DETAILED ACTION
Status
Claims(s) 1-10, is/are filed on 11/8/2023 are currently pending. Claim(s) 10 is/are withdrawn without traverse, 1-9 is/are rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by TOKOSHIMA (JP 2011167633 A).
Claims 1-9 are directed towards apparatus claims. Please note: "[A]pparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does." Hewlett-Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (emphasis in original). A claim containing a "recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus" if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987).“The manner or method in which such machine is to be utilized is not germane to the issue of patentability of the machine itself.” Id.at 580.
Regarding claim 1, TOKOSHIMA teaches a pure water production apparatus comprising: an ultraviolet ray radiation apparatus (3) that irradiates water to be treated with ultraviolet rays; a TOC acquisition unit (2K combines both DO and TOC) and a dissolved oxygen concentration (2K) acquisition unit that are provided upstream of the ultraviolet ray radiation apparatus; and control means (2V, 2P) (note: control means is interpreted as any valve or pump that operates these conditions) that controls concentration of dissolved oxygen in the water to be treated that is supplied to the ultraviolet ray radiation apparatus such that a mass ratio of the concentration of dissolved oxygen in the water to be treated that is acquired by the dissolved oxygen concentration acquisition unit to TOC in the water to be treated that is acquired by the TOC acquisition unit is 1 or more and 7 or less (intended use) [0053, 007-0085].
Regarding claim 2, TOKOSHIMA teaches wherein the control means controls the concentration of dissolved oxygen in the water to be treated that is supplied to the ultraviolet ray radiation apparatus such that the mass ratio is 2 or more and 7 or less (intended use) [0045-0085].
Regarding claim 3, TOKOSHIMA teaches wherein the TOC in the water to be treated that is supplied to the ultraviolet ray radiation apparatus is 10 μg/L or less (intended use) [0039].
Regarding claim 4, TOKOSHIMA teaches wherein the control means controls the concentration of dissolved oxygen in the water to be treated that is supplied to the ultraviolet ray radiation apparatus such that the mass ratio is 2 or more and 5 or less (intended use) [0039].
Regarding claim 5, TOKOSHIMA teaches wherein the control means controls the concentration of dissolved oxygen in the water to be treated that is supplied to the ultraviolet ray radiation apparatus such that a consumption rate of dissolved oxygen of the ultraviolet ray radiation apparatus is 90% or more (intended use) [0046-0047].
Regarding claim 6, TOKOSHIMA teaches further comprising deoxidization means (2, gas dissolution membrane module) that is positioned upstream of the dissolved oxygen concentration acquisition unit and the ultraviolet ray radiation apparatus.
Regarding claim 7, TOKOSHIMA teaches wherein the deoxidization means is a deaerator apparatus (2, gas dissolution membrane module), and the concentration of dissolved oxygen is controlled by adjusting a degree of vacuum (evacuating the inside with a vacuum pump (2P)) in the deaerator apparatus [0046].
Regarding claim 8, TOKOSHIMA teaches further comprising oxygen supply means (2V) that is positioned upstream of the dissolved oxygen concentration acquisition unit and the ultraviolet ray radiation apparatus [0047].
Regarding claim 9, TOKOSHIMA teaches wherein no oxidizing agent is added to the water to be treated that is supplied to the ultraviolet ray radiation apparatus, (intended use) [0034]: “water to be treated without chemical treatment or heating treatment”.
Claim(s) 1-5, 8-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by YAMAKOSHI (JP H0440292 A).
Claims 1-9 are directed towards apparatus claims. Please note: "[A]pparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does." Hewlett-Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (emphasis in original). A claim containing a "recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus" if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987).“The manner or method in which such machine is to be utilized is not germane to the issue of patentability of the machine itself.” Id.at 580.
Regarding claim 1, YAMAKOSHI teaches a pure water production apparatus comprising: an ultraviolet ray radiation apparatus (1 and 2) that irradiates water to be treated with ultraviolet rays; a TOC acquisition unit (5) and a dissolved oxygen concentration acquisition unit (6) that are provided upstream of the ultraviolet ray radiation apparatus; and control means (7, 8) that controls concentration of dissolved oxygen in the water to be treated that is supplied to the ultraviolet ray radiation apparatus such that a mass ratio of the concentration of dissolved oxygen in the water to be treated that is acquired by the dissolved oxygen concentration acquisition unit to TOC in the water to be treated that is acquired by the TOG acquisition unit is 1 or more and 7 or less (intended use) (p. 1-5).
Regarding claim 2, YAMAKOSHI teaches wherein the control means controls the concentration of dissolved oxygen in the water to be treated that is supplied to the ultraviolet ray radiation apparatus such that the mass ratio is 2 or more and 7 or less (intended use) (p. 1-5).
Regarding claim 3, YAMAKOSHI teaches the water production apparatus according to wherein the TOG in the water to be treated that is supplied to the ultraviolet ray radiation apparatus is 10 pg/L or less (intended use) (p. 1-5).
Regarding claim 4, YAMAKOSHI teaches wherein the control means controls the concentration of dissolved oxygen in the water to be treated that is supplied to the ultraviolet ray radiation apparatus such that the mass ratio is 2 or more and 5 or less (intended use) (p. 1-5).
Regarding claim 5, YAMAKOSHI teaches the control means controls the concentration of dissolved oxygen in the water to be treated that is supplied to the ultraviolet ray radiation apparatus such that a consumption rate of dissolved oxygen of the ultraviolet ray radiation apparatus is 90% or more (intended use) (p. 1-5).
Regarding claim 8, YAMAKOSHI teaches oxygen supply means (provided upstream – not shown) that is positioned upstream of the dissolved oxygen concentration acquisition unit and the ultraviolet ray radiation apparatus (p. 1-5).
Regarding claim 9, YAMAKOSHI teaches no oxidizing agent is added to the water to be treated that is supplied to the ultraviolet ray radiation apparatus (i.e. no addition to UV supply water).
***
It is noted that any citations to specific, pages, columns, lines, or figures in the prior art references and any interpretation of the reference should not be considered to be limiting in any way. A reference is relevant for all it contains and may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2123.
Conclusion
/WAQAAS ALI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1777