DETAILED ACTION
In Reply filed on 11/07/2025, claims 1-8 and 14-16 are pending. Claims 1-3 and 5 are currently amended. Claims 9-13 are canceled, and no claim is newly added. Claims 14-15 are withdrawn. Claims 1-8 and 16 are considered in this Office Action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Discekici (WO 2020251520 A1, listed in IDS field on 01/23/2025) in view of Shaarawi (US 20180272600 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Discekici teaches a method of making a three-dimensional printed object (claim 12, [0020-0024], figs. 4, 5), the method comprising:
iteratively applying individual build material layers of a build material of polyamide particles to a powder bed (claim 12; [0024-0025]: polyamide particles);
based on a three-dimensional object model, selectively applying a fusing agent onto the individual build material layers to form individually patterned object layers of the three-dimensional printed object, wherein the fusing agent comprises water and a radiation absorber (claim 12);
based on the three-dimensional object model, selectively applying a controlled amount of a pore-promoting agent onto the individual build material layers at some or all of the individually patterned object layers to form a pore-generating region, wherein the pore-promoting agent comprises water and a pore-promoting compound that generates a gas at an elevated temperature (claims 2, 12; [0008]: carbohydrazide, urea, a urea homologue, a carbamide-containing compound, ammonium carbonate, ammonium nitrate, ammonium nitrite, or a combination thereof as a pore-promoting agent; [0008]: in an amount from about 0.5 wt% to about 10 wt% with respect to the total weight of the pore- promoting agent); and
iteratively exposing the individual build material layers to electromagnetic energy to generate molten polymer from the polyamide particles in contact with the radiation absorber that upon cooling forms a fused polymer body, wherein within the molten polymer, the pore-promoting compound reaches the elevated temperature and generates the gas and displaces the molten polymer, leaving a volume density of pores from 0.5 vol% to 50 vol% within the three-dimensional printed object (claim 12, [0011]; [0023]: a porosity from about 0.5 vol% to about 50 vol%),
wherein the build material exhibits a material dielectric permittivity (claim 12, [0024-0026]: a powder bed material; here, the powder bed material including polyamide intrinsically has a material dielectric permittivity).
Discekici is still silent the fused polymer body at a location including the pores exhibits a decreased dielectric permittivity [at a voxel level] that is from about 5% to about 50% of the material dielectric permittivity. In this case, the fused polymer body of Discekici is produced by the identical process as recited in instant claim 1, and the build material layers ([0025]: e.g., polyamide) and the pore-promoting agent (claim 2) are identical as the ones disclosed in Instant Specification (claims 1, 5, 7). Moreover, the controlled amount the pore-promoting agent ([0008]: in an amount from about 0.5 wt% to about 10 wt%) and a resulting volume density of pores ([0023]: a porosity from about 0.5 vol% to about 50 vol%) anticipate the disclosed or claimed ranges of Instant Specification (claim 1, [0007, 0011]). Therefore, a prima facie case of anticipation is established to the claimed properties (i.e., having a decreased dielectric permittivity that is from about 5% to about 50% of the (inherent) material dielectric permittivity) by Discekici. See MPEP 2112.01 I. (Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). "When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the applicant and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990)).
Discekici does not specifically teach the bracketed limitation(s) as presented above, i.e., the decreased dielectric permittivity is at a voxel level, but Shaarawi teaches the limitation as follows:
Shaarawi teaches a method of 3D printing, wherein a liquid functional agent is selectively applied (abstract, fig. 1). Shaarawi teaches that the liquid functional agent comprises a pore-promoting agent (fig. 1 and claim 1: selectively applying a liquid functional agent including an energy source material or an energy sink material; [0030-0036]: energy source material involving an exothermic reaction generates a gaseous by product, e.g., ammonium nitrate, ammonium perchlorate, potassium permanganate, potassium perchlorate, and aggressive oxidizing agents, such as red fuming nitric acid, high concentration hydrogen peroxide (e.g., greater than 30 wt. % solution in water), and perchloric acid, which may be introduced by jetting onto the composite layer is soluble and capable of generating sufficient amount of oxygen during their thermal decomposition; [0037-0039]: energy sink material involving an endothermic reaction generates a gaseous by product, e.g., urea, glycerol, ethylene glycol, 2-methyl-1,3-propanediol, 1,2-pentanediol, sorbitol,, which may be introduced by jetting onto the composite layer; [0042]: the heat source materials or heat sink materials that are soluble in the selected vehicle; [0017, 0024]: the balance of the vehicle is water or a master solvent); and the liquid functional agent is applied at a voxel level (Shaarawi: [0012]: physical properties of the 3D printed part, such as hardness, ultimate tensile strength, elastic modulus, electrical conductivity, and surface finish, may be customized on the voxel scale; [0050]: the level of saturation/penetration may depend, at least in part, the volume of the liquid functional agent 14 that is applied; [0103]: the liquid functional agent(s) 14 and the amounts of those liquid functional agent(s) 14 jetted into each voxel determine the reactions that will occur in each voxel).
Both Discekici and Shaarawi teach a 3D printing method of forming an object by selectively applying a liquid agent on a powder bed upon jetting, followed by exposing to an energy (Discekici: claim 12, [0010], fig. 4; Shaarawi: abstract, [0012], fig. 1). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing invention to modify the method/apparatus of Discekici to apply the liquid agent upon jetting that can control the amount of disposed liquid agent in each voxel as taught by Shaarawi in order to obtain known results or a reasonable expectation of successful results of forming a 3D printed object with better precision and accuracy in dimensions and properties by controlling localized application of the liquid agent (Shaarawi: derived from [0001-0002, 0103]).
Regarding claim 2, modified Discekici teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the pore-generating region includes a single discrete location or multiple discrete locations spanning a single layer or multiple layers of the individual build material layers where the pore-promoting agent was selectively applied resulting in a porous portion or porous portions with the decreased dielectric permittivity or multiple different decreased dielectric permittivities, and wherein the three-dimensional printed object also includes a portion without the pores exhibiting the material dielectric permittivity (Discekici: [0011], fig. 4C).
Regarding claim 3, modified Discekici teaches the method of claim 1, wherein in addition to the decreased dielectric permittivity, at the location, the fused polymer body exhibits a reduced magnetic permeability, a reduced electrical conductivity, a modified photoluminescence, or a combination thereof compared to a magnetic permeability, and electrical conductivity and a photoluminescence that the fused polymer body without the pores exhibits. Here, modified Discekici is still silent about the claimed material properties. In this case, the fused polymer body of modified Discekici is produced by the identical process as recited in claim 1, and the build material layers (Discekici: [0025]: e.g., polyamide) and the pore-promoting agent (Discekici: claim 2) are identical as the ones disclosed in Instant Specification (claims 1, 5, 7). Moreover, the controlled amount the pore-promoting agent (Discekici: [0008]: in an amount from about 0.5 wt% to about 10 wt%) and a resulting volume density of pores (Discekici: [0023]: a porosity from about 0.5 vol% to about 50 vol%) anticipate the disclosed or claimed ranges of Instant Specification (claim 1, [0007, 0011]). Therefore, a prima facie case of anticipation is established to the claimed properties by modified Discekici. See MPEP 2112.01 I.
Regarding claim 4, modified Discekici teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the pore-promoting compound is present in the pore-promoting agent in an amount of from about 0.5 wt% to about 25 wt%, relative to a total weight of the pore-promoting agent (Discekici: claim 3; [0008]: from 0.5 wt% to 10 wt%). The disclosed range anticipates the recited range.
Regarding claim 5, modified Discekici teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the pore-promoting compound is selected from the group carbohydrazide, urea, a urea homologue, a carbamide-containing compound, ammonium carbonate, ammonium nitrate, ammonium nitrite, a bicarbonate, and a combination thereof (Discekici: claim 2, [0008]: carbohydrazide, urea, a urea homologue, a carbamide-containing compound, ammonium carbonate, ammonium nitrate, ammonium nitrite, or a combination thereof as a pore-promoting agent).
Regarding claim 6, modified Discekici teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the elevated temperature at which the pore-promoting compound generates the gas ranges from about 80 °C. to about 250 °C (Discekici: claim 4, [0008]: from about 100 °C to about 250 °C). The disclosed range anticipates the recited range.
Regarding claim 7, modified Discekici teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the polyamide particles are selected from the group consisting of polyamide-6 particles, polyamide-9 particles, polyamide-11 particles, polyamide-12 particles, polyamide-6,6 particles, polyamide-6,12 particles, polyamide copolyamide-12 particles, amorphous polyamide particles, polyvinylidene fluoride copolyamide-12 particles, thermoplastic polyamide elastomer particles, and a combination thereof (Discekici: [0009]: polymer particles; [0024-0025]: polyamide particles).
Regarding claim 8, modified Discekici teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the pore-promoting agent is part of the fusing agent (Discekici: [0076], Table 1).
Regarding claim 16, modified Discekici teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the radiation absorber is selected form the group consisting of a metal dithiolene complex, carbon black, a near-infrared absorbing dye, a near-infrared absorbing pigment, metal nanoparticles, a conjugated polymer, and a combination thereof (Discekici: [0030-0034]; claim 5).
Claims 1-8 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fung (US 20180104894 A1) and Shaarawi (US 20180272600 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Fung teaches a method of making a three-dimensional printed object (figs. 1, 2 and [0012]), the method comprising:
iteratively applying individual build material layers of a build material of polyamide particles to a powder bed (figs. 1, 2 and [0012]: steps (i) and (iii));
based on a three-dimensional object model, selectively applying a fusing agent onto the individual build material layers to form individually patterned object layers of the three-dimensional printed object, wherein the fusing agent comprises water and a radiation absorber (figs. 1, 2 and [0012]: steps (ii) and (iii); [0065-0066]: water and water-soluble energy absorber);
[based on the three-dimensional object model, selectively applying a controlled amount of a pore-promoting agent onto the individual build material layers at some or all of the individually patterned object layers to form a pore-generating region, wherein the pore-promoting agent comprises water and a pore-promoting compound that generates a gas at an elevated temperature]; and
iteratively exposing the individual build material layers to electromagnetic energy to generate molten polymer from the polyamide particles in contact with the radiation absorber that upon cooling forms a fused polymer body (figs. 1, 2 and [0012]), wherein [within the molten polymer, the pore-promoting compound reaches the elevated temperature and generates the gas and displaces the molten polymer, leaving a volume density of pores from 0.5 vol% to 50 vol% within the three-dimensional printed object], wherein the build material exhibits a material dielectric permittivity ([0012]: a powder bed material - polyamide; here, the powder bed material including polyamide intrinsically has a material dielectric permittivity) and [the fused polymer body at a location including the pores exhibits a decreased dielectric permittivity at a voxel level that is from about 5% to about 50% of the material dielectric permittivity].
Fung also teach a 3D printing system comprising two agent applicators (fig. 1 and [0073]: a first fluid jet pen 135 for applying fusing agent 140 and a second fluid jet pen 145 for applying a fluid to provide another functionality) and an electromagnetic energy source (fig. 1 and [0074]: radiation source 160a, 160b). Fung does not specifically teach the bracketed limitation(s) as presented above, but Shaarawi teaches the limitations as follows:
Shaarawi teaches a method of 3D printing, wherein a liquid functional agent is selectively applied (abstract, fig. 1). Shaarawi teaches that based on the three-dimensional object model, selectively applying a controlled amount of a pore-promoting agent onto the individual build material layers at some or all of the individually patterned object layers to form a pore-generating region, wherein the pore-promoting agent comprises water and a pore-promoting compound that generates a gas at an elevated temperature and generate the gas and displaces the molten polymer (fig. 1 and claim 1: selectively applying a liquid functional agent including an energy source material or an energy sink material; [0030-0036]: energy source material involving an exothermic reaction generates a gaseous by product, e.g., ammonium nitrate, ammonium perchlorate, potassium permanganate, potassium perchlorate, and aggressive oxidizing agents, such as red fuming nitric acid, high concentration hydrogen peroxide (e.g., greater than 30 wt. % solution in water), and perchloric acid, which may be introduced by jetting onto the composite layer is soluble and capable of generating sufficient amount of oxygen during their thermal decomposition; [0037-0039]: energy sink material involving an endothermic reaction generates a gaseous by product, e.g., urea, glycerol, ethylene glycol, 2-methyl-1,3-propanediol, 1,2-pentanediol, sorbitol,, which may be introduced by jetting onto the composite layer; [0042]: the heat source materials or heat sink materials that are soluble in the selected vehicle; [0017, 0024]: the balance of the vehicle is water or a master solvent; [0036, 0041]: the energy source/sink material may be present in the liquid functional agent 14 in an amount ranging from greater than 0 wt% to about 100 wt%, respectively; of note, at least some of the listed energy source/sink materials such as ammonium nitrate and urea are the same as the pore-promoting compound disclosed in Instant Specification ([0008], as published)); and wherein within the molten polymer, the pore-promoting compound reaches the elevated temperature and generates the gas and displaces the molten polymer (id.). Shaarawi also teaches that the selectively applying of the pore-promoting agent includes selectively applying an amount of the pore-promoting agent to control the material properties of a printed article at a voxel scale (Shaarawi: [0012]: physical properties of the 3D printed part, such as hardness, ultimate tensile strength, elastic modulus, electrical conductivity, and surface finish, may be customized on the voxel scale; [0050]: the level of saturation/penetration may depend, at least in part, the volume of the liquid functional agent 14 that is applied; [0103]: the liquid functional agent(s) 14 and the amounts of those liquid functional agent(s) 14 jetted into each voxel determine the reactions that will occur in each voxel).
Both Fung and Shaarawi teach a 3D printing method of forming an object by selectively applying a liquid agent on a powder bed, followed by exposing to an energy (Fung: abstract, figs. 1, 2; Shaarawi: abstract, fig. 1). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing invention to modify the method/apparatus of Fung to further selectively applying a liquid functional agent including an energy source material or an energy sink material as taught by Shaarawi in order to obtain known results or a reasonable expectation of successful results of forming a 3D printed object with better precision and accuracy in dimensions and properties by controlling localized heat upon selective application of the liquid functional agent (Shaarawi: derived from [0001-0002]).
Upon the modification, modified Fung is still silent that the pore-promoting compound leaving a volume density of pores from 0.5 vol% to 50 vol% within the three-dimensional printed object, wherein and the fused polymer body at a location including the pores exhibits a decreased dielectric permittivity at a voxel level that is from about 5% to about 50% of the material dielectric permittivity. In this case, the fused polymer body of modified Fung is produced by the identical process as recited in instant claim 1, and the build material layers (Fung: [0012]: polyamide) and the pore-promoting compound (Shaarawi: [0030-0036, 0037-0039]: e.g., ammonium nitrate, urea) are identical as the ones disclosed in Instant Specification (claims 1, 5, 7). Moreover, the controlled amount of the pore-promoting compound has an overlapping range with the disclosed range in Instant Specification (Shaarawi: [0036, 0041]: an amount ranging from greater than 0 wt% to about 100 wt%; c.f., Instant Specification: [0007]: an amount from about 0.5 wt % to about 25 wt %, as published). Therefore, a prima facie case of anticipation is established to the claimed properties (i.e., leaving a volume density of pores of from 0.5 vol% to 50 col% within the 3D printed object, having a decreased dielectric permittivity at a voxel level that is from about 5% to about 50% of the material dielectric permittivity) by modified Fung. See MPEP 2112.01 I.
Regarding claim 2, modified Fung teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the pore-generating region includes a single discrete location or multiple discrete locations spanning a single layer or multiple layers of the individual build material layers where the pore-promoting agent was selectively applied resulting in a porous portion or portions with the decreased dielectric permittivity or multiple different decreased dielectric permittivities (Shaarawi: [0044]: one liquid functional agent may be used to alter a thermal condition of the composite layer 34. It is also to be understood that multiple liquid functional agents 14 may be mixed at the same area of build material 12 to alter a thermal condition of the composite layer 34, or multiple liquid functional agents 14 may be applied to different areas of build material 12 (thus forming different composite layers 34) in order to alter a combination of thermal conditions of the composite layers 34), and wherein the three-dimensional printed object also includes a portion without the pores exhibiting the material dielectric permittivity (Shaarawi: [0059]: the build material 12 may be applied to the build surface 18 or the previously formed layer without the liquid functional agent 14 having been applied to the build surface 18 or the previously formed layer first, or the build material 12 does not form the composite layer 34 with the liquid functional agent 14 until the liquid functional agent 14 is applied at reference numeral 106; fig. 1).
Regarding claim 3, modified Fung teaches the method of claim 1, wherein in addition to the decreased dielectric permittivity, at the location, the fused polymer body exhibits a reduced magnetic permeability, a reduced electrical conductivity, a modified photoluminescence, or a combination thereof compared to a magnetic permeability, an electrical conductivity, a photoluminescence that the fused polymer body without the pore exhibits (Shaarawi: [0012]: physical properties of the 3D printed part, such as hardness, ultimate tensile strength, elastic modulus, electrical conductivity, and surface finish, may be customized on the voxel scale). Here, modified Fung is still silent that at the same location with the decreased dielectric permittivity, the fused polymer body exhibits reduced magnetic permeability, reduced electrical conductivity, modified photoluminescence, or a combination thereof. However, in this case, the fused polymer body of modified Fung is produced by the identical process as recited in instant claim 1, and the build material layers (e.g., polyamide) and the pore-promoting agent (e.g., ammonium nitrate, urea) are identical as the ones disclosed in Instant Specification (claims 1, 5, 7). Therefore, a prima facie case of anticipation is established to the claimed properties (i.e., reduced magnetic permeability, reduced electrical conductivity, modified photoluminescence, or a combination thereof) by modified Fung. See MPEP 2112.01 I.
Regarding claim 4, modified Fung teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the pore-promoting compound is present in the pore-promoting agent in an amount of from about 0.5 wt% to about 25 wt%, relative to a total weight of the pore-promoting agent (Shaarawi: [0036]: the energy source material may be present in the liquid functional agent 14 in an amount ranging from greater than 0 wt % to about 100 wt % of a total weight percent of the liquid functional agent 14; [0041]: the energy sink material may be present in the liquid functional agent 14 in an amount ranging from greater than 0 wt % to about 100 wt % of a total weight percent of the liquid functional agent 14). Here, although the disclosed range does not anticipate the recited range, the disclosed range overlaps with the recited range between 0.5 wt% and 25 wt%. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). See MPEP 2144.05 I.
Regarding claim 5, modified Fung teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the pore-promoting compound is selected from the group a carbohydrazide, urea, a urea homologue, carbamide-containing compound, ammonium carbonate, ammonium nitrate, ammonium nitrite, a bicarbonate, and a combination thereof (Shaarawi: [0030-0036]: energy source material involving an exothermic reaction generates a gaseous by product, e.g., ammonium nitrate; [0037-0039]: energy sink material involving an endothermic reaction generates a gaseous by product, e.g., urea).
Regarding claim 6, modified Fung teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the elevated temperature at which the pore-promoting compound generates the gas ranges from about 80 °C. to about 250 °C (Shaarawi: [0037-0039]: energy sink material involving an endothermic reaction generates a gaseous by product, e.g., urea1; prior to its decomposition, urea melts, and this process also absorbs noticeable amount of heat (˜14.5 kJ/mol at 409 °K)). Here, the disclosed temperature anticipates the recited temperature range.
Regarding claim 7, modified Fung teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the polyamide particles are selected from the group consisting of polyamide-6 particles, polyamide-9 particles, polyamide-11 particles, polyamide-12 particles, polyamide-6,6 particles, polyamide-6,12 particles, polyamide copolyamide-12 particles, amorphous polyamide particles, polyvinylidene fluoride copolyamide-12 particles, thermoplastic polyamide elastomer particles, and a combination thereof (Fung: [0027]: a polyamide-11 powder having an average particle size from about 20 μm to about 120 μm).
Regarding claim 8, modified Fung teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the pore-promoting agent is part of the fusing agent (Shaarawi: [0035]: the additional heat supplied by the exothermic reaction of the energy source material may super heat areas of the build material 12 to a temperature far above its melting temperature, and additionally, the additional heat supplied by the exothermic reaction may contribute to the fusing of the build material 12 during the 3D printing process; [0040]: the removal of excess heat by the endothermic reaction of the energy sink material may allow the build material 12 to heat to a temperature that is below its melting point but suitable to cause softening and bonding (e.g., fusing)). Here, it is obvious that the pore-promoting agent which does function/facilitate to fuse the build material upon supplying additional heat or removing excess heat is part of the fusing agent that does fuse the build material.
Regarding claim 16, modified Fung teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the radiation absorber is selected form the group consisting of a metal dithiolene complex, carbon black, a near-infrared absorbing dye, a near-infrared absorbing pigment, metal nanoparticles, a conjugated polymer, and a combination thereof (Fung: [0023, 0034, 0051-0056]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 11/07/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. It is noted that the applicant has modified the claims with the latest amendment dated 11/07/2025, and wherein the arguments are based upon these changes.
RE: The 103 rejection of claim 1 over Discekici in view of Shaarawi
The Applicant argues (see pages 8-10) that Shaarawi does not teach or suggest the limitation “selectively applying a controlled amount of a pore-promoting agent … and the fused polymer body at a location including the poses exhibits a decreased dielectric permittivity at a voxel level that is from about 5% to about 50% of the material dielectric permittivity” as recited in claim 1 lines 9-23 as Shaarawi does not teach a pore density and/or dielectric permittivity.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees with this argument (see the 103 rejection above, for details).
At first, in response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). The Applicant’s argument is solely based on the teaching of Shaarawi.
Secondly, the only deficiency that the primary reference Discekici does not teach is that the decreased dielectric permittivity is at voxel level, and the secondary reference Shaarawi teaches the deficiency. Shaarawi teaches that the properties of 3D printed article can be customized in a voxel level by controlling a jetting amount of a liquid functional agent in a voxel level in each voxel ([0012, 0050, 0103]). Discekici already teaches that a porosity density with a controlled amount of a pore-promoting agent, and a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness of a decreased dielectric permittivity has been established (see the 103 rejection above). Thus, the combination of Discekici and Shaarawi teaches all the claimed limitations and the motivation to combine.
Thirdly, Shaarawi’s teaching (i.e., controlling of material properties of 3D printed article in a voxel level by jetting a liquid functional agent) is consistent with the teaching of Discekici – “Any size, shape, and number of porous portions can be designed and produced in the 3D printed article by selectively applying the pore-promoting agent” ([0011]) and “However, the printing resolution of such a process can be limited by the resolution at which the fusing agent is applied to the powder bed and the particle size of the powder build material. Therefore, explicitly designing and printing pores using such a process can be limited to pores that are larger than the print resolution” (i.e., pores are formed smaller than the print resolution, which defines a voxel) ([0012]).
Therefore, after reconsideration, claim 1 remains rejected.
RE: The 103 rejection of claim 1 over Fung in view of Shaarawi.
The Applicant argues (see pages 10-12) that Fung in view of Shaarawi does not teach or suggest the limitation “selectively applying a controlled amount of a pore-promoting agent … and the fused polymer body at a location including the poses exhibits a decreased dielectric permittivity at a voxel level that is from about 5% to about 50% of the material dielectric permittivity” as recited in claim 1 lines 9-23 as modified Fung does not teach a pore density and/or dielectric permittivity as recited.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees with this argument (see the 103 rejection above, for details).
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Although modified Fung does not explicitly teach the recited void density of pores and a decreased dielectric permittivity due to the pores, the Examiner reiterates that a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness regarding the void density of pores and the decreased dielectric permittivity has been established as follows (see above, the 103 rejection of claim 1) - “Upon the modification, modified Fung is still silent that the pore-promoting compound leaving a volume density of pores from 0.5 vol% to 50 vol% within the three-dimensional printed object, wherein and the fused polymer body at a location including the pores exhibits a decreased dielectric permittivity at a voxel level that is from about 5% to about 50% of the material dielectric permittivity. In this case, the fused polymer body of modified Fung is produced by the identical process as recited in instant claim 1, and the build material layers (Fung: [0012]: polyamide) and the pore-promoting compound (Shaarawi: [0030-0036, 0037-0039]: e.g., ammonium nitrate, urea) are identical as the ones disclosed in Instant Specification (claims 1, 5, 7). Moreover, the controlled amount of the pore-promoting compound has an overlapping range with the disclosed range in Instant Specification (Shaarawi: [0036, 0041]: an amount ranging from greater than 0 wt% to about 100 wt%; c.f., Instant Specification: [0007]: an amount from about 0.5 wt % to about 25 wt %, as published). Therefore, a prima facie case of anticipation is established to the claimed properties (i.e., leaving a volume density of pores of from 0.5 vol% to 50 col% within the 3D printed object, having a decreased dielectric permittivity at a voxel level that is from about 5% to about 50% of the material dielectric permittivity) by modified Fung. See MPEP 2112.01 I.” The Applicant did not address any argument against the established prima facie case of anticipation or obviousness of the recited properties of the void density and the decreased dielectric permittivity upon the combination of Fung and Shaarawi.
Thereby, after reconsideration, claim 1 remains rejected.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Shaarawi (US 20210331243 A1) teaches a method of 3D printing, wherein a separating agent 21 applied to the 3D printing forms gaseous products (abstract, [0104-0105], fig. 4).
/INJA SONG/Examiner, Art Unit 1744
1 Here, molten urea decomposes and releases gas (ammonia) between 132.5 °C and 190 °C as evidenced by Wang (Wang et. al., “Analysis of Urea Pyrolysis Products in 132.5 °C and 190 °C” Energy Procedia 158 (2019) 2170-2175) (pages 2173-2175, sections 3.2 and 3.3).