DETAILED ACTION
Restriction/Election
1. Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (claims 1-23 and 25) in the reply filed on 09/15/2026 is acknowledged. Applicant also elected the antibody comprising the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 24 in the heavy chain and the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 12 in the li8ght chain.
2. Claims 1-27 are pending. Claims 1-23 and 25 are currently under consideration. Claims 24 and 26-27 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species.
Information Disclosure Statement
3. The information disclosure statement filed on 06/20/2025 and 02/08/2024 has been considered by the Examiner and an initialed copy of the form PTO-1449 is attached to this communication.
Drawings
4. The drawings filed on 11/08/2023 are accepted by the examiner.
Claim Rejections[Symbol font/0xBE]35 USC § 112 (b)
6. Claims 1-23 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the term “conventional chromatography”. Such a term is ambiguous, and it is unclear what the metes and bounds of the term are. Claims are rejected as dependent claims from claim 1. Claim 1 also recites the term “eluent”, which is overly broad and fails to provide reasonable certainty as to the scope of the invention. Claims 2-23 and 25 are rejected as dependent claims.
Claim Rejections[Symbol font/0xBE]35 USC § 102 (a)(1)
8. Claims 1, 3-4, 15-17, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by US 9,303,086 B2 (Date of Patent: Apr. 5, 2016) or US 2014/0193432 A1 (Jul. 10, 2014). The following rejection is based on US 9,303,086 B2.
US 9,303,086 B2 teaches an anti-hDLK-1 antibody composition (see claims 1 and 12) comprising a light chain comprising the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 12 and a heavy chain comprising the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 24 of the present application (see sequence alignment below). US 9,303,086 B2 teaches a purification method comprising loading a crude antibody product onto a Protein-A Sepharose column, which is conventional chromatography, washing the column with PBS, and eluting the antibody with 0.1 M Glycine-HCl (pH3.0), The antibody was neutralized with 1 M Tris HCl (pH 8.0), and the buffer was then replaced with PBS by dialysis. The purified antibody has a purity of 95% or higher (Example 5). Protein-A Sepharose has a particle size of 45-165 μM.
It is noted that the recitation, “wherein the content of glycosylation isomers having sugar chains attached to sites other than the Fc region glycosylation consensus region in the resulting purified antibody composition is reduced when compared to the crude antibody product”, does not represent an active step; it is merely the consequence of the steps of the method. Since US 9,303,086 B2 teaches purification of the same crude anti-hDLK- 1 antibody product using the same method steps, the purified product would meet the property recited in the “wherein” clause of claim 1. Thus, the teachings of US 9,303,086 B2 meet the limitations of claims 1, 3-4, 15-17, and 22.
Claim Rejections under 35 USC § 103(a)
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
10. Claims 6, 10-11, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over US 9,303,086 B2) as applied to claims 1, 3-4, 15-17, and 22 above.
US 9,303,086 B2 teaches a purification method of an anti-hDLK- 1 antibody as applied to claims 1, 3-4, 15-17, and 22 Above.
US 9,303,086 B2 does not explicitly teach the purification conditions as recited in claims 6, 10-11, and 21.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to optimize purification conditions, such as the protein load amount, salt concentrations of the washing buffer, and pH with a reasonable expectation of success. One would have been motivated to do so because such an optimization would improve a high yield and obtain a desired product purity.
11. Claims 1-23 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over US 9,303,086 B2) in view of WO 2020/182984 A2 (17 September 2020).
US 9,303,086 B2 teaches an anti-hDLK- 1 antibody composition (see claims 1 and 12) comprising a light chain comprising the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 12 and a heavy chain comprising the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 24 of the present application 9see sequence alignment in the above rejection #8).
US 9,303,086 B2) does not explicitly teach a purification method to remove glycosylation isomers having sugar chains attached to sites other than the Fc region glycosylation consensus region from a crude anti-hDLK-1 antibody product.
WO 2020/182984 A2 teaches a method of removing non-consensus glycosylation in an antibody (Abstract), said method comprising loading a crude antibody product onto conventional chromatography, including ion exchange chromatograph and hydrophobic interaction chromatography (HIC), and eluting the antibody. The purified antibody has a purity of up to 90% (claims 10-11, 13; Examples). It is known in the art that the particle size of classical ion exchange chromatograph on macroporous particles of a high exchange capacity, for example, is in the range of 75-250 μM. It is also known that Butyl Sepharose and POROS Benzyl HIC is well-known in the art and commercially available.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to apply the method taught by WO 2020/182984 A2 to purify the anti-hDLK-1 antibody taught by US 9,303,086 B2 with a reasonable expectation of success. One would have been motivated to do so because the general method taught by WO 2020/182984 A2 is expected to be capable of purifying the anti-hDLK-1 antibody taught by US 9,303,086 by one of skill in the art.
It would also have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to optimize purification conditions, such as the protein load amount, salt concentrations of the washing buffer, and pH with a reasonable expectation of success. One would have been motivated to do so because such an optimization would improve a high yield and obtain a desired product purity.
Conclusion
12. No claims are allowed.
Advisory Information
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Ruixiang Li whose telephone number is (571) 272-0875. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday through Friday from 8:30 am to 5:00 pm. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner's supervisor, Vanessa Ford, can be reached on (571) 272-0857. The fax number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is (571) 273-8300.
/RUIXIANG LI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1674
October 22, 2026