DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Janson (US 10,611,085 B1).
Regarding Claim 1, Janson discloses an apparatus for recycling recyclable materials, as illustrated in figures 1, 3, 5a, 8 and 15, for example, noting steps 11 and 12 of figure 15, and as mentioned at col. 5, lines 14-21, for example, comprising:
a) an input, i.e., via recycler door (14), as illustrated in figure 1 and as mentioned at col. 8, lines 11-24, noting that the recyclable items are fed into the grinder/hopper compartment (26), as illustrated in figure 3, through the grinder/recycler door (14), as mentioned at col. 12, lines 3-13, for example, for receiving a quantity of the recyclable materials, i.e., the recyclable meltable materials (30) as illustrated in figure 1, for example;
b) a modification unit, i.e., the grinder (22) and other elements inside frame (10), as illustrated in figures 1, 3 and 5a, for receiving the quantity of the recyclable material (30) from the input (14) and selectively producing a modified material, i.e., 3D objects (78) as illustrated in figure 8, from at least some of the quantity of the recyclable material (30), i.e., the ground material (32) as illustrated in figure 3,
wherein the modification unit, i.e., the elements inside frame (10), includes the following separate sub-units:
a grinding/crushing sub-unit, i.e., grinder (22) as mentioned in col. 8, lines 11-29 and as illustrated in figures 1-3, for example;
a melting/heating sub-unit, i.e., materials heating system (MHS, 42) as illustrated in figures 4, 5a, 5b and 10a and as mentioned at col. 9, lines 36-56, col. 4, lines 33-45 for example;
a pressing, soldering and molding sub-unit, i.e. the injection molding unit for die casting or injection molding, as mentioned at col. 11, lines 27-col. 12, line 2 and col. 5, lines 49-56, noting that the injection molding unit is construed as both pressing and soldering together the ground particles together, and noting that the first sentence of the passage states “[w]hen used in a CNC (subtractive) or injection molding configuration (additive), the reversible plate 114 has its four adjustable and toothed screw clamps 120 facing up, exposed on the relative surface of 114, four clamps which slide along each of their four respective tracks 124, to be able to clamp down objects on the surface of 114, for example, but not limited to, a building block for CNC machining, or a mold for die casting, injection molding, or other similar processes whereby a molten “male” material, takes the shape of a boundary “female” void (with a higher melting temperature than the molten material, as not to have the die-like boundary melt in the process)”; and
a finishing sub-unit, i.e., painting/dying tool head (134) as illustrated in figure 6 and as mentioned at col., 11, line 50-col. 12, line 2;
wherein each sub-unit is configured to perform a specific phase of the recycling, i.e., as mentioned at col. 12, lines 2-22, for example, and
c) an output, i.e., via shield (80) for providing the modified material (32).
Regarding Claim 2, Janson discloses further comprising: a user interface, i.e., software controlled panel and monitor (82) as illustrated in figure 1 and as mentioned at col. 5, lines 49-56 and col. 6, lines 47-62 and col. 7, lines 56-63, for example, for selecting how the quantity of the recyclable materials (30) is to be modified by the modification unit (10, 22).
Regarding Claim 3, Janson discloses wherein the user interface (82) is a digital screen and/or application with a menu, as mentioned at col. 14, lines 41-47, mentioning “touch based detection of buttons, screens, etc., and as illustrated in figures 12 and 13, mentioning steps (1-4), such as step (3b) which states “the user responds to the presented choices, serving as inputs to apparatus, CPU, system (etc)”, wherein the user interface (82) is configured to receive instructions from a user or from a manufacturer, noting the mention of the term “the user” in step (3b), figure 12, which is construed to broadly include these three categories, for example. See also col. 5, line 64-col. 6, line 4, col. 1, lines 42-46 and col. 6, lines 16-26 and lines 47-62.
Regarding Claim 4, Janson discloses further comprising: a controller having at least one processor associated with the user interface (82) for actuating the modification unit (10, 22) to modify the quantity of the recyclable materials in response to input received from the user interface (82) as mentioned at col. 6, lines 47-62 and col. 7, line 53-col. 8, line 10 and as illustrated in figures 1, 3 and 5a, for example.
Regarding Claim 5, Janson discloses wherein the recyclable materials (30) are selected from the group consisting of: papers, glasses, wood, metal, and polymeric materials, as mentioned at col. 12, lines 3-13, for example.
Regarding Claim 6, Janson discloses wherein the recyclable material (30) is a polymeric material, as mentioned at col. 12, lines 3-13, for example.
Regarding Claim 7, Janson discloses wherein the polymeric material is a plastic material, as mentioned at col. 12, lines 3-13, for example.
Regarding Claim 8, Janson discloses wherein the plastic material is selected from the group consisting of: plastic bottles, and boxes, noting the mention of “white milk jug plastic” which is considered to be a plastic bottle, in step (11) as illustrated in figure 15.
Regarding Claim 9, Janson discloses, wherein modified material, i.e., the 3D objects (78) as illustrated in figure 8, is a new recycled product or a recycled material, as mentioned at col. 10, line 51-col. 11, line 12 and col. 13, line 64-col. 14, line 5.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Janson (US 10,611085 B1) in view of Dumas et al (US 2014/0279412 A1).
Regarding Claims 10-12, Janson teaches the system as described above.
Regarding Claim 10, Janson teaches wherein a user can choose from the menu, i.e., the user may input further commands, as mentioned at col. 15, lines 18-21, i.e., “[n]ext, the user provides the system with a scan of the object” and “[t]he system may offer the user with an option to load an image file, download or upload a design file, or scan the object into the system, to generate a model for the system to build” and “[t]he system AI may provide text, LED blinking, lighting, and/or verbal/audio cues to the user so that the user may input further commands to the tools in the system to build the object”, and as mentioned at claim 1, col. 16, lines 14-23, i.e., “inputting task commands to the processor with input devices comprise(ing) a touchscreen…” , to receive a new recycled product, i.e., such as a 3D object as mentioned at Col. 13, line 64-col. 14, line 4 as well as the mention in step (11) of figure 15, mentioning the creation of a red bowl, and to receive a payment for inserting the recyclable material.
Regarding Claim 10, Janson does not expressly teach to receive a payment for inserting the recyclable material.
Regarding Claim 10, Janson does not expressly teach, but Dumas teaches to receive a payment for inserting the recyclable material, as illustrated in figure 6, showing various prices paid for particular recyclable materials resulting in a total payment in the form of a print voucher (106) or a direction deposit (108) into a user’s account (406) as illustrated in figure 7a, for example.
Regarding Claim 10, before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided to receive a payment for inserting the recyclable material, as taught by Dumas, In Janson’s apparatus for recycling materials for the purpose of encouraging recyclable materials to be returned for recycling by providing monetary value upon return and deposit into the recycling apparatus.
Regarding Claim 11, Janson teaches wherein the new recycled product is selected from the group consisting of: slippers, ball game sticks, toys, tools, a ruler, and a stand, noting again the red bowl mentioned in step (11) of figure 15, which can be construed as either a toy or a tool under a broadest reasonable interpretation. Note also that the type of item created from the recycled material is considered to be a matter of design choice based upon the desired item and the ability to create a 3D copy of it from a digital file in the 3D printing process as described in step (11), for example.
Regarding Claim 12, Janson teaches wherein a manufacturer can retrieve the recycled material, interpreted as the product created from the material (30) such as the red bowl as mentioned in step (11) of figure 15, from said apparatus, noting that col. 6, lines 16-34, which state as follows.
(22) Moreover, aspects of the subject technology allow users to take a world problem, garbage, and repurpose the same into over seven hundred thousand different new products or solutions, which creates a potential for users to make and sell products, designs, and recyclables materials to others, to not only have the invention pay for itself, but to potentially make a significant profit, and as such this invention could allow someone to become employed as a manufacturer, reducing their need to engage in crime and/or conflict to access the resources required to survive, bettering the social fabric and infrastructure.
(23) The system disclosed decentralizes the power and influence of the world's oligarchs, by allowing many homes and offices to make new inexpensive products out of their own garbage instead of constantly buying expensive products. As a result, the need for expensive supply chains is reduced, increasing savings and profits, which can benefit the economy.
Emphasis provided.
Note that it is considered to be a matter of design choice as to what individual is considered to be a manufacturer or a user, and that a user can be his/her own customer and/or manufacturer.
Claim(s) 18 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Janson (US 10,611085 B1) in view of Porter et al (US 2018/0207863 A1).
Regarding Claims 18 and 19, Janson teaches the system as described above.
Regarding Claim 18, Janson does not expressly teach wherein the heating sub-unit includes incandescent bulbs or LEDs.
Regarding Claim 18, Janson does not expressly teach, but Porter teaches wherein the heating sub-unit includes incandescent bulbs or LEDs, as mentioned at paragraph 98, which states as follows.
[0098] In the case of thermoset materials, once the components are mixed (or if a single-component material, then without mixing), they often need to be cured using heat or light (e.g., ultraviolet). Like optical (e.g., UV, visible light) curing, thermal curing can be provided in some embodiments using an “extrude and cure” approach (thus the term “Extrude and Cure Additive Manufacturing”, or ECAM, may be applied) such as that shown in FIG. 12(a), in which extrudate is exposed to energy (e.g., thermal energy) shortly after leaving the orifice using light from a broadband IR (infrared) spot curing system (e.g., the iCure system of IR Photonics (Hamden, Conn.)) or a similar product by Full Spectrum Technologies (San Clemente, Calif.), or an IR system which illuminates over a broad area, including in some embodiments the entire layer. IR sources have already been used to quickly cure silicones [Huang et al., 1994; Reilly and Brunet, 2012], for example. In some embodiments, ultraviolet or visible-light cured thermoset materials such as silicone elastomers, acrylates, epoxies, and thiol-ene resins may also be used in conjunction with the methods and apparatus described herein, with light delivered to the material from a localized source (e.g., incandescent light, mercury bulb, light emitting diode, or laser), either in close proximity to the material to be cured, transmitted through at least one light guide (e.g., optical fiber or liquid light guide), etc. Spot cure systems such as the BLUEWAVE® systems made by Dymax Corporation (Torrington, Conn.) exemplify suitable systems for UV curing using metal-halide bulbs or short wavelength LEDs, though flood curing may also be used.
Emphasis provided.
Regarding Claim 18, before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided teach wherein the heating sub-unit includes incandescent bulbs or LEDs, as taught by Porter, In Janson’s apparatus for recycling materials for the purpose of heating and thus curing items created from the ground recycled material.
Regarding Claim 19, Janson does not expressly teach wherein the finishing sub-unit is configured to perform a finishing process including polishing, painting, and cleaning.
Regarding Claim 19, Janson does not expressly teach, but Porter teaches wherein the finishing sub-unit is configured to perform a finishing process including polishing, painting, and cleaning, as mentioned at paragraphs 21, 35, 42-44, 49 and 60, which state as follows.
[0021] In some examples, to achieve the necessary specifications or improve properties of the object such as, for example, surface quality, geometric accuracy, mechanical properties, etc., it may be desired or necessary to perform one or more post-manufacturing process(es) on the object. The terms “post-process,” “post-manufacturing process,” and/or variations thereof are used herein to mean any process that may be performed on an object after the general shape of the object has been formed (e.g., by an AM process). For example, one or more subtractive manufacturing processes (e.g., drilling, cutting, etc.) may be used to remove temporary support structures built during the AM process, to improve the surface resolution of the object, to create additional edges or openings, etc. Further, other post-manufacturing processes, such as, for example, de-powdering, cleaning, 3D scanning, painting, heat treating, shot peening, electrochemical treatment, etc., may be used to improve the mechanical and/or tactile properties of the surface of additively manufactured parts.
[0035] In particular, it is often beneficial to retain the objects on the substrate 106 while performing the one or more post-manufacturing process(es). For example, some objects (because of their geometries) may not have an appropriate fixture point to fix the object to a post-manufacturing machine. Thus, if the object is removed, an appropriate fixture point has to be added or an additional structure has to be created on the object during the AM process. Otherwise, a specialized fixture has to be built to interface with the object, which is expensive and time consuming. Also, fixing each object to a machine requires significant time and, thus, reduces cost efficiency. Further, in some instances, it may be desirable to perform the same post-manufacturing process on a plurality of the objects (e.g., cleaning, heat treating, painting, sand-blasting, etc.). Thus, rather than performing the process on each object separately, it may be more economical to perform the process on a batch of the objects at the same time. Therefore, in many instances, it is more economical and efficient to keep the objects fixed to the substrate 106 during the post-manufacturing process(es). However, as mentioned above, the post-manufacturing process(es) often include tools (e.g., drill bits, laser jets, etc.) that need to move around the object(s) to perform the respective process(es). As such, a space or volume around the object needs to be kept clear to accommodate the toolpath of the respective post-manufacturing process so that the tool does not contact another object on the substrate.
[0042] As mentioned above, in many instances, one or more post-manufacturing process(es) are to be performed on the object(s) 116a-116n by the post-manufacturing machine(s) 104 after the object(s) 116a-116n are built on the substrate 106 by the AM machine 102. The example post-manufacturing machine(s) 104 and/or process(es) may include subtractive type manufacturing processes such as, for example, CNC machining (e.g., performed by the CNC machine 400 of FIG. 4), laser etching (e.g., to etch a serial number into an object), electrical discharge machining (EDM), electro-chemical erosion, laser cutting, water cutting, polishing, turning, drilling, boring, reaming, milling, shaping, planing, broaching, sawing, cutting, abrasive flow machining, etc. Additionally or alternatively, example post-manufacturing machine(s) 104 and/or process(es) may include other types of machine(s) and/or process(es), such as de-powdering units, washing units, painting, media blasting, priming, heat treating, 3D scanning, a coordinate measuring machine (CMM), shot peening, etc.
[0043] For example, referring briefly to FIG. 5, FIG. 5 shows an example toolpath volume (shown in dashed lines) around the object 214 (which may correspond to one of the objects 116a-116n). The toolpath volume represents the space around the object 214 that one or more tool(s) of the post-manufacturing machine(s) 104 may travel when performing operations (e.g., drilling, cleaning, measuring, painting, etc.) on the object 214.
[0044] In some examples, the specific post-manufacturing process(es) to be performed on an object are defined by the associated machining file. For example, the one or more post-manufacturing process(es) may be pre-selected based on certain specifications of the object (e.g., based on a certain tolerance or surface smoothness to be achieved). In such an example, one or more post-manufacturing process(es) may be selected to smooth the surfaces of the object after the object is built by the AM machine 102 and defined in the associated machining file. Additionally or alternatively, a user (e.g., a customer) may request one or more post-manufacturing process(es) (e.g., sand blasting, cutting, painting, etc.) to be performed on the object after being built by the AM machine 102. In other examples, one or more post-manufacturing process(es) may be selected in other manners and/or based on other considerations. The toolpath volume may depend on one or more factors, such as the size and shape of the respective object, the type of post-manufacturing process(es) to be performed, the type of post-manufacturing machine(s) (e.g., a model of CNC machine) used to perform the process(es), etc. Different ones of the post-manufacturing machine(s) 104 and/or process(es) may result in different toolpath volumes around an object to perform the respective post-manufacturing process(es).
[0049] After the object(s) 116-116n are built or formed on the substrate 106, the one or more post-manufacturing process(es) are performed on the object(s) 116-116n via the post-manufacturing machine(s) 104 and the object(s) are removed from the substrate 106. The post-manufacturing process(es) and removal are performed according to the sequence defined by the layout and sequence determiner 124. In some examples, one or more post-manufacturing process(es) may be performed on multiple ones of the object(s) 116a-116n on the substrate 106 at the same time. For example, after the object(s) 116a-116n are built on the substrate 106, the substrate 106 (along with the associated objects 116a-116n) may be sent to a de-powdering unit to de-powder the substrate 106, may be sent to a washer to be cleaned, may be sent to a heater for heat treatment, may be sent to a 3D scanner or CMM to identify/confirm the measurements and shapes of the object(s) 116-116n, etc. Thus, in some examples, one or more post-manufacturing process(es) may be performed on multiple ones of the object(s) 116-116n before the object(s) 116-116n are removed in sequence (and/or additional post-manufacturing processes are performed on the object(s) 116-116n).
[0060] Also, while in the illustrated example the post-manufacturing machine(s) 104 are shown as separate from the AM machine 102, it is understood that one or more of the post-manufacturing processes may be performed directly by the AM machine 102. For example, the AM machine 102 may include one or more tools for de-powdering the substrate 106, cleaning the objects 116a-116n, cutting material, drilling material, etc. Thus, in some examples, after the object(s) 116-116n are built using the AM machine 102, the object(s) 116-116n (along with the substrate 106) remain in the AM machine 102 for one or more post-manufacturing process(es).
Emphasis provided.
Regarding Claim 19, before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided wherein the finishing sub-unit is configured to perform a finishing process including polishing, painting, and cleaning, as taught by Porter, In Janson’s apparatus for recycling materials for the purpose of performing post manufacturing processing including processes such as polishing, painting and/or cleaning of items created from the ground recycled material so as to create a finished product.
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Janson (US 10,611085 B1) in view of Boyle et al (US 2019/0168305 A1).
Regarding Claim 19, Janson teaches the system as described above.
Regarding Claim 19, Janson does not expressly teach wherein the finishing sub-unit is configured to perform a finishing process including polishing, painting, and cleaning.
Regarding Claim 19, Janson does not expressly teach, but Boyle teaches wherein the finishing sub-unit is configured to perform a finishing process including polishing, painting, and cleaning, as mentioned at paragraphs 21, 35, 42-44, 49 and 60, which state as follows.
[0021] In some examples, to achieve the necessary specifications or improve properties of the object such as, for example, surface quality, geometric accuracy, mechanical properties, etc., it may be desired or necessary to perform one or more post-manufacturing process(es) on the object. The terms “post-process,” “post-manufacturing process,” and/or variations thereof are used herein to mean any process that may be performed on an object after the general shape of the object has been formed (e.g., by an AM process). For example, one or more subtractive manufacturing processes (e.g., drilling, cutting, etc.) may be used to remove temporary support structures built during the AM process, to improve the surface resolution of the object, to create additional edges or openings, etc. Further, other post-manufacturing processes, such as, for example, de-powdering, cleaning, 3D scanning, painting, heat treating, shot peening, electrochemical treatment, etc., may be used to improve the mechanical and/or tactile properties of the surface of additively manufactured parts.
[0035] In particular, it is often beneficial to retain the objects on the substrate 106 while performing the one or more post-manufacturing process(es). For example, some objects (because of their geometries) may not have an appropriate fixture point to fix the object to a post-manufacturing machine. Thus, if the object is removed, an appropriate fixture point has to be added or an additional structure has to be created on the object during the AM process. Otherwise, a specialized fixture has to be built to interface with the object, which is expensive and time consuming. Also, fixing each object to a machine requires significant time and, thus, reduces cost efficiency. Further, in some instances, it may be desirable to perform the same post-manufacturing process on a plurality of the objects (e.g., cleaning, heat treating, painting, sand-blasting, etc.). Thus, rather than performing the process on each object separately, it may be more economical to perform the process on a batch of the objects at the same time. Therefore, in many instances, it is more economical and efficient to keep the objects fixed to the substrate 106 during the post-manufacturing process(es). However, as mentioned above, the post-manufacturing process(es) often include tools (e.g., drill bits, laser jets, etc.) that need to move around the object(s) to perform the respective process(es). As such, a space or volume around the object needs to be kept clear to accommodate the toolpath of the respective post-manufacturing process so that the tool does not contact another object on the substrate.
[0042] As mentioned above, in many instances, one or more post-manufacturing process(es) are to be performed on the object(s) 116a-116n by the post-manufacturing machine(s) 104 after the object(s) 116a-116n are built on the substrate 106 by the AM machine 102. The example post-manufacturing machine(s) 104 and/or process(es) may include subtractive type manufacturing processes such as, for example, CNC machining (e.g., performed by the CNC machine 400 of FIG. 4), laser etching (e.g., to etch a serial number into an object), electrical discharge machining (EDM), electro-chemical erosion, laser cutting, water cutting, polishing, turning, drilling, boring, reaming, milling, shaping, planing, broaching, sawing, cutting, abrasive flow machining, etc. Additionally or alternatively, example post-manufacturing machine(s) 104 and/or process(es) may include other types of machine(s) and/or process(es), such as de-powdering units, washing units, painting, media blasting, priming, heat treating, 3D scanning, a coordinate measuring machine (CMM), shot peening, etc.
[0043] For example, referring briefly to FIG. 5, FIG. 5 shows an example toolpath volume (shown in dashed lines) around the object 214 (which may correspond to one of the objects 116a-116n). The toolpath volume represents the space around the object 214 that one or more tool(s) of the post-manufacturing machine(s) 104 may travel when performing operations (e.g., drilling, cleaning, measuring, painting, etc.) on the object 214.
[0044] In some examples, the specific post-manufacturing process(es) to be performed on an object are defined by the associated machining file. For example, the one or more post-manufacturing process(es) may be pre-selected based on certain specifications of the object (e.g., based on a certain tolerance or surface smoothness to be achieved). In such an example, one or more post-manufacturing process(es) may be selected to smooth the surfaces of the object after the object is built by the AM machine 102 and defined in the associated machining file. Additionally or alternatively, a user (e.g., a customer) may request one or more post-manufacturing process(es) (e.g., sand blasting, cutting, painting, etc.) to be performed on the object after being built by the AM machine 102. In other examples, one or more post-manufacturing process(es) may be selected in other manners and/or based on other considerations. The toolpath volume may depend on one or more factors, such as the size and shape of the respective object, the type of post-manufacturing process(es) to be performed, the type of post-manufacturing machine(s) (e.g., a model of CNC machine) used to perform the process(es), etc. Different ones of the post-manufacturing machine(s) 104 and/or process(es) may result in different toolpath volumes around an object to perform the respective post-manufacturing process(es).
[0049] After the object(s) 116-116n are built or formed on the substrate 106, the one or more post-manufacturing process(es) are performed on the object(s) 116-116n via the post-manufacturing machine(s) 104 and the object(s) are removed from the substrate 106. The post-manufacturing process(es) and removal are performed according to the sequence defined by the layout and sequence determiner 124. In some examples, one or more post-manufacturing process(es) may be performed on multiple ones of the object(s) 116a-116n on the substrate 106 at the same time. For example, after the object(s) 116a-116n are built on the substrate 106, the substrate 106 (along with the associated objects 116a-116n) may be sent to a de-powdering unit to de-powder the substrate 106, may be sent to a washer to be cleaned, may be sent to a heater for heat treatment, may be sent to a 3D scanner or CMM to identify/confirm the measurements and shapes of the object(s) 116-116n, etc. Thus, in some examples, one or more post-manufacturing process(es) may be performed on multiple ones of the object(s) 116-116n before the object(s) 116-116n are removed in sequence (and/or additional post-manufacturing processes are performed on the object(s) 116-116n).
[0060] Also, while in the illustrated example the post-manufacturing machine(s) 104 are shown as separate from the AM machine 102, it is understood that one or more of the post-manufacturing processes may be performed directly by the AM machine 102. For example, the AM machine 102 may include one or more tools for de-powdering the substrate 106, cleaning the objects 116a-116n, cutting material, drilling material, etc. Thus, in some examples, after the object(s) 116-116n are built using the AM machine 102, the object(s) 116-116n (along with the substrate 106) remain in the AM machine 102 for one or more post-manufacturing process(es).
Emphasis provided.
Regarding Claim 19, before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided wherein the finishing sub-unit is configured to perform a finishing process including polishing, painting, and cleaning, as taught by Boyle, In Janson’s apparatus for recycling materials for the purpose of performing post manufacturing processing including processes such as polishing, painting and/or cleaning of items created from the ground recycled material so as to create a finished product.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 18 and 19 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant's arguments filed 11/4/25 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding Claim 1, Applicant assert that Janson does not teach “a manufacturing unit including various separate sub units (a grinding/crushing sub-unit; a melting/heating sub-unit; a pressing, soldering and molding sub-unit; and a finishing sub-unit), wherein each sub-unit includes a system configured for each manufacturing process, and not merely a variety of exchangeable machine heads within a single manufacturing chamber”. See Applicant’s Remarks received 11/4/25, p. 6, second paragraph, first sentence.
In response, it is noted that Janson discloses the following specific subunits that can be construed to include their own system:
wherein the modification unit, i.e., the elements inside frame (10), includes the following separate sub-units:
a grinding/crushing sub-unit, i.e., grinder (22) as mentioned in col. 8, lines 11-29 and as illustrated in figures 1-3, for example;
a melting/heating sub-unit, i.e., materials heating system (MHS, 42) as illustrated in figures 4, 5a, 5b and 10a and as mentioned at col. 9, lines 36-56, col. 4, lines 33-45 for example;
a pressing, soldering and molding sub-unit, i.e. the injection molding unit for die casting or injection molding, as mentioned at col. 11, lines 27-col. 12, line 2 and col. 5, lines 49-56, noting that the injection molding unit is construed as both pressing and soldering together the ground particles together, and noting that the first sentence of the passage states “[w]hen used in a CNC (subtractive) or injection molding configuration (additive), the reversible plate 114 has its four adjustable and toothed screw clamps 120 facing up, exposed on the relative surface of 114, four clamps which slide along each of their four respective tracks 124, to be able to clamp down objects on the surface of 114, for example, but not limited to, a building block for CNC machining, or a mold for die casting, injection molding, or other similar processes whereby a molten “male” material, takes the shape of a boundary “female” void (with a higher melting temperature than the molten material, as not to have the die-like boundary melt in the process)”; and
a finishing sub-unit, i.e., painting/dying tool head (134) as illustrated in figure 6 and as mentioned at col., 11, line 50-col. 12, line 2;
wherein each sub-unit is configured to perform a specific phase of the recycling, i.e., as mentioned at col. 12, lines 2-22, for example, and
c) an output, i.e., via shield (80) for providing the modified material (32).
The term “system” is defined by www.dictionary.com as follows.
system
[sis-tuhm]
Phonetic (Standard)IPA
noun
an assemblage or combination of things or parts forming a complex or unitary whole.
a mountain system; a railroad system.
A system can be construed to be a structure and/or a grouping of elements. Based on the above citations from Janson, each of the above elements of Janson are each construed to be specific sub units each constituting “a system configured for each manufacturing process”. It is further noted that a machine head can also be construed to be a unique sub unit which constitutes a system. Each of the sub units as shown above of Janson performs the claimed function. Note also that Claims 1-12, 18 and 19 are apparatus claims. Under MPEP 2114 (II), the manner of operating the device does not differentiate apparatus claims from the prior art, and states as follows.
II. MANNER OF OPERATING THE DEVICE DOES NOT DIFFERENTIATE APPARATUS CLAIM FROM THE PRIOR ART
"[A]pparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does." Hewlett-Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (emphasis in original). A claim containing a "recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus" if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987) (The preamble of claim 1 recited that the apparatus was "for mixing flowing developer material" and the body of the claim recited "means for mixing ..., said mixing means being stationary and completely submerged in the developer material." The claim was rejected over a reference which taught all the structural limitations of the claim for the intended use of mixing flowing developer. However, the mixer was only partially submerged in the developer material. The Board held that the amount of submersion is immaterial to the structure of the mixer and thus the claim was properly rejected.).
Emphasis provided.
Thus, Claims 1-9 remain rejected under 35 U.S.C. Section 102 and Claims 10-12 remain rejected under 35 U.S.C. Section 103. Newly added Claims 18 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. Section 103. Claims 13-17 remain withdrawn.
Conclusion
Applicant is encouraged to contact the Examiner should there be any questions about this rejection or in an endeavor to explore potential amendments or potential allowable subject matter.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JEFFREY A SHAPIRO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3619
November 22, 2025