DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
After entry, claims 1-3, 6-7, and 10-18 are currently pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 13-14 and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 13 is confusing and therefore vague and indefinite due to the use of the phrase "comprising or consisting of" as the term "comprising" is open terminology and the term "consisting of" is closed terminology. Therefore it is unclear as to the exact scope of the claim. Is it open to the addition of other components or closed to the addition of other components. Clarification is requested.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 and 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Japan Patent Specification No. JP 2000169212 A.
The reference teaches, in paragraph [0008], the addition of an aqueous solution containing a chelating agent to a steelmaking slag. The chelating agent promotes the hydration reaction. The chelating agent includes triethanolamine or triisopropanolamine (paragraph [0010]). Paragraph [0013] teaches that examples of the slag include converter slag, electric furnace slag, and mixed pigment furnace slag. See also example 1.
The instant claims are met by the reference.
As for claim 1, the reference teaches the addition of triisopropanolamine to a steelmaking slag such as electric furnace slag or converter slag. The triisopropanolamine promote hydration and therefore it acts as an accelerating agent.
As for claim 2, converter slag is also known as basic oxygen furnace slag.
As for claim 11, the reference teaches the addition of triisopropanolamine to a steelmaking slag such as electric furnace slag or converter slag. The triisopropanolamine promote hydration and therefore it acts as an accelerating agent.
As for claim 12, the reference teaches the addition of triisopropanolamine to a steelmaking slag such as electric furnace slag or converter slag. The triisopropanolamine promote hydration and therefore it acts as an accelerating agent.
As for claim 13, the reference teaches the addition of triisopropanolamine to a steelmaking slag such as electric furnace slag or converter slag. The triisopropanolamine promote hydration and therefore it acts as an accelerating agent. Example 1 teaches a ratio of converter slag, fine aggregate, coarse aggregate and aqueous solution and based on this the amount of the slag based binder and aggregate falls within the claimed range.
Claims 1-2 and 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by China Patent Specification No. CN 112661433 A.
The reference teaches, in the claims, a low-activity converter heat steel slag gel active excitant, wherein it comprises the following components: composite alcohol amine, organic alcohol amine hydrochloride, amino carboxylate, inorganic electrolyte and polyol. Examples of the composite alcohol amine is selected from triethanolamine, diethanol monoisopropanol-amine, mono-ethanol diisopropanol amine and triisopropanolamine. Examples of the amino carboxylate is selected from one or two of methyl glycine diacetic acid sodium and glutamic acid diacetic acid tetrasodium. The excitant is added to a steel slag such as a converter slag (see the examples). See especially embodiment 4.4
The instant claims are met by the reference.
As for claim 1, the reference teaches the addition of an excitant comprising composite alcohol amine (such as triisopropanolamine or diethanol monoisopropanol-amine), organic alcohol amine hydrochloride, amino carboxylate (such as methyl glycine diacetic acid sodium and glutamic acid diacetic acid tetrasodium), inorganic electrolyte and polyol. The excitant is mixed with water and added to a converter slag (basic oxygen furnace slag). As it is an excitant it would therefore act as an accelerator as it would kick start the reaction.
As for claim 2, the reference teaches converter slag which is also known as basic oxygen furnace slag.
As for claim 11, the reference teaches the addition of an excitant comprising composite alcohol amine (such as triisopropanolamine or diethanol monoisopropanol-amine), organic alcohol amine hydrochloride, amino carboxylate (such as methyl glycine diacetic acid sodium and glutamic acid diacetic acid tetrasodium), inorganic electrolyte and polyol. The excitant is mixed with water and added to a converter slag (basic oxygen furnace slag).
As for claim 12, the reference teaches the addition of an excitant comprising composite alcohol amine (such as triisopropanolamine or diethanol monoisopropanol-amine), organic alcohol amine hydrochloride, amino carboxylate (such as methyl glycine diacetic acid sodium and glutamic acid diacetic acid tetrasodium), inorganic electrolyte and polyol. The excitant is mixed with water and added to a converter slag (basic oxygen furnace slag).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Japan Patent Specification No. JP 2000169212 A.
The reference was discussed previously, above. Further the reference teaches an amount of chelating agent of 0.0005% or more (paragraph [0011]).
The instant claim is obvious over the reference.
As for claim 10, the reference teaches an amount of 0.0005% or more and this overlaps the claimed range and in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990), see MPEP 2144.05.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 6-7, and 15-16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 14 and 17-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims and if rewritten or amended to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action.
/ANTHONY J GREEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1731
ajg
October 8, 2026