levels. In step 2, AMF forwards the PDU Session request to respective SMF with the requested NSSAI & UE ID. In step 3, SMF requests PCF to provide SM Policy for UE ID and whether this request can be associated with the required NSSAI 4).
Regarding claim 31, a communication method, performed by the third control plane network element according to claim 23, the communication method comprising:
receiving a second indication message from the first control plane network element, the second indication message indicating that the data rate for the S-NSSAI reaches the threshold (Prabhakar, paragraph [0055], When the limit of AMBR for a S-NSSAI has been reached (i.e., determining the data rate of the S-NSSAI has reached a threshold), NSQ will initiate a notification to the AMF with the following information: S-NSSAI (for which the limit is reached), a cause code); and changing the UE-Slice-AMBR in response to the second indication message (Prabhakar, paragraph [0055], When the limit of AMBR for a S-NSSAI has been reached, NSQ will initiate a notification to the AMF with the following information: S-NSSAI (for which the limit is reached), a cause code, the percentage of QoS to reduce for the established PDU sessions of the S-NSSAI (i.e., reduce/downgrade a UE AMBR for a S-NSSAI). In an alternative, the percentage would be same for Gold/Silver/Bronze UEs (to maintain fairness) or different. These percentage reductions (i.e., downgrade) could be implementation specific).
Regarding claim 32, wherein the second indication message comprises at least one of the following information:
a single network slice selection assistance information (S-NSSAI) identifier and an authorized UE-Slice-AMBR (Prabhakar, paragraph [0076], In step 1, New User(s) request for NSSAI or active Session requests Upgrade in Subscription Levels. In step 2, AMF forwards the PDU Session request to respective SMF with the requested NSSAI & UE ID. In step 3, SMF requests PCF to provide SM Policy for UE ID and whether this request can be associated with the required NSSAI 4);
wherein the method further comprises:
initiating, by the third control plane network element, a packet data unit (PDU) session modification procedure to change the UE-Slice-AMBR (Prabhakar, paragraph [0077], In response, an N4 Session Update occurs between SMF 1130 and UPF 1140 to effect S-AMBR changes per subscription level. SMF 1130 then signals PCF 1150 with a Npcf_SMUpdate Response. PCF 1150 (i.e., a first control plane network element) signals AMF 1120 (i.e., a third control plane network element) with a Npcf_AMPolicyControl_Update Notify signal).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Kim by using the features, as taught by Prabhakar, in order to support dynamic adjustment to meet the limitation of data rate per network slice in the uplink and downlink wireless connections in a wireless network (see Prabhakar, abstract).
Claim(s) 2, 10 and 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KIM et al., US 2022/0360977 A1 (Kim using PCT application filing date of August 09, 2019 corresponding to PCT/KR2020/005089; referred to as Kim hereinafter hereinafter), in view of PRABHAKAR et al., US 2021/0368395 A1 (using foreign application priority dates of May 22, 2020, corresponding to IN 202041021677; referred to as Prabhakar hereinafter), as applied to the claims above and further in view of Vaishnavi, US 2023/0362031 A1 (using US provisional application filing date of June 18, 2020 related to provisional application 63/041,022; referred to as Vaishnavi hereinafter).
Here is how the references teach the claims.
Regarding claims 2, 10 and 24, Kim and Prabhakar disclose the method according to claim 1, the method according to claim 9 and the method according claim 23. Kim and Prabhakar do not explicitly disclose the following features.
Regarding claim 2, further comprising:
using, by the first control plane network element, a ratio of the utilized data rate to an accumulated data rate and a maximum bit rate (MBR) per service data flow (SDF) for the policy decision of the first control plane network element;
using, by the first control plane network element, a subscriber category for the policy decision of the first control plane network element;
using, by the first control plane network element, an application-based preference for the policy decision of the first control plane network element;
using, by the first control plane network element, a subscriber category and an application- based preference for the policy decision of the first control plane network element; or
using, by the first control plane network element, analytics information provided by a network data analysis function (NWDAF) network element for the policy decision of the first control plane network element.
Regarding claim 10, further comprising:
using, by the first control plane network element, a ratio of the utilized data rate to an accumulated data rate and a maximum bit rate (MBR) per service data flow (SDF) for the policy decision of the first control plane network element;
using, by the first control plane network element, a subscriber category for the policy decision of the first control plane network element;
using, by the first control plane network element, an application-based preference for the policy decision of the first control plane network element;
using, by the first control plane network element, a subscriber category and an application- based preference for the policy decision of the first control plane network element; or
using, by the first control plane network element, analytics information provided by a network data analysis function (NWDAF) network element for the policy decision of the first control plane network element.
Regarding claim 24, further comprising:
using, by the first control plane network element, a ratio of the utilized data rate to an accumulated data rate and a maximum bit rate (MBR) per service data flow (SDF) for the policy decision of the first control plane network element;
using, by the first control plane network element, a subscriber category for the policy decision of the first control plane network element;
using, by the first control plane network element, an application-based preference for the policy decision of the first control plane network element;
using, by the first control plane network element, a subscriber category and an application- based preference for the policy decision of the first control plane network element; or
using, by the first control plane network element, analytics information provided by a network data analysis function (NWDAF) network element for the policy decision of the first control plane network element.
In the same field of endeavor (e.g., communication system) Vaishnavi discloses a wireless communications system that comprises the following features.
Regarding claim 2, further comprising:
using, by the first control plane network element, a ratio of the utilized data rate to an accumulated data rate and a maximum bit rate (MBR) per service data flow (SDF) for the policy decision of the first control plane network element;
using, by the first control plane network element, a subscriber category for the policy decision of the first control plane network element;
using, by the first control plane network element, an application-based preference for the policy decision of the first control plane network element;
using, by the first control plane network element, a subscriber category and an application- based preference for the policy decision of the first control plane network element; or
using, by the first control plane network element, analytics information provided by a network data analysis function (NWDAF) network element for the policy decision of the first control plane network element (Vaishnavi, paragraph [0048], In certain examples, the mobile core network 130 supports network data analytic functions ("NWDAF") 170 that can provide network slice level data analytics (e.g., load level information) to PCF 150 (i.e., the first control pane network element) and the NSSF 165. The PCF 150 can use that data in its policy decisions).
Regarding claim 10, further comprising:
using, by the first control plane network element, a ratio of the utilized data rate to an accumulated data rate and a maximum bit rate (MBR) per service data flow (SDF) for the policy decision of the first control plane network element;
using, by the first control plane network element, a subscriber category for the policy decision of the first control plane network element;
using, by the first control plane network element, an application-based preference for the policy decision of the first control plane network element;
using, by the first control plane network element, a subscriber category and an application- based preference for the policy decision of the first control plane network element; or
using, by the first control plane network element, analytics information provided by a network data analysis function (NWDAF) network element for the policy decision of the first control plane network element (Vaishnavi, paragraph [0048], In certain examples, the mobile core network 130 supports network data analytic functions ("NWDAF") 170 that can provide network slice level data analytics (e.g., load level information) to PCF 150 (i.e., the first control pane network element) and the NSSF 165. The PCF 150 can use that data in its policy decisions).
Regarding claim 24, further comprising:
using, by the first control plane network element, a ratio of the utilized data rate to an accumulated data rate and a maximum bit rate (MBR) per service data flow (SDF) for the policy decision of the first control plane network element;
using, by the first control plane network element, a subscriber category for the policy decision of the first control plane network element;
using, by the first control plane network element, an application-based preference for the policy decision of the first control plane network element;
using, by the first control plane network element, a subscriber category and an application- based preference for the policy decision of the first control plane network element; or
using, by the first control plane network element, analytics information provided by a network data analysis function (NWDAF) network element for the policy decision of the first control plane network element (Vaishnavi, paragraph [0048], In certain examples, the mobile core network 130 supports network data analytic functions ("NWDAF") 170 that can provide network slice level data analytics (e.g., load level information) to PCF 150 (i.e., the first control pane network element) and the NSSF 165. The PCF 150 can use that data in its policy decisions).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Kim and Prabhakar by using the features, as taught by Vaishnavi, in order to support enhanced management of control loops with the ability to pause or continue the execution of control loops (see Vaishnavi, paragraphs [0002] and [0004]).
Claim(s) 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KIM et al., US 2022/0360977 A1 (Kim using PCT application filing date of August 09, 2019 corresponding to PCT/KR2020/005089; referred to as Kim hereinafter hereinafter), in view of PRABHAKAR et al., US 2021/0368395 A1 (using foreign application priority dates of May 22, 2020, corresponding to IN 202041021677; referred to as Prabhakar hereinafter), as applied to the claims above and further in view of LIANG et al., US 2022/0353729 A1 (using continuation of PCT application filing date of January 17, 2020 corresponding to PCT/CN2020/072689; referred to as Liang hereinafter).
Here is how the references teach the claims.
Regarding claim 21, Kim and Prabhakar disclose the method according to claim 20.
Kim does not explicitly disclose wherein the first indication message comprises at least one of the following information: an S-NSSAI identifier, and the MBR and the GBR corresponding to the SDF;
wherein the method further comprises:
performing, by the second control plane network element, an authorized quality of service (QoS) of the service data flow according to a policy and charging control (PCC) rule.
In the same field of endeavor (e.g., communication system) Prabhakar discloses a wireless communications system that comprises wherein the first indication message comprises at least one of the following information: an S-NSSAI identifier, and the MBR and the GBR corresponding to the SDF (Prabhakar, paragraph [0061], In an alternative approach, one may use an in-band SDAP-based QoS modification in which signaling is substantially reduced. In this alternative approach, as part of the downlink IP packet sent to the user, 5GC will modify the QFI in the DRB associated with the slice-specific PDU session. QFI has 1:1 association with the MFBR and GFBR, as part of the QoS rules configured by network in initial PDU Session Establishment Accept procedure);
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Kim by using the features, as taught by Prabhakar, in order to support dynamic adjustment to meet the limitation of data rate per network slice in the uplink and downlink wireless connections in a wireless network (see Prabhakar, abstract).
Kim and Prabhakar do not explicitly disclose wherein the method further comprises:
performing, by the second control plane network element, an authorized quality of service (QoS) of the service data flow according to a policy and charging control (PCC) rule. In the same field of endeavor (e.g., communication system) Liang discloses a method related to wireless communications that comprises wherein the method further comprises: performing, by the second control plane network element, an authorized quality of service (QoS) of the service data flow according to a policy and charging control (PCC) rule (Liang, paragraph [0067], As discussed in greater detail below with respect to FIG. 5, the UDR may store (via the PCF) the latest total GFBR/MFBR in use. The PCC rule from the PCF authorizes QoS to be enforced for each specific service data flow. The SMF determines the authorized QoS of a QoS Flow using the PCC rules associated to the QoS Flow. The SMF notifies the PCF if the GFBR of a QoS Flow can no longer be guaranteed. When a new GBR flow is quested, the SMF notifies the PCF the MBR of a service data flow is allocated).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Kim and Prabhakar by using the features, as taught by Liang, in order to support QoS control for a specific user equipment facilitating the enablement of different services and requirement (see Liang, abstract and [0003]).
Conclusion
/OBAIDUL HUQ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2473 Dated: 01/26/2026